Architecture

 

With his museum situated on the Rhine, the architect Mario Botta created an unusual stage for Tinguely’s works. In the huge central hall alone there is space for twenty machine-sculptures. After visiting the Museum, the historical Solitude Park with its centenary trees, the promenade along the Rhine and the Bistro «Chez Jeannot» are an invitation to relax, stroll and enjoy the moment.

«With its situation on the right bank of the river, where the Rhine forms the outer border of a large district of the city, the Museum creates a new order within a rather questionable urban design alongside the highway. The rectangular museum occupies the entire eastern part of the Solitude Park. The four sides of the building each relate in a specific manner to the surrounding spaces.»
Mario Botta

>> Facts and Figures


Exterior view of the architecture

 

The southern façade giving on to the river presents a special architectural feature: an elongated suspended section detached from the body of the building, constitutes a kind of riverbank promenade along which all museum visitors must proceed – an itinerary directing the visitor’s eye to the Rhine.
The façade giving on to the motorway in the east is very high, with three levels of exhibition spaces above ground level making it the tallest part of the building; it establishes a sound barrier towards the green spaces.
Facing the park, on the opposite side, the museum consists of five sections, three of which open onto the park through a wide porch.
The northern façade runs parallel to the Grenzacherstrasse. A covered area between the street and the museum provides access to the park and the museum.
 


Interior of the architecture

 

The museum interior on the ground floor may be divided by walls that can be raised and concealed in the ceiling. The static support system at this level is coordinated with a pre-existing, underground reservoir (five storeys deep) for treating the Rhine water.
The exhibition spaces consist of four areas of different design and on four different levels.
The first storey (2.90 m above ground level) is reached via the Rhine promenade section; it forms a gallery, open to the ground floor on one side and the exhibition rooms on the other.
At the end of this gallery, the visitor reaches the next storey (at the height of 7.85 m), a series of ‘classical’ rooms with daylight entering through slanted skylights. The route proceeds downwards to a level three metres below ground level, where works are shown that do not require daylight.
The visitor’s tour ends on the ground floor with the huge monumental sculptures. They occupy the museum’s largