So long Sepp

24 May – 10 August 2008
The exhibition is being prolonged by one week, until Sunday, August 17, 2008.

Josef/Sepp/Sep(p)i Imhof was for many years the assistant of Jean Tinguely. Since the inauguration of the Museum Tinguely, he has also been responsible, next to other duties, for the conservational upkeep, installation and de-installation of the mechanical sculptures of the Swiss iron sculptor.
Sepp Imhof is taking his well-deserved retirement in May of this year.
As a parting gift he has been given free rein to have a showing of his choice in the museum: starting with Leonardo Bezzola’s monumental photo installation on the work of Tinguely & Co on the enormous sculpture Cyclop, as well as mechanical sculptures, colourful letter-collages, drawings, unique draughts of works and Tinguely’s instructions to Sepp, not to forget a Ferrari collection and empty caviar tins, one of the artist-duo’s favourite dishes. There will be works of art, photographs and documents on many artists who since 1971 left an imprint on the life of Imhof, the welder from Solothurn: above all Jean Tinguely, but also Eva Aeppli, Bernhard Luginbühl, Niki de Saint Phalle, Daniel Spoerri, Peter von Wattenwyl, Arman and other Nouveaux Réalistes such as François Dufrêne figure in the exhibition.

Josef Imhof was born on May 23, 1943 in Berne. His childhood was spent in Solothurn. After his apprenticeship as a fitter or construction fitter he worked amongst others at the Von Roll rolling mill in Gerlafingen.
In 1970 he fell upon the following advertisement in a daily newspaper: “Jean Tinguely is looking for a fitter or construction fitter (German Swiss) as of July 15, for a period of c. 6 months; multitalented and free from vertigo, driver’s license (knowledge of Jass [card game] required), f. t. construction of a monumental iron sculpture in the neighbourhood of Paris. Board and lodging provided.”
The spontaneous decision to answer this ad was to firmly determine the next 20 years in the life of Josef Imhof. As a qualified fitter he became Jean Tinguely’s assistant and was expected by the artist to weld better than he himself could.

After installing the exhibition “Machines de Tinguely” at the CNAC (Centre national d’art contemporain) in the spring of 1971 in Paris, Sepp Imhof’s work as Tinguely’s assistant started for real: together with Niki, Bernhard Luginbühl, their assistants and other artist friends of Tinguely the monumental sculpture La Tête or Le Cyclop initiated in 1969 started to take form over many years in Milly-la-Forêt, in the neighbourhood of Paris.
Sepp Imhof was the guarantor of the material realisation of the artist’s often fantastic ideas. The sculpture measuring 22.5 m high took more than twenty years to complete and, until its official inauguration in 1994, required 300 tons of iron.

Josef Imhof also participated in numerous other projects of Jean Tinguely.
Seppi has collected and kept down to the smallest chit of paper recording innumerable souvenirs of his work and rich experience at the side of Jeannot and other artists. A selection of these will be exhibited in the museum. Amongst them are colourful letter-collages that Jean Tinguely sent him from all over the world: they reveal the endless creativity and fantasy of the artist who like to jot down and give shape to his ideas, thoughts and desires from his impressions and from objects of daily use or discarded items. His letters from all over the world to his assistant Imhof are particularly important documents that teach us about Tinguely’s approach to his work.

Further to his activity as assistant to the artist, from 1975 on Josef Imhof also ran the Freitagsgalerie (Friday Gallery) in Solothurn with his brother Rolf.

Virtual Tour

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Tschau Sepp

24. Mai – 17. August 2008

Josef/Sepp/Sep(p)i Imhof, der langjährige Assistent von Jean Tinguely, der seit der Eröffnung des Museum Tinguely neben vielen anderen Aufgaben für den restauratorischen Unterhalt und den fachmännischen Auf- und Abbau der Maschinenplastiken des Schweizer Eisenplastikers zuständig ist, geht im Mai diesen Jahres in seinen wohlverdienten Ruhestand.

