Tatlin. a new art for a new world

6 June – 14 October 2012

With masterpieces principally from Moscow and St Petersburg, this exhibition focuses on the leading figure in the Russian avant-garde: Vladimir Tatlin (1885-1953). With his counter-reliefs Tatlin burst the borders of painting. With his revolutionary model for a giant tower, he effected a synthesis of architecture, visual arts, and social utopias. Finally, with his flying machine Letatlin, he expressed the dreams of a collectively regulated society.
>> Further reading

Kienholz
The signs of the Times

 22 February – 13 May 2012
An exhibition mounted by the Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt, in cooperation with the Museum Tinguely, Basel

The oeuvre created by the American concept and object artist Edward Kienholz (1927–1994) from the mid-1950s onwards is strongly polarizing and rebellious in character. Central to his work, which from 1972 was executed in collaboration with his wife Nancy Reddin Kienholz, are religion, war, death, sex and the degenerate sides of society. 
>>Further reading

Installation at Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely, 2012 photo: B. Matthiessen
Vera Isler at Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely 2012, photo: B. Matthiessen

Vera Isler
Face to Face II

1 February – 6 May 2012
In co-operation with Museum der Moderne, Salzburg (Austria)

The most notable characteristics of the portraits in Vera Isler’s Face to Face series are their intensity and their naturalness. Described by the artist as “portraits for me alone”, they were created without assistance, without artificial light and thus without distraction. As documents of Vera Isler’s encounters with various artists, they capture very personal feelings and states of mind with “heartfelt and wordless discretion”.
>>Further reading

Tatlin. un nouvel art pour un monde nouveau

6 juin – 14 octobre 2012

Avec des chefs-d’œuvre venant principalement de Moscou et Saint-Pétersbourg, l’exposition Vladimir Tatline (1885-1953) présente une des figures majeures de l’avant-garde russe. Dans ses contre-reliefs, Tatline rompt en effet les limites de la peinture. Avec le modèle révolutionnaire de sa tour monumentale, il réalise une synthèse de l’architecture, des arts plastiques et des utopies sociales. Aux rêves individuels d’une société collectivement normée il confère enfin une expression singulière sous la forme d’un appareil volant nommé Letatlin.
>> En savoir plus

Kienholz
Les signes du temps

 22 février – 13 mai 2012
Une exposition de la Schirn Kunsthalle de Francfort en collaboration avec le Museum Tinguely de Bâle

L’artiste conceptuel américain Edward Kienholz (1927-1994) a créé à partir du milieu des années 1950 une oeuvre dans laquelle s’expriment la rébellion et la polarisation. Au coeur du travail qu’il a dessiné dès 1972 avec sa épouse Nancy Reddin Kienholz se trouvent la religion, la guerre, le mort, le sexe et les côtés sombres de la société.
>> En savoir plus

Installation au Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely, 2012 Photo: Bettina Matthiessen
L'exposition au Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely 2012, photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Vera Isler
Face to Face II

1 février – 6 mai 2012
En coopération avec le Musée d’Art Moderne, Salzburg (Autriche)

Les portraits de la série «Face to Face» réalisée par Vera Isler frappent par leur caractère intense et naturel. Comme le dit l’artiste elle-même, ce sont des «portraits pour moi toute seule» qui ont vu le jour sans assistance, sans lumière artificielle et donc sans intervention extérieure. Ils témoignent de rencontres avec des artistes qui, dans un «mutisme cordial», expriment toujours des humeurs personnelles.
>> En savoir plus