Eva Aeppli, Astrologische Aspekte, 1977-2001, Museum Tinguely, Donation Christoph Aeppli
 

Eva Aeppli

6 June – 1 November 2015

Eva Aeppli, Impasse Ronsin, Paris, 1957. Photo: Hansjörg Stoecklin
Museum Tinguely, Basel commemorates the artist Eva Aeppli, who passed away on May 4, 2015, with a presentation of works and photos. Aeppli, who grew up in Basel, created from the 1950s an oeuvre that is characterized by great intensity, and in which she traced the depths of the human psyche. Her creations are charcoal drawings, large-format paintings, fabric figures, and bronze heads, along with joint sculptures with Jean Tinguely, with whom she went to Paris in 1952 and to whom she was married until 1961. Aeppli resided from the 1950s onward in France, ultimately in Honfleur (Normandy), where she passed away shortly after her 90th birthday. Museum Tinguely is showing, from June 6 until November 1, 2015, two large-format paintings, a group of fabric figures, nine bronze heads, and numerous photographs by the artist.

Eva Aeppli, born on May 2, 1925 in Zofingen (Switzerland), grew up in Basel with her parents and three siblings. She attended the Steiner School in Basel, which had been co-founded by her father. During the 2nd World War she enrolled in courses at the School of Applied Arts and created her first fabric figures, glove puppets which she sold in various stores. She only commenced her actual artistic oeuvre – she considered the glove puppets her bread-and-butter work – once she was in Paris.
After a first marriage to architect Hans Leu, of which her son Felix-Vital was born in 1946, she was soon the partner of Jean Tinguely. She lived with him in the Burghof, a villa scheduled for demolition which was located at the spot where the extension of Basel’s Kunstmuseum is currently taking place. Their daughter Miriam was born in 1950; Aeppli and Tinguely married the year after. 1949 saw the start of Eva Aeppli’s years-long close friendship with Daniel Spoerri, whom Aeppli and Tinguely followed to Paris in 1952. After an initial period in modest hotels they soon moved into a studio in Impasse Ronsin, an artists’ colony in the Quartier Montparnasse, whose doyen was the Romanian sculptor Constantin Brâncuşi. Here, Eva Aeppli’s oeuvre began with fabric pictures and charcoal drawings, mostly of people, often gaunt figures in gloomy mood.

Aeppli met Yves Klein, François-Xavier and Claude Lalanne, along with protagonists of the very lively Parisian art world such as the gallery owner Iris Clert, the critic Pierre Restany, or the young Swedish art historian Pontus Hultén. However, for the most part she kept her distance from the art scene, while her husband fully immersed himself in it. In 1955 she met Niki de Saint Phalle and the latter’s husband Harry Matthews; the two couples were subsequently bound by a close friendship.

In 1960 Aeppli separated from Tinguely, who lived in the ensuing years with Niki de Saint Phalle, and went on to marry American lawyer Samuel Mercer, with whom she lived part-time in Omaha/NE.
Installation view, photos out of the life of Eva Aeppli
Installation view, Eva Aeppli, La Fête, private collection (rear left); Champs des Tulipes, 1961, private collection (rear right); Astrologische Aspekte, 1977-2001, Museum Tinguely, Basel, Donation Christoph Aeppli
In the subsequent years, Eva Aeppli’s second block of works appeared: Large-format paintings, oil on canvas, in which large numbers of heads are usually depicted. They are, on the one hand, death’s heads, skulls, and, on the other, stylized faces; sometimes still more skeleton parts are visible, sometimes the heads are adorned with flowers. The images are called Le Fleuve (River), Minuit (Midnight), La Fête (The Fest) or Champ des Tulipes (Tulip Field); they are reminiscent of morbid depictions of the dead, of photographs of piles of corpses, of war and concentration camps.

The mid-1960s saw the creation of the first textile sculptures, life-sized figures with impressive faces and long, thin hands. La Table of 1967 (now at Moderna Museet Stockholm) shows 13 figures, sitting at a table, an interpretation of the Last Supper, without a Savior, though. On a smaller scale and darker is the group of likewise 13 figures bearing the title Hommage à Amnesty International (now at the Centre Georges Pompidou, Musée National d'Art Moderne, Paris), black-clad forms whose faces are petrified in silent suffering. Furthermore, Eva Aeppli created individual figures which, sitting on chairs, function as silent watchers of the world. An intensive confrontation with astrology, which began from 1975 in collaboration with astro-psychoanalyst Jacques Berthon and artist Eric Leraille, led to the creation of various groups of figures, the first of which was the Die zehn Planeten (The Ten Planets), which were shown in 1976 at the Biennale in Venice. After the Biennale the artist decided to have the heads of the Planets cast in bronze. She gifted the hands to friends; the figures’ bodies were destroyed.
The subsequent period saw the creation of further groups of heads in fine fabric, which were cast in bronze, Astrologische Aspekte (Astrological Aspects), Die zwölf Sternzeichen (The Twelve Signs of the Zodiac), Einige menschliche Schwächen (Some Human Weaknesses), and a number of others. These are heads whose physiognomies record deeply felt emotions. Despite her reclusiveness, exhibition makers recognized the intensity and quality of her oeuvre and organized major retrospectives: in 1993 the Moderna Museet in Stockholm, Pontus Hultén in 1994 at the Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn, André Kamber in the same year at Kunstmuseum Solothurn.

A final group of works was created in 1990 and 1991: these are sculptures that she created jointly with Jean Tinguely, morbid figures such as the Hommage à Käthe Kollwitz (Kunstmuseum Solothurn) or Erika (private collection). These sculptures were on show at Basel’s Galerie Littmann and were central components of the subsequent retrospectives. Eva Aeppli collaborated with other artists, too, such as Jean-Pierre Raynaud or Daniel Spoerri.
Installation view, Eva Aeppli, Astrologische Aspekte, 1977-2001, Museum Tinguely, Basel, Donation Christoph Aeppli (left); Champs des Tulipes, 1961, private collection (centre); Die Fünf Witwen, 1969, Museum Tinguely, Basel, Donation Niki de Saint Phalle (right)
In 2006 Museum Tinguely exhibited Les Livres de Vie (The Books of Life), 15 volumes which Eva Aeppli created from 1954 onward and in which she glued everything that seemed important to her. These are invitations to exhibitions, photos of friends, letters, tickets, drawings, little notes, and large documents of all kinds, including draft wills. Les Livres de Vie form a golden thread through an artist’s life that was otherwise characterized by constant change. Eva Aeppli had donated the books to Kunstmuseum Solothurn in 2002. All of the artist’s bronze heads were also on show at Museum Tinguely in 2008, donated to the Museum by her brother Christoph. The last major exhibition was organized for Eva Aeppli by her friend Daniel Spoerri, at his exhibition venue in Hadersdorf in Lower Austria. This marked the completion of a circle that told of a lifelong friendship.
Supported by a more recent – but no less close – friendship, the electronic directory of Eva Aeppli’s works is produced by art historian Susanne Gyger in collaboration with the Swiss Institute for Art Research (SIK-ISEA). It has been published on the latter’s website since 2012 and is publicly accessible.

Eva Aeppli, Bronzeköpfe aus dem Zyklus Astrologische Aspekte, 1977-2001, 36 cm hoch, Museum Tinguely, Schenkung Christoph Aeppli
 

Eva Aeppli. Vive la vie – vive la mort

6. Juni – 1. November 2015

Eva Aeppli, Impasse Ronsin, Paris, 1957. Foto: Hansjörg Stoecklin
Das Museum Tinguely, Basel gedenkt der Künstlerin Eva Aeppli, die am 4. Mai 2015 verstorben ist, mit einer Präsentation von Werken und Fotos. Aeppli, in Basel aufgewachsen, schuf seit den 1950er Jahren ein Werk, das von grosser Intensität geprägt ist und in dem sie den Tiefen der menschlichen Psyche nachspürte. Es entstanden Kohlezeichnungen, grossformatige Gemälde, Stofffiguren und Bronzeköpfe sowie gemeinsame Skulpturen mit Jean Tinguely, mit dem sie 1952 nach Paris ging und bis 1961 verheiratet war. Aeppli wohnte seit den 1950er Jahren in Frankreich, zuletzt in Honfleur (Normandie), wo sie kurz nach ihrem 90. Geburtstag verstorben ist. Das Museum Tinguely zeigt vom 6. Juni bis 1. November 2015 zwei grossformatige Gemälde, eine Gruppe von Stofffiguren, neun Bronzeköpfe und zahlreiche Fotografien der Künstlerin.

Eva Aeppli, am 2. Mai 1925 in Zofingen (CH) geboren, wächst mit ihren Eltern und drei Geschwistern in Basel auf. Sie besucht dort die Steiner-Schule, die von ihrem Vater mitbegründet worden ist. Während des 2. Weltkrieges belegt sie Kurse an der Kunstgewerbeschule und schafft erste Stofffiguren, Handpuppen, die sie in verschiedenen Geschäften verkauft. Ihr eigentliches künstlerisches Werk – die Handpuppen betrachtete sie als Broterwerb – beginnt sie erst in Paris.
Nach einer ersten Ehe mit dem Architekten Hans Leu, aus der 1946 ihr Sohn Felix-Vital hervorgeht, ist sie bald die Partnerin von Jean Tinguely. Sie lebt mit ihm im Burghof, einer Abbruchvilla an der Stelle gelegen, an der momentan der Erweiterungsbau des Basler Kunstmuseums entsteht. Ihre gemeinsame Tochter Miriam kommt 1950 zur Welt. Aeppli und Tinguely heiraten im Jahr darauf. 1949 beginnt Eva Aepplis langjährige, enge Freundschaft mit Daniel Spoerri, dem Aeppli und Tinguely nach Paris folgen. Nach einer ersten Zeit in bescheidenen Hotels beziehen sie bald ein Atelier in der Impasse Ronsin, einer Künstlerkolonie im Quartier Montparnasse, deren Doyen der rumänische Bildhauer Constantin Brâncuşi ist. Hier beginnt Eva Aepplis künstlerisches Werk mit Stoffbildern und Kohlezeichnungen, meist von Menschen, oft hageren Gestalten in düsterer Stimmung.

Aeppli trifft Yves Klein, François-Xavier und Claude Lalanne sowie Exponenten der sehr vitalen Pariser Kunstwelt wie die Galeristin Iris Clert, den Kritiker Pierre Restany oder den jungen schwedischen Kunsthistoriker Pontus Hultén. Sie hält sich aber grösstenteils der Kunstszene fern, während ihr Mann vollends in dieser aufgeht. 1955 lernt sie Niki de Saint Phalle und deren Mann Harry Mathews kennen. Die zwei Ehepaare verbindet in der Folge eine enge Freundschaft. 1960 trennt sich Aeppli von Tinguely, der in den nächsten Jahren mit Niki de Saint Phalle lebt, und heiratet den amerikanischen Anwalt Samuel Mercer, mit dem sie zeitweise in Omaha/NE lebt.
Ausstellungsansicht, Fotos aus dem Leben Eva Aepplis
Ausstellungsansicht, Eva Aeppli, La Fête, 1962, Privatsammlung, Luzern (links hinten) und Champs des Tulipes, 1961, Privatsammlung (rechts hinten) sowie drei Köpfe aus dem Zyklus Astrologische Aspekte, 1977-2001, Museum Tinguely, Basel, Schenkung Christoph Aeppli
In den folgenden Jahren entsteht Eva Aepplis zweiter Werkblock: Grossformatige Gemälde, Öl auf Leinwand, auf denen meist Köpfe in grosser Zahl dargestellt sind. Es sind einerseits Totenköpfe, Schädel und andererseits stilisierte Gesichter, manchmal sind noch weitere Skelettteile sichtbar, manchmal sind die Köpfe mit Blumen geschmückt. Die Bilder heissen Le Fleuve (Fluss), Minuit (Mitternacht), La Fête (Das Fest) oder Champ des Tulipes (Tulpenfeld), sie erinnern an morbide Darstellungen von Toten, an Fotografien von Leichenbergen, an Krieg und Konzentrationslager. In der Mitte der 1960er Jahre entstehen die ersten textilen Plastiken, lebensgrosse Figuren mit eindrucksvollen Gesichtern und langen, dünnen Händen. La Table von 1967 (heute im Moderna Museet Stockholm) zeigt 13 Figuren an einem Tisch sitzend, eine Umsetzung des Abendmahls, ohne Heilsbringer allerdings. Reduzierter und dunkler ist die Gruppe von ebenfalls 13 Figuren mit dem Titel Hommage à Amnesty International (heute im Centre Georges Pompidou, Musée national d'art moderne, Paris), schwarz gekleidete Gestalten, deren Gesichter in stillem Leiden erstarrt sind. Des Weiteren kreiert Eva Aeppli Einzelfiguren, die in Fauteuils sitzend als stille Wächter der Welt fungieren. Eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Astrologie, die ab 1975 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Astro-Psychoanalytiker Jacques Berthon und dem Künstler Eric Leraille beginnt, führen zur Kreation verschiedener Figurengruppen, als erste Die zehn Planeten, die 1976 an der Biennale in Venedig gezeigt wurden. Nach der Biennale beschliesst die Künstlerin, die Köpfe der Zehn Planeten in Bronze giessen zu lassen. Die Hände verschenkt sie an Freunde, die Körper der Figuren werden zerstört.
In der Folge entstehen weitere Gruppen von Köpfen aus feinem Stoff, die in Bronze gegossen werden, Astrologische Aspekte, Die zwölf Sternzeichen, Einige menschliche Schwächen und einige Weitere. Es sind Köpfe, deren Physiognomien tief empfundene Emotionen festhalten.
Trotz Aepplis Zurückhaltung erkennen Ausstellungsmacher die Intensität und Qualität ihres Werks und organisieren umfassende Retrospektiven, 1993 das Moderna Museet in Stockholm, Pontus Hultén 1994 in der Bundeskunsthalle in Bonn, André Kamber im selben Jahr im Kunstmuseum Solothurn.

Eine letzte Werkgruppe entsteht 1990 und 1991. Es sind Skulpturen, die sie gemeinsam mit Jean Tinguely schafft, morbide Figuren wie die Hommage à Käthe Kollwitz (Kunstmuseum Solothurn) oder Erika (Privatbesitz). Diese Skulpturen wurden in der Basler Galerie Littmann gezeigt und sind zentrale Bestandteile der folgenden Retrospektiven. Auch mit anderen Künstlern, wie Jean-Pierre Raynaud oder Daniel Spoerri arbeitet Eva Aeppli zusammen.
Ausstellungsansicht, Eva Aeppli, ein Kopf aus dem Zyklus Astrologische Aspekte, 1977-2001, Museum Tinguely, Basel, Schenkung Christoph Aeppli (links) und Champs des Tulipes, 1961, Privatsammlung (Mitte) sowie Die Fünf Witwen, 1969, Museum Tinguely, Basel, Donation Niki de Saint Phalle (rechts)
Das Museum Tinguely zeigte 2006 Les Livres de Vie (die Lebensbücher), 15 Bände, die Eva Aeppli seit 1954 geschaffen hat und in die sie alles einklebte, das ihr wichtig erschien: Einladungen zu Ausstellungen, Fotos von Freunden, Briefe, Karten, Zeichnungen, kleine Notizen und grosse Dokumente aller Art bis zu Testamententwürfen. Les Livres de Vie bilden einen roten Faden durch ein Künstlerleben, das ansonsten von stetem Wechsel geprägt ist. Eva Aeppli schenkt die Bücher 2002 dem Kunstmuseum Solothurn. Ebenfalls im Museum Tinguely waren 2008 sämtliche Bronzeköpfe der Künstlerin zu sehen, eine Schenkung ihres Bruders Christoph ans Museum. Die letzte grosse Ausstellung richtete ihr Freund Daniel Spoerri für sie in seinem Ausstellungshaus in Hadersdorf (Österreich) ein. Hier schloss sich ein Kreis, der von einer lebenslangen Freundschaft zeugte. Von einer jüngeren Freundschaft – aber einer nicht weniger innigen – getragen, erstellt die Kunsthistorikerin Susanne Gyger in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Institut für Kunstwissenschaft (SIK-ISEA) das elektronische Werkverzeichnis Eva Aepplis. Seit 2012 ist es auf deren Website publiziert und öffentlich zugänglich.