Art Machines – Machine Art

5 March – 29 June 2008

«The relationship between art and machine is not necessarily a harmonious one, and so coupling the two terms seems contradictory. If one accepts the general assumption that artists, not machines, are the originators and creators of works of art, then the discrepancy between the two could not be greater.»

The exhibition starts with works by Jean Tinguely, but the interest in art producing machines is far older, since the intertwined history of art and of the machine harks back to Antiquity and continues through the ages down to the present day.
Numerous exhibitions in the past have investigated the relationship between art and the machine, but here the focus is neither on the beauty of the machines nor of the objects that they produce; rather, the exhibition presents works of art that are at the same time machines that produce in turn their own artworks. These machines possess a processual character that combines machine, act of production, user and product.
The relationship between work of art and viewer is examined in all the works without always being at the source of the latter. The viewer is not always directly involved in the production process, but, nevertheless, always gains an insight in the production and is thus led to reflect on the issue as to where the work of art begins.
The artist will never succeed in disappearing permanently from the work of art. The machine can produce art without his presence but never without his ideas.
(K. Dohm and H. Stahlhut, Art Machines Machine Art, exh. cat., Kehrer-Verlag, 2007/8)

List of artists: Pawel Althamer, Michael Beutler, Angela Bulloch, Olafur Eliasson, Tue Greenfort, Damien Hirst, Rebecca Horn, Jon Kessler, Tim Lewis, Lia, Miltos Manetas, Roxy Paine, Steven Pippin, Cornelia Sollfrank, Martin Stiefel, Jean Tinguely, Antoine Zgraggen, Andreas Zybach

Virtual Tour

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Kunstmaschinen – Maschinenkunst

5. März – 29. Juni 2008

«Das Verhältnis von Kunst und Maschine ist nicht unbedingt ein harmonisches Miteinander, und so mutet auch die Begriffspaarung der beiden widersprüchlich an. Geht man von der allgemeinen Annahme aus, dass Künstler und nicht Maschinen die Urheber und Schöpfer von Kunstwerken sind, dann könnte die Diskrepanz zwischen beiden nicht grösser sein.»

Die Ausstellung setzt mit den Werken Jean Tinguelys ein, aber das Interesse für Kunst produzierende Maschinen ist viel älter, da die gemeinsame Geschichte von Kunst und Maschine bereits in der Antike beginnt und über die Jahrhunderte bis in die Gegenwart führt.
Wenn frühere Ausstellungen das Verhältnis von Kunst und Maschine untersuchten, wird hier weder nach der Schönheit der Maschinen noch der von ihnen angefertigten Objekte gefragt, sondern es werden Kunstwerke ausgestellt, die zugleich Maschinen sind, die eigene Kunstwerke produzieren. Die Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch einen prozessualen Charakter aus, der Maschine, Produktionsakt, Benutzer und Produkt verbindet.
Das Verhältnis zwischen Kunstwerk und Betrachter wird in allen Arbeiten befragt, ohne immer der Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit zu sein. Der Besucher ist bei manchen Werken nicht unmittelbar an der Produktion beteiligt, erhält aber Einblick in diese und somit die Möglichkeit der Reflektion darüber, wo das Kunstwerk beginnt.
Nie wird es dem Künstler jedoch gelingen, endgültig aus dem Werk zu verschwinden. Die Maschine kann ohne seine Anwesenheit aber nie ohne seine Ideen Kunst produzieren.
(K. Dohm und H. Stahlhut, Kunstmaschinen Maschinenkunst, Ausst. Kat., Kehrer-Verlag, 2007/8)

Künstlerliste: Pawel Althamer, Michael Beutler, Angela Bulloch, Olafur Eliasson, Tue Greenfort, Damien Hirst, Rebecca Horn, Jon Kessler, Tim Lewis, Lia,Miltos Manetas, Roxy Paine, Steven Pippin, Cornelia Sollfrank, Martin Stiefel, Jean Tinguely, Antoine Zgraggen, Andreas Zybach

Virtuelle Tour

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel