Performances

Museum Tinguely AHOY! is flanked by a wide-ranging, high-calibre performance programme. This will include three different performances, for which Museum Tinguely itself will be the guest of local partner institutions. Three performance artists of international renown, Nevin Aladağ (D), Keren Cytter (IS) and Marie-Caroline Hominal (CH) are each preparing a new piece especially for this project. Rooted in different fields ranging from music to theatre and dance, their works will showcase an array of different performance approaches. In this respect, their work will recall the many-facetted performance practices of Jean Tinguely himself, as well as the blending of art and life that he so famously aspired to.

The performance programme during Museum Tinguely AHOY! is curated by Dr Sandra Beate Reimann.
 

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; photo: Daniela Kohl

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; photo: Daniela Kohl

Body Instruments
by Nevin Aladağ

In the performance Body Instruments (2021), Nevin Aladağ continues her interest in instrumental interventions. A performer wears specially produced musical instruments on their body as they move through the urban realm. The instruments – two accordions, bells and a percussion instrument, which is worn on the head – are played as a result of the motion of the body. Even basic movements such as walking, turning the head or raising and lowering the arms produce musical sounds. Thus enhanced, the body itself becomes an instrument. And movement and the creation of sound become inseparable.

On the one hand, the work refers to such art-historical traditions as the modern avant-garde and Oskar Schlemmer’s Das Triadische Ballett (1919–1922), whose playful approach to geometrical forms in connection with dance and performance was first discovered by the artist in the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart during her time as a student. The references to performance in the 1970s are equally important. Certain aspects of Aladağ’s work, in particular the accordions, which fold out in a manner reminiscent of wings, and the rainmaker’s hat, which demands a sense of equilibrium and a mastery of the body, allude to Rebecca Horn’s body instruments (e.g. Weisser Körperfächer, Balancestab, both 1972). The questions addressed by Horn’s works vis-à-vis the relationship between bodies and movement and the potential of sculptural extensions to the body are followed up by Body Instruments, particularly in terms of sound.

Body Instruments owes its topicality and conciseness to the fact that Aladağ applies these art-historical approaches and formal languages, while simultaneously interweaving them with levels of historical and social meaning. For example, the work refers to the richly diverse tradition of making music in public, which stretches from the wearing of bells by medieval jesters and fairy tales involving ratcatchers, via sacred and profane processional customs to modern street music. And the figure of the busker also invokes questions of social status and of how society negotiates the use of the public realm. With its bells, accordions and two different forms of drum, the performance combines instruments drawn from a range of temporal and spatial contexts. The common factor shared by these instruments is that they are all found beyond the confines of western classical music. Played together, they thus create a piece of experimental music that achieves a balance between the essential sounds generated by actions such as walking and the more poetic ones that result from consciously chosen movements.

 

Credits
Commissioned by Museum Tinguely, Basel as part of Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Concept and choreography: Nevin Aladağ
Performers: Przemek Kamiński, Darko Radosavljev
Curator, Museum Tinguely: Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Production Manager: Attila Gaspar

Body Instruments interprets the classical and folk instruments on the body of the musician in a wilful manner that is perpetually in motion and never quiet.

Nevin Aladağ

About the artist
The artist Nevin Aladağ (*1972), who has been living in Berlin since 2002, uses sculpture, video and photography in her work. She creates performances and sculptural installations in museums and public spaces. Aladağ grew up in Stuttgart. She studied sculpture with Olaf Metzel at the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich between 1993 and 2000.

Her works have recently been seen in solo exhibitions in such locations as the Lehmbruck Museum Duisburg (2021), the Museum of Modern Art San Francisco (2020) and the Hayward Gallery, London (2020). Aladağ’s work received particular attention as a result of her participation in documenta 14 in Athens and Kassel and the 57th Venice Biennale in 2017. She was awarded the Ernst Rietschel Art Prize for Sculpture in Dresden in the same year

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 ​​​​​​​© The artist; photo: Gregory Batadon

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gregory Batadon

Eurêka, c'est presque le titre
by Marie-Caroline Hominal

In her works, Marie-Caroline Hominal often embodies animals or fictional figures that she borrows from cultural traditions as well as from pop culture and the world of cartoons. Her new piece, which she has developed for the performance programme of Museum Tinguely AHOY! is a solo that she dances herself. A circular surface forms the stage – one could say the ring –, in which Hominal slips into a number of roles, one after the other.

