Niki & Jean, l'Art et l'Amour

29 August 2006 – 4 March 2007
A collaboration between the Sprengel Museum Hannover and the Museum Tinguely, Basel, with the support of the Niki Charitable Art Foundation, San Diego

The exhibition is a celebration of Niki de Saint Phalle (1930-2002) and Jean Tinguely (1925-1991) and their intense collaboration reflected in their common and individual works. It is an exhibition about the “Bonnie and Clyde of the arts”, as they were introduced in 1962 by a speaker on an American TV channel, about one of the most flamboyant and famous couples in modern art.
The exhibition is in three parts: The Artists, The Collaboration, The Love.
>> Further reading

Kunstgenuss im Overall
Die Förderung von zeitgenössischer Kunst, Architektur, und Kultur bei Roche.

22 September 2006 – 21 January 2007

This exhibitions at the Museum Tinguely documents Roche’s commitment to contemporary art, architecture and culture.
>> Further reading

«Bau 21 – Eine begehbare Monographie»

22 September – 22 October 2006

This exhibitions at the Museum Tinguely documents Roche’s commitment to contemporary art, architecture and culture.
>> Further reading

Edgard Varèse
Composer Sound Sculptor Visionary

28 April – 27 August 2006

The Paul Sacher Foundation and the Museum Tinguely are presenting an exhibition devoted to one of the groundbreaking composers of the twentieth century, a man with close ties to artists and writers such as Antonin Artaud, Alexander Calder, Marcel Duchamp, Le Corbusier, Henri Michaux, Henry Miller, Joan Miró and Man Ray. Varèse was second to none in exploring new worlds of sound and exploiting concepts from the natural sciences. The exhibition will present the very first overview of his estate as well as include many items on loan from international collections.
Musical manuscripts and works of art, recorded examples and accompanying events will create a living picture of a major composer who had a lasting influence on generations of musicians from Pierre Boulez to Frank Zappa.
>> Further reading

Béatrice Helg – an accrochage

17 May – 6 August 2006

Béatrice Helg is a photographer who has developed her own style. Constructing artificial spaces, she conceives model situations in her atelier – playing with surfaces, with the background, and placing objects centrally. Materials play an extremely important role, and especially light effects.
22 photographs are being presented at the Museum Tinguely side by side with Jean Tinguely’s machine sculptures.
>> Further reading

Eva Aeppli

25 January – 2 May 2006

For fifty years, Eva Aeppli has collected the documents most important to her (letters, manuscripts, drawings, prints, photographs, etc.) which she received from her friends – artists, writers/poets, scientists – as well as her own material in huge folios called «Livres de Vie». Thus she has, over this long period, created a kind of «autobiography without words». Some of her friends have contributed a great deal to these «Livres de Vie» that have thus become important personal documents on post war art in Europe.
>> Further reading

Niki & Jean, l'Art et l'Amour

29 août 2006 – 4 mars 2007

Une collaboration entre le Sprengel Museum Hannover et le Musée Tinguely, Bâle, avec le soutien de la Niki Charitable Art Foundation, San Diego.

L’exposition célèbre Niki de Saint Phalle (1930-2002) et Jean Tinguely (1925-1991) et leur étroite association qui est reflétée tant dans leurs créations individuelles que dans leurs collaborations. C’est une exposition consacrée au « Bonnie et Clyde des arts » ainsi qu’ils furent présentés sur un programme télévisé au Etats-Unis en 1962, un des couples les plus notoires et flamboyants de l’art moderne.

L’exposition se compose de trois sections : Les artistes, La collaboration, L’amour.
>> En savoir plus

Kunstgenuss im Overall
Die Förderung von zeitgenössischer Kunst, Architektur, und Kultur bei Roche.

22 septembre – 21 janvier 2007

Une exposition au Musée Tinguely documente la contribution de Roche à l’art, à l’architecture et à la culture contemporains.
>> En savoir plus

«Bau 21 – Eine begehbare Monographie»

22 septembre – 22 octobre 2006

Une exposition au Musée Tinguely documente la contribution de Roche à l’art, à l’architecture et à la culture contemporains.
>> En savoir plus

Edgard Varèse
Compositeur Forgeur de sons Visionnaire

28 avril – 27 août 2006

La Fondation Paul Sacher, en collaboration avec le Musée Tinguely, présente une exposition consacrée à l’un des compositeurs les plus marquants du 20e siècle, qui fut proche d’artistes et écrivains tels Antonin Artaud, Alexander Calder, Marcel Duchamp, Le Corbusier, Henri Michaux, Henry Miller, Joan Miró et Man Ray. Varèse fut l’explorateur inégalé de nouvelles sphères sonores, tirant parti de notions restées jusqu’alors l’apanage du domaine acoustique. L’exposition présente pour la première fois une vue d’ensemble de ses archives, et comprend en outre de nombreux prêts provenant de collections internationales.
Manuscrits musicaux et oeuvres d’art, illustrations sonores et concerts brossent un portrait vivant de ce compositeur majeur, qui influença plusieurs générations de musiciens, de Pierre Boulez à Frank Zappa.
>> En savoir plus

Béatrice Helg – Accrochage

17 mai – 6 août 2006

Béatrice Helg est une photographe qui a développé son propre style. Construisant des espaces artificiels, elle conçoit des situations modèles dans son atelier – jouant avec les surfaces, avec l’arrière-plan, plaçant les objets au centre.
Une importance primordiale est accordée aux matériaux et avant tout au jeu de la lumière.
Accrochage au Musée Tinguely de 22 photos côte à côte avec les machines sculptures de Jean Tinguely.
>> En savoir plus

Eva Aeppli

25 janvier – 2 may 2006

Durant cinquante ans, Eva Aeppli a conservé les documents qui lui étaient importants (lettres, manuscrits, estampes, photos, etc.) et que lui envoyaient ses amis – artistes, écrivains, chercheurs scientifiques ; elle conserva aussi son propre matériel dans de grands cartables qu’elle nomma «Livres de Vie». Ainsi, au cours de longues années, naquit une sorte d’«Autobiographie sans paroles». Certains de ses amis y ont contribué de manière importante, si bien que ces Livres de Vie sont aussi un document merveilleux et aussi très personnel sur l’art européen de l’après-guerre.
>> En savoir plus