Performances

Museum Tinguely AHOY! is flanked by a wide-ranging, high-calibre performance programme. This will include three different performances, for which Museum Tinguely itself will be the guest of local partner institutions. Three performance artists of international renown, Nevin Aladağ (D), Keren Cytter (IS) and Marie-Caroline Hominal (CH) are each preparing a new piece especially for this project. Rooted in different fields ranging from music to theatre and dance, their works will showcase an array of different performance approaches. In this respect, their work will recall the many-facetted performance practices of Jean Tinguely himself, as well as the blending of art and life that he so famously aspired to.

The performance programme during Museum Tinguely AHOY! is curated by Dr Sandra Beate Reimann.
 

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; photo: Daniela Kohl

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; photo: Daniela Kohl

Body Instruments
by Nevin Aladağ

In the performance Body Instruments (2021), Nevin Aladağ continues her interest in instrumental interventions. A performer wears specially produced musical instruments on their body as they move through the urban realm. The instruments – two accordions, bells and a percussion instrument, which is worn on the head – are played as a result of the motion of the body. Even basic movements such as walking, turning the head or raising and lowering the arms produce musical sounds. Thus enhanced, the body itself becomes an instrument. And movement and the creation of sound become inseparable.

On the one hand, the work refers to such art-historical traditions as the modern avant-garde and Oskar Schlemmer’s Das Triadische Ballett (1919–1922), whose playful approach to geometrical forms in connection with dance and performance was first discovered by the artist in the Staatsgalerie Stuttgart during her time as a student. The references to performance in the 1970s are equally important. Certain aspects of Aladağ’s work, in particular the accordions, which fold out in a manner reminiscent of wings, and the rainmaker’s hat, which demands a sense of equilibrium and a mastery of the body, allude to Rebecca Horn’s body instruments (e.g. Weisser Körperfächer, Balancestab, both 1972). The questions addressed by Horn’s works vis-à-vis the relationship between bodies and movement and the potential of sculptural extensions to the body are followed up by Body Instruments, particularly in terms of sound.

Body Instruments owes its topicality and conciseness to the fact that Aladağ applies these art-historical approaches and formal languages, while simultaneously interweaving them with levels of historical and social meaning. For example, the work refers to the richly diverse tradition of making music in public, which stretches from the wearing of bells by medieval jesters and fairy tales involving ratcatchers, via sacred and profane processional customs to modern street music. And the figure of the busker also invokes questions of social status and of how society negotiates the use of the public realm. With its bells, accordions and two different forms of drum, the performance combines instruments drawn from a range of temporal and spatial contexts. The common factor shared by these instruments is that they are all found beyond the confines of western classical music. Played together, they thus create a piece of experimental music that achieves a balance between the essential sounds generated by actions such as walking and the more poetic ones that result from consciously chosen movements.

 

Credits
Commissioned by Museum Tinguely, Basel as part of Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Concept and choreography: Nevin Aladağ
Performers: Przemek Kamiński, Darko Radosavljev
Curator, Museum Tinguely: Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Production Manager: Attila Gaspar

Body Instruments interprets the classical and folk instruments on the body of the musician in a wilful manner that is perpetually in motion and never quiet.

Nevin Aladağ

About the artist
The artist Nevin Aladağ (*1972), who has been living in Berlin since 2002, uses sculpture, video and photography in her work. She creates performances and sculptural installations in museums and public spaces. Aladağ grew up in Stuttgart. She studied sculpture with Olaf Metzel at the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich between 1993 and 2000.

Her works have recently been seen in solo exhibitions in such locations as the Lehmbruck Museum Duisburg (2021), the Museum of Modern Art San Francisco (2020) and the Hayward Gallery, London (2020). Aladağ’s work received particular attention as a result of her participation in documenta 14 in Athens and Kassel and the 57th Venice Biennale in 2017. She was awarded the Ernst Rietschel Art Prize for Sculpture in Dresden in the same year

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 ​​​​​​​© The artist; photo: Gregory Batadon

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gregory Batadon

Eurêka, c'est presque le titre
by Marie-Caroline Hominal

In her works, Marie-Caroline Hominal often embodies animals or fictional figures that she borrows from cultural traditions as well as from pop culture and the world of cartoons. Her new piece, which she has developed for the performance programme of Museum Tinguely AHOY! is a solo that she dances herself. A circular surface forms the stage – one could say the ring –, in which Hominal slips into a number of roles, one after the other.

The piece with the eloquent and, at the same time,  knowing title, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre (2021), begins with the retelling of a dream, in which she plays chess with John Cage. The inspiration for this also comes from the biography of Jean Tinguely. She speaks of Cardi B or Lewis Hamilton as contemporary equivalents of Niki de Saint-Phalle or the Swiss racing driver Jo Siffert. The dance-like game with abstract forms is accompanied by depictions of characters, which include a female figure – somewhere between a witch and a Mexican La Catrina, a tiger and an indefinable, shimmeringly hairy creature that oscillates between object and living being. And, all the time, Hominal brings these fabulous and fantasy figures up to date with the help of gestures and a repertoire of movements taken from everyday and pop culture.  

Movement and circularity as prerequisites for our existence that are symbolically present as the sun and the moon – the latter evoked by the round, silvery dance floor – underlie the presented cycle. Body, sculpture and celestial bodies unite in dance and movement. The eternal and permanent, as represented by these heavenly objects, combine with the here-and-now, the contemporary spectacle, to form a machine infernale.

During the course of the performance, the artist appears with a range of objets trouvés. As the spectacle continues these begin, as if by chance, to form an installative assemblage. And the term assemblage can also be used to describe the conception of the piece itself: The sequences that Hominal herself labels as numbers successively fit together to form a colourful and harmonious overview of a moving and tragicomic imaginary world: a cosmic circus between show-business and avant-garde art.

Credits
Commissioned by Museum Tinguely, Basel as part of Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Conception and choreography: Marie-Caroline Hominal
Performer: Marie-Caroline Hominal
Curator, Museum Tinguely: Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Production Manager: Attila Gaspar

The first gesture, whether a movement, a trait or a construction, is always the beginning of a story.

Marie-Caroline Hominal

About the artist
The Franco-Swiss artist Marie-Caroline Hominal (*1978) works and lives in Geneva. Her artistic practice includes dance, choreography, video, text, drawing, sculpture and radio. Following her training at the Zurich Dance Academy at the ZHDK and the Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance in London, Hominal danced with, amongst others, Gisèle Vienne, Gilles Jobin, La Ribot and Marco Berrettini as well as at the Tanztheater Basel. Since 2002, the artist has realised her own works and toured the world with pieces that she performs in theatres, museums and galleries. In 2019, Hominal was awarded the Swiss Dance Award for «Outstanding Female Dancer».

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

The Lady of the Lake
by Keren Cytter

Keren Cytter’s stories pick up on social alienation and the banalities and horrors of everyday life, especially those generated by intrapersonal relationships. The Lady of the Lake (2021) is a theatrical piece that Cytter has written for Museum Tinguely AHOY! It involves a dialogue, which isn’t a dialogue, and which is performed by the actors Fernanda Farah and Damian Rebgetz.

The piece combines storytelling, song, dance and stand-up comedy. It is also partly inspired by the biographies of the actors. The two figures address the audience in monologues, recalling formative events and the evolution of their life stories: These include tales of belonging to a rowing club during childhood – «Can you imagine how it feels to be in a club you don’t want to be in, doing a sport you didn’t know even existed? It’s called childhood, I know» – or of five husbands, from wine grower, perfumer, jazz musician and paediatrician to journalist. In the process, the monologues continue like lines, sometimes crossing and sometimes running in parallel. The actors interrupt each other and jostle disruptively, centre stage. Every now and again there is a brief dialogue between the two, which immediately, however, disintegrates back into separate narratives.

The penetratingly sharp and sometimes absurdly comic text meanders, guided by contentual and phonetic associations as well as by the movements of the actors. Again and again, one comments upon the narrative or picks up on the gestures of the other with their own gesture, like a «physical echo». This structure is held together by two constantly repeating elements – a rowing movement and a swing of the arm accompanied by an «ahoy!» – and the pentagram traced out on the floor that guides the movements of the actors in the space: a backwards and forwards within the closed figure of the circle. The piece appears to break the rules of the game – and self-reflectively comments upon its own medium – by offering observations on theatrical elements or even performance art, «more elegant, more intelligent ... than theatre».

The artist has interlaced the text with her own pithy metaphors and precise analyses of contemporary society. With dry humour and, at the same time, a sense of pain, Cytter’s piece offers us a glimpse of the singularised and performative social context of today.

Credits
Commissioned by Museum Tinguely, Basel as part of Museum Tinguely AHOY!
Text and direction: Keren Cytter
Song texts: Keren Cytter
Song composition: Andreas Schlaegel
Actors: Fernanda Farah and Damian Rebgetz
Curator, Museum Tinguely: Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Production Manager: Attila Gaspar

I tried to make a performance that will include as many theatrical elements as possible and be about nothing.

Keren Cytter

About the artist
Keren Cytter (*1977) studied at the Avni Institute for Art in Tel Aviv between 1997 and 1999 and, as the holder of a scholarship, at De Ateliers Art in Amsterdam between 2002 and 2004. She was based in Berlin between 2005 and 2012, since when she has lived and worked in New York. The artist is well known for her video works, theatrical pieces and drawings. In 2012, she founded the D.I.E NOW (Dance International Europe Now) dance company. She has also written five novels and three children’s books.

The works of the artist have been displayed in, amongst other places, the Kunstmuseum Winterthur (2020), Center for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv (2019), Museion Bolzano (2019), Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (2015) and the Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen (2014). In 2021, Keren Cytter was awarded the Guggenheim Fellowship.

Performances

Le projet Museum Tinguely AHOY ! proposera un vaste programme de performances de haut niveau, soit trois spectacles différents au cours desquels le Musée Tinguely sera l’invité des institutions partenaires locales. Des femmes artistes de renommée internationale, Nevin Aladağ (DE), Keren Cytter (IS) et Marie-Caroline Hominal (CH), vont concevoir chacune une nouvelle performance en puisant dans les domaines différents que sont la musique, le théâtre et la danse. Ce faisant, des liens seront établis avec les pratiques performatives multiples de Jean Tinguely qui voulait rattacher l’art et la vie.

Le programme des performances dans le cadre de Museum Tinguely AHOY ! est conçu et réalisé par Dr Sandra Beate Reimann.
 

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; photo: Daniela Kohl

Nevin Aladağ, Body Instruments, drum hat, 2021 © Courtesy the artist and Wentrup, Berlin; photo: Daniela Kohl

Body Instruments
de Nevin Aladağ

Avec la performance Body Instruments (2021), Nevin Aladağ prolonge son intérêt pour les interventions instrumentales. Un.e interprète porte sur lui.elle des instruments de musique spécialement conçus et se déplace ainsi dans l’espace urbain. Les instruments, deux accordéons, des clochettes et un instrument de percussion fixé sur la tête, sont actionnés par les mouvements du corps. Même les mouvements les plus simples, comme marcher, tourner la tête, lever et baisser les bras, produisent des sons musicaux. Le corps augmenté devient ainsi un instrument en soi, le mouvement est indissociable de la production de sons.

D’une part, l’œuvre fait référence à des traditions de l’histoire de l’art, telle que l’avant-garde moderne avec Das Triadische Ballett (1919‒1922) d’Oskar Schlemmer dont l’artiste, lorsqu’elle était élève, avait découvert à la Staatsgalerie de Stuttgart le traitement ludique des formes géométriques associé à la danse et à la performance. Les références aux performances des années 1970 sont également importantes. Dans l’œuvre d’Aladağ, les accordéons qui se déploient sous forme d’ailes et le chapeau Rainmaker, qui exige équilibre et contrôle du corps, renvoient aux instruments corporels de Rebecca Horn (notamment Weisserkörperfächer, Balancestab, tous deux de 1972). Les questions que soulèvent Body Instruments sur le rapport entre corps et mouvement ainsi que sur la potentialité des corps augmentés vont encore plus loin et abordent la notion de son.

Body Instruments puise son actualité et sa concision dans la manière dont Aladağ recourt à ces approches artistiques et ces langages formels, tout en les mêlant à des sémantiques historiques et sociales. L’œuvre fait ainsi allusion aux diverses traditions de production sonore dans l’espace public, depuis les grelots des bouffons médiévaux, le conte du joueur de flûte, les processions sacrées et profanes jusqu’à la musique de rue moderne. La figure du musicien ou de la musicienne de rue soulève également la question du statut social, de la négociation sociétale de l’utilisation de l’espace public. Avec les cloches, l’accordéon et les deux formes différentes de tambours, la performance rassemble des instruments provenant de contextes temporels et spatiaux différents. Leur caractéristique commune est de se situer au-delà de la musique classique de l’Occident. De cette interaction jaillit un morceau de musique expérimentale qui oscille entre des sons absolument nécessaires, produits par exemple en marchant, et des mouvements et des sons poétiques sciemment utilisés.

Crédits :
Œuvre de commande du Musée Tinguely, Bâle, dans le cadre de Museum Tinguely AHOY !
Conception et chorégraphie : Nevin Aladağ
Interprètes : Przemek Kamiński, Darko Radosavljev
Commissaire Musée Tinguely : Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Responsable de la production : Attila Gaspar

Body Instruments est une interprétation singulière d’instruments classiques et folkloriques, sur le corps même des interprètes, toujours en mouvement, jamais silencieux.

Nevin Aladağ

À propos de l’artiste
L’artiste Nevin Aladağ, née en 1972 et vivant à Berlin depuis 2002, utilise dans son travail la sculpture, la vidéo et la photographie. Elle crée des performances et installations plastiques aussi bien dans des musées que dans l’espace public. Aladağ a grandi à Stuttgart. Elle a étudié la sculpture avec Olaf Metzel à l’Akademie der Bildenden Künste de Munich de 1993 à 2000.

Ses œuvres ont récemment fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles notamment au Lehmbruck Museum de Duisbourg (2021), au Museum of Modern Art San Francisco (2020) et à la Hayward Gallery de Londres (2020). Le travail d’Aladağ a connu une attention particulière suite à sa participation en 2017 à la documenta 14 à Athènes et à Kassel ainsi qu’à la 57e Biennale de Venise. En 2017, elle a reçu à Dresde le prix Ernst-Rietschel pour al sculpture.

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 ​​​​​​​© The artist; photo: Gregory Batadon

Marie-Caroline Hominal, Eurêka, c'est presque le titre, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gregory Batadon

Eurêka, c'est presque le titre
de Marie-Caroline Hominal

Dans ses œuvres, Marie-Caroline Hominal incarne souvent des animaux ou des personnages de fiction, qu’elle reprend de traditions culturelles, de la culture pop et de dessins animés. Sa nouvelle pièce, conçue pour le programme de performances Museum Tinguely AHOY !, est une pièce solo qu’elle interprète elle-même. Une surface circulaire forme la scène – on pourrait aussi dire le manège – sur laquelle Hominal, tour à tour, se glisse dans différents rôles.

La pièce Eurêka, c’est presque le titre (2021), au titre à la fois parlant et ironique, commence par le récit d’un rêve dans lequel elle joue aux échecs avec John Cage. La biographie de Jean Tinguely constitue également une source d’inspiration. Comme l’équivalente contemporaine de Niki de Saint-Phalle ou du pilote de course suisse Jo Siffert, elle propose un récit sur Cardi B et Lewis Hamilton. Outre le jeu chorégraphié avec des formes abstraites, apparaissent des représentations de personnages, une figure féminine par exemple – entre sorcière et La Catrina mexicaine –, un tigre, une créature indéfinissable aux cheveux pailletés, qui oscille entre être vivant et objet. Ce faisant, Hominal actualise les personnages de fables et de récits imaginaires au moyen de gestes et de divers mouvements qu’elle emprunte au quotidien et à la culture pop.

Le mouvement et la circularité comme condition préalable à notre existence, symboliquement présents comme le Soleil et la Lune – cette dernière est évoquée dans la piste de danse circulaire argentée – sous-tendent la ronde. Corps, sculpture et étoiles s’associent dans la danse et le mouvement. L’éternel et le permanent, représentés par les corps célestes, s’unissent au momentané, au spectacle contemporain, pour former une machine infernale.

Au cours de la performance, l’artiste agit avec divers objets trouvés. Au fur et à mesure, ils se mettent à former un assemblage installatif paraissant aléatoire. C’est la notion d’assemblage qui peut d’ailleurs servir à décrire la conception de la pièce elle-même : les séquences individuelles, que Hominal appelle numéros, se fondent successivement en une image globale colorée mais cohérente, d’un monde imaginaire en mouvement et tragicomique – cirque cosmique entre show-business et art d’avant-garde.

Crédits
Œuvre de commande du Musée Tinguely, Bâle, dans le cadre de Museum Tinguely AHOY !
Conception et chorégraphie : Marie-Caroline Hominal
Interprète : Marie-Caroline Hominal
Commissaire Musée Tinguely : Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Responsable de la production : Attila Gaspar

Le premier geste, qu’il soit un mouvement, un trait, une construction, est toujours le début d’une histoire.

Marie-Caroline Hominal

À propos de l’artiste
L’artiste franco-suisse Marie-Caroline Hominal (née en 1978) travaille et vit à Genève. Sa pratique artistique englobe la danse, la chorégraphie, la vidéo, le texte, le dessin, la sculpture et la radio. Après sa formation à la ZHDK TanzAkademie de Zurich et à la Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance de Londres, Hominal a dansé notamment avec Gisèle Vienne, Gilles Jobin, La Ribot, Marco Berrettini, ainsi qu’au Tanztheater Basel. Depuis 2002, l’artiste crée son propre travail qu’elle présente dans des théâtres, musées et galeries du monde entier. En 2019, Hominal a reçu le Prix suisse de la danse en tant que « danseuse exceptionnelle ».

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

Keren Cytter, The Lady of the Lake, 2021 © The artist; photo: Gianmarco Bresadola

The Lady of the Lake
de Keren Cytter

Par ses histoires, Keren Cytter s’attaque à l’aliénation sociale, aux banalités et aux horreurs du quotidien, et notamment à celles des relations entre les individus. The Lady of the Lake (2021) est une pièce écrite par Cytter pour le projet Museum Tinguely AHOY ! Il s’agit d’un dialogue qui n’en est pas un, interprété par Fernanda Farah et Damian Rebgetz.

La pièce combine le récit, le chant, la danse et le stand-up, puisant aussi son inspiration dans les biographies des interprètes. Dans des monologues, les deux personnes s’adressent au public, racontent des événements formateurs pour le cours de leur vie : par exemple, l’adhésion au club d’aviron dans l’enfance – « Can you imagine how it feels to be in a club you don’t want to be in, doing a sport you didn’t know it even existed ? It’s called childhood, I know. » Ou les cinq maris, du vigneron au journaliste en passant par le parfumeur, le musicien de jazz et le pédiatre. Les monologues s’enchaînent comme des lignes, qui tantôt se croisent, tantôt sont parallèles. Les interprètes s’interrompent l’un l’autre, s’imposent de manière troublante au premier plan. De temps à autre, un véritable dialogue s’instaure entre les deux, pour retomber aussitôt dans des parlers dissociés.

Le texte, d’une acuité perçante et d’une drôlerie parfois absurde, serpente, guidé par des associations de contenus et de sons ou par les mouvements des interprètes. Toujours et encore, l’une ou l’autre des personnes commente gestuellement le récit, comme un « écho physique », ou reprend les gestes de l’autre. Cette texture est maintenue par deux éléments récurrents – la rame et un mouvement de bras ponctué par « Ahoy » –, ainsi que par le pentagramme appliqué au sol, qui guide les mouvements des interprètes dans l’espace : va-et-vient à l’intérieur de la figure fermée du cercle. Avec des commentaires sur les éléments théâtraux ou sur l’art de la performance, « more elegant, more intelligent... than theater », la pièce semble rompre avec le jeu et commente son médium dans une réflexion sur elle-même.

Les métaphores incisives de l’artiste et son analyse précise de notre société contemporaine se mêlent au texte. Avec un humour sec et douloureux à la fois, la pièce de Cytter nous fait voir notre présent social d’aujourd’hui, singularisé et performatif.

Crédits
Œuvre de commande du Musée Tinguely, Bâle, dans le cadre de Museum Tinguely AHOY !
Texte et régie : Keren Cytter
Chants : Keren Cytter
Composition : Andreas Schlaegel
Interprètes : Fernanda Farah und Damian Rebgetz
Commissaire Musée Tinguely : Dr Sandra Beate Reimann
Responsable de la production : Attila Gaspar

J’ai essayé de réaliser une performance qui inclut autant d’éléments théâtraux que possible et qui ne parle de rien.

Keren Cytter

À propos de l’artiste
Keren Cytter (née en 1977) a étudié de 1997 à 1999 à l’Avni Institute for Art de Tel Aviv et de 2002 à 2004, grâce à une bourse, à De Ateliers à Amsterdam. Après une période à Berlin de 2005 à 2012, elle vit et travaille depuis à New York. L’artiste est connue pour ses œuvres vidéo, ses pièces de théâtre et ses dessins. En 2012, elle a fondé la compagnie de danse D.I.E NOW (Dance International Europe Now). Elle a également écrit cinq romans et trois livres pour enfants.

Les œuvres de l’artiste ont fait l’objet d’expositions personnelles notamment au Kunstmuseum Winterthur (2020), au Center for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv (2019), au Museion Bolzano (2019), au Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago (2015) et au Kunsthal Charlottenborg, à Copenhague (2014). En 2021, Keren Cytter a reçu la bourse Guggenheim.