Kienholz: The Signs of the Times

22 February – 13 May 2012
Edward Kienholz, The Nativity, 1961
Rebellious, provocative and polarizing, the oeuvre associated with the name Kienholz has always caused quite a stir since its beginnings in the mid-1950s, first the works by Edward Kienholz (1927–1994) alone, then later, from 1972 on, the collaborative projects with his wife, Nancy Reddin Kienholz. The sensation caused by Kienholz’s art is hardly surprising, given that its central subjects are religion, war, death, sex and the more inscrutable sides of society and its social conflicts. With themes such as the sexual exploitation of women in prostitution, the role of the media, or the consequences of ethnic conflicts, the works pinpoint fractures of Western societies which have hardly been remedied to this day and thus lend the œuvre its unmitigated topicality. But this contemporaneity is not due solely to the themes dealt with; today we view the works as anticipating central trends in contemporary art like those we find ourselves confronted with in Paul McCarthy’s and Mike Kelley’s pieces, for example, but also in the production of Jonathan Meese, Thomas Hirschhorn, or John Bock. On show from 22 February 2012 until 13 May 2012, the exhibition at the Museum Tinguely, spanning from the first three-dimensional smaller works to the conceptual pieces and room-filling tableaux, offers a complex survey highlighting the essence of Edward Kienholz and Nancy Reddin Kienholz’s achievements.
Edward Kienholz was born on 23 October 1927 in Fairfield, Washington, and died in 1994 in Hope, Idaho. On the occasion of the exhibition The Kienholz Women in Berlin in 1981/82, Edward Kienholz publicly declared his wife’s co-authorship concerning all his works produced since 1972, the year of their first encounter. Although Edward Kienholz studied at several colleges, he never attended an art academy. His pursuit of such diverse occupations as nurse, car dealer, handyman (his van carried the inscription “Ed Kienholz – Expert”), and bar-owner gave him experience of a great variety of spheres of life and enabled him to gather impressions and insights that were to provide him with inspiration in his creative work. From 1973 Edward Kienholz and Nancy Reddin Kienholz divided their time between the remote town of Hope, Idaho, and Berlin, where they maintained a lively exchange with the German art world.
Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, 1981
Edward Kienholz & Jean Tinguely, The American Trip, Concept Tableau, 1966
In 1953 Edward Kienholz settled in Los Angeles, where from 1954 he did his first wood reliefs and small material assemblages. Two years later he organized exhibitions in Los Angeles, where in 1957 he opened the Ferus Gallery together with Walter Hopps. Shortly after, his works developed into three-dimensional “tableaux” – room-spanning environments and installations. The material he used was mainly comprised of everyday objects found through scouring junk shops and markets, and examples of Western consumer culture waste found on scrap heaps and disposal sites – television sets, automobile parts, lamps, loudspeakers, furniture, goldfish bowls, shoes, signs, flags, advertising articles, cigarettes, toy soldiers, or dollar bills. These were often complemented with plaster casts of various family members and friends.
This radical approach was unparalleled in the history of art. Kienholz intended everyone to be able to get his message and therefore refrained from using an elitist visual language. His work comes across in a quite unusual and unaccustomed manner: with all its real elements it is close to everyday life and yet at the same time it points beyond. This was too much for respectable 1960s America, where the works were considered obscene and yet thousands thronged to Kienholz’s first big exhibition to savour the taste of scandal.
Edward Kienholz and Jean Tinguely first met in 1962, when Tinguely had an exhibition in the Everett Ellin Gallery in Los Angeles and his partner Niki de Saint Phalle mounted a “shooting picture” on 4 March. Tinguely and Kienholz acted as her assistants, laying the foundation for a close friendship. The two artists met frequently in the following two years, during which one important moment was certainly the shooting excursion that gave them the idea for the collaborative concept tableau The American Trip of 1966.
“Adrenalin-producing anger carried me through that work,” as Edward Kienholz put it when looking back on his initial years. In a period marked by the Cold War and the anticommunism of the McCarthy era, Kienholz had good reason to be angry and was among the critical figures who joined their voices in passionate contempt of vulgarity and injustice. Denouncing consumerist delusion, bigotry and inhibition, they pursued alternative ways of living, deliberately sought out dirt and disorder, and took a special interest in outcasts and groups on the edge of society. In the large tableau The Eleventh Hour Final of 1968, Kienholz evokes the comforting atmosphere of an average respectable bourgeois living room. Critically, though, he destroys it at a stroke with one single object: a concrete television set with a severed doll’s head standing for the victims of the Vietnam war, visible behind a matt screen bearing statistics of the numbers killed. The simple act of quotation highlights the absurdity of the statistics, which – as indicated by the work’s title – were read every evening on the late news. The television set becomes a memorial but also a literal reminder of media manipulation.
The tableau The Jesus Corner of 1982/83 likewise juxtaposes cosy bourgeois homeliness with the harsh realities beyond its world. In so doing it expresses and champions open-mindedness and tolerance towards society’s outsiders, loners and nonconformists. With its use of Christian devotional objects, the assemblage is symptomatic of Kienholz’s profound scepticism towards institutionalized religion, which finds its expression in mocking irony or open rebellion in different works.
Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, The Jesus Corner, 1982/83
Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, The Pool Hall (Detail), 1993
A great many works make it their concern that everybody should be granted a fair share in the American dream. Claude Nigger Claude of 1988, a portrait by Edward Kienholz and Nancy Reddin Kienholz of a black man from Idaho (a state with a minimal black population), is an appeal against racism in its habitual, everyday guise. The Potlatch, from 1988, on the other hand, is concerned with the marginalization of the indigenous population and the destruction of their social and cultural identity. In Claude Nigger Claude and The Potlatch, the artists spoke as inhabitants of Idaho, showing an acute awareness of the history of the American Northwest.
Other works deal with sexual power and exploitation, presenting the utopia of liberated sexuality in opposition to the commodified sexuality of the brothel. Works such as The Pool Hall of 1993, The Rhinestone Beaver Peepshow Triptych or The Bronze Pinball Machine with Woman Affixed Also, both from 1980, mirror commercialized sex and advertising images of utmost banality, which have deeply embedded themselves in the society’s subconscious. In today’s world of YouPorn in which porn pictures are available at any time to virtually everyone, a pinball machine offering an outlet for impulses and urges nearly strikes us as belonging to some golden age. The perspective seems to be profoundly Protestant in this case and incessantly oscillates between exhibitionism and enlightening gesture.

One particular highlight of the exhibition will be the spectacular installation The Ozymandias Parade with its 687 blinking light bulbs (which in Basel are in Switzerland’s national colors red and white but are adapted accordingly wherever the work is mounted). The “Ship of Fools” in the form of a mirrored arrow is presented as a decadent parade symbolizing the abuse of political power. Whether the ominous-looking President of the parade will bear a YES or a NO over his face is determined by the public’s answers to the simple question: “Are you satisfied with your Government?” In the two weeks prior to the exhibition, visitors to the Internet page www.tinguely.ch/jajaneinnein can take part in the survey. The result of their voting then becomes apparent at the opening.

The exhibition Kienholz: The Signs of the Times is mounted by the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt in cooperation with the Museum Tinguely Basel.
>> Accompanying film by Schirn Kunsthalle (22 October – 29 January 2012)

 

Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, The Ozymandias Parade, 1985

Kienholz: Die Zeichen der Zeit

22. Februar – 13. Mai 2012
Edward Kienholz & Jean Tinguely, The Nativity, 1961
Rebellisch, provokant und polarisierend hat das Kienholz’sche Œuvre seit seinen Anfängen Mitte der 1950er-Jahre stets grosses Aufsehen erregt: zunächst die Werke von Edward Kienholz (1927–1994) allein, später, ab 1972, die gemeinschaftlichen Projekte mit seiner Frau Nancy Reddin Kienholz. Kaum verwunderlich, stehen doch Religion, Krieg, Tod, Sex und die abgründigeren Seiten der Gesellschaft mit ihren sozialen Konflikten im Zentrum der Arbeit. Mit Themen wie der sexuellen Ausbeutung der Frau in der Prostitution, der Rolle der Medien oder den Auswirkungen von ethnischen Konflikten legen sie den Finger auf Bruchstellen der westlichen Gesellschaften, die bis heute kaum gekittet worden sind und dem Werk Aktualität verleihen. Eine Zeitgenossenschaft behaupten jedoch nicht allein die Themen, heute sehen wir Kienholz vor allem auch als Vorläufer zentraler Tendenzen der zeitgenössischen Kunst, wie sie uns etwa bei Paul McCarthy und Mike Kelley, aber auch in der Produktion von Jonathan Meese, Thomas Hirschhorn oder John Bock begegnen. Die Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely, die vom 22. Februar bis 13. Mai 2012 zu sehen sein wird, zeigt in einer grossen Zusammenschau die Essenz des Kienholz’schen Werks: von den ersten dreidimensionalen Arbeiten kleineren Formats über die konzeptuellen Werke bis zu den raumfüllenden Tableaux.
Edward Kienholz wurde am 23. Oktober 1927 in Fairfield, Washington, geboren und starb 1994 in Hope, Idaho. Anlässlich der Ausstellung The Kienholz Women in Berlin 1981/82 erklärte Edward Kienholz öffentlich die Mitautorschaft seiner Frau Nancy Reddin Kienholz an seinen seit 1972, dem Jahr ihrer ersten Begegnung, entstandenen Werken. Edward Kienholz studierte an mehreren Colleges, besuchte jedoch nie eine Kunstakademie. Bei verschiedenen Jobs als Krankenpfleger, Autohändler, Handwerker (sein Wagen trug den Schriftzug „Ed Kienholz – Expert“) und Barbesitzer bewegte er sich in unterschiedlichsten Milieus und sammelte Eindrücke und Erkenntnisse, die ihm später als Quelle für sein künstlerisches Schaffen dienten. Ab 1973 pendelten Edward Kienholz und Nancy Reddin Kienholz regelmässig zwischen Hope, einem abgelegen Ort in Idaho, und Berlin, wo sie regen Austausch mit der deutschen Kunstszene pflegten.
Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, 1981
Edward Kienholz, The American Trip, Concept Tableau (Plakette), 1966
1953 hatte sich Edward Kienholz in Los Angeles niedergelassen, wo ab 1954 erste Holzreliefs sowie kleinere Materialassemblagen entstanden. Zwei Jahre später organisierte er Ausstellungen in Los Angeles und eröffnete 1957 gemeinsam mit Walter Hopps die Ferus Gallery. Bald darauf entwickelten sich seine Arbeiten zu dreidimensionalen Tableaux – raumgreifenden Environments und Installationen. Als Material dienten ihm hauptsächlich Alltagsgegenstände und Fundstücke, nach denen er gezielt Trödelmärkte durchstöberte, sowie Abfälle der westlichen Konsumkultur von Schrotthalden und Mülldeponien – Fernseher, Autoteile, Lampen, Lautsprecher, Möbel, Goldfischgläser, Schuhe, Schilder, Flaggen, Werbeartikel, Zigaretten, Spielzeugsoldaten, Dollarnoten – oft ergänzt mit Gipsabgüssen von Angehörigen und Freunden.
Diese Vorgehensweise war radikal und sucht Vergleichbares in der Kunstgeschichte. Seine Bildsprache ist nicht elitär, seine Mitteilungen sollen alle verstehen. Ungewohnt und ungewöhnlich tritt das Werk dem Betrachter entgegen, das in seinen Realismen dem Alltag so nahe ist und dennoch weit über ihn hinausweist. Zu viel war es für das biedere Amerika der 1960er-Jahre, das die Werke als obszön empfand und dennoch, sich genüsslich am Skandal weidend, zu Tausenden seine erste grosse Ausstellung besuchte.
1962 lernten sich Ed Kienholz und Jean Tinguely in Los Angeles kennen, wo Tinguely eine Ausstellung in der Everett Ellin Gallery hatte, und wo seine Partnerin Niki de Saint Phalle am 4. März 1962 ein Schiessbild anfertigte. Tinguely und Kienholz assistierten ihr dabei, der Grundstein für eine Freundschaft war gelegt. In den folgenden Jahren begegneten sich die zwei Künstler immer wieder. Ein Höhepunkt war sicher ein Jagdausflug im Herbst 1965, der den Anstoss zum gemeinsamen Concept Tableau The American Trip von 1966 gab.
„Adrenalingetränkter Zorn hat mich durch meine Arbeit getrieben“, erinnert sich Edward Kienholz an seine Anfangsjahre. Gründe gab es genug. In einer Zeit, die durch den Kalten Krieg und den Antikommunismus der McCarthy-Ära geprägt war, verband die kritischen Stimmen dieser Generation eine leidenschaftliche Verachtung gegenüber Vulgarität und Ungerechtigkeit der Welt. Sie prangerten Konsumwahn, Bigotterie und Verklemmtheit an und interessierten sich für alternative Wege, den Schmutz, die Ausgeschlossenen und die Randgruppen der Gesellschaft. Im grossen Tableau The Eleventh Hour Final aus dem Jahr 1968 feiert Kienholz die Gemütlichkeit eines durchschnittlichen, achtbaren, bürgerlichen Wohnzimmers, um sie mit einem einzigen Objekt, einer einzigen Geste zu brechen und zu zerstören. Dieses Objekt ist ein Fernsehapparat aus Beton, in dem hinter der Mattscheibe stellvertretend für die Opfer des Vietnamkrieges ein abgetrennter Puppenkopf den Hintergrund für die Tötungsstatistiken bildet, die auf dem Bildschirm zu lesen sind. Allein der Akt des Zitierens dieser Aufzählung verdeutlicht die Absurdität einer solchen Statistik, die – und darauf rekurriert der Titel – allabendlich in den Spätnachrichten verlesen wurde. Das Fernsehgerät wird zum Monument, aber auch buchstäblich zum Denkmal medialer Manipulation.
Die Konfrontation der bürgerlichen Behaglichkeit mit den harten Gegebenheiten ausserhalb dieser Welt sind ein Thema des Tableau The Jesus Corner von 1982/83, in dem diesem Anderen, den Outsidern, Einzelgängern und Nonkonformisten einer Gesellschaft mit Toleranz und Aufgeschlossenheit begegnet wird. Darüber hinaus ist die Assemblage mit ihren christlichen Devotionalien symptomatisch für Kienholz' tiefe Skepsis gegenüber dem institutionalisiertem Glauben, die in seinem Werk manchmal in spöttelnder Ironie, manchmal in offener Empörung ihren Ausdruck findet.
Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, The Jesus Corner, 1982/83
Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, The Pool Hall (Detail), 1993
Eine Fülle von Werken macht es sich zum Anliegen, dass jedem ein fairer Anteil am amerikanischen Traum zugestanden werden sollte. In der Arbeit Claude Nigger Claude von 1988 rekurrieren Edward Kienholz und Nancy Reddin Kienholz auf den alltäglichen Rassismus. Claude ist das Porträt eines Schwarzen in Idaho, einem Bundesstaat, in dem der schwarze Bevölkerungsanteil verschwindend gering ist. Der Verdrängung und Zerstörung der sozialen und kulturellen Identität der indigenen Bevölkerung hingegen widmet sich The Potlatch aus dem Jahr 1988. Mit Claude Nigger Claude und The Potlatch greifen die Künstler als Einwohner Idahos die Geschichte des amerikanischen Nordwestens aus einer sehr nahen Perspektive auf.
Andere Arbeiten erzählen von sexueller Macht und Ausbeutung. Der Utopie einer befreiten Sexualität halten sie die warenförmige Sexualität des Bordells entgegen. Werke wie The Pool Hall von 1993, The Rhinestone Beaver Peepshow Triptych oder The Bronze Pinball Machine with Woman Affixed Also, beide 1980, reflektieren kommerzialisierten Sex und Werbebilder grösster Banalität, die sich tief in das Unterbewusstsein der Gesellschaft eingegraben haben. Heute, in Zeiten von YouPorn und von jederzeit und für nahezu alle verfügbaren Pornobildern wirkt ein Flipperautomat zur Triebabfuhr fast wie die Vision einer goldenen Zeit. Der Kienholz’sche Blick scheint in diesem Zusammenhang zutiefst protestantisch zu sein und oszilliert beständig zwischen Zeigefreude und aufklärerischem Gestus.

