Robert Breer

26 October 2011 – 29 January 2012
In cooperation with BALTIC, Centre of Contemporary Art, Gateshead (GB)

With a rare independency of the art scene, Breer developed a diversified and highly original oeuvre from the 1950s on. His High-Speed-films and Super-SloMo sculptures go against the grain of the artistic landscape at the time of their creation. It is through our present-day viewing habits that they develop their full explosive potential. The exhibition will contribute to the re-discovery of this important "Artists’ artist".
>> Further reading

Car fetish. I drive therefore I am.

8 June – 9 October 2011

The exhibition presents a diversified overview of the automobile in its role as most important cultural asset of the 20th century and its depiction in art, starting with the Futurists’ frenzy for speed, its mediatisation in Pop-Art and down to our present-day motorized cultural transfers.
>> Further reading



 

Arman

16 February – 15 May 2011

In collaboration with the Centre Pompidou, Paris


Arman was, with Tinguely, one of the founding members of the „Nouveaux Réalistes“. This exhibition offers a retrospective-like coverage, with a comprehensive survey of Arman’s oeuvre and presents amongst others his major work groups the “Poubelles”, the “Accumulations” and the “Colères”.
>> Further reading

Mauricio Kagel. Two-Man-Orchestra

6 April – 15 May 2011

In cooperation with the Paul Sacher-Foundation and the Music Academy Basel

The third version of the "Zwei-Mann-Orchester für zwei Ein-Mann-Orchester", an orchestra machine, displayed at the Museum Tinguely in its most recent execution, will serve for concert performances during the run of the exhibition. Comprehensive source and performance materials will provide an historical backdrop.
For further information >> Zwei-Mann-Orchester

Robert Breer

26 octobre 2011 – 29 janvier 2012
Une coopération avec BALTIC, Centre of Contemporary Art, Gateshead (GB)

Avec une indépendance des courants artistiques inhabituel, Breer développa depuis les années 1950 un œuvre diversifié et original. À l’époque de leur création, ses films High-Speed et ses sculptures Super-SloMo se positionnèrent en travers du paysage artistique. Ce n’est qu’avec notre accoutumance visuelle actuelle que ces derniers déploient leur véritable potentiel explosif. L’exposition contribuera à faire redécouvrir cet important «Artists’ artist».
>> En savoir plus

Voiture Fétiche. Je conduis, donc je suis.

8 juin – 9 octobre 2011

L’exposition présente une vue d’ensemble diversifiée sur l’automobile en tant qu’objet culturel de première importance au 20ème siècle et sa représentation dans l’art, à commencer par la frénésie de la vitesse chez les Futuristes, en passant par la médiatisation de la Pop-Art, pour aboutir aux transferts culturels motorisés de nos jours.
>> En savoir plus

Arman

16 février – 15 mai 2011

En collaboration avec le Centre Pompidou, Paris

 

Arman (1928-2005) était, comme Tinguely, l’un des membres fondateurs des „Nouveaux Réalistes“. L’exposition est conçue telle une rétrospective et fournit une ample vue d’ensemble sur l’œuvre d’Arman ; elle présente entre autres ses groupes d’œuvres majeurs les « Poubelles », les « Accumulations » et les « Colères ».
>> En savoir plus

Mauricio Kagel. Zwei-Mann-Orchester

6 avril – 15 mai 2011

Une coopération avec la Fondation Paul Sacher et l’Académie de Musique de Bâle

 

La troisième version du "Zwei-Mann-Orchester für zwei Ein-Mann-Orchester", une machine orchestre, sera exposée au Musée Tinguely dans une exécution nouvelle et servira à donner des concerts pendant la durée de l’exposition. Matériel de source et documentation de représentations complètent l’installation.

>> Zwei-Mann-Orchester