Architecture

With his museum situated on the Rhine, the architect Mario Botta created an unusual stage for Tinguely’s works. In the huge central hall alone there is space for twenty machine-sculptures. After visiting the Museum, the historical Solitude Park with its centenary trees, the promenade along the Rhine and the Bistro «Chez Jeannot» are an invitation to relax, stroll and enjoy the moment.

«With its situation on the right bank of the river, where the Rhine forms the outer border of a large district of the city, the Museum creates a new order within a rather questionable urban design alongside the highway. The rectangular museum occupies the entire eastern part of the Solitude Park. The four sides of the building each relate in a specific manner to the surrounding spaces.»
Mario Botta

>> Further reading
>> Facts and Figures

Architecture

With his museum situated on the Rhine, the architect Mario Botta created an unusual stage for Tinguely’s works. In the huge central hall alone there is space for twenty machine-sculptures. After visiting the Museum, the historical Solitude Park with its centenary trees, the promenade along the Rhine and the Bistro «Chez Jeannot» are an invitation to relax, stroll and enjoy the moment.

«With its situation on the right bank of the river, where the Rhine forms the outer border of a large district of the city, the Museum creates a new order within a rather questionable urban design alongside the highway. The rectangular museum occupies the entire eastern part of the Solitude Park. The four sides of the building each relate in a specific manner to the surrounding spaces.»
Mario Botta

>> Further reading
>> Facts and Figures

L'architecture

Avec ce musée érigé au bord du Rhin, l’architecte Mario Botta a créé un espace inhabituel pour les œuvres de Tinguely. L’immense salle centrale peut accueillir à elle seule jusqu’à vingt sculptures mécaniques. Et la visite terminée, le parc historique de la Solitude et ses arbres séculaires, la promenade le long du Rhin et le bistrot «Chez Jeannot» invitent à la détente, à la flânerie et au bien-être.

« Situé sur la rive droite du fleuve où le tracé du Rhin constitue la limite d’un large district de la ville, le musée établit un nouvel ordre à l’intérieur d’une configuration urbaine plutôt douteuse en bordure d’autoroute. Ses quatre façades établissent chacune son propre rapport d’espace à l’environnement ambiant. »
Mario Botta

>> En savoir plus
>> Données et chiffres

L'architecture

Avec ce musée érigé au bord du Rhin, l’architecte Mario Botta a créé un espace inhabituel pour les œuvres de Tinguely. L’immense salle centrale peut accueillir à elle seule jusqu’à vingt sculptures mécaniques. Et la visite terminée, le parc historique de la Solitude et ses arbres séculaires, la promenade le long du Rhin et le bistrot «Chez Jeannot» invitent à la détente, à la flânerie et au bien-être.

« Situé sur la rive droite du fleuve où le tracé du Rhin constitue la limite d’un large district de la ville, le musée établit un nouvel ordre à l’intérieur d’une configuration urbaine plutôt douteuse en bordure d’autoroute. Ses quatre façades établissent chacune son propre rapport d’espace à l’environnement ambiant. »
Mario Botta

>> En savoir plus
>> Données et chiffres