Einen Höhepunkt der Ausstellung bildet die spektakuläre Installation The Ozymandias Parade mit 687 blinkenden Glühbirnen (in Basel passend zur Schweiz weiss und rot. Die Farben werden jeweils dem Präsentationsort angepasst). Das Narrenschiff in Form eines spiegelnden Pfeils wird als dekadente Parade zum Sinnbild des Missbrauchs politischer Macht. Ob der finstere Präsident der Parade ein YES oder ein NO über dem Gesicht trägt, darüber bestimmen die Besucherinnen und Besucher. Es ist die Antwort auf eine Umfrage, die aus einer einzigen, einfachen Frage besteht: „Sind Sie mit ihrer Regierung zufrieden?“ Auf der zwei Wochen vor Ausstellungsbeginn frei geschalteten Internetseite www.tinguely.ch/jajaneinnein können Besucherinnen und Besucher an der Umfrage teilnehmen. Das Ergebnis der Abstimmung wird mit der Eröffnung der Ausstellung sichtbar.

Kienholz: Die Zeichen der Zeit ist eine Ausstellung der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt in Kooperation mit dem Museum Tinguely Basel.



>> Film zur Ausstellung in der Schirn Kunsthalle (22. Oktober – 29. Januar 2012)
 

Edward Kienholz & Nancy Reddin Kienholz, The Ozymandias Parade, 1985