Museum Tinguely embarks on a special journey

This Summer Museum Tinguely will celebrate its 25th anniversary by weighing anchor and embarking on a very special journey. «Museum Tinguely AHOY!» is devoted to taking the art of Jean Tinguely (1925–1991), one of the greatest and most innovative Swiss artists of the twentieth century, to the people in a specially converted barge. The travel stops of MS Evolutie will be places of relevance to Tinguely's artistic career, from Paris to Antwerp and Amsterdam, and from there upriver through the urban centres of the Rhine-Ruhr region and back to Basel.

You will find more information about the journey here soon.


25 Years of Moving Art

For twenty-five years Museum Tinguely has been inviting people to discover art and culture with all the senses, to be surprised and delighted by many experimental projects and collaborations, and to savour a uniquely beautiful location on the banks of the River Rhine. It welcomes both families and art experts and offers scope for both silent contemplation and the hands-on, interactive experience of art.

The museum has hosted over 110 exhibitions since it first opened in 1996. While many of these have been about Jean Tinguely and his circle, other socially relevant themes and contemporary art have been just as important, always embedded in the permanent retrospective of Tinguely himself, who with his kinetic works of art counts among the greatest artistic pioneers of the post-1950 era. Our programme of events ranging from classical concerts to DJ sets, Family Sundays to barrier-free tours, workshops for schools and young adults to get-togethers with seniors further broadens our spectrum in terms of both content and the diverse audiences we can welcome to our institution.

25 Years of Moving Art
2017 06 18 Foto Daniel Spehr 3070_600x800

Birthday Party

The weekend of 24–26 September 2021 will mark the culmination of our silver jubilee activities. Setting the stage for our celebrations will be Solitude Park, the museum itself and the exhibition barge at anchor right next to our institution. Our countless activities, workshops, shows and varied culinary offering will be embedded in a dynamic labyrinth that everyone will be invited to explore. Saturday evening will be devoted to concerts and DJ sets. The programme has been conceived as a kind of ‹Best of› the museum’s many different activities of the past twenty-five years. Be sure to check out our social media channels for the latest updates on our programme.

Le Musée Tinguely entreprend un grand voyage

À l’occasion de son 25e anniversaire, le Musée Tinguely entame cet été un grand voyage en bateau intitulée « Museum Tinguely AHOY ! » : à bord de la péniche reconvertie MS Evolutie, le musée fera ainsi découvrir de plus près l’art de Jean Tinguely (1925-1991), l’un des artistes suisses les plus importants et les plus novateurs du XXe siècle. Le navire amarrera dans différents lieux qui ont marqué l’évolution artistique de Tinguely – de Paris à Bâle, en passant par Anvers et Amsterdam et la région métropolitaine Rhin-Ruhr.

Vous y trouverez bientôt de plus amples informations sur le voyage.


25 Years of Moving Art

Depuis 25 ans, le Musée Tinguely propose à son public des découvertes artistiques et culturelles ainsi que des expériences sensorielles. Il l’invite également à se laisser surprendre par de nombreux projets expérimentaux et coopérations ainsi qu’à profiter de sa situation avantageuse au bord du Rhin. Le musée accueille aussi bien les familles que les spécialistes en art, et il accorde une place égale à l’observation silencieuse des œuvres et au plaisir de la rencontre avec l’art.

Depuis son inauguration en 1996, plus de 110 expositions ont eu lieu. Nombre d’entre elles furent consacrées à Jean Tinguely et à son environnement artistique, mais également à des sujets de société majeurs ainsi qu’à l’art contemporain. Ces expositions s’inscrivent toujours dans une démarche rétrospective de l’œuvre de Jean Tinguely qui, avec ses œuvres cinétiques, figure parmi les précurseurs de l’art après 1950. Nos contenus et les publics que nous accueillons présentent une grande diversité : les événements vont du concert classique au DJ set, en passant par le dimanche en famille, les visites guidées accessibles aux personnes handicapées, les ateliers pour les scolaires et les jeunes adultes ainsi que les rencontres avec les seniors.

25 Years of Moving Art
2017 06 18 Foto Daniel Spehr 3070_600x800

Fête anniversaire

Le week-end du 24 au 26 septembre 2021, le parc Solitude, le musée et la peniche Museum Tinguely AHOY ! qui rentre de son grand voyage et jettera l’ancre directement au large du musée constituent un cadre pour les festivités à nul autre pareil. De nombreux événements participatifs, ateliers, expositions, ainsi qu’un programme culinaire varié sont intégrés à un parcours sous la forme d’un labyrinthe dynamique. Le samedi soir, des concerts et des DJ sets vous attendent. Le programme reprend un ‹best of› d’événements ayant accompagné nos activités ces dernières années. Nous vous tiendrons informés des dernières actualités sur nos canaux numériques.