Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

rarrk – John Mawurndjul :
Journey through Time in Northern Australia
The Museum der Kulturen Basel guest of the Museum Tinguely

21. September 2005 – 29. January 2006

In a joint project with the Museum der Kulturen Basel, the Museum Tinguely presents the first retrospective exhibition of the Australian bark painter John Mawurndjul in a European art museum.

John Mawurndjul’s artistic development from the beginning of his career in the 1970s until the present day refutes the widespread prejudice in Europe that denies ‘Indigenous’ artists the right to a personified individuality and the capacity to innovate outside the boundaries of the authority of their community. He further demonstrates in his paintings that dealing actively with traditional sources can be a fruitful experience if one is capable of understanding tradition other than as an anonymous and inalterable corset. Our «Journey through Time in Northern Australia» takes us from the rock paintings, some of which hark back 30 000 years and mark the Aborigines’ sacred sites, down to the present day.
>> Further reading

Moving Parts – Forms of the Kinetic

9 March – 26 June 2005

The exhibition jointly conceived and organised by the Kunsthaus Graz and the Museum Tinguely Basel asks questions about the particular nature of machinery and the link between man and machines at the beginning of the 21st century. At the same time, the exhibition will investigate the importance of kinetic art for contemporary artists.
>> Further reading

René Burri
Photographs of Jean Tinguely & Co

21 January – 22 May 2005

The world renowned Magnum photographer René Burri (born in 1933), whose legendary portrait of Che Guevara has been a photographic icon for many years, caught a number of important artists of the 20th century through his lens.
>> Further reading

Nous utilisons des cookies (fournis par des services tiers) afin de collecter et d'analyser les données. Veuillez trouvez ici notre politique de confidentialité.

 

rarrk – John Mawurndjul :
La traversée du temps en Australie du nord
Le Museum der Kulturen Basel hôte du Musée Tinguely

21 septembre 2005 – 29 janvier 2006

En collaboration avec le Museum der Kulturen Basel, le Musée Tinguely présente la première rétrospective dans un musée d’art européen du peintre sur écorce australien John Mawurndjul.

L’évolution dans l’œuvre de John Mawurndjul depuis ses débuts en 1970 jusqu’à aujourd’hui contredit le préjugé profondément ancré en Europe qui dénie aux artistes indigènes une individualité personnalisée et une capacité d’innovation en dehors d’une autorité communautaire. En outre, il prouve par son œuvre que la confrontation avec la tradition peut être fructueuse, dès lors que la tradition n’est plus perçue tel un étroit corset, anonyme et inaltérable. Notre « traversée du temps en Australie du nord » nous mènera depuis les peintures rupestres vieilles de plus de 30 000 ans et qui marquent les sites sacrés des Aborigènes jusqu’au présent.
>> En savoir plus

Éléments mobiles
– Formes de l’art cinétique

9 mars – 26 juin 2005

L’exposition conjointement conçue et organisée par le Kunsthaus Graz et le Musée Tinguely Bâle s’interroge sur ce qui fait la singularité de la machine et des rapports que l’homme entretient avec elle en ce début du 21ème siècle. Elle s’interroge aussi sur la pertinence de l’art cinétique pour les artistes contemporains.
>> En savoir plus

René Burri
Photos de Jean Tinguely & Cie

21 janvier – 22 mai 2005

Le photographe mondialement connu de Magnum, René Burri (né en 1933), dont le portrait légendaire de Ché Guévara est devenue une icône de la photographie, a capté sur pellicule nombre d’artistes importants du 20ème siècle.
>> En savoir plus