The Aeppli Donation

19 September 2008 – 1 February 2009

This autumn, the Museum Tinguely presents the largest donation ever made to the museum since its inauguration 12 years ago: the donation by Christoph Aeppli comprises all 43 bronze heads by Eva Aeppli, as well as works by Niki de Saint Phalle and an important early relief by Jean Tinguely.
>> Further reading

Mattomatt – Chess pieces by Jürg Hassler

22 October 2008 – 18 January 2009

Jürg Hassler constructs chessboards and chessmen; he thereby reinvents the old game of chess and gives it back the ludic component that he finds missing in today’s chess game. The basic interest of the game lies in “having no obligation to prove anything to anyone, giving free rein to the pleasure of the game, not in order to win but in order to reinvent ever renewed forms of dialectic contrasts, giving priority to form over colour.”
>> Further reading

p.s. Pavel Schmidt

28 May – 14 September 2008

At once painter, draughtsman and an installation artist, Pavel Schmidt documents in this exhibition his interest in the manner in which our society appropriates for itself masterpieces of western art in order to transform them into misleading copies and objects of consumption. The exhibition presents the artist’s sculptures, paintings, drawings and installation. Some of his monumental works refer directly to the architecture of and to the art within the Museum Tinguely – Niki de Saint Phalle in- as well as outdoors.
>> Further reading

So long Sepp

24 May – 10 August 2008
The exhibition is being prolonged by one week, until Sunday, August 17, 2008.

Josef/Sepp/Sep(p)i Imhof was for many years Jean Tinguely’s assistant and since the inauguration of the Museum Tinguely, in charge, as Chief Conservator, of the upkeep as well as installation and de-installation of the Swiss artist’s machine-sculptures, as well as numerous other duties. In May, Sepp is leaving to enjoy his well-earned retirement.
As a parting present he has “carte blanche” to have a showing of his choice in the Museum.
>> Further reading

Art Machines – Machine Art

5 March – 29 June 2008

In general, we assume that artists make art – but what happens, if machines produce art? Do artists then become engineers? What is the meaning of the apparent withdrawal of artists from the creative act and what consequences does this have for the artwork’s originality and uniqueness? And what is an artwork in the first place: the machine, the product, or the act of its production? What role is granted the viewer in the course of production: interaction or exclusion? Starting with Jean Tinguely’s drawing machines from the 1950s, the exhibition jointly organized by the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt and the Museum Tinguely will present art machines from different ages and contexts through to the present day.
>> Further reading

Hannah Höch – All Beginnings are DADA!

16 January – 4 May 2008

The exhibition on Hannah Höch (1889–1978), developed in cooperation with the Berlinische Galerie, residence of the Hannah Höch-Archives, and for the venue at Basel enriched by important loans from German and Swiss collections, is the first comprehensive showing in Switzerland of the work of the sole female member of the Berlin Dada group: It assembles the early collages and paintings of her Dada-period right after the First World War, the works of the 1930s and 40s, long kept secret because of their encoded criticism of the Nazi dictatorship, and the less known, late works that manifestly anticipated Pop Art by their motifs and bright colours, and were Höch’s reaction to scientific discoveries of the day.
>> Further reading

La Donation Aeppli

19 septembre 2008 – 1 février 2009

Le Musée Tinguely présente cet automne la plus grande donation faite au musée depuis son inauguration en 1996: la donation de Christoph Aeppli comprend toutes les 43 têtes de bronze d’Eva Aeppli, ainsi que des œuvres de Niki de Saint Phalle et un important relief des années 50 de Jean Tinguely.
>> En savoir plus

Mattomatt – Échiquiers de Jürg Hassler

22 octobre 2008 – 18 janvier 2009

Jürg Hassler construit des échiquiers et des pièces de jeu ; il réinvente ainsi l’ancien jeu d’échecs et lui restitue le côté ludique qui, selon lui, fait défaut au jeu d’échecs moderne. Le principe de base du jeu est de “n’avoir aucune obligation de devoir prouver quelque chose à quiconque, donner libre cours au plaisir du jeu, non pas pour gagner mais pour toujours inventer de nouvelles formes d’une dialectique de contrastes, accordant la priorité à la forme sur la couleur.”
>> En savoir plus

p.s. Pavel Schmidt

28 mai – 14 septembre 2008

À la fois peintre, dessinateur et créateur d’installations, Pavel Schmidt s’intéresse à la manière dont notre société récupère les chefs-d’œuvre de l’art occidental pour en faire des copies falsificatrices et des produits de consommation. L’exposition réunit des sculptures, des peintures et des dessins ainsi que des installations de l’artiste dont les plus monumentales se réfèrent autant à l’architecture qu’aux collections du Musée – Niki de Saint Phalle tant à l’extérieur qu’à l’intérieur.
>> En savoir plus

Ciao Sepp

24 mai – 10 août 2008

L'exposition sera prolongée d'une semaine jusqu'au dimanche, 17 août 2008.

Josef/Sepp/Sep(p)i Imhof, qui fut pendant de longues années l’assistant de Jean Tinguely, a été responsable depuis l’inauguration du Musée Tinguely et en tant que chef restaurateur, à côté d’innombrables autres taches, de l’entretien ainsi que de l’installation et désinstallation des machines-sculptures de l’artiste Suisse. En mai, Sepp prend une retraite bien méritée.
En guise d’adieu, il reçoit carte blanche pour présenter au Musée ce qui lui fait plaisir.
>> En savoir plus

Art et Machines

5 mars – 29 juin 2008

En général, nous partons du principe que ce sont les artistes qui font de l’art. Mais que se passe-t-il lorsque ce sont des machines qui font de l’art ? Les artistes deviennent-ils ingénieurs ? Et si eux-mêmes manifestement ne sont plus acteurs, que cela signifie-t-il pour la création ? Quelles sont les conséquences en termes d’originalité et d’unicité de l’œuvre d’art ? Et qu’est alors cette œuvre d’art : la machine, le produit ou l’acte de production ? Quel rôle revient au spectateur lors de la production : interaction ou exclusion ? Prenant comme point de départ la machine à dessiner que Jean Tinguely a réalisée dans les années 1950, l’exposition conçue conjointement par la Schirn Kunsthalle Francfort et le Musée Tinguely présentera des « machines à faire de l’art » de différentes périodes jusqu’à l’époque contemporaine.
>> En savoir plus

Hannah Höch. Tout commence avec DADA!

16 janvier – 4 mai 2008

L’exposition Hannah Höch (1889–1978), fut conçue et organisée en collaboration avec la Berlinische Galerie qui gère les archives de l’artiste. L’exposition à Bâle recevra en outre le prêt d’importantes œuvres de collections particulières allemandes et suisses et sera ainsi la première présentation d’une certaine envergure de l’œuvre de l’unique femme du groupe Dada Berlin : l’exposition rassemble les collages et toiles des premières années de la période Dada qui suivit immédiatement la première guerre mondiale; des œuvres des années 1930 et ‘40, avec leur critique cryptique du régime hitlérien, et qui de ce fait furent longtemps tenues secrètes; et, pour finir, des œuvres tardives, moins connues, qui anticipent la Pop Art par leurs thèmes et leur palette éclatante, et qui traduisent le réaction de Höch face aux nouvelles découvertes scientifiques.
>> En savoir plus