Art Machines – Machine Art

5 March – 29 June 2008

«The relationship between art and machine is not necessarily a harmonious one, and so coupling the two terms seems contradictory. If one accepts the general assumption that artists, not machines, are the originators and creators of works of art, then the discrepancy between the two could not be greater.»

The exhibition starts with works by Jean Tinguely, but the interest in art producing machines is far older, since the intertwined history of art and of the machine harks back to Antiquity and continues through the ages down to the present day.
Numerous exhibitions in the past have investigated the relationship between art and the machine, but here the focus is neither on the beauty of the machines nor of the objects that they produce; rather, the exhibition presents works of art that are at the same time machines that produce in turn their own artworks. These machines possess a processual character that combines machine, act of production, user and product.
The relationship between work of art and viewer is examined in all the works without always being at the source of the latter. The viewer is not always directly involved in the production process, but, nevertheless, always gains an insight in the production and is thus led to reflect on the issue as to where the work of art begins.
The artist will never succeed in disappearing permanently from the work of art. The machine can produce art without his presence but never without his ideas.
(K. Dohm and H. Stahlhut, Art Machines Machine Art, exh. cat., Kehrer-Verlag, 2007/8)

List of artists: Pawel Althamer, Michael Beutler, Angela Bulloch, Olafur Eliasson, Tue Greenfort, Damien Hirst, Rebecca Horn, Jon Kessler, Tim Lewis, Lia, Miltos Manetas, Roxy Paine, Steven Pippin, Cornelia Sollfrank, Martin Stiefel, Jean Tinguely, Antoine Zgraggen, Andreas Zybach

Virtual Tour

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Art et Machines

5 mars – 29 juin 2008

« La relation entre l’art et la machine ne présage pas nécessairement une cohabitation harmonieuse, et l’accouplement de ces deux termes semble être contradictoire. Si l’on accepte la théorie générale que ce sont les artistes et non les machines qui sont les concepteurs et créateurs d’œuvres d’art, alors la distinction entre les deux ne pourrait être plus grande. »

L’exposition débute avec des œuvres de Jean Tinguely, mais l’intérêt pour les machines à produire de l’art remonte bien plus haut dans le temps, puisque l’art et la machine ont une histoire commune qui a ses sources déjà dans l’Antiquité et se poursuit tout le long des siècles jusqu’à l’époque contemporaine.
Des expositions ont par le passé examiné la relation entre l’art et la machine ; ici ce n’est ni la beauté de la machine ni celle des objets qu’elle produit qui est au centre de l’exposition, mais plutôt une présentation d’œuvres d’art qui sont en même temps des machines qui produisent à leur tour leurs propres œuvres d’art. Unies par un même caractère, toutes les œuvres réunissent les critères suivants: machine, acte de production, utilisateur et produit final.
Toutes les machines abordent la relation entre l’œuvre d’art et le spectateur, mais cette relation n’est pas nécessairement leur concept de base. Dans le cas de certains travaux le spectateur n’est pas impliqué dans la production mais il en obtient toutefois un aperçu, ce qui le mène à la réflexion: où commence l’œuvre d’art ?
L’artiste ne pourra jamais disparaître tout à fait de l’œuvre d’art. La machine peut produire de l’art sans sa présence mais jamais sans ses idées.
(K. Dohm et H. Stahlhut, Kunstmaschinen Maschinenkunst, cat. exp., Kehrer-Verlag, 2007/8)

Liste d’artistes: Pawel Althamer, Michael Beutler, Angela Bulloch, Olafur Eliasson, Tue Greenfort, Damien Hirst, Rebecca Horn, Jon Kessler, Tim Lewis, Lia, Miltos Manetas, Roxy Paine, Steven Pippin, Cornelia Sollfrank, Martin Stiefel, Jean Tinguely, Antoine Zgraggen, Andreas Zybach

Visite virtuelle

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel

Foto Christian Baur, Basel