Maria Netter. Art critic and photographer

28 October 2015 – 7 February 2016

 

Museum Tinguely is showing a documentary presentation featuring approximately 100 extraordinary and hitherto largely unpublished reproductions of black-and-white photographs by the journalist and art critic Maria Netter (1917–1982), who resided and passed away in Basel. Maria Netter, who came from a Jewish family, left Berlin in 1936 in order to study in Basel. Following studies in Art History, she went on to become one of the most influential and courageous critics of the contemporary art scene in the German-speaking region. Self-taught photographer Maria Netter was rarely seen without her Leica M3 compact camera, which was introduced on the market in the early 1950s and which allowed her to take snapshots without a flash. Her artistic forays gave rise, among others, to photos of artists, gallery owners, collectors, museum curators and exhibiting institutions, but also of many friends. In multiple cases she used her own photographs to illustrate her texts.

>> Further reading

Ben Vautier. Is everything art?

21 October 2015 – 22 January 2016

Ben Vautier has been on the scene since the late 1950s as an artist, performer, organizer, linguistic inventor, and re-thinker of art. He is one of the pioneers of the Fluxus movement in Europe and, as a comrade-in-arms of the École de Nice, a close friend of artists such as Arman, Yves Klein and Martial Raysse. He is known for his text images, which, using brief, pithy phrases, equally question and challenge life and art. Museum Tinguely dedicates Ben Vautier’s first comprehensive retrospective in Switzerland. Alongside an overview of the first 20 years of his creativity, Ben sets up in Basel more than 30 rooms as he comments on various social, artistic, and political topics and takes a stance. In total, the show exhibits from 21 October through 22 January, 2016 far in excess of 500 works by the artist, who is still very active to this day.
>> Further reading

PRIÈRE DE TOUCHER – The Touch of Art

12 February – 16 May 2016

 

Can art be experienced by touch? What role has the tactile dimension in our experience of art? Museum Tinguely continues its series on the role of the human senses in the arts with a group exhibition presenting works focusing on the many facets of our haptic perception. The varied trail, encompassing many centuries, invites visitors to partake in direct tactile experiences and requires our ability of ‘embodiment’. Baroque allegories, the avant-garde with Marcel Duchamp, body-related art forms of the 1960s and 1970s (among others, Valie Export, Bruce Nauman), and contemporary positions (among others, Pipilotti Rist, Pedro Reyes, Ana Mendieta) form focuses of the exhibition.

>> Further reading

SAFARI IN RESTAURO. Restoration of Jean Tinguely’s “Le Safari de la Mort Moscovite” in the presence of museum visitors

18 April – 31 August 2016

 

On 3 September 2016 a parade will take place through the streets of Fribourg (CH) on the occasion of the “Grand Prix Tinguely” to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the death of Jean Tinguely (30.08.1991). Tinguely’s Le Safari de la Mort Moscovite (1989), Safari for short, which was understood by the artist as a “traveling sculpture”, will lead this procession, together with carnival floats, racing cars, and old-timers. Colleagues from the conservation and restoration department at Museum Tinguely are mean-while getting Safari ready for the road again. To this end various conservation and restoration measures are being performed on this work.

>> Further reading

Michael Landy. Out of Order

Michael Landy. Out of Order

8 June – 25 September 2016

 

Michael Landy (*1963) is one of the “ Young British Artists“ who made sensation from 1988 on. He appeared with installations in which fiction and real life conjoined in a troubling liaison. He became known to a wider public in 2001 with Break Down: In a shop in London, he drew up an inventory of all objects that belonged to him at that point in time, in order then to destroy them during a regulated process. Landy deals intensively with the function of art and artworks in society. Museum Tinguely is showing this artist’s first retrospective.

>> Further reading

20 Years of Museum Tinguely – Out of Order Day

Sunday, 25 September 2016, 11 am – 6 pm

 

On Sunday, 25 September 2016, Museum Tinguely is celebrating its 20th anniversary with a big party. On the final day of the temporary exhibition “Michael Landy. Out of Order” the Museum is inviting guests to a wide variety of attractions all about Jean Tinguely and Michael Landy in the Museum and in Solitude Park. In crowning conclusion, the EepyBirds will bring the day to a close with one of their spectacular Mentos & Coke Experiments.

>> Further reading

20 Years of Museum Tinguely – Out of Order Day

Music Machines / Machine Music

19 October 2016 – 22 January 2017

 

Tinguely’s sculptures always have an acoustic dimension, which was consciously composed and balanced by the artist as part of the works. They generate noises, sounds, and apparently random music. This musical side reached a climax with the four Méta-Harmonie music machines between 1978 and 1985. The exhibition will provide the unique opportunity to experience these large-scale and versatile sound boxes, which are at home in Karuizawa (Japan), Vienna, and Basel, in dialog with one another. They will form the stage for a broadly defined program of events and concerts devoted to the theme of mechanical music.

>> Further reading

Maria Netter. Critique d'art et photographe

28 octobre 2015 – 7 février 2016

 

Le Musée Tinguely organise une présentation documentaire rassemblant une centaine de reproductions hors pair, inédites pour la plupart, de photographies en noir et blanc réalisées par la journaliste et critique d’art Maria Netter( 1917 – 1982) qui a œuvré et vécu en grande partie à Bâle. Originaire d’une famille juive, Maria Netter avait quitté Berlin en 1936 pour étudier à Bâle. Après ses études d’histoire de l’art, elle devint l’une des critiques les plus influentes et les plus audacieuses de la scène artistique de son époque dans les pays germanophones. Également photographe autodidacte, Maria Netter ne se déplaçait jamais sans son appareil photo, un Leica M3, apparu sur le marché au début des années 1950, et qui lui permettait de prendre des instantanés sans flash. Lors de ses déplacements dans le monde de l’art, elle photographia des artistes, galeristes, collectionneurs et conservateurs, mais aussi de nombreux amis et des institutions artistiques. Elle illustrait ainsi ses textes de ses propres photos.

>> En savoir plus

Ben Vautier. Est-ce que tout est art?

21 octobre 2015 – 22 janvier 2016

Depuis la fin des années 1950, Ben Vautier (*1935) est pour ainsi dire omniprésent : en tant qu’artiste, performeur, organisateur, inventeur de langage et nouveau penseur de l’art. Il compte parmi les pionniers du mouvement Fluxus en Europe et a appartenu à l’École de Nice où il était étroitement lié à des artistes comme Arman, Yves Klein et Martial Raysse. Il est connu pour ses écritures qui, en quelques mots seulement, interrogent autant la vie que l’art. Le Musée Tinguely lui consacre sa première grande rétrospective en Suisse. Outre un retour sur ses 20 premières années artistiques, Ben installe lui-même au Musée Tinguely plus de 30 espaces commentant différents thèmes sociétaux, artistiques et politiques par rapport auxquels il prend ouvertement position. L’exposition montre à Bâle à partir du 21 octobre jusqu’au 22 janvier 2016 en tout plus de 500 oeuvres de cet artiste qui reste inlassablement actif jusqu’à aujourd’hui.
>> En savoir plus

PRIÈRE DE TOUCHER – Le tactile dans l'art. Exposition Musée Tinguely Bâle

PRIÈRE DE TOUCHER – Le tactile dans l'art

12 février – 16 mai 2016

 

L’art peut-il être appréhendé par le toucher ? Quel est le rôle de la dimension tactile dans l’expérience de l’art ? Le Musée Tinguely poursuit sa série sur les cinq sens dans les arts et regroupe dans une vaste exposition des œuvres qui traitent des divers aspects de notre perception haptique. Le parcours très diversifié, qui couvre plusieurs siècles, invite à des expériences tactiles directes et sollicite notre capacité à l'embodiment. Des allégories baroques, l'avant-garde avec Marcel Duchamp, des formes artistiques des années 1960 et 1970 en rapport avec le corps (par ex. Valie Export, Bruce Nauman) ainsi que des positions plus récentes (Pipilotti Rist, Pedro Reyes, Ana Mendieta, entre autres) constituent les points forts de l'exposition.

>> En savoir plus

 

SAFARI IN RESTAURO
Restauration de l’oeuvre Le Safari de la Mort Moscovite de Jean Tinguely devant les visiteurs du Musée à partir du 18 avril 2016

18 avril – 31 août 2016

 

En hommage à Jean Tinguely (décédé il y a 25 ans, le 30 août 1991), les rues de Fribourg verront défiler le 3 septembre 2016 « Le Grand Prix Tinguely » : une procession menée par Le Safari de la Mort Moscovite – en bref Safari –, une « sculpture ambulante » conçue en 1989 par Jean Tinguely. La sculpture sera accompagnée de chars de carnaval et autres voitures de course et de collection. L’équipe du département restauration du Musée Tinguely est chargée de remettre Safari en état de circuler pour ce fameux cortège. L’oeuvre va ainsi faire l’objet de différentes mesures de conservation et de restauration devant les visiteurs du Musée.

>> En savoir plus

Michael Landy. Out of Order

Michael Landy. Out of Order

8 juin – 25 septembre 2016

 

Michael Landy (né en 1963) compte parmi les « Young British Artists » qui font sensation à partir de 1988. Il s’est produit notamment avec des installations qui associent fiction et vie réelle sur un mode déstabilisant. En 2001, Break Down le rend célèbre auprès d’un public plus large : dans un magasin de Londres, il inventorie l’intégralité des objets qui lui appartiennent à ce moment-là pour ensuite les détruire de façon méthodique. Landy interroge sans relâche la fonction de l’art et des oeuvres d’art dans la société. Le Musée Tinguely montre la première rétrospective de l’artiste.

>> En savoir plus

Les 20 ans du Musée Tinguely – Out of Order Day

Dimanche, 25 septembre 2016, 11 – 18h

 

Le dernier jour de l’exposition « Michael Landy. Out of Order », le Musée Tinguely fêtera en grand son 20e anniversaire. À cette occasion, nous vous proposons un programme varié autour de Jean Tinguely, de l’exposition actuelle et du musée: Des visites guidées spéciales, assurées par le directeur du musée et des collaborateurs de longue date vous offriront un aperçu personnel de la vie et de l’œuvre de Jean Tinguely. Des films et autres événements autour de Tinguely et du musée, ainsi que des actions ludiques et offres culinaires viendront compléter les festivités.

>> En savoir plus

20 Jahre Museum Tinguely – Out of Order Day

Machines musicales / Musique machinale

19 octobre 2016 – 22 janvier 2017

 

Les sculptures de Tinguely ont toujours une dimension acoustique que l’artiste a délibérément pensée et conçue comme une partie intégrante de ses œuvres. Celles-ci produisent ainsi des bruits, des sons et de la musique, qui donne l’impression de relever du hasard. Cet aspect sonore connaît son apogée avec les quatre machines musicales Méta-Harmonies, réalisées entre 1978 et 1985. L’exposition sera l’occasion unique de voir pour ainsi dire converser ces gigantesques et complexes installations / corps sonores qui se trouvent sinon pour certaines à Karuizawa (Japon) Vienne et Bâle. Elles constitueront la scène d’un vaste programme de manifestations et de concerts consacré au thème de la musique mécanique.

>> En savoir plus