Jean Tinguely – Pioneer of the art of destruction

16 November 2010 – 23 January 2011

Museum Tinguely put on display "Rotozaza II" as well as various films and documents about Jean Tinguely's further destructive works: "Homage to New York" (1960), "Etude pour une fin du monde" (1961) and "Study for an End of the World" 1962.

Under Destruction

15 October 2010 – 23 January 2011

Destruction in art - 50 years after Tinguely's Homage to New York
“Under Destruction” is a group exhibition, featuring some twenty internationally known contemporary artists, that examines the use and role of destruction in contemporary art. A collaboration with the Swiss Institute, New York, co-curated by Chris Sharp and Gianni Jetzer.
>> Further reading

Robot Dreams

9 June – 12 September 2010
An exhibition in cooperation with Kunsthaus Graz

The Museum Tinguely in Basel and Kunsthaus Graz are co-organising an exhibition that addresses the subjects of “Artificial Intelligence” and “Robotics”. The title Robot Dreams is borrowed from a short story of the same name by Isaac Asimov, a biochemist and extraordinarily prolific writer of science fiction, in which Elvex, a robot, has to be destroyed because he has a dream in which he plans a revolt and starts to disregard the Three Laws that are intended to keep him subservient to humans.
>> Further reading

Tinguely for Karola

15 March – 20 June 2010, prolonged until 22 August 2010
Donation by Prof. Dr. Roland Bieber in memory of Karola Mertz-Bieber

Professor Roland Bieber’s donation in memory of Karola Mertz-Bieber brings a rich addition to the collections of the Museum Tinguely with letter-drawings dating to the period 1970 to 1988. A selection of 29 works from this donation is currently on exhibit.
>> Further reading

Le Mouvement. From Cinema to Kinetics

10 February – 16 May 2010

Movement is a theme central to art and its perception in the 20th century. The exhibition draws the connections between kinetic sculpture and film, based on the reconstitution of the famous exhibition «Le Mouvement» at the Galerie Denise René in Paris in 1955.
>> Further reading

Fasnacht & Art & Tinguely

3 February – 16 May 2010

A tribute to the Basel Fasnacht to mark the centenary of the Fasnacht Committee

The Basel Fasnacht has marked the city’s cultural life since numerous decades. The Museum Tinguely presents a selection of the most interesting Fasnacht art dating back to the last 100 years.
>> Further reading

Jean Tinguely – pionnier de l'art de la destruction

16 novembre 2010 – 23 janvier 2011

A l'occacion de l'exposition "Under Destruction", le Musée Tinguely  a montré "Le Rotozaza II" ainsi que d'autres films et documents sur les installations destructives de Tinguely: "Homage to New York" (1960), "Etude pour une fin du monde" (1961) et "Study for an End of the World" (1962).

Under Destruction

15 octobre 2010 – 23 janvier 2011

La destruction dans l'art - 50 ans après Homage to New York de Tinguely

Under Destruction est une exposition collective qui examine à travers les œuvres d’une vingtaine d’artistes internationaux le rôle et l’usage de la destruction dans l’art contemporain. Une collaboration avec le Swiss Institute, New York, commissariat de l'exposition par Chris Sharp et Gianni Jetzer.
>> En savoir plus

Rêves de robot

9 juin – 12 septembre 2010
Une exposition en coopération avec Kunsthaus Graz

Le Musée Tinguely de Bâle et le Kunsthaus Graz organisent conjointement une exposition sur l’ «intelligence artificielle» et la «robotique». Son titre, Rêves de robot, fait référence à la nouvelle Robot Dreams d’Isaac Asimov, biochimiste et auteur de science fiction particulièrement prolifique. Dans ce texte, Elvex, le robot, doit être supprimé parce qu’il prépare en songe l’insurrection et commence à s’affranchir des Trois Lois qui le réduisent à jamais en esclavage à l’être humain.
>> En savoir plus

Tinguely pour Karola

12 mars – 20 juin 2010, prolongée jusqu'au 22 août 2010

Donation du Prof. Dr. Roland Bieber à la mémoire de Karola Mertz-Bieber

La donation du Prof. Dr. Roland Bieber à la mémoire de Karola Mertz-Bieber vient enrichir la collection du Musée Tinguely de lettres dessins datant des années 1970 à 1988. Un choix de 29 œuvres de cette donation est présenté ici.
>> En savoir plus

Le Mouvement. Du cinéma à l’art cinétique

10 février – 16 mai 2010

Le mouvement est un thème central à l’art et sa perception au cours du XXème siècle. L’exposition établit les liens entre la sculpture cinétique et le film à partir d’une reconstitution de la célèbre exposition « Le Mouvement » de 1955 dans la Galerie Denise René à Paris.
>> En savoir plus

Fasnacht & Art & Tinguely

3 février – 16 mai 2010

Un hommage au carnaval de Bâle à l’occasion du centième anniversaire du Fasnachts-Comité (comité d’organisation)

La Fasnacht bâloise marque la vie culturelle de la ville depuis de nombreuses décennies. Le Musée Tinguely présente un choix d’œuvres d’art les plus intéressantes en relation avec la Fasnacht de ces cent dernières années.
>> En savoir plus