Museum Tinguely embarks on a special journey

This Summer Museum Tinguely will celebrate its 25th anniversary by weighing anchor and embarking on a very special journey. «Museum Tinguely AHOY!» is devoted to taking the art of Jean Tinguely (1925–1991), one of the greatest and most innovative Swiss artists of the twentieth century, to the people in a specially converted barge. The travel stops of MS Evolutie will be places of relevance to Tinguely's artistic career, from Paris to Antwerp and Amsterdam, and from there upriver through the urban centres of the Rhine-Ruhr region and back to Basel.

You will find more information about the journey here soon.


25 Years of Moving Art

For twenty-five years Museum Tinguely has been inviting people to discover art and culture with all the senses, to be surprised and delighted by many experimental projects and collaborations, and to savour a uniquely beautiful location on the banks of the River Rhine. It welcomes both families and art experts and offers scope for both silent contemplation and the hands-on, interactive experience of art.

The museum has hosted over 110 exhibitions since it first opened in 1996. While many of these have been about Jean Tinguely and his circle, other socially relevant themes and contemporary art have been just as important, always embedded in the permanent retrospective of Tinguely himself, who with his kinetic works of art counts among the greatest artistic pioneers of the post-1950 era. Our programme of events ranging from classical concerts to DJ sets, Family Sundays to barrier-free tours, workshops for schools and young adults to get-togethers with seniors further broadens our spectrum in terms of both content and the diverse audiences we can welcome to our institution.

25 Years of Moving Art
2017 06 18 Foto Daniel Spehr 3070_600x800

Birthday Party

The weekend of 24–26 September 2021 will mark the culmination of our silver jubilee activities. Setting the stage for our celebrations will be Solitude Park, the museum itself and the exhibition barge at anchor right next to our institution. Our countless activities, workshops, shows and varied culinary offering will be embedded in a dynamic labyrinth that everyone will be invited to explore. Saturday evening will be devoted to concerts and DJ sets. The programme has been conceived as a kind of ‹Best of› the museum’s many different activities of the past twenty-five years. Be sure to check out our social media channels for the latest updates on our programme.

Das Museum Tinguely begibt sich auf eine grosse Schiffsreise

Zum 25. Jubiläum lichtet das Museum Tinguely den Anker und begibt sich im Sommer 2021 auf eine besondere Schiffsreise. Unter dem Titel «Museum Tinguely AHOY!» macht sich das Museum auf dem umgebauten Frachtschiff MS Evolutie auf den Weg und bringt die Kunst Jean Tinguelys (1925–1991), einer der innovativsten und wichtigsten Schweizer Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts, zu den Menschen. Die Route führt entlang wichtiger Orte und Wirkungsstätten aus Tinguelys Leben und Karriere von Paris über Antwerpen und Amsterdam durch das Ruhrgebiet rheinaufwärts bis nach Basel.

25 Years of Moving Art

Seit 25 Jahren lädt das Museum Tinguely dazu ein, Kunst und Kultur zu entdecken, mit allen Sinnen zu erfahren, sich von manch experimentellen Projekten und Kooperationen überraschen zu lassen und seine einzigartige Lage am Rhein zu geniessen. Es ist ein offenes Haus für Familien ebenso wie für Kunstexpert*innen, das der stillen Betrachtung ebenso Raum gibt wie der Freude an und mit der Kunst.

Über 110 Ausstellungen haben seit seiner Eröffnung 1996 stattgefunden. Viele zu Jean Tinguely und seinem künstlerischen Umfeld, aber genauso wichtig zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen und zeitgenössischer Kunst, stets eingebettet in die permanente Retrospektive des Werks von Jean Tinguely, der mit seinen kinetischen Kunstwerken zu den wichtigen Wegbereitern der Kunst nach 1950 zählt. Veranstaltungen, vom klassischen Konzert über DJ Sets, vom Familiensonntag, über barrierefreie Führungen, Workshops für Schulen und junge Erwachsene sowie Zusammenkünfte mit Senior*innen erweitern das Spektrum sowohl inhaltlich wie auch für das vielfältige Publikum, das wir bei uns begrüssen dürfen.

25 Years of Moving Art
2017 06 18 Foto Daniel Spehr 3070_600x800

Jubiläumfest

Das Wochenende vom 24. – 26. September 2021 bildet einen Höhepunkt unserer Jubiläums-Aktivitäten. Der Solitude-Park, das Museum und das Museum Tinguely AHOY! Schiff, das von seiner grossen Reise zurückkehrt und direkt auf Höhe der Institution vor Anker geht, bilden die einzigartige Kulisse unserer Feier. Zahlreiche Mitmach-Angebote, Workshops, Ausstellungen und ein vielseitiges kulinarisches Angebot sind in einen Parcours in Form eines dynamischen Labyrinths eingebettet. Am Samstagabend erwarten Sie Konzerte und DJ-Sets. Die Programmpunkte nehmen ein ‹Best of› von Veranstaltungen auf, die unsere Aktivitäten der vergangenen Jahre begleitet haben. Auf unseren digitalen Kanälen halten wir Sie über die aktuellen Planungen auf dem Laufenden.