Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.

10 June – 6 September 2015

Exhibition Trailer

Haroon Mirza at his studio, London 2015 © Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Sandra Beate Reimann
Between June 10 and September 6, Museum Tinguely hosts the most extensive exhibition to date of work by the London-based artist Haroon Mirza (born 1977). Mirza’s large spatial installations often include sound, light, video and film as well as randomly found objects and works by other artists. In this way, Mirza creates an immersive experience that challenges the eye, the ear and our spatial orientation. By showing existing works alongside several new pieces created especially for the exhibition and specific to the site where they are placed, Museum Tinguely presents the work of Mirza across a broad spectrum.

The ‘Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.’ exhibition focuses on the collaborative nature of the artist’s practice. The exhibition’s title, the name of Mirza’s studio and company ‘hrm199 Ltd.’ implies the essence of his approach. Artistic work is inherently a process with many contributors. It includes co-workers in the studio, the architect or the people involved at the museum as well as other artists. In this case the latter includes Alexander Calder, Channa Horwitz and Anish Kapoor, all of whom have either contributed their own work or engaged in a creative dialogue to lead to artistic innovation. Various forms of interaction such as appropriation, dialogic structures and complicity between the different contributors including the act of curating itself are presented. Accompanying the exhibition there is a catalogue that takes an experimental format by rendering the creative and practical interactions visible, mirroring the creative processes in the exhibition itself.

Haroon Mirza studied painting, design and theory at the Winchester School of Art, Goldsmiths and at Chelsea College of Art. He rose to international fame in 2011 when he was awarded the Silver Lion at the 54th Biennale of Venice. In 2014 he also received The Zurich Art Prize and The Nam June Paik Art Center Prize.
Mirza’s artistic creation is a permanent experiment within which critical analysis and categorisation of art production are investigated. His sound, light and media installations are characterised by formal precision as well as the development of complex narratives. They appeal to the sense of vision as much as to that of hearing and explore the relationship between the two. The site-specific installations create a multi-layered dialogue between the materials used including audio equipment, LEDs, solar panels as well as found footage and works by other artists. At times, the artist’s own creations are transformed back into material that is to be integrated into new works. A recurrent theme is ‘Mis-use’, the creative alienation and transformation of apparatus and its associated functions used as a strategy to break with established functions and to extend possibilities.
With artistic procedures of appropriation, the use of ready-mades and reverse ready-mades, as well as the incorporation of self-governing systems, Mirza questions the conditions under which art is produced and playfully deconstructs the role of the authors and artists.
It is this aspect that the exhibition ‘Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.’ focuses on. It therefore fits with the Museum’s exhibition programme to explore the core ideas of Jean Tinguely’s innovative practice of art and its relevance to the present. As early as the late 1950s, Tinguely examined co-operative and anti-institutional forms of art production such as in the joint works with Yves Klein (La Vitesse Totale, 1985) or the exhibitions ‘Dylaby’, ‘Hon’ and the project Le Cyclope.

Haroon Mirza, The System, 2014, dimensions variable, Foam, LEDs, specially built multi-media player, electronics, speakers, 3 channel video, Eileen Gray ephemera from The Irish Museum of Modern Art, Courtesy hrm199 Ltd.; Photo: Davey Moore
Haroon Mirza, An_Infinato, 2009, dimensions variable, Mixed media including unedited footage from Memory Bucket (2003) by Jeremy Deller and damaged off-cuts from Cycles #1 (1972/1977) 16mm film by Guy Sherwin, Arts Council Collection, Southbank Centre, London; Photo: Ken Adlard
How far are solo-exhibitions, against a background of deconstructed authorship, inherently group exhibitions? This a question on which the exhibition ‘Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.’ focuses by presenting a wide variation of artistic co-operation. Within Mirza’s oeuvre of works which develop co-operative practices, a key example can be found in the piece An_Infinato (2009) which combines footage of Guy Sherwin’s film Cycles #1 (1972/1977) and Jeremy Deller’s Video Memory Bucket (2003). By way of contrast the installation Sound Spill (Second Edition) (2009/2015), curated by Mirza and Richard Sides, retains the integrity of the three film and video works used, whilst at the same time formulating new connections. In an artistic dialogue Mirza responds with a sound and light installation to the conceptual drawings by Channa Horwitz.
In yet another work he uses a concave mirror by Anish Kapoor to explore its acoustic qualities with a loudspeaker. A work with co-operative qualities is to be found in the technologically upgraded marble sculpture, Standing Stones (2015), exhibited in Solitude Park and created by Mirza together with the Italian stone mason Mattia Bosco.
In several works Mirza refers directly to the Museum Tinguely collection. Inspired by the characteristic metallic screeching of the Mengele-Dance of Death (1986) Mirza developed an intervention with light and sound. His Pavilion for Optimisation (2013/2015) incorporates a variety of Tinguely’s Radio sculptures. He furthermore conceptualised Duet for a Duo (2015), a sound composition with works by Alexander Calder and Jean Tinguely. Calder’s Untitled (c. 1940) is set in motion through the use of a ventilator. This presents us with a rare opportunity to experience one of the works by Calder, which were originally intended to be in motion and to produce sound, the way they were conceived, rather than in their more commonly static presentation. Playing alongside are two of Jean Tinguely’s Radio sculptures (1962).
Haroon Mirza, Bitbang Mirror, 2015 (Prototype9), dimensions variable, Untitled (2013) by Anish Kapoor, LEDs, Arduino, speaker, amplifier, Courtesy of the artists; Photo: David Bebber
Haroon Mirza, Duet for a Duo, 2015 (Detail), dimensions variable, Photovoltaic panels, LEDs, Arduinos, rock speakers, cable temporarily incorporating Untitled (c. 1940) by Alexander Calder, fan, Untitled, Radio sculpture (1962) and Radio Stockholm, Radio sculpture (1966) by Jean Tinguely, Courtesy hrm199 Ltd.; Photo: David Bebber
Catalogue
A catalogue accompanies the exhibition which provides a platform for the presentation of the rhizome-like structure of creative as well as practical interactions. Mirza is thus exhibited in his extended sphere of production which includes other artists, co-workers in his studio, authors, employees of the Museum, graphic designers and other participants. In a format which allows for reading on two levels, the catalogue presents on the one hand, a process-oriented chronologically-ordered account of the creation of the exhibition, and on the other, a networked orientation of the individual interactions which are part of each exhibition project. Thus the catalogue provides an insight into the development of this rich and complex exhibition. An English and German Edition are available at the Museum’s shop or online for 48 CHF: ISBN: 978-3-9524392-1-0.

The exhibition has been devised by Roland Wetzel, Director of Museum Tinguely.
Contributing artists: Mattia Bosco, Alexander Calder, Jeremy Deller, Francesca Fornasari, Gaia Fugazza, Alexander Heim, Gary Hill, Channa Horwitz, Anish Kapoor, Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd., TJ O’Keefe, Guy Sherwin, Richard Sides and Jean Tinguely.

Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.

10. Juni – 6. September 2015

Trailer zur Ausstellung

Haroon Mirza at his studio, London 2015 © Museum Tinguely, Basel; Foto: Sandra Beate Reimann
Das Museum Tinguely in Basel widmet dem in London lebenden Künstler Haroon Mirza (*1977) seine bisher grösste Ausstellung. Die raumgrei-fenden Installationen des Künstlers integrieren vielfach Ton und Licht, häufig auch Video und Film sowie gefundene Objekte oder Werke anderer Künstler. Mirza generiert damit immer-sive Wahrnehmungserlebnisse, die Auge, Ohr und Orientierung im Raum herausfordern. Mit existierenden und mehreren neu für die Aus-stellung konzipierten, ortsspezifischen Werken präsentiert das Museum Tinguely vom 10. Juni bis 6. September 2015 Mirzas Schaffen in großer Breite.

Die Ausstellung ‚Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.‘ rückt die gemeinschaftlichen Praktiken des Künstlers ins Zentrum. Der Titel, der den Firmennamen von Mirzas Studio ‚hrm199 Ltd.‘ zitiert, spiegelt diesen Ansatz wider. Künstlerisches Schaffen ist stets ein Prozess mit vielen Akteuren. Dieser umfasst die MitarbeiterInnen im Studio, die Architektin oder die Beteiligten am Ausstellungsort, aber auch andere Künstler, die für die Ausstellung mit bestehenden Werken oder im persönlichen, kreativen Dialog zu Neuem beitragen, wie etwa Alexander Calder, Channa Horwitz und Anish Kapoor. Verschiedene Formen künstlerischer Interaktionen, von Aneignungen, dialogischen Strukturen, Komplizenschaften bis hin zur Tätigkeit des Kuratierens selbst werden dabei vorgestellt. Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog in einem experimentellen Format, der die kreativen und die praktischen Interaktionen sichtbar macht, die Teil jedes Entsteh-ungsprozesses von Ausstellungen sind.

Haroon Mirza studierte Malerei, Design und Theorie an der Winchester School of Art, am Goldsmiths College und am Chelsea College of Art. Im Jahr 2011 erlangte er mit der Auszeichnung des silbernen Löwen auf der 54. Biennale von Venedig internationale Bekanntheit. 2014 wurde er mit dem Zurich Art Prize und dem Nam June Paik Art Center Prize geehrt.
Mirzas künstlerisches Schaffen vollzieht sich als permanentes Experiment, dem die kritische Analyse von Entstehungsbedingungen und Kategorisierungen der Kunstproduktion eingeschrieben ist. Seine Klang-, Licht- und Medieninstallationen zeichnen sich sowohl durch formale Präzision als auch durch die Entfaltung komplexer Narration aus. Sie sprechen den Sehsinn wie das Gehör an und befragen das Verhältnis der Sinne zueinander. Den meist ortsspezifischen Installationen ist ein vielschichtiger Dialog mit dem verarbeiteten Material eingeschrieben, das von Audiogeräten, LEDs und Solarpanels bis hin zu Found Footage und Arbeiten anderer Künstler reicht. Teilweise werden auch seine eigenen Kunstwerke wieder zu Material und in neue Arbeiten eingepasst. Ein wiederkehrendes Motiv ist der ‚Missbrauch‘, die kreative Verfremdung und Transformation von Apparaten und Funktionszusammenhängen, als Strategie der Brechung und der Erweiterung von Möglichkeiten.
Mit künstlerischen Verfahren wie Appropriation, Verwendung von Readymades und Reverse Readymades sowie der Einführung von Self-governing-Systems befragt Mirza die Produktionsbedingungen von Kunst und dekonstruiert auf spielerische Weise die Rolle des Autors und Künstlers. Diesen Aspekt fokussiert die Ausstellung ‚Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.‘. Sie nimmt damit am Programm des Hauses teil, die Kernideen von Jean Tinguelys innovativer Kunstpraxis für die Gegenwart zu befragen. Bereits seit den späten 1950er Jahren erprobte Tinguely kooperative und anti-institutionelle Formen der Produktion von Kunstwerken etwa in gemeinsamen Werken mit Yves Klein (La Vitesse totale, 1958) oder in Ausstellungsprojekten wie ‚Dylaby‘, ‚Hon‘ oder auch Le Cyclope.
Haroon Mirza, The System, 2014, Masse variabel, Hartschaum, LEDs, speziell angefertigter Multimedia-Player, Elektroteile, Lautsprecher, 3-Kanal-Video, Ephemera einer Eileen Gray-Ausstellung aus dem Irish Museum of Modern Art, Courtesy hrm199 Ltd.; Photo: Davey Moore
Haroon Mirza, An_Infinato, 2009, Masse variabel, Mixed Media, darunter ungeschnittenes Videomaterial aus Memory Bucket (2003) von Jeremy Deller und Schnittreste aus Cycles #1 (1972/1977), 16 mm-Film von Guy Sherwin, Arts Council Collection, Southbank Centre, London; Photo: Ken Adlard
In welchem Masse ist eine Einzelausstellung – vor dem Hintergrund der Dekonstruktion von Autorschaft – zugleich immer auch eine Gruppenausstellung? Die Ausstellung ‚Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.‘ nimmt sich dieser Frage an und präsentiert unterschiedliche Formen der künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit.

Eine Schlüsselposition für die Entwicklung gemeinschaftlicher Praktiken innerhalb von Mirzas Œuvre hat hierbei das Werk An_Infinato (2009) inne, das Footage von Guy Sherwins Film Cycles #1 (1972/1977) und Jeremy Dellers Video Memory Bucket (2003) integriert. Demgegenüber steht die von Mirza und Richard Sides kuratierte Installation Sound Spill (Second Edition) (2009/2015), welche die Integrität der drei versammelten Film- und Videoarbeiten zwar wahrt, aber in einen neu formulierten Zusammenhang bringt. In künstlerischem Dialog reagiert Mirza mit einer Klang- und Lichtinstallation auf die konzeptuellen Zeichnungen von Channa Horwitz.
In einer anderen Arbeit inkorporiert er einen konkaven Spiegel von Anish Kapoor und lotet mit einem Lautsprecher dessen akustische Qualitäten aus. Kooperativer Natur ist hingegen die im Solitude-Park präsentierte, technisch aufgerüstete Marmorskulptur, Standing Stones (2015), die Mirza zusammen mit dem italienischen Bildhauer Mattia Bosco entwickelte.
Mirza nimmt in mehreren Werken auch direkt Bezug auf die Sammlung des Museum Tinguely. Inspiriert durch das charakteristische, metallische Kreischen des Mengele-Totentanz (1986) entwickelte Mirza eine Intervention mit Licht und Ton. In Pavilion for Optimisation (2013/2015) integriert der Künstler mehrere von Tinguelys Radio-Skulpturen. Darüber hinaus konzipierte er mit der neuen Arbeit Duet for a Duo (2015) eine Geräuschkomposition mit Werken Alexander Calders und Jean Tinguelys. Calders Ohne Titel (ca. 1940) wird mittels Ventilator in Bewegung versetzt und bietet so die seltene Gelegenheit, eine der auf Bewegung und Klang ausgerichteten, aus konservatorischen Gründen jedoch häufig statisch präsentierten Skulpturen Calders in ihrer ursprünglichen Konzeption zu erfahren. Parallel dazu ertönen zwei weitere von Tinguelys Radio-Skulpturen.

Haroon Mirza, Bitbang Mirror, 2015 (Prototype9), Masse variabel, Ohne Titel (2013) von Anish Kapoor, LEDs, Arduino, Lautsprecher, Verstärker, Courtesy of the artists; Photo: David Bebber
Haroon Mirza, Duet for a Duo, 2015 (Detail), Masse variabel, Photovoltaikpanele, LEDs, Arduinos, Steinlautsprecher, temporär mit Ohne Titel (um 1940) von Alexander Calder, Ventilator, Ohne Titel, Radio-Skulptur (1962) und Radio Stockholm, Radio-Skulptur (1966) von Jean Tinguely, Courtesy hrm199 Ltd.; Photo: David Bebber
Publikation
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog, der als Plattform dient, um die rhizomatische Struktur sowohl der kreativen als auch der praktischen Interaktionen vorzustellen. Mirza wird damit in seinem erweiterten Handlungsfeld gezeigt, das andere Künstler, die MitarbeiterInnen seines Studios, Autoren, MitarbeiterInnen des Museums, den Grafiker und weitere Beteiligte umfasst. In einer doppelten Lesart zeichnet der Katalog dabei sowohl prozessorientiert in einer chronologischen Abfolge die Entstehung der Ausstellung nach als auch netzwerkorientiert die individuellen Interaktionen, die Teil jedes Ausstellungsprojektes sind, und bietet so Einblicke hinter die Kulissen der Entstehung dieser reichen und komplexen Ausstellung. Der deutsche und englische Katalog ist im Museumsshop und online erhältlich: ISBN: 978-3-9524392-0-3 (48 CHF).

Die Ausstellung wurde von Roland Wetzel, Direktor Museum Tinguely, kuratiert.
Beitragende Künstler: Mattia Bosco, Alexander Calder, Jeremy Deller, Francesca Fornasari, Gaia Fugazza, Alexander Heim, Gary Hill, Channa Horwitz, Anish Kapoor, Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd., TJ O’Keefe, Guy Sherwin, Richard Sides und Jean Tinguely.