Poetry of the Metropolis. The Affichistes

22 October 2014 – 11 January 2015

Exhibition Trailer

One of the most radical and simultaneously most poetic approaches to reality was made from 1950 onwards by the “Affichistes”: Francois Dufrêne, Raymond Hains, and Jacques Villeglé belonged, like Jean Tinguely, to the “Nouveaux Réalistes” group. Their creative work fitted in with that of the like-minded Mimmo Rotella and Wolf Vostell. The exhibition “Poetry of the Metropolis. The Affichistes” jointly devised by Museum Tinguely and Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt has as its theme an artistic current which, outside of France, in Switzerland and Germany too, has been largely disregarded up to now. The Affichistes are now comprehensively on show in Switzerland for the first time ever. The exhibition is arranged in the form of a trail, which presents the urban space as a place of varied inspiration for strolling flâneurs and creates locations for encountering the radical inventions of these five artists; be they décollages, or filmic, photographic, or even poetical experiments.
Dufrêne, Hains, and Villeglé, later Rotella too, came together with Arman, Yves Klein, Martial Raysse, Daniel Spoerri, and Jean Tinguely to form the “Nouveaux Réalistes”, founded by means of manifesto by Pierre Restany in 1960. Although the artistic field that revolves around the smallest common denominator, the “nouvelles approches perceptives du reel”, is thus marked out, in the Affichistes’ case this classification does not take account of the fact that, already in 1950 or thereabouts, they were important trailblazers for a new thinking that prepared the broader field of artistic acting and creating in around 1960. For example it is no coincidence, also, that important ideas for Restany’s first manifesto for the “Nouveaux Réalistes” (1960) were derived from a text already published in 1958 by Jacques Villeglé, Des réalités collectives. However, the Affichistes only arrived at their first exhibition opportunities after a delay and in the context of the “Nouveaux Réalistes” show at the 1st Biennale de Paris in 1959 and subsequently with solo presentations at the Parisian Gallery J, an ally of Restany. The formation of the “Nouveaux Réalistes” was therefore of no little consequence for the Affichistes’ reception and success.

Before they converged to form collaborations, to make mutual dedications of work and jointappearances, the origins and development of the five presented artistswere highly varied. Whatunited them, however, was cross-disciplinary thinking and functioning: Performative action, poetry, onomatopoeia, theatrical action, happening, photography, and film took shape throughthe medium of the décollages and the process of décollage. At the same time, though, theirworks, which range from the minute fragment – small exercises and studies – to the overwhelming large format, also have an inherent painterly and pictorial potential, which appears to unite objectivity and abstract reading with equal naturalness and arbitrariness. François Dufrêne’s origin as a literary and ultra-literary onomatopoeist, language subverter and language actionist formed the manner of his appropriation of posters by means of language games, a partly cryptic/objective interpretation of abstract shape fragments, and the fascination for temporality, reprinting, and the archaeological method of stratification – as his peeled-out poster backs show.
Jacques Villeglé tearing up a poster, 1964 © Photo: André Morain
Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962. Private collection, Rome © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano
With Raymond Hains he shared the joy of the deformation and reformation of the verbal and of the visual that extends into the absurd, which in Hains was turned even more toward the playful, to pure chance and to free association and which understood the city as a fountainhead for strings of poetical actions. As early as the end of the 1940s, together with Jacques Villeglé, Hains created the first torn-up posters; probably the most famous of these, Ach Alma Manetro (1949), forms the opening of the exhibition. From 1950 onwards, using a complex method of transformation by means of optical distortion and alternating media, they developed the film Pénélope, which is exemplary of the way décollages are synonymous with the conceptual process of finding (more than inventing). For Villeglé, for his part, the medium of the poster is an almost infinite, constantly self renewing fund of the present, conserving a specific aesthetic and temporality, and consequently, with time, also the respective “historical location”.

All this material is provided by the metropolis in “autopoetic productivity” to the attentive city stroller. Be it Paris for Dufrêne, Hains, Villeglé, or Vostell too, be it Rome for Mimmo Rotella. Rotella, who joins the circle of the “Nouveaux Réalistes” via acquaintance with Restany, experimented for his part, independently of the other Affichistes, with décollages from as early as 1953. Collages of even earlier date are followed in formal similarity by initial décollages and poster backs which deal likewise, as actual material images, with the theme of the archaeological, and which are directed toward the special quality of weathered paper and their rear support. In contrast to Hains and Villeglé Rotella also, however, intervenes directly in the surface, in order to reveal structures, patterns, and strata. The objects of his torn-off posters change after 1960. Now he is particularly interested in colorfully advertised products from the consumer world and in movie posters. In this he concurs, in turn, with Villeglé, who was occupied with the same fascination for advertising's popular images. They thereby become Pop Art pioneers. Wolf Vostell uses the term of “dé-coll/age” not only in connection with torn-up posters, but also as a comprehensive art concept, in order to emphasize deconstruction as a creative process. He uses torn-up posters in one of his first happenings, Das Theater ist auf der Strasse of 1958, in which the audience was called to take part in the action, to cite text fragments, or to imitate (fragmentarily) illustrated gestures. In Vostell, Actionist elements of reworking or overpainting (by the audience) complement the process of selection and appropriation.

The exhibition Poetry of the Metropolis covers the period from 1946 until 1968 and pays particular attention to the emergence and early phase of the Affichistes, to photographic, filmic, and poetical experiments and collaborations. We are indebted for being able to present the five artists with their most important works to a large number of lenders who are generously supporting our project – something which cannot be taken for granted given the fragility of these “paper works”. The presentation is arranged as a chronologically and thematically linked urban space, which particularly emphasizes the abstract large formats and the large objective décollages, but also specifically presents the theme of the political posters just as much as the fascination for text, texture and structure. 

An abundant supporting program featuring concerts, films, and poetry and literature events will be taking place as part of the exhibition, updating the haphazard nature of this fascinating art form for the present day as well. The exhibition has been devised by Roland Wetzel, Director of Museum Tinguely, and Esther Schlicht, curator at Schirn Kunsthalle in Frankfurt.

The exhibition is a collaboration by Museum Tinguely and Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt where it will be there on display afterwards (February, 5 – May, 25 2015)

Publication
The exhibition will be accompanied by a lavishly illustrated catalog edited by Snoeck Verlag with articles by Bernard Blistène, Fritz Emslander, Esther Schlicht, Didier Semin, Dominique Stella and an interview with Jacques Villeglé by Roland Wetzel. German-Enlish edition, 280 pages, price at Museum’s book shop: 42 CHF, ISBN: 978-3-9523990-8-8
>> Order your catalogue online

Jacques Villeglé, "La Moto" - avenue Ledru-Rollin 19 mars 1965, 1965. Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Musée d'Art Moderne / Photo: Roger-Viollet

Virtual Tour

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 Décollage, reverse side, mounted on canvas, 92 x 73 cm Collection G. Dufrêne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Marc Domage

François Dufrêne, Apéritif, 1960 Décollage on wood, 113,5 x 56,5 cm ahlers collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Lisa Rastl

François Dufrêne in his studio, 1960s Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

François Dufrêne during a lettrist lecture at Théatre de l’Odéon, Paris, February 1964 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé tearing up a poster, 1964 © Photo: André Morain

Jacques Villeglé, Angers, 21 septembre 1959, 1959 Décollage and collage, mounted on canvas, 162 x 130 cm Collection des Musées d'art et d'histoire de la Ville de Genève © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Musées d'art et d'histoire, Ville de Genève, inv. n° 1988-0041; Photo: Bettina Jacot-Descombes

Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 Décollage on canvas, 200 x 320 cm Collection S.M.A.K., Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst, Gent, Belgium © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Stedelijk Museum, Gent

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 Décollage on canvas, 200 x 145 cm Collection FRAC Bourgogne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Collection FRAC Bourgogne

Jacques Villeglé, Rue de Tolbiac - Le crime ne paie pas, 1962 Décollage on wood, diameter : 111 cm Collection Frac Bretagne, Rennes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

Jacques Villeglé tearing up a poster, 1961 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé, 1961 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Mimmo Rotella, Terque quaterque, 1955 Burned décollage, 39,5 x 25,5 cm Private collection Courtesy Fondazione Marconi, Milan © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Fondazione Marconi, Milan

Mimmo Rotella, Marilyn, 1963-64 Décollage, 133 x 94 cm Agnes & Frits Becht Collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Thijn van de Ven

Mimmo Rotella, Per l'insalata, 1961 Décollage on canvas, 31 x 23 cm Collezione Peruz Milano © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Paolo Vandrasch, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962 Décollage on canvas, 108 x 84 cm Private collection, Rome © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, 1965 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Raymond Hains, Cet homme est dangereux, 1957

Raymond Hains, Photographie hypnagogique, 1946 – 1950 Print on silver sensitized photographic paper, 29,4 x 23,5 cm Courtesy Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 Décollage (of wrapping paper with threads) on plywood, 80 x 90cm Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; RMN-Grand Palais / Photo: Michèle Bello

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Ach Alma Manetro, 1949 Décollage on paper, mounted on canvas, 76,2 x 273 x 7,5 cm Centre Pompidou, Paris Musée national d'art moderne / Centre de création industrielle © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Photo: Christian Bahier / Philippe Migeat

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Pénélope, 1950-1953 Stock of archival material of the project Pénélope, 1950-1953 Coseup of the

Raymond Hains, 1961 Photograph: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Wolf Vostell, Ihr Kandidat, 1961 Décollage on fiber board, 160 x 200 cm Leihgabe der Bundesrepublik Deutschland – Sammlung Zeitgenössische Kunst / Haus der Geschichte © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Bonn; Photo: Axel Thünker

Wolf Vostell, Bon Danseur, 1957 Décollage, 63 x 53 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Wolf Vostell, Ceres, 1960 Décollage, 203 x 135 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Mimmo Rotella Raum Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 (Mitte) Raymond Hains, Rue Delambre – Perroquet Brun, 1960 (rechts) Raymond Hains, Untitled, 1952 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Wolf Vostell, Anti-Process II, 1960 (rechts) Wolf Vostell, Harlem Globetrotters, 1962-1967 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Avenue de la Liberté, Charenton, 1961 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Métro Saint-Germain, 22 septembre 1964, 1964 (rechts) François Dufrêne, Le jour de la pharmacie, 1968 (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Raymond Hains Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Projekt Pénélope, 1950-1953 Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (rechts) Werke von Raymond Hains und Jacques Villeglé (links) Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Jacques Villeglé und François Dufrêne Installation view at the Museum Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, 2014 Jacques Villeglé in the exhibition in front of

La poésie de la métropole. Les Affichistes

22 octobre 2014 – 11 janvier 2015

Bande annonce de l'exposition

À partir des années 1950, une des approches les plus radicales, et à la fois les plus poétiques, de la réalité est due aux « Affichistes » : Francois Dufrêne, Raymond Hains et Jacques Villeglé qui, comme Jean Tinguely, comptaient parmi les « Nouveaux Réalistes ». Dans un esprit commun, leur art rejoignait celui de Mimmo Rotella et Wolf Vostell. L’exposition « Poésie de la métropole. Les affichistes », conçue conjointement par le Musée Tinguely et la Schirn Kunsthalle Francfort, traite un courant artistique qui, à part en France, n’a guère été traité ailleurs, ni en Suisse ni en Allemagne. En Suisse, c’est la toute première fois que les affichistes sont montrés dans leur ensemble. L’exposition est organisée sous forme de parcours présentant l’espace urbain comme lieu de flânerie et d’inspiration multiple, comme lieu de rencontre aussi pour les inventions radicales de ces cinq artistes, qu’il s’agisse de leurs décollages ou de leurs expérimentations filmiques, photographiques et poétiques.
Jacques Villeglé déchirant une affiche, 1964 © Photo: André Morain
Dufrêne, Hains et Villeglé, rejoints plus tard par Rotella, s’associèrent avec Arman, Yves Klein, Martial Raysse, Daniel Spoerri et Jean Tinguely pour former les « Nouveaux Réalistes » selon le manifeste établi en 1960 par Pierre Restany. Certes, le champ artistique était ainsi circonscrit autour du plus petit dénominateur commun, autrement dit les « nouvelles approches perceptives du réel ». Or, dans le cas des affichistes, ce regroupement ne tient pas compte du fait que, vers 1950 déjà, ils furent d’importants précurseurs d’un nouveau mode de pensée qui permit par la suite, vers 1960, d’élargir les champs de création et d’action artistique. Ce n’est pas par hasard que certaines idées majeures du premier manifeste des « Nouveaux Réalistes » (1960) renvoient à un texte que Jacques Villeglé avait publié en 1958, Des réalités collectives. Les affichistes ne commencèrent toutefois à exposer que plus tard, et en rapport avec les « Nouveaux Réalistes », lors de la Première Biennale de Paris en 1959 puis, toujours à Paris, avec des expositions monographiques à la Galerie J, dont Restany était proche. En ce sens, la formation des « Nouveaux Réalistes » eut pour la réception et le succès des affichistes une signification qu’il ne faut pas sous-estimer.

Avant de collaborer, de se dédier mutuellement des oeuvres ou de se produire ensemble en public, les cinq artistes présentés avaient des origines et évolutions des plus différentes. Ils avaient néanmoins un point commun, leur mode de pensée et d’action touchant à toutes les disciplines possibles : performances, poésie, onomatopées, théâtre, happening, photographie, film, autant de domaines qui prirent forme à travers le procédé et médium du décollage. En même temps, leurs oeuvres – allant de toutes petites études aux gigantesques formats – renferment un potentiel pictural dont l’aspect et figuratif et abstrait semble relever aussi bien de l’évidence que du hasard. François Dufrêne était à l’origine créateur de mots et de sons, lettriste et ultra-lettriste, et quand il s’appropriait des affiches, c’était pour jouer sur les formes et les mots, pour en donner une interprétation qui obscurcisse et éclaire à la fois des fragments formels abstraits, mais aussi parce qu’il était fasciné par la temporalité, l’empreinte et le procédé archéologique de la stratification, comme en attestent ses versos d’affiches détachées.
Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962. Collection privée, Rome © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano
Avec Raymond Hains, il partageait le plaisir de pousser à l’absurde la déformation/reformation du langage et de l’image, même si Hains était davantage tourné vers le ludique, le hasard pur et l’association libre et que, pour lui, la ville était source de perles infinies d’actions poétiques. Dès la fin des années 1940, Hains réalisa avec Jacques Villeglé les premiers décollages d’affiches, dont celui sans doute le plus connu, Ach Alma Manetro (1949), marque le début de l’exposition. À partir de 1950, dans un procédé complexe de transformation au moyen de distorsions optiques et de médias changeants, ils conçurent le film Pénélope, qui illustre, comme les décollages, leur méthode conceptuelle consistant à trouver plus qu’à inventer. Pour Villeglé, quant à lui, l’affiche est un fonds se renouvelant sans fin, une mine du présent qui conserve au fil du temps son esthétique et temporalité spécifique, mais aussi son « lieu historique ».

Tout ce matériau met la métropole, dans une « productivité autopoétique », à disposition du promeneur attentif et réceptif – Paris pour Dufrêne, Hains, Villeglé et même Vostell, ou bien Rome pour Mimmo Rotella. Rotella, qui rallia le cercle des « Nouveaux Réalistes » après avoir fait la connaissance de Restany, expérimenta les décollages de son côté dès 1953, indépendamment des autres Affichistes. Après des collages plus anciens encore, apparaissent dans une certaine ressemblance formelle ses premiers décollages et dos d’affiches qui, en tant que véritables images matérielles, traitent également d’archéologie et révèlent la qualité particulière du papier altéré par les intempéries ainsi que du support sur l’envers. Contrairement à Hains et Villeglé, Rotella intervient cependant aussi directement dans la surface pour faire ressortir certaines structures, motifs et accumulations. Après 1960, ses décollages portent sur d’autres objets et il s’intéresse désormais surtout aux produits bariolés que propage le monde de la consommation et aux affiches de films. Sur ce point, il rejoint Villeglé qui éprouve la même fascination pour les images populaires de la publicité, et ils deviennent ainsi des pionniers du pop art. Ce n’est pas seulement en rapport avec les affiches arrachées que Wolf Vostell emploie pour sa part la notion de « dé-coll/age » comme terme artistique global pour souligner le principe de déconstruction comme procédé de création. Il a ainsi utilisé des affiches lacérées dans son premier happening de 1958 Le théâtre est dans la rue, au cours duquel le public était appelé à citer des fragments de textes ou à reproduire des gestes fractionnés. Chez Vostell, l’actionnisme et ses éléments de traitement ou de recouvrement (par le public) complètent le processus de la sélection et de l’appropriation.
Jacques Villeglé, "La Moto" - avenue Ledru-Rollin 19 mars 1965, 1965. Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Musée d'Art Moderne / Photo: Roger-Viollet

L’exposition Poésie de la métropole couvre la période de 1946 à 1968, et porte une attention particulière sur les tout débuts des affichistes, sur leurs expériences et collaborations dans les domaines de la photographie, du film et de la poésie. La présentation de ces cinq artistes par leurs oeuvres majeures n’a été rendue possible que grâce à un grand nombre de prêteurs qui ont très généreusement soutenu notre projet, ce qui, compte tenu de la fragilité des « travaux sur papier », n’allait pas de soi. Cette présentation est conçue à la manière d’un espace-ville dans une organisation chronologique et thématique ; les grands formats abstraits et décollages figuratifs y sont ainsi mis en valeur, tout comme le thème des affiches politiques et la fascination pour le texte, la texture, la structure.

Dans le cadre de cette exposition est proposée à Bâle une riche programmation de concerts, films et manifestations poétiques et littéraires, qui remet dans le présent le caractère accidentel de cette fascinante forme artistique. L’exposition est curatée par Roland Wetzel, directeur du Musée Tinguely, et Esther Schlicht, conservatrice à la Schirn Kunsthalle de Francfort.

L’exposition est une collaboration entre le Musée Tinguely, Bâle et la Schirn Kunsthalle de Francfort où elle sera exposée du 5 février – 25 mai 2015.

Publication
À l’occasion de l’exposition paraît un catalogue publié par Snoek Verlag, richement illustré et avec des contributions de Bernard Blistène, Fritz Emslander, Esther Schlicht, Didier Semin, Dominique Stella et un entretien entre l’artiste Jacques Villeglé et Roland Wetzel, version allemande/anglaise, 280 pages, prix à la boutique du Musée : 42 CHF, ISBN : ISBN: 978-3-9523990-8-8

Visite virtuelle

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 Dessous d'affiches marouflées sur toile, 92 x 73 cm Collection G. Dufrêne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Marc Domage

François Dufrêne, Apéritif, 1960 Affiches lacérées sur bois, 113,5 x 56,5 cm ahlers collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Lisa Rastl

François Dufrêne dans son atelier, années 1960 Photo: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

François Dufrêne lors d’une lecture lettriste au Théatre de l’Odéon, Paris, février 1964 Photo : Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé déchirant une affiche, 1964 © Photo: André Morain

Jacques Villeglé, Angers, 21 septembre 1959, 1959 Affiches lacérées, marouflées, sur toile tendue sur châssis, 162 x 130 cm Collection des Musées d'art et d'histoire de la Ville de Genève © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Musées d'art et d'histoire, Ville de Genève, inv. n° 1988-004; Photo: Bettina Jacot-Descombes

Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 Affiches lacérées marouflées sur toile, 200 x 320 cm Collection S.M.A.K., Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst, Gent, Belgium © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Stedelijk Museum, Gent

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 Décollage sur toile, 200 x 145 cm Collection FRAC Bourgogne © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Collection FRAC Bourgogne

Jacques Villeglé, Rue de Tolbiac - Le crime ne paie pas, 1962 Affiches lacérées marouflées sur bois, diamètre: 111 cm Collection Frac Bretagne, Rennes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Galerie Georges-Philippe & Nathalie Vallois

Jacques Villeglé déchirant une affiche, 1961 Photo : Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Jacques Villeglé, 1961 Photo: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Mimmo Rotella, Terque quaterque, 1955 Combustion et décollage, 39,5 x 25,5 cm Private collection Courtesy Fondazione Marconi, Milan © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Fondazione Marconi, Milan

Mimmo Rotella, Marilyn, 1963-64 Décollage, 133 x 94 cm Agnes & Frits Becht Collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Thijn van de Ven

Mimmo Rotella, Per l'insalata, 1961 Décollage sur toile, 31 x 23 cm Collezione Peruz Milano © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Paolo Vandrasch, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, La tigre, 1962 Décollage sur toile, 108 x 84 cm Collection privée, Rome © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Courtesy Fondazione Mimmo Rotella, Milano

Mimmo Rotella, 1965 Photo: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Raymond Hains, Cet homme est dangereux, 1957 Affiche lacérée, marouflée sur toile, 94 x 60,5 cm ahlers collection © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Photo: Lisa Rastl

Raymond Hains, Photographie hypnagogique, 1946 – 1950 Tirage original aux sels d'argent, 29,4 x 23,5 cm Courtesy Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Galerie Françoise Paviot, Paris

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 Affiches lacérées (en papier kraft avec des fils) contrecollées sur panneau de contre-plaqué, 80 x 90 cm Musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; RMN-Grand Palais / Photo: Michèle Bellot

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Ach Alma Manetro, 1949 Affiches lacérées collées sur papier marouflé sur toile, 76,2 x 273 x 7,5 cm Centre Pompidou, Paris Musée national d'art moderne / Centre de création industrielle © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Photo: Christian Bahier / Philippe Migeat

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Pénélope, 1950-1953 Ensemble d'archives du projet Pénélope, 1950-1953 Gros plan « Séquence Ravenne », 1953 Peinture glycérophtalique sur papier et encre, 23 x 31 cm Courtesy Galerie GP & N Vallois, Paris © Galerie N Vallois, Paris

Raymond Hains, 1961 Photo: Shunk-Kender © J. Paul Getty Trust. The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.R.20)

Wolf Vostell, Ihr Kandidat, 1961 Décollage sur panneau dur, 160 x 200 cm Leihgabe der Bundesrepublik Deutschland – Sammlung Zeitgenössische Kunst / Haus der Geschichte © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Bonn; Photo: Axel Thünker

Wolf Vostell, Bon Danseur, 1957 Décollage, 63 x 53 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Wolf Vostell, Ceres, 1960 Décollage, 203 x 135 cm GbR Gädeke © 2014 ProLitteris, Zurich; Basel; Photo: Bernd Borchardt, Berlin

Mimmo Rotella Raum Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Sans titre, 1950 (Mitte) Raymond Hains, Rue Delambre – Perroquet Brun, 1960 (rechts) Raymond Hains, Untitled, 1952 (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Wolf Vostell, Anti-Process II, 1960 (rechts) Wolf Vostell, Harlem Globetrotters, 1962-1967 (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé,

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Avenue de la Liberté, Charenton, 1961 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, Boulevard Castellucho (jaune), 1964 (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, avril 1961, 1961 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Gare Montparnasse – Rue de Départ, 12 juillet 1968, 1968 (rechts) Jacques Villeglé, L'Anonyme du dripping, 1967 (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

François Dufrêne, A Raymond Hains, 1960 (Mitte) Jacques Villeglé, Métro Saint-Germain, 22 septembre 1964, 1964 (rechts) François Dufrêne, Le jour de la pharmacie, 1968 (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Raymond Hains Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Raymond Hains, Jacques Villeglé, Projekt Pénélope, 1950-1953 Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, Rue René Boulanger / Boulevard Saint-Martin, juin 1959, 1959 (rechts) Werke von Raymond Hains und Jacques Villeglé (links) Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Werke von Jacques Villeglé und François Dufrêne Vue d’installation au Musée Tinguely Basel © 2014, Museum Tinguely, Basel; Photo: Bettina Matthiessen

Jacques Villeglé, 2014 Jacques Villeglé dans l’exposition devant