Poetry of the Metropolis. The Affichistes

22 October 2014 – 11 January 2015

Exhibition Trailer

One of the most radical and simultaneously most poetic approaches to reality was made from 1950 onwards by the “Affichistes”: Francois Dufrêne, Raymond Hains, and Jacques Villeglé belonged, like Jean Tinguely, to the “Nouveaux Réalistes” group. Their creative work fitted in with that of the like-minded Mimmo Rotella and Wolf Vostell. The exhibition “Poetry of the Metropolis. The Affichistes” jointly devised by Museum Tinguely and Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt has as its theme an artistic current which, outside of France, in Switzerland and Germany too, has been largely disregarded up to now. The Affichistes are now comprehensively on show in Switzerland for the first time ever. The exhibition is arranged in the form of a trail, which presents the urban space as a place of varied inspiration for strolling flâneurs and creates locations for encountering the radical inventions of these five artists; be they décollages, or filmic, photographic, or even poetical experiments.
Dufrêne, Hains, and Villeglé, later Rotella too, came together with Arman, Yves Klein, Martial Raysse, Daniel Spoerri, and Jean Tinguely to form the “Nouveaux Réalistes”, founded by means of manifesto by Pierre Restany in 1960. Although the artistic field that revolves around the smallest common denominator, the “nouvelles approches perceptives du reel”, is thus marked out, in the Affichistes’ case this classification does not take account of the fact that, already in 1950 or thereabouts, they were important trailblazers for a new thinking that prepared the broader field of artistic acting and creating in around 1960. For example it is no coincidence, also, that important ideas for Restany’s first manifesto for the “Nouveaux Réalistes” (1960) were derived from a text already published in 1958 by Jacques Villeglé, Des réalités collectives. However, the Affichistes only arrived at their first exhibition opportunities after a delay and in the context of the “Nouveaux Réalistes” show at the 1st Biennale de Paris in 1959 and subsequently with solo presentations at the Parisian Gallery J, an ally of Restany. The formation of the “Nouveaux Réalistes” was therefore of no little consequence for the Affichistes’ reception and success.

Before they converged to form collaborations, to make mutual dedications of work and jointappearances, the origins and development of the five presented artistswere highly varied. Whatunited them, however, was cross-disciplinary thinking and functioning: Performative action, poetry, onomatopoeia, theatrical action, happening, photography, and film took shape throughthe medium of the décollages and the process of décollage. At the same time, though, theirworks, which range from the minute fragment – small exercises and studies – to the overwhelming large format, also have an inherent painterly and pictorial potential, which appears to unite objectivity and abstract reading with equal naturalness and arbitrariness. François Dufrêne’s origin as a literary and ultra-literary onomatopoeist, language subverter and language actionist formed the manner of his appropriation of posters by means of language games, a partly cryptic/objective interpretation of abstract shape fragments, and the fascination for temporality, reprinting, and the archaeological method of stratification – as his peeled-out poster backs show.
Jacques Villeglé tearing up a poster, 1964 © Photo: André Morain
Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962. Private collection, Rome © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano
With Raymond Hains he shared the joy of the deformation and reformation of the verbal and of the visual that extends into the absurd, which in Hains was turned even more toward the playful, to pure chance and to free association and which understood the city as a fountainhead for strings of poetical actions. As early as the end of the 1940s, together with Jacques Villeglé, Hains created the first torn-up posters; probably the most famous of these, Ach Alma Manetro (1949), forms the opening of the exhibition. From 1950 onwards, using a complex method of transformation by means of optical distortion and alternating media, they developed the film Pénélope, which is exemplary of the way décollages are synonymous with the conceptual process of finding (more than inventing). For Villeglé, for his part, the medium of the poster is an almost infinite, constantly self renewing fund of the present, conserving a specific aesthetic and temporality, and consequently, with time, also the respective “historical location”.

All this material is provided by the metropolis in “autopoetic productivity” to the attentive city stroller. Be it Paris for Dufrêne, Hains, Villeglé, or Vostell too, be it Rome for Mimmo Rotella. Rotella, who joins the circle of the “Nouveaux Réalistes” via acquaintance with Restany, experimented for his part, independently of the other Affichistes, with décollages from as early as 1953. Collages of even earlier date are followed in formal similarity by initial décollages and poster backs which deal likewise, as actual material images, with the theme of the archaeological, and which are directed toward the special quality of weathered paper and their rear support. In contrast to Hains and Villeglé Rotella also, however, intervenes directly in the surface, in order to reveal structures, patterns, and strata. The objects of his torn-off posters change after 1960. Now he is particularly interested in colorfully advertised products from the consumer world and in movie posters. In this he concurs, in turn, with Villeglé, who was occupied with the same fascination for advertising's popular images. They thereby become Pop Art pioneers. Wolf Vostell uses the term of “dé-coll/age” not only in connection with torn-up posters, but also as a comprehensive art concept, in order to emphasize deconstruction as a creative process. He uses torn-up posters in one of his first happenings, Das Theater ist auf der Strasse of 1958, in which the audience was called to take part in the action, to cite text fragments, or to imitate (fragmentarily) illustrated gestures. In Vostell, Actionist elements of reworking or overpainting (by the audience) complement the process of selection and appropriation.

The exhibition Poetry of the Metropolis covers the period from 1946 until 1968 and pays particular attention to the emergence and early phase of the Affichistes, to photographic, filmic, and poetical experiments and collaborations. We are indebted for being able to present the five artists with their most important works to a large number of lenders who are generously supporting our project – something which cannot be taken for granted given the fragility of these “paper works”. The presentation is arranged as a chronologically and thematically linked urban space, which particularly emphasizes the abstract large formats and the large objective décollages, but also specifically presents the theme of the political posters just as much as the fascination for text, texture and structure. 

An abundant supporting program featuring concerts, films, and poetry and literature events will be taking place as part of the exhibition, updating the haphazard nature of this fascinating art form for the present day as well. The exhibition has been devised by Roland Wetzel, Director of Museum Tinguely, and Esther Schlicht, curator at Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt.

The exhibition is a collaboration by Museum Tinguely and Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt where it will be there on display afterwards (February, 5 – May, 25 2015)

Publication
The exhibition will be accompanied by a lavishly illustrated catalog edited by Snoeck Verlag with articles by Bernard Blistène, Fritz Emslander, Esther Schlicht, Didier Semin, Dominique Stella and an interview with Jacques Villeglé by Roland Wetzel. German-Enlish edition, 280 pages, price at Museum’s book shop: 42 CHF, ISBN: 978-3-9523990-8-8
>> Order your catalogue online

Jacques Villeglé, "La Moto" - avenue Ledru-Rollin 19 mars 1965, 1965. Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Musée d'Art Moderne / Photo: Roger-Viollet

Virtual Tour

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 Décollage, reverse side, mounted on canvas, 92 x 73 cm Collection G. Dufrêne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Marc Domage

François Dufrêne, Apéritif, 1960 Décollage on wood, 113,5 x 56,5 cm ahlers collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Lisa Rastl

François Dufrêne in his studio, 1960s Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

François Dufrêne during a lettrist lecture at Théatre de l’Odéon, Paris, February 1964 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé tearing up a poster, 1964 © Photo: André Morain

Jacques Villeglé, Angers, 21 septembre 1959, 1959 Décollage and collage, mounted on canvas, 162 x 130 cm Collection des Musées d'art et d'histoire de la Ville de Genève © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Musées d'art et d'histoire, Ville de Genève, inv. n° 1988-0041; Photo: Bettina Jacot-Descombes

Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 Décollage on canvas, 200 x 320 cm Collection S.M.A.K., Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst, Gent, Belgium © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Stedelijk Museum, Gent

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 Décollage on canvas, 200 x 145 cm Collection FRAC Bourgogne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Collection FRAC Bourgogne

Jacques Villeglé, Rue de Tolbiac - Le crime ne paie pas, 1962 Décollage on wood, diameter : 111 cm Collection Frac Bretagne, Rennes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

Jacques Villeglé tearing up a poster, 1961 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé, 1961 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Mimmo Rotella, Terque quaterque, 1955 Burned décollage, 39,5 x 25,5 cm Private collection Courtesy Fondazione Marconi, Milan © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Fondazione Marconi, Milan

Mimmo Rotella, Marilyn, 1963-64 Décollage, 133 x 94 cm Agnes & Frits Becht Collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Thijn van de Ven

Mimmo Rotella, Per l'insalata, 1961 Décollage on canvas, 31 x 23 cm Collezione Peruz Milano © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Paolo Vandrasch, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962 Décollage on canvas, 108 x 84 cm Private collection, Rome © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, 1965 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Raymond Hains, Cet homme est dangereux, 1957

Raymond Hains, Photographie hypnagogique, 1946 – 1950 Print on silver sensitized photographic paper, 29,4 x 23,5 cm Courtesy Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 Décollage (of wrapping paper with threads) on plywood, 80 x 90cm Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; RMN-Grand Palais / Photo: Michèle Bello

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Ach Alma Manetro, 1949 Décollage on paper, mounted on canvas, 76,2 x 273 x 7,5 cm Centre Pompidou, Paris Musée national d'art moderne / Centre de création industrielle © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Photo: Christian Bahier / Philippe Migeat

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Pénélope, 1950-1953 Stock of archival material of the project Pénélope, 1950-1953 Coseup of the

Raymond Hains, 1961 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Wolf Vostell, Ihr Kandidat, 1961 Décollage on fiber board, 160 x 200 cm Leihgabe der Bundesrepublik Deutschland – Sammlung Zeitgenössische Kunst / Haus der Geschichte © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Bonn; Photo: Axel Thünker

Wolf Vostell, Bon Danseur, 1957 Décollage, 63 x 53 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Wolf Vostell, Ceres, 1960 Décollage, 203 x 135 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Mimmo Rotella Raum Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 (Mitte) Raymond Hains, Rue Delambre – Perroquet Brun, 1960 (rechts) Raymond Hains, Untitled, 1952 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Wolf Vostell, Anti-Process II, 1960 (rechts) Wolf Vostell, Harlem Globetrotters, 1962-1967 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Avenue de la Liberté, Charenton, 1961 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Métro Saint-Germain, 22 septembre 1964, 1964 (rechts) François Dufrêne, Le jour de la pharmacie, 1968 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Raymond Hains Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Projekt Pénélope, 1950-1953 Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (rechts) Werke von Raymond Hains und Jacques Villeglé (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Jacques Villeglé und François Dufrêne Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, 2014 Jacques Villeglé in the exhibition in front of

Poesie der Grossstadt. Die Affichisten

22. Oktober 2014 – 11. Januar 2015

 

François Dufrêne, Raymond Hains, Mimmo Rotella, Jacques Villeglé, Wolf Vostell
Eine Kooperation mit der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt

Trailer zur Ausstellung

Eine der radikalsten und gleichzeitig poetischsten Annäherungen an die Realität praktizierten ab 1950 die «Affichisten»: Francois Dufrêne, Raymond Hains und Jacques Villeglé gehörten wie Jean Tinguely zur Künstlergruppe der «Nouveaux Réalistes». Ihr Schaffen traf sich mit dem der Gleichgesinnten Mimmo Rotella und Wolf Vostell. Die vom Museum Tinguely und der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt gemeinsam konzipierte Ausstellung „Poesie der Grossstadt. Die Affichisten“ hat eine künstlerische Strömung zum Thema, die ausserhalb Frankreichs, auch in der Schweiz und in Deutschland, bisher weitgehend unbeachtet geblieben ist. In der Schweiz werden die Affichisten nun erstmals überhaupt umfassend gezeigt. Die Ausstellung ist als Parcours angelegt, der den Stadtraum als Ort vielfältiger Inspiration für Flaneure vorführt und Begegnungsorte für die radikalen Inventionen dieser fünf Künstler schafft; seien es Décollagen, filmische, fotografische oder auch poetische Experimente.
Dufrêne, Hains und Villeglé, später auch Rotella, formierten sich zusammen mit Arman, Yves Klein, Martial Raysse, Daniel Spoerri und Jean Tinguely zu den von Pierre Restany 1960 mittels Manifest begründeten ‚Nouveaux Réalistes‘. Damit ist zwar das künstlerische Feld abgesteckt, das sich um den kleinsten gemeinsamen Nenner, die ‚nouvelles approches perceptives du réel‘ dreht. Doch berücksichtigt diese Zuordnung im Fall der Affichisten nicht, dass sie schon um 1950 wichtige Wegbereiter für ein neues Denken waren, das das erweiterte Feld künstlerischen Handelns und Schaffens um 1960 erst vorbereitete. So ist es auch kein Zufall, dass sich wichtige Ideen für Restanys erstes Manifest der ‚Nouveaux Réalistes‘(1960) aus einem bereits 1958 publizierten Text von Jacques Villeglé, Des réalités collectives, ableiteten. Die Affichisten kamen allerdings erst mit Verzögerung und im Kontext der ‚Nouveaux Réalistes‘ an der 1ère Biennale de Paris 1959 und anschliessend mit Einzelpräsentationen in der Restany nahestehenden Pariser Galerie J zu ihren ersten Ausstellungsgelegenheiten. So war die Formation der ‚Nouveaux Réalistes‘ für die Rezeption und den Erfolg der Affichisten von kaum zu überschätzender Bedeutung.

Herkunft und Entwicklung der fünf vorgestellten Künstler waren, bevor sie sich zu Kollaborationen, gegenseitigen Werk-Widmungen und gemeinsamen Auftritten zusammenfanden, höchst unterschiedlich. Was sie jedoch einte, war ein disziplinenübergreifendes Denken und Wirken: Performatives Handeln, Poesie, Lautmalerei, theatrale Aktion, Happening, Fotografie und Film gewannen durch das Medium der Décollagen und den Prozess des Décollagierens Form. Gleichzeitig wohnt ihren Werken, die vom kleinsten Fragment - kleine Etüden und Studien - bis zum überwältigenden Grossformat reichen, aber auch malerisches und bildhaftes Potential inne, worin Gegenständlichkeit und abstrakte Lesart ebenso selbstverständlich wie zufällig vereint scheinen. François Dufrênes Herkunft als lettristischer und ultra-lettristischer Lautschöpfer, Sprachzersetzer und -aktionist formte die Art seiner Aneignung von Plakaten mittels Sprachspielen - eine teilweise kryptisch-vergegenständlichende Interpretation abstrakter Formfragmente – als auch die Faszination für Zeitlichkeit, den Abdruck und das archäologische Verfahren der Schichtung, wie sie seine herausgeschälten Plakatrückseiten zeigen. 
Jacques Villeglé beim Abreissen eines Plakates, 1964 © Foto: André Morain
Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962. Privatsammlung, Rom © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano
Mit Raymond Hains teilte er die Freude an der ins Absurde reichenden De- und Reformierung des Sprachlichen und des Bildlichen, das bei Hains noch mehr dem Spielerischen, dem puren Zufall und der freien Assoziation zugewandt war und die Stadt als Quell für Perlenketten poetischer Handlungen verstand. Zusammen mit Jacques Villeglé schaffte Hains schon Ende der 1940er Jahre die ersten Plakatabrisse, wovon der wohl berühmteste, Ach Alma Manetro (1949), den Auftakt zur Ausstellung bildet. Ab 1950 entwickelten sie in einem komplexen Verfahren der Transformation mittels optischer Verzerrung und wechselnden Medien den Film Pénélope, der exemplarisch wie die Décollagen für konzeptuelle Verfahren des Findens (mehr als des Erfindens) steht. Für Villeglé seinerseits ist das Medium des Plakats ein schier unendlicher, sich ständig erneuernder Fundus des Gegenwärtigen, der eine spezifische Ästhetik und Temporalität konserviert, und damit im Laufe der Zeit auch den jeweiligen ‚historischen Ort‘.

All dieses Material stellt die Metropole in ‚autopoetischer Produktivität‘ dem geneigten Stadtspaziergänger zur Verfügung. Sei es Paris für Dufrêne, Hains, Villeglé, oder auch Vostell, sei es Rom für Rotella. Mimmo Rotella, der durch Bekanntschaft mit Restany zum Kreis der ‚Nouveaux Réalistes‘ stösst, experimentierte seinerseits unabhängig von den anderen Affichisten schon ab 1953 mit Décollagen. Auf noch früher datierte Collagen folgen in formaler Ähnlichkeit erste Décollagen und Rückseiten, die als eigentliche Materialbilder ebenfalls das Thema des Archäologischen behandeln, und die sich auf die besondere Qualität von verwittertem Papier und ihrem rückseitigen Träger richten. Im Gegensatz zu Hains und Villeglé greift Rotella aber auch direkt in die Oberfläche ein, um Strukturen, Muster und Schichtungen offenzulegen. Nach 1960 ändern sich die Gegenstände seiner Plakatabrisse. Nun sind es meist bunt beworbene Produkte der Konsumwelt und Filmplakate, die ihn zentral interessierten. Darin trifft er sich wiederum mit Villeglé, den dieselbe Faszination für die populären Bilder der Werbung beschäftigte. Sie werden damit zu Pionieren der Pop-Art. Nicht nur im Zusammenhang mit Plakatabrissen, sondern als umfassenden Kunstbegriff verwendet Wolf Vostell den Begriff der ‚Dé-coll/age‘, um Dekonstruktion als schöpferisches Verfahren zu betonen. Plakatabrisse verwendet er in einem seiner ersten Happening, Das Theater ist auf der Strasse von 1958, bei dem das Publikum zur Aktion aufgerufen wurde, Textfragmente zu zitieren oder (fragmentiert) abgebildete Gesten zu imitieren. Aktionistische Elemente der Bearbeitung oder Übermalung (durch das Publikum) ergänzen bei ihm das Verfahren der Auswahl und Aneignung.

Die Ausstellung Die Poesie der Grossstadt umfasst den Zeitraum von 1946 bis 1968 und richtet ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die Entstehung und frühe Phase der Affichisten, auf fotografische, filmische und poetische Experimente und Kollaborationen. Dass wir die fünf Künstler mit ihren bedeutendsten Werken vorstellen können, verdanken wir einer grossen Zahl von Leihgebern, die unser Projekt auf grosszügige Weise unterstützen, was bei der Fragilität dieser ‚Papierarbeiten‘ nicht selbstverständlich ist. Die Präsentation ist als chronologisch und thematisch gegliederter Stadt- Raum angelegt, der die abstrakten Grossformate und die grossen gegenständlichen Décollagen besonders hervorhebt, aber auch das Thema der politischen Plakate ebenso wie die Faszination für Text, Textur und Struktur speziell vorstellt.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung hat ein reichhaltiges Begleitprogramm mit Konzerten, Filmen und poetisch-literarischen Veranstaltungen in Basel stattgefunden, das den akzidentiellen Charakter dieser faszinierenden Kunstform auch für die Gegenwart aktualisiert. Die Ausstellung ist von Roland Wetzel, Direktor des Museum Tinguely, und Esther Schlicht, Kuratorin der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, konzipiert worden.

Eine Ausstellung des Museum Tinguely und der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt
Die Ausstellung wird im Anschluss vom 5. Februar – 25. Mai 2015 in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt zu sehen sein.

Publikation
Zur Ausstellung erscheint im Snoeck Verlag eine reich bebilderte Publikation mit Texten von Bernard Blistène, Fritz Emslander, Esther Schlicht, Didier Semin, Dominique Stella und einem Interview zwischen Roland Wetzel und dem Künstler Jacques Villeglé. Deutsch-englische Ausgabe, 280 S., Buchpreis im Museumsshop: 42 CHF, ISBN: 978-3-9523990-8-8
>> Katalog online kaufen
 

Jacques Villeglé, "La Moto" - avenue Ledru-Rollin 19 mars 1965, 1965. Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Musée d'Art Moderne / Foto: Roger-Viollet

Virtuelle Tour

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 Plakatabriss-Rückseite auf Leinwand, 92 x 73 cm Sammlung G. Dufrêne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Basel; Foto: Marc Domage

François Dufrêne, Apéritif, 1960 Plakatabriss auf Holz, 113,5 x 56,5 cm ahlers collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Lisa Rastl

François Dufrêne in seinem Atelier, 1960er Jahre Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

François Dufrêne während einer lettristischen Lesung im Théatre de l’Odéon, Paris, Februar 1964 Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé beim Abreissen eines Plakates, 1964 © Foto: André Morain

Jacques Villeglé, Angers, 21 septembre 1959, 1959 Plakatabriss und Collage auf Leinwand, 162 x 130 cm Collection des Musées d'art et d'histoire de la Ville de Genève © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Musées d'art et d'histoire, Ville de Genève, inv. n° 1988-004; Foto: Bettina Jacot-Descombes

Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 Plakatabriss auf Leinwand, 200 x 320 cm Collection S.M.A.K., Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst, Gent, Belgium © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Stedelijk Museum, Gent

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 Plakatabriss auf Leinwand, 200 x 145 cm Collection FRAC Bourgogne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Collection FRAC Bourgogne

Jacques Villeglé, Rue de Tolbiac - Le crime ne paie pas, 1962 Plakatabriss auf Holz, Durchmesser : 111 cm Collection Frac Bretagne, Rennes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

Jacques Villeglé beim Abreissen eines Plakates, 1961 Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé, 1961 Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Mimmo Rotella, Terque quaterque, 1955 Plakatabriss mit Brandspuren, 39,5 x 25,5 cm Private collection Courtesy Fondazione Marconi, Milan © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Fondazione Marconi, Milan

Mimmo Rotella, Marilyn, 1963-64 Plakatabriss, 133 x 94 cm Agnes & Frits Becht Collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Thijn van de Ven

Mimmo Rotella, Per l'insalata, 1961 Plakatabriss auf Leinwand, 31 x 23 cm Collezione Peruz Milano © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Paolo Vandrasch, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962 Plakatabriss auf Leinwand, 108 x 84 cm Privatsammlung, Rom © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, 1965 Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Raymond Hains, Cet homme est dangereux, 1957 Plakatabriss auf Leinwand, 94 x 60,5 cm ahlers collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Lisa Rastl

Raymond Hains, Photographie hypnagogique, 1946 – 1950 Abzug auf Silbersalzfotopapier, 29,4 x 23,5 cm Courtesy Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 Plakatabriss (aus Packpapier mit Fäden) auf Sperrholz, 80 x 90 cm Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; RMN-Grand Palais / Foto: Michèle Bellot

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Ach Alma Manetro, 1949 Plakatabriss auf Papier auf Leinwand, 76,2 x 273 x 7,5 cm Centre Pompidou, Paris Musée national d'art moderne / Centre de création industrielle © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Foto: Christian Bahier / Philippe Migeat

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Pénélope, 1950-1953 Archivbestand des Projekts Pénélope, 1950-1953 Nahaufnahme der

Raymond Hains, 1961 Foto: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Wolf Vostell, Ihr Kandidat, 1961 Plakatabriss auf Hartfaserplatte, 160 x 200 cm Leihgabe der Bundesrepublik Deutschland – Sammlung Zeitgenössische Kunst / Haus der Geschichte © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Bonn; Foto: Axel Thünker

Wolf Vostell, Bon Danseur, 1957 Plakatabriss, 63 x 53 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Basel; Foto: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Wolf Vostell, Ceres, 1960 Plakatabriss, 203 x 135 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zürich; Basel; Foto: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Mimmo Rotella Raum Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 (Mitte) Raymond Hains, Rue Delambre – Perroquet Brun, 1960 (rechts) Raymond Hains, Untitled, 1952 (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Wolf Vostell, Anti-Process II, 1960 (rechts) Wolf Vostell, Harlem Globetrotters, 1962-1967 (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Avenue de la Liberté, Charenton, 1961 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Métro Saint-Germain, 22 septembre 1964, 1964 (rechts) François Dufrêne, Le jour de la pharmacie, 1968 (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Raymond Hains Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Projekt Pénélope, 1950-1953 Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (rechts) Werke von Raymond Hains und Jacques Villeglé (links) Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Jacques Villeglé und François Dufrêne Installationsaufnahme im Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, 2014 Jacques Villeglé in der Ausstellung vor