@G: Nevin Aladağ. Traces, 2015

13 June - 17 September 2017

Three-channel HD video installation, color, sound, 6’03’’

Traces, Nevin Aladağ’s video installation of 2015, was created in Stuttgart, the city in which she grew up. It makes use of musical instruments such as those also used by local musicians and buskers to fill the city – its playgrounds, popular sights, and all those central locations where people meet and do business – with music. The orchestra in this piece, however, consists not of human players, but of movables and of the texture and structure of the city, whose movement and interaction, steered in part by chance, generate music and sound. The absent, yet somehow present body conveys not only the solidity of the city’s architecture, but also the ephemerality and the fluidity, as well as the connectedness of sound and music, making for a carefully choreographed, visual and musical composition.

Aladağ (b. 1972) spent her childhood and youth in Stuttgart. She completed her study of sculpture at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts in 2000 and now lives and works in Berlin. She combines her exploration of cultural identities and forms of expression and of the public space as a social and political domain with a special interest in dance and music in order to produce multi-layered works in a wide range of media.

@G is a presentation format with which the Museum Tinguely highlights selected works by specific artists.

Stephen Cripps. Performing Machines

27 January – 1 May 2017

 

The oeuvre of British artist Stephen Cripps (1952-1982) was highly innovative and experimental. His works developed out of an interest for kinetic sculpture and machines as well as from a fascination for the poetic potential of explosion and destruction. Until his early death Cripps built machines and interactive installations and realised pyrotechnic performances. With his performative and multisensorial artistic practices he focussed primarily on experiments with sound. He pushed the boundaries with his radical performances, many of which even now would be unthinkable due to their potential danger to the audience and their immediate surrounds. Cripps developed many of his projects in the medium of drawing and collage, which provide an insight into his rich and unconventional mindset. This exhibition provides an opportunity for a rediscovery of Cripps’ work which is presented on a large scale for the first time at Museum Tinguely. The exhibition is a co-operation with the Henry Moore Institute, Leeds.

>> Further reading

Dimitri de Perrot. Strandgut und Blumen
An interactive sound installation

 26 February –19 March 2017

Strandgut und Blumen (Flotsam, Jetsam and Flowers) is what the Swiss artist and director Dimitri de Perrot calls his sound installation, which will be on view at the Museum Tinguely from 26 February to 19 March 2017. Set up amid the current exhibition, it forms an installation that enters into a musical dialogue with its surroundings. Noises, reverberations and overtones combine to form soundscapes that populate the room with new protagonists and coalesce in a total composition in which Tinguely’s Méta-Harmonies also play a part.
>> Further reading

@G: Nevin Aladağ. Traces, 2015

13 juin - 17 septembre 2017

Installation vidéo HD trois canaux, couleur, son, 6 min 3 sec

L’installation vidéo Traces de Nevin Aladağ a vu le jour en 2015 à Stuttgart, la ville où a grandi l’artiste. Celle-ci utilise le même type d’instruments de musique que les musiciens (de rue) locaux, afin de faire résonner l’espace urbain – squares, buts de balades, principaux lieux de rencontres et de commerce. Toutefois, son orchestre ne se compose pas d’individus, mais de mobilier urbain, des textures et structures de la ville qui commandent le mouvement et l’interaction de façon aléatoire pour créer de la musique et des sons. Ce que l’architecture urbaine a de figé dialogue avec ce qui est éphémère et fluide, mais aussi avec ce que le son et la musique ont de liant – corps absent et pourtant présent donnant une composition visuelle et musicale minutieusement chorégraphiée.

Aladağ (née en 1972) a passé son enfance et sa jeunesse à Stuttgart. En 2000, elle achève ses études de sculpture aux Beaux-Arts de Munich. Elle vit et travaille aujourd’hui à Berlin. Son intérêt porte sur les identités culturelles et formes d’expression en rapport avec l’espace urbain, social et politique, mais aussi, plus particulièrement, sur la danse et la musique, qu’elle associe en des œuvres ouvertes puisant dans des médias variés et offrant des lectures multiples.

@G est un format de présentation pour des œuvres d’artistes sélectionnées par le Musée Tinguely

Stephen Cripps. Performing Machines

27 janvier – 1 mai 2017

 

Le travail de l’artiste britannique Stephen Cripps (1952-1982) est extrêmement innovant et expérimental. Ses œuvres sont le fruit à la fois d’un intérêt pour les machines et sculptures cinétiques et d’une fascination pour le potentiel poétique de l’explosion et de la destruction. Jusqu’à sa mort prématurée, Cripps a créé nombre de machines et installations interactives, et réalisé également des performances pyrotechniques. Les expérimentations sur le son, notamment, occupent une place cruciale dans sa pratique performative et multisensorielle. Les performances de Cripps étaient poussées à l’extrême et seraient aujourd’hui inconcevables, compte tenu de leur caractère potentiellement risqué pour le public et l’environnement. Parmi ses projets, Cripps en a élaboré beaucoup sous forme de dessins et de collages qui donnent ainsi à voir la richesse de l’univers non-conventionnel de l’artiste. Pour la toute première fois, le Musée Tinguely présente l’œuvre de Cripps dans une telle ampleur et permet ainsi de la redécouvrir. L’exposition est réalisée en coopération avec le Henry Moore Institute, Leeds.

>> En savoir plus

Myousic von Dimitri de Perrot, Foto © Tillessen

Dimitri de Perrot. Strandgut und Blumen
Installation sonore interactive

26 février – 19 mars 2017

 

Strandgut und Blumen (Débris et fleurs) – tel est le titre que l’artiste et scénographe suisse Dimitri de Perrot a donné à son œuvre sonore au Musée Tinguely qui sera présentée du 26 février au 19 mars 2017. Au beau milieu de l’exposition en cours, il a ainsi créé une installation qui entretient un rapport musical avec son environnement. À partir de bruits, d’échos et de demi-tons, il fait jaillir des images sonores qui emplissent l’espace, tels de nouveaux protagonistes, le tout donnant une composition globale à laquelle participent également les Méta-Harmonies de Tinguely.

>> En savoir plus