Niki & Jean, l'Art et l'Amour

29 August 2006 – 4 March 2007

The Artists
Presents the works of both artists separately from their beginnings in Paris in the early 1950s throughout their career. Both adhere to the French art movement “Les Nouveaux Réalistes”, founded in 1960 by the Parisian critic Pierre Restany, bringing together artists like Yves Klein, César, Christo and Daniel Spoerri. In Paris, they also meet young American artists such as Jasper Johns and Robert Rauschenberg.

The Collaboration
Among the most interesting moments in the two artists’ lives are those of their intense artistic collaboration following different modes, and different stages or depths. They function as each other’s assistant, advisor, instigator of ideas, co-creator: Tinguely often contributes technical assistance and Niki her fantasy and ideas such as “You could put some feathers on your things …”, which Jean does, thereby creating his important series of “Baloubas”.

There are also sculptures, which they create together, such as Assemblage with Fire-Engine in 1960, or Portrait sur patins à roulettes in 1961, the monumental HON at the Moderna Museet in 1966 (destroyed, but documented through photos, films, drawings, posters, etc.), the even more gigantic Cyclop or Niki’s Tarot-Garden. Later sculptural works are Le Dragon (1988) or L’Illumination (1988), as well as the fountains in Paris (Fontaine Stravinsky, 1984) and in Château Chinon (1988), in which both artists collaborate directly.

Apart from the sculptures, there are Niki’s films, in which Tinguely plays an important role and Tinguely’s happenings of the early 1960s, in which Niki participates actively; and then there are the happenings, in which both of them cooperate with other artists like Robert Rauschenberg, John Cage, David Tudor or Nicolas Petit.

The Love
Throughout their lives both artists carry on an intense exchange of letters – to each other, but also to third parties such as Pontus Hulten, the lifelong friend of Niki and Jean, director of the Moderna Museet, Stockholm, of the Centre Pompidou, Paris, and first director of LA MOCA.

Their letters to each other reveal the intensity of their relationship, also the many friendships they forge with others; they speak of their artistic projects and about life, about the gain and loss of love and partner. The letters and the partly-published writings of Niki de Saint Phalle attest to an adventurous love between two radically independent personalities.

Niki & Jean, l'Art et l'Amour

29 août 2006 – 4 mars 2007

Les artistes
Présente l’œuvre des deux artistes séparément dès leurs débuts à Paris dans les années 1950 et à travers toute leur carrière. Tous deux adhèrent au mouvement artistique français des « Nouveaux Réalistes » fondé en 1960 par le critique d’art Pierre Restany et rassemblant des noms tels Yves Klein, César, Christo et Daniel Spoerri. A Paris, le couple fréquente et collabore aussi avec de jeunes artistes américains, dont Jasper Johns et Robert Rauschenberg.


La collaboration
Un des moments les plus intéressants dans la vie de Niki et Jean est celui de leur intense collaboration sur le plan de la création artistique. Cette collaboration a plusieurs aspects, et s’effectue aussi en plusieurs étapes. Ils sont tant l’assistant, le conseiller, l’instigateur de l’autre, le co-créateur : Jean contribue une aide technique et Niki apporte des idées telles celle « de rajouter des plumes à certaines de ses œuvres » ce que Jean fait, créant par là l’importante série des « Baloubas ».

Mais ils collaborent aussi de manière directe sur certaines sculptures telles Assemblage with Fire-Engine en 1960, ou Portrait sur patins à roulettes en 1961, l’oeuvre monumentale HON au Moderna Museet de Stockholm en 1966 (aujourd’hui détruite mais documentée par des photos, des dessins, des affiches, etc.) et finalement Le Cyclop, œuvre encore plus gigantesque, ou le Jardin des Tarots de Niki. Des œuvres tardives telles Le Dragon (1988) ou L’Illumination (1988), de même les fontaines à Paris (Fontaine Stravinsky, 1984) et à Château Chinon (1988) sont des œuvres nées de la collaboration directe des deux artistes.

À part les sculptures, il y a aussi les films de Niki de Saint Phalle dans lesquels Jean Tinguely joue un rôle important, et les happenings de Jean Tinguely au début des années 1960 auxquels Niki de Saint Phalle participe de manière active. Et finalement, tous deux prennent part aux happenings d’autres artistes tels Robert Rauschenberg, John Cage, David Tudor ou Nicolas Petit.


L’amour
Durant toute leur vie, Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely entretiennent une correspondance régulière et intense – non seulement entre eux mais aussi avec d’autres personnalités dont tout particulièrement avec Pontus Hulten, leur ami de longue date, directeur du Moderna Museet de Stockholm, du Centre Georges Pompidou à Paris, et premier directeur du LA MOCA.

Leurs lettres documentent leur étroite relation, mais aussi les amitiés qui les lient à d’autres personnalités ; elles parlent également de leurs projets artistiques et de leur vie, de l’amour, du gain et de la perte du partenaire. Ces lettres et les écrits partiellement publiés de Niki de Saint Phalle attestent d’un amour explosif liant deux personnalités foncièrement indépendantes.