The piece with the eloquent and, at the same time,  knowing title, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre (2021), begins with the retelling of a dream, in which she plays chess with John Cage. The inspiration for this also comes from the biography of Jean Tinguely. She speaks of Cardi B or Lewis Hamilton as contemporary equivalents of Niki de Saint-Phalle or the Swiss racing driver Jo Siffert. The dance-like game with abstract forms is accompanied by depictions of characters, which include a female figure – somewhere between a witch and a Mexican La Catrina, a tiger and an indefinable, shimmeringly hairy creature that oscillates between object and living being. And, all the time, Hominal brings these fabulous and fantasy figures up to date with the help of gestures and a repertoire of movements taken from everyday and pop culture.  

Movement and circularity as prerequisites for our existence that are symbolically present as the sun and the moon – the latter evoked by the round, silvery dance floor – underlie the presented cycle. Body, sculpture and celestial bodies unite in dance and movement. The eternal and permanent, as represented by these heavenly objects, combine with the here-and-now, the contemporary spectacle, to form a machine infernale.

During the course of the performance, the artist appears with a range of objets trouvés. As the spectacle continues these begin, as if by chance, to form an installative assemblage. And the term assemblage can also be used to describe the conception of the piece itself: The sequences that Hominal herself labels as numbers successively fit together to form a colourful and harmonious overview of a moving and tragicomic imaginary world: a cosmic circus between show-business and avant-garde art.

Credits
Commissioned by Museum Tinguely, Basel as part of Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Conception and choreography: Marie-Caroline Hominal
Performer: Marie-Caroline Hominal
Curator, Museum Tinguely: Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Production Manager: Attila Gaspar

The first gesture, whether a movement, a trait or a construction, is always the beginning of a story.

Marie-Caroline Hominal

About the artist
The Franco-Swiss artist Marie-Caroline Hominal (*1978) works and lives in Geneva. Her artistic practice includes dance, choreography, video, text, drawing, sculpture and radio. Following her training at the Zurich Dance Academy at the ZHDK and the Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance in London, Hominal danced with, amongst others, Gisèle Vienne, Gilles Jobin, La Ribot and Marco Berrettini as well as at the Tanztheater Basel. Since 2002, the artist has realised her own works and toured the world with pieces that she performs in theatres, museums and galleries. In 2019, Hominal was awarded the Swiss Dance Award for «Outstanding Female Dancer».

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

The Lady of the Lake
by Keren Cytter

Keren Cytter’s stories pick up on social alienation and the banalities and horrors of everyday life, especially those generated by intrapersonal relationships. The Lady of the Lake (2021) is a theatrical piece that Cytter has written for Museum Tinguely AHOY! It involves a dialogue, which isn’t a dialogue, and which is performed by the actors Fernanda Farah and Damian Rebgetz.

The piece combines storytelling, song, dance and stand-up comedy. It is also partly inspired by the biographies of the actors. The two figures address the audience in monologues, recalling formative events and the evolution of their life stories: These include tales of belonging to a rowing club during childhood – «Can you imagine how it feels to be in a club you don’t want to be in, doing a sport you didn’t know even existed? It’s called childhood, I know» – or of five husbands, from wine grower, perfumer, jazz musician and paediatrician to journalist. In the process, the monologues continue like lines, sometimes crossing and sometimes running in parallel. The actors interrupt each other and jostle disruptively, centre stage. Every now and again there is a brief dialogue between the two, which immediately, however, disintegrates back into separate narratives.