Zum Abschied erhält er „carte blanche“ und zeigt im Museum was ihm gefällt: Ausgehend von Leonardo Bezzolas monumentaler Fotoinstallation der Arbeit von Tinguely & Co an der Riesenplastik Cyclop, über Maschinenplastiken, farbenfrohen Briefcollagen, Zeichnungen, einzigartigen Werkskizzen und Arbeitsanweisungen Tinguelys an Sepp, bis hin zu einer Ferrari-Sammlung und leeren Kaviardosen, einer der Leibspeisen des Künstlerduos. Gezeigt werden Kunstwerke, Fotos und Dokumente vieler Künstler, die seit 1971 das intensive und rastlose Leben des gelernten Maschinenschlossers Imhof aus Solothurn bestimmten: Allen voran Jean Tinguely aber auch Eva Aeppli, Bernhard Luginbühl, Niki de Saint Phalle, Daniel Spoerri, Peter von Wattenwyl, Arman und weitere Nouveaux Réalistes wie François Dufrêne u.a. sind in der Ausstellung vertreten.

Josef Imhof wird am 23. Mai 1943 in Bern geboren. Seine Kindheit verbringt er in Solothurn. Nach einer Lehre als Bau- und Konstruktionsschlosser arbeitet er u.a. im Walzwerk der Von Roll in Gerlafingen.
1970 liest er zufällig ein Inserat in einer Tageszeitung mit dem folgenden Wortlaut: “Jean Tinguely sucht per 15. Juli Bauschlosser oder Schlosser (Deutschschweizer) vielseitig und schwindelfrei, Autofahren (Jasskenntnisse erwünscht), f. d. Konstruktion einer Rieseneisenplastik in der Nähe von Paris für die Dauer von ca. 6 Monaten. Für Unterkunft und Verpflegung wird gesorgt.”
Die spontane Entscheidung, sich auf dieses Inserat hin zu melden, sollte die nächsten 20 Jahre des Lebens von Josef Imhof nachhaltig bestimmen. Als ausgebildeter Schlosser wurde er zu dem von Jean Tinguely gesuchten Profi-Assistenten, der, – laut den Aussagen des Eisenplastikers – besser schweissen musste als er selbst.
Nach Aufbauarbeiten im Frühling des Jahres 1971 zur Ausstellung “Machines de Tinguely” im CNAC (Centre national d’art contemporain) in Paris geht die Arbeit Sepp Imhofs als Assistent von Tinguely erst richtig los: Zusammen mit Niki, Bernhard Luginbühl, ihren Gehilfen und anderen Künstlerfreunden Tinguelys entsteht seit 1969 in jahrelanger Arbeit die begehbare Riesenplastik La Tête oder Le Cyclop in Milly-la-Forêt, einem Wald in der Nähe von Paris.
Sepp Imhof war Garant dafür, dass die oft phantastischen Ideen des Künstlers materiell umgesetzt werden konnten. In der 22,5 m hohen Plastik wurden in über zwanzig Jahren bis zur offiziellen Einweihung 1994 rund 300 Tonnen Eisen verbaut und verschweisst.

Daneben war Josef Imhof an den zahlreichen weiteren Projekten Jean Tinguelys beteiligt.
Bis zum kleinsten Papierschnipsel hat Seppi unzählige Erinnerungen an seine arbeits- und erlebnisreiche Zeit an der Seite Jeannots und anderer Künstler gesammelt und aufbewahrt. Eine Auswahl davon wird den Besuchern nun im Museum Tinguely präsentiert. Darunter befinden sich farbenfrohe Briefcollagen, die Jean Tinguely aus der ganzen Welt an ihn verschickt hat. Sie zeugen von der schier grenzenlosen Fantasie und Kreativität des Künstlers, der es vermochte, aus den unmittelbaren Eindrücken und Gegenständen, aus Alltäglichem und Liegengelassenem, seine Ideen, Gedanken und Wünsche zu “bricollieren” und ihnen so Gestalt zu geben. Darüber hinaus sind die Briefe an seinen Assistenten Imhof besonders wichtige Dokumente, die Auskunft geben über die weitgestreuten Stationen des künstlerischen Schaffens Tinguelys und uns wertvolle, unmittelbare Einblicke in seine Arbeitsweise ermöglichen.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Künstlerassistent eröffnete Josef Imhof zusammen mit seinem Bruder Rolf 1975 in Solothurn die Freitagsgalerie.

Virtuelle Tour

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel