Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

Sofia Hulten
24.1–1.5.2018

Immovable Object/Unstoppable Force (Skips), 2012, single-channel video, 24’, Courtesy the artist, Daniel Marzona, Berlin, Galerie Nordenhake Stockholm © Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich; photo: Sofia Hultén

Sofia Hultén
Here's the Answer, What's the Question?
24 January – 1 May 2018

As its first exhibition of 2018, Museum Tinguely is showing sculptures, installations and videos by Berlin-based artist Sofia Hultén (born 1972 in Stockholm). Hultén’s works start with found objects – unremarkable everyday items or materials from the world of DIY stores and workshops. Via a series of methodical manipulations that sometimes verge on the absurd, she examines these things that are marked by their previous lives or processes them into new arrangements.

 

In many cases, she sticks to minimal surface interventions that focus on the object’s (supposed) past of usage and decay, shaking up the sequence of these phases. With forensic precision she replicates the wear and tear on a weather-beaten chest of drawers, for example, pulps discarded sections of particle board only to immediately cast them back into their original form, or uses the props from a tennis match to reconstruct the various possible outcomes of a situation on the side-lines. The shifts she imposes on these objects are sometimes based on fantastic notions from science fiction, but more often they point to concepts from philosophy and quantum physics that cast doubt on the constant, linear nature of time and matter.

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich; photo: Sofia Hultén

Pattern Recognition, 2017, modified steel workshop walls, tools, each 180 × 125 × 5 cm, Courtesy the artist, Daniel Marzona, Berlin, Galerie Nordenhake Stockholm

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich; photo: Trevor Good

A series of wall-based sculptures based on Bongard problems, puzzles designed by the Russian computer scientist Mikhail Bongard in the 1960s, as a tool for machine learning. The pieces are a coming together of these puzzles of perception with workshop tool walls.

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich; photo: Sofia Hultén

History in Imaginary Time, 2012, Five sections of chain-link fencing, five jumpers, five tennis balls, twenty cardboard corners with cable tie, dimensions variable/each 200 × 80 × 80 cm, Courtesy the artist, Daniel Marzona, Berlin, Galerie Nordenhake Stockholm

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich; photo: Sofia Hultén

A sequence of accidental events is re-enacted in varying order of causality.

In Hultén’s hands, such banal things as a broken cup, the contents of a found toolbox, a graffiti-covered rolling shutter, or a collection of used scissor jacks cause major questions to be addressed to a material world that may not be as solid as it looks. Her play on space and time is never free of (self-)irony and, besides a sense of rhythm and poetry, in its almost megalomaniac implications it displays an absurd sense of humour. With a feel for detail and the magnificence of the easily overlooked, Hultén’s works also encourage us to engage more closely with things that usually remain on the margins of our attention but which exert a decisive influence on our everyday lives.

 

Here’s the Answer, What’s the Question? is the largest solo exhibition of works by Sofia Hultén to date and is showing in cooperation with Ikon Gallery, Birmingham (13 September – 26 November 2017).

 

Opening: 23 January 2018, 6.30 pm

 

Curator: Lisa Anette Ahlers

 

 

“I am just changing one element at a time, out of a normal sequence of events. If it’s a complete nonsense then you lose the appearance of believability. That’s why I often choose to change just one thing. It’s the same with situation comedy, which informs a lot of what I’m doing in my work. Usually it’s a completely conventional set-up in which we are very familiar with what’s around, with only one salient thing changed. If everything is changed the situation becomes wacky, which is not so much fun.”

Sofia Hultén

The exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue jointly published by Ikon Gallery and Museum Tinguely, with a foreword by Jonathan Watkins and Roland Wetzel and texts by Lisa Anette Ahlers, Chris Sharp, James Langdon and Sofia Hultén.

Sofia Hultén. Here’s the Answer, What’s the Question?, Birmingham/Basel 2017, 128 pages, English/German, 28 CHF, ISBN: 978-1-911155-12-6.

Mutual Annihilation, 2008, four-channel video, 85'22", chest of drawers, 95 x 73 x 50 cm, Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur, © Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich; photo: Sofia Hultén

An old and weathered chest of drawers is restored to its original state. Paint is removed, broken parts are repaired, the chest is polished and finished. The process is then reversed and actions are performed which could have caused the found state. It is repainted, treated with various tools, splashed with coffee, kicked and scraped, until it is returned to the state in which it was found.

SOFIA HULTEN
24.1.–1.5.2018

Immovable Object/Unstoppable Force (Skips), 2012, vidéo monocanale, 24 min, Courtesy the artist, Daniel Marzona, Berlin, Galerie Nordenhake Stockholm © Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich ; photo : Sofia Hultén

Sofia Hultén. Here's the Answer, What's the Question?

24 janvier – 1 mai 2018

La première exposition de 2018 au Musée Tinguely sera consacrée à des sculptures, installations et vidéos de l’artiste berlinoise Sofia Hultén (née en 1972 à Stockholm). Les œuvres de Sofia Hultén trouvent leur commencement dans des objets trouvés – objets utilitaires quelconques ou matériaux de bricolage. Par des manipulations méthodiques, frôlant parfois l’absurde, elle étudie ainsi les choses marquées par une vie antérieure ou les remanie dans des arrangements nouveaux.

 

Ses interventions en apparence minimes touchent au passé (présumé), à la vétusté et à la dégradation d’un objet et brouillent la chronologie de ces différentes phases. Avec une précision scrupuleuse, l’artiste reconstitue ainsi les traces d’usure d’une commode en mauvais état ou déchiquette de vieux panneaux de bois aggloméré pour leur redonner ensuite leur forme d’origine. Ou encore, avec les éléments tels que l’on pourrait les rencontrer lors d’un match de tennis, elle recrée une situation identique en bordure du terrain pour voir comment il aurait pu en aller autrement. Les décalages auxquels elle soumet les choses s’inspirent parfois des idées imaginaires de la science-fiction, mais renvoient plus souvent encore à des notions de philosophie ou de physique quantique, mettant en question la nature linéaire et constante du temps et de la matière.

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich ; photo : Trevor Good

Pattern Recognition, 2017, panneau perforé modifié, outils, 180 × 125 × 5 cm chacun, Courtesy the artist, Daniel Marzona, Berlin, Galerie Nordenhake Stockholm

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich ; photo : Trevor Good

La série de sculptures murales relève du fameux problème de Bongard. Dans les années 1960, l’informaticien russe Mikhail Bongard avait conçu cette énigme comme outil d’apprentissage machine. Cette même énigme est reprise ici sous forme de panneaux perforés.

© Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich ; photo : Sofia Hultén

History in Imaginary Time, 2012, cinq éléments de clôture, cinq sweat-shirts à capuches, cinq balles de tennis, vingt  bouts de carton avec colliers de câblage, dimensions de l’ensemble variables/200 × 80 × 80 cm chacun, Courtesy the artist, Daniel Marzona, Berlin, Galerie Nordenhake Stockholm © Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich ; photo : Sofia Hultén

Un enchaînement d’événements aléatoires est reproduit selon des causalités différentes.

Dans les mains de Sofia Hultén, des objets banals – une tasse ébréchée, le contenu d’une boîte à outils, un store recouvert de graffitis, un tas de crics usagés – sont autant de questions cruciales posées à un monde matériel qui pourrait bien être moins stable qu’il n’y paraît. Ce jeu avec l’espace et le temps n’est jamais dépourvu d’(auto)ironie et, par ses implications presque mégalomanes, il fait preuve non seulement d’un sens du rythme et de la poésie mais aussi d’un humour absurde. Sensibles aux détails et à ce qu’il y a de grandiose dans l’anodin, les œuvres de Sofia Hultén sont une incitation à s’intéresser de plus près aux choses auxquelles nous ne prêtons guère attention, mais qui marquent pourtant bien notre quotidien.

 

Here’s the Answer, What’s the Question ? est la plus grande exposition personnelle consacrée jusqu’ici aux œuvres de Sofia Hultén ; elle est réalisée en coopération avec la Ikon Gallery, Birmingham (13 septembre-26 novembre 2017).

 

Inauguration le 23 janvier 2018, 18h30

 

Commissaire : Lisa Anette Ahlers

 

 

« Je ne change qu’un élément dans une chronologie normale d’événements. S’il était question de faire un non sens total, on perdrait son intention et sa crédibilité. C’est comme avec le comique de situation qui influence beaucoup mon travail. Normalement, il se produit dans un environnement très conventionnel où tout nous est familier, mis à part un seul élément saillant. Si tout est changé, décalé, ce n’est plus drôle. »

Sofia Hultén

À l’occasion de cette exposition, la Ikon Gallery et le Musée Tinguely publient conjointement un catalogue, préfacé par Jonathan Watkins et Roland Wetzel, avec des contributions de Lisa Anette Ahlers, Chris Sharp, James Langdon et Sofia Hultén. Sofia Hultén. Here’s the Answer, What’s the Question ?, Birmingham/Bâle, 2017, 128 p., Anglais/Allemand, 28 CHF, 

ISBN 978-1-911155-12-6.

Mutual Annihilation, 2008, vidéo à quatre canaux, 85 min 22 sec, commode, 95 x 73 x 50 cm, Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur, © Sofia Hultén/2017, ProLitteris, Zurich ; photo : Sofia Hultén

Une vieille commode délabrée est ramenée à son état initial : la couleur est enlevée, les parties abîmées sont réparées, le bois est poncé et vernis. Ce processus est ensuite inversé et la commode est remise dans l’état dans lequel elle a été trouvée : repeinte, traitée avec différents outills, aspergée de café, heurtée et rayée.