The penetratingly sharp and sometimes absurdly comic text meanders, guided by contentual and phonetic associations as well as by the movements of the actors. Again and again, one comments upon the narrative or picks up on the gestures of the other with their own gesture, like a «physical echo». This structure is held together by two constantly repeating elements – a rowing movement and a swing of the arm accompanied by an «ahoy!» – and the pentagram traced out on the floor that guides the movements of the actors in the space: a backwards and forwards within the closed figure of the circle. The piece appears to break the rules of the game – and self-reflectively comments upon its own medium – by offering observations on theatrical elements or even performance art, «more elegant, more intelligent ... than theatre».

The artist has interlaced the text with her own pithy metaphors and precise analyses of contemporary society. With dry humour and, at the same time, a sense of pain, Cytter’s piece offers us a glimpse of the singularised and performative social context of today.

Credits
Commissioned by Museum Tinguely, Basel as part of Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Text and direction: Keren Cytter
Song texts: Keren Cytter
Song composition: Andreas Schlaegel
Actors: Fernanda Farah and Damian Rebgetz
Curator, Museum Tinguely: Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Production Manager: Attila Gaspar

I tried to make a performance that will include as many theatrical elements as possible and be about nothing.

Keren Cytter

About the artist
Keren Cytter (*1977) studied at the Avni Institute for Art in Tel Aviv between 1997 and 1999 and, as the holder of a scholarship, at De Ateliers Art in Amsterdam between 2002 and 2004. She was based in Berlin between 2005 and 2012, since when she has lived and worked in New York. The artist is well known for her video works, theatrical pieces and drawings. In 2012, she founded the D.I.E NOW (Dance International Europe Now) dance company. She has also written five novels and three children’s books.

The works of the artist have been displayed in, amongst other places, the Kunstmuseum Winterthur (2020), Center for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv (2019), Museion Bolzano (2019), Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (2015) and the Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen (2014). In 2021, Keren Cytter was awarded the Guggenheim Fellowship.

Performances

Im Rahmen von Museum Tinguely AHOY! bieten wir ein vielseitiges und hochkarätiges Performanceprogramm an. Es umfasst drei Performances, mit denen wir an einem der beiden Tage bei der jeweiligen örtlichen Partnerinstitution zu Gast sind. Hierfür wurde bei den international renommierten Künstlerinnen Nevin Aladağ (DE), Keren Cytter (IS) und Marie-Caroline Hominal (CH) jeweils ein neues Stück für diese Tour in Auftrag gegeben. Die gewählten Performances bilden ein Spektrum unterschiedlicher performativer Ansätze ab und sind in den verschiedenen Bereichen, Musik, Theater und Tanz verwurzelt. Sie stehen damit im Bezug zu den vielseitigen performativen Praktiken Jean Tinguelys ebenso wie zu der von ihm angestrebten Verbindung von Kunst und Leben.

Das Performanceprogramm im Rahmen von Museum Tinguely AHOY! wurde kuratiert von Dr. Sandra Beate Reimann.
 

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; Foto: Daniela Kohl

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; Foto: Daniela Kohl

Body Instruments
von Nevin Aladağ

Mit der Performance Body Instruments (2021) führt Nevin Aladağ ihr Interesse an instrumentalen Interventionen fort. Eine Performerin oder ein Performer trägt spezifisch angefertigte Musikinstrumente am Körper und bewegt sich damit im Stadtraum. Die Instrumente, zwei Akkordeons, Schellen und ein auf dem Kopf getragenes Perkussionsinstrument, werden durch die Körperbewegungen gespielt. Bereits grundlegende Bewegungen, wie Gehen, Drehen des Kopfes oder Heben und Senken der Arme, erzeugen musikalische Klänge. Der ergänzte Körper wird so selbst zum Instrument. Untrennbar ist Bewegung mit Klangerzeugung verknüpft.

Die Arbeit nimmt einerseits Bezug auf kunsthistorische Traditionen, etwa auf die moderne Avantgarde mit Oskar Schlemmers Das Triadische Ballett (1919–1922), dessen spielerischen Umgang mit geometrischen Formen im Zusammenhang mit Tanz und Performance die Künstlerin bereits als Schülerin in der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart entdeckten konnte. Ebenfalls wichtig sind Referenzen zur Performance der 1970er Jahre. Die sich gleichsam zu Flügeln ausfaltenden Akkordeons und der Balance und Körperbeherrschung erfordernde Rainmaker-Hut von Aladağs Arbeit verweisen insbesondere auf die Körperinstrumente Rebecca Horns (z. B. Weisser Körperfächer, Balancestab, beide 1972). Die dort verhandelten Fragen nach dem Verhältnis von Körper und Bewegung und den Potentialen von skulpturalen Körperergänzungen verfolgt Body Instruments im Hinblick auf Klang weiter.

Ihre Aktualität und Prägnanz erhält Body Instruments, indem Aladağ jene kunsthistorischen Ansätze und Formensprachen anwendet und zugleich mit historischen und gesellschaftlichen Bedeutungsdimension durchwirkt. So verweist die Arbeit auf die vielfältigen Traditionen von Klangerzeugung im öffentlichen Raum, die von mittelalterlichen Narrenschellen, das Märchen vom Rattenfänger, über sakrale wie profane Prozessionsbräuche bis hin zur modernen Strassenmusik reichen. Mit der Figur der Strassenmusikerin oder des Strassenmusikers werden zugleich auch Fragen nach sozialem Status und nach der gesellschaftlichen Verhandlung über die Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums aufgerufen. Mit Schellen, Akkordeon und den zwei verschiedenen Trommelformen vereint die Performance aus unterschiedlichen zeitlichen und räumlichen Kontexten stammende Instrumente. Ihr gemeinsames Charakteristikum ist, dass sie alle jenseits der klassischen Musik westlicher Prägung zu verorten sind. Im Zusammenspiel entsteht so ein Stück experimenteller Musik, das zwischen zwingend-notwendigen, beispielsweise beim Gehen erzeugten Tönen und bewusst eingesetzten Bewegungen und poetischen Klängen balanciert.
 

Credits
im Auftrag von Museum Tinguely, Basel im Rahmen von Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Konzept und Choreographie: Nevin Aladağ
Performer: Przemek Kamiński, Darko Radosavljev
Kuratorin Museum Tinguely: Dr. Sandra Beate Reimann
Produktionsmanager: Attila Gaspar

Body Instruments interpretiert die klassischen und folkloristischen Instrumente auf eigensinnige Art am Körper der Musizierenden immer in Bewegung und nie leise.

Nevin Aladağ

Über die Künstlerin
Die seit 2002 in Berlin lebende Künstlerin Nevin Aladağ (*1972) nutzt für ihre Arbeiten Skulptur, Video und Fotografie. Sie kreiert Performances und skulpturale Installationen im Museum ebenso wie im öffentlichen Raum. Aladağ ist in Stuttgart aufgewachsen. Sie studierte von 1993 bis 2000 Bildhauerei bei Olaf Metzel an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München.

Ihre Werke wurden zuletzt unter anderem in Einzelausstellungen im Lehmbruck Museum Duisburg (2021), dem Museum of Modern Art San Francisco (2020) und der Hayward Gallery, London (2020) gezeigt. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit erhielten Aladağs Arbeiten insbesondere durch ihre Teilnahme im Jahr 2017 an der documenta 14 in Athen und Kassel und an der 57. Biennale von Venedig. 2017 erhielt die Künstlerin den Ernst-Rietschel-Kunstpreis für Skulptur in Dresden.

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 ​​​​​​​© The artist; Foto: Gregory Batadon

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 © The artist; Foto: Gregory Batadon

Eurêka, c'est presque le titre
von Marie-Caroline Hominal

Marie-Caroline Hominal verkörpert in ihren Werken häufig Tiere oder fiktionale Figuren, die sie kulturellen Traditionen ebenso wie der Pop-Kultur und der Welt der Cartoons entlehnt. Ihr neues Stück, das sie für das Performanceprogramm von Museum Tinguely AHOY! entwickelt hat, ist ein Solo, das sie selbst tanzt. Eine kreisrunde Fläche bildet die Bühne – man könnte auch sagen Manege –, auf welcher Hominal nacheinander in verschiedene Rollen schlüpft.

Das Stück mit dem sprechenden und zugleich augenzwinkernden Titel, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre (2021), beginnt mit dem Bericht eines Traums, in dem sie mit John Cage Schach spielt. Inspiration bildet hierfür auch die Biografie von Jean Tinguely. Als zeitgenössische Äquivalente von Niki de Saint-Phalle oder dem Schweizer Rennfahrer Jo Siffert berichtet sie von Cardi B oder Lewis Hamilton. Neben dem tänzerischen Spiel mit abstrakten Formen folgen unter anderem Darstellungen von Charakteren, etwa einer Frauenfigur – zwischen Hexe und mexikanischer La Catrina –, eines Tigers sowie eine undefinierbare, glitzernd haarige Kreatur, die zwischen Lebewesen und Objekt changiert. Dabei aktualisiert Hominal die Fabel- und Fantasiefiguren vermittels Gestik und einem Bewegungsrepertoir, das sie Alltags- und Popkultur entnimmt.

Bewegung und Zirkularität als Vorraussetzung unserer Existenz, symbolisch präsent als Sonne und Mond – letzterer wird im silbrigen, kreisrunden Tanzboden evoziert –, liegen dem präsentierten Reigen zugrunde. Körper, Skulptur und Gestirne verbinden sich in Tanz und Bewegung. Das Ewige und Permanente, wie sie die Himmelskörper repräsentieren, vereinigt sich mit dem Momentanen, dem zeitgenössischen Spektakel zu einer machine infernale.

Im Laufe der Performance agiert die Künstlerin mit verschiedenen Fundobjekten. Diese beginnen während der Aufführung wie zufällig eine installativen Assemblage zu bilden. Mit dem Begriff der Assemblage lässt sich zugleich auch die Konzeption des Stücks selbst beschreiben: Die einzelnen von Hominal selbst als Nummern bezeichneten Sequenzen fügen sich sukzessive zu einem bunten und doch stimmigen Gesamtbild einer bewegten und tragisch-komischen imaginären Welt: ein kosmischer Zirkus zwischen Show-Business und Avantgarde-Kunst.

Credits
im Auftrag von Museum Tinguely, Basel im Rahmen von Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Konzeption und Choreographie: Marie-Caroline Hominal
Performer*in: Marie-Caroline Hominal
Kuratorin Museum Tinguely: Dr. Sandra Beate Reimann
Produktionsmanager: Attila Gaspar

Die erste Geste, ob eine Bewegung, ein Gesichtszug oder eine Konstruktion, ist immer der Anfang einer Geschichte.

Marie-Caroline Hominal

Über die Künstlerin
Die Französisch-Schweizerische Künstlerin Marie-Caroline Hominal (*1978) arbeitet und lebt in Genf. Ihre künstlerische Praxis umfasst Tanz, Choreographie, Video, Text, Zeichnung, Skulptur und Radio. Nach ihrer Ausbildung an der ZHDK TanzAkademie in Zürich und der Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance in London tanzte Hominal unter anderem mit Gisèle Vienne, Gilles Jobin, La Ribot, Marco Berrettini und am Tanztheater Basel. Seit 2002 realisiert die Künstlerin ihre eigenen Werke und tourt mit ihren Stücken weltweit in Theatern, Museen und Galerien. 2019 wurde Hominal als «Herausragende Tänzerin» mit dem Schweizer Tanzpreis ausgezeichnet.

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; Foto: Gianmarco Bresadola

The Lady of the Lake
von Keren Cytter

In ihren Geschichten greift Keren Cytter gesellschaftliche Entfremdung, die Banalitäten und den Horror des Alltags, insbesondere denjenigen zwischenmenschlicher Beziehungen, auf. The Lady of the Lake (2021) ist ein Theaterstück, das Cytter für Museum Tinguely AHOY! geschrieben hat. Es handelt sich um einen Dialog, der keiner ist, und von den Schauspieler*innen Fernanda Farah und Damian Rebgetz aufgeführt wird.

Das Stück kombiniert Storytelling, Gesang, Tanz und Stand-up-Comedy. Inspiration bildeten hierbei unter anderem auch die Biografien der Schauspieler*innen. In Monologen adressieren die beiden Personen das Publikum und erzählen von prägenden Ereignissen und der Entwicklung ihrer Lebensgeschichte: Etwa von der Mitgliedschaft im Ruderclub in der Kindheit «Can you imagine how it feels to be in a club you don’t want to be in, doing a sport you didn’t know it even existed? It’s called childhood, I know.»; oder von den fünf Ehemännern, vom Winzer, Parfümeur, Jazzmusiker, Kinderarzt bis zum Journalisten. Dabei verlaufen die Monologe wie Linien, die sich teilweise kreuzen und stellenweise parallel verlaufen. Die Charaktere fallen sich gegenseitig ins Wort und drängen sich störend in den Vordergrund. Für Momente entsteht hin und wieder ein echter Dialog zwischen den beiden, der jedoch sofort wieder in getrenntes Sprechen zerfällt.

Der stechend scharfe und teils absurd komische Text mäandriert geleitet von Assoziationen inhaltlicher wie klanglautlicher Art ebenso wie von den Bewegungen der Spielenden. Immer wieder kommentiert die oder der andere wie ein «physisches Echo» gestisch die Erzählung oder greift ihre oder seine Gesten auf. Zusammengehalten wird diese Textur durch zwei stets wiederkehrenden gestische Elemente – eine Ruderbewegung und eine mit «Ahoi» kommentierte Armbewegung – sowie durch das am Boden applizierte Pentagramm, welches die Bewegungen der Schauspieler*innen im Raum leitet: Ein Hin und Her innerhalb der geschlossenen Figur des Kreises. Mit Kommentaren zu theatralen Elementen oder etwa zur Performance Art «more elegant, more intelligent ... than theater», bricht das Stück scheinbar mit dem Spiel und kommentiert sein Medium selbstreflexiv.

Verwebt in den Text hat die Künstlerin ihre prägnanten Metaphern und präzisen Analysen unserer gegenwärtigen Gesellschaft. Mit trockenem Humor und zugleich schmerzhaft lässt uns Cytter mit ihrem Stück auf unsere singularisierte und performative soziale Gegenwart blicken.

Credits
im Auftrag von Museum Tinguely, Basel im Rahmen von Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Text und Regie: Keren Cytter
Liedtexte: Keren Cytter
Liedkomposition: Andreas Schlaegel
Schauspieler*innen: Fernanda Farah und Damian Rebgetz
Kuratorin Museum Tinguely: Dr. Sandra Beate Reimann
Produktionsmanager: Attila Gaspar

Ich habe versucht eine Performance zu entwickeln, die so viele theatralische Elemente wie möglich enthält und zugleich nichts behandelt.

Keren Cytter

Über die Künstlerin
Keren Cytter (*1977) studierte von 1997 bis 1999 am Avni Institute for Art in Tel Aviv und von 2002 bis 2004 mit einem Stipendium bei De Ateliers in Amsterdam. Nach einer Zeit in Berlin von 2005 bis 2012, lebt und arbeitet sie seitdem in New York. Die Künstlerin ist bekannt für ihre Videoarbeiten, Theaterstücke und Zeichnungen. 2012 gründete sie die Tanzkompanie D.I.E NOW (Dance International Europe Now). Darüber hinaus hat sie fünf Romane und drei Kinderbücher verfasst.

Die Werke der Künstlerin wurden in Einzelausstellungen unter anderem im Kunstmuseum Winterthur (2020), Center for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv (2019), Museion Bolzano (2019), Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (2015) und der Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Kopenhagen (2014) gezeigt. 2021 wurde das Guggenheim Fellowship an Keren Cytter vergeben.