Fotos Fabi Alberto Mauro

Paul Wiedmer – Fire and Iron

16 September 2009 – 24 January 2010

Paul Wiedmer was born in 1947 in Burgdorf, Switzerland. In 1967, he worked as an assistant to Bernhard Luginbühl . A year later, he met Jean Tinguely in Paris and from 1969 on collaborated with Tinguely, Daniel Spoerri, Niki de Saint Phalle and many other artists on the immense surreal walk-in sculpture Cyclop that was erected in the woods of Milly-la-Forêt. In 1973, he took part in the realisation of Tinguely’s work Chaos No. 1 in the USA; four years later he worked on an extensive joint project for the Centre Georges Pompidou, the Crocrodrome de Zig et Puce.

The Feuerskulpturen (Fire Sculptures), that take form as of 1974 show clear influences of the artist’s encounters with protagonists of the »Nouveau Réalisme« movement. Interaction with the onlooker, movement, the reuse of scrap materials, are what characterise Wiedmer’s work.
Between 1975 and 1976, Wiedmer produces the series of Objets boudlés, a systematic collection of metal fragments unearthed with a metal detector all over Switzerland . In 1978 and 1981 he takes part in both group exhibitions of Felix Handschin, »Hammer I und II« in Basel.
Wiedmer works on the construction of the sculptures in Niki de Saint Phalle’s Giardino dei Tarocchi in the vicinity of Capalbio, and on a scholarship of the Swiss Institute , spends 1981 and 1982 in Rome where he produces a serial work on the theme of fire entitled Roma di Nero.
In 1982, Wiedmer finds the spot in the valley of La Serpara near Civitella d’Agliano where he wishes to implement his vision of art and life. Omaggio a Luca Signorelli is realised in Orvieto in 1985, the fruit of a month-long search for scrap material.
He spends a few months in Peking in 1991, where he produces Peking-Feuer in the courtyard of the Swiss Embassy. Eastern influences prove with time to be a decisive factor in the development of the artist’s poetic vein and arouse his passion for bamboo, a multi-facetted plant of great social significance in the Orient.
He exhibits his Feuerskulpturen in 1995 in the streets and piazzas of Civita di Bagnoreggio, the »città che muore«, the dying town. As of 1997 his works and those of artist friends are installed in the valley of La Serpara.
Wiedmer shows his work in solo as well as in group exhibitions in Scandinavia, Namibia and Korea, whereby his works are always »site specific«; he succeeds thus in uniting his creative vein with the specificities of the relevant site.

These last few years, Paul Wiedmer has been active also as artistic director of exhibition projects such as the »Benchmarking Project« in Korea and both events of »Artcanal International«, the intercontinental sculpture triennial in and on the water, a joint project between Switzerland, Germany and South Korea.

Virtual Tour

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Fotos Fabi Alberto Mauro

Paul Wiedmer – Feuer und Eisen

16. September 2009 – 24. Januar 2010

Paul Wiedmer ist 1947 in Burgdorf, Schweiz, geboren. 1967 wird er Bernhard Luginbühls Assistent. E in Jahr später lernt er Jean Tinguely in Paris kennen, und a b 1969 arbeitet er zusammen mit Tinguely, Daniel Spoerri, Niki de Saint Phalle und vielen anderen an der surrealen begehbaren Riesenplastik Cyclop, die im Wald von Milly-la-Forêt realisiert wird. 1973 beteiligt er sich an der Realisierung von Tinguelys Werk Chaos Nr. 1 in den USA; vier Jahre später arbeitet er an einem gross en Kollektivprojekt für das Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, dem Crocrodrome de Zig et Puce.

Die Feuerskulpturen, deren Realisierung sich ab 1974 konkretisiert, lassen die Spur der Begegnungen des Künstlers mit den Protagonisten des »Nouveau Réalisme« deutlich nachvollziehen. Die Interaktion mit dem Beobachter, die Bewegung, das Wiederverwerten von Abfallmaterialien charakterisieren das Werk Wiedmers.
Zwischen 1975 und 1976 schafft der Künstler die Serie Objets boudlés, eine systematische Sammlung von metallischen Bruchstücken, die in sämtlichen Kantonen der Schweiz mittels eines Metalldetektors ausgegraben wurden. 1978 und 1981 nimmt er an den beiden Gruppenausstellungen »Hammer I und II« von Felix Handschin in Basel teil .
Wiedmer arbeitet an der Konstruktion der Skulpturen des Giardino dei Tarocchi von Niki de Saint Phalle nahe Capalbio und zwischen 1981 und 1982 weilt er in Rom als Stipendiat des Schweizer Instituts, wo er unter dem Titel Roma di Nero eine Werkreihe zum Thema Feuer realisiert.
1982 findet er im Tal von La Serpara nahe Civitella d’Agliano den Ort , an dem er seine Vision von Kunst und Leben umsetzen will. 1985 schafft er in Orvieto Omaggio a Luca Signorelli (Hommage an Luca Signorelli) und arbeitet hierzu einen Monat lang auf einem Schrottplatz.
1991 begibt er sich für einige Monate nach Peking, wo er im Hof der Schweizer Botschaft Peking-Feuer realisiert. Der östliche Einfluss entpuppt sich im Laufe der Jahre als entscheidend für die Entwicklung der Poetik des Künstlers und entfacht in ihm die Leidenschaft für Bambus, einer vielseitigen Pflanze von grosser sozialer Relevanz im Orient.
1995 stellt er in Civita di Bagnoreggio die Feuerskulpturen in den Gassen und auf den Plätzen der »città che muore« (sterbenden Stadt) aus. Ab 1997 installiert der Künstler seine Werke und diejenigen befreundeter Künstler im Tal von La Serpara.

Wiedmer stellt in Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen in Skandinavien, Namibia und Korea aus , wobei es sich bei seinen Werken stets um »site specifics« handelt; hier gelingt es ihm, seine kreative Ader mit den Besonderheiten des jeweiligen Ortes eins werden zu lassen.
In den letzten Jahren ist Paul Wiedmer unter anderem damit beschäftigt, Ausstellungsprojekte als künstlerischer Leiter voranzubringen, wie im Fall des »Benchmarking Project« in Korea und den beiden Veranstaltungen des »Artcanal International«, der interkontinentalen Triennale zur Skulptur im und am Wasser, die in Kooperation zwischen Schweiz, Deutschland und Südkorea stattfindet.

Virtuelle Tour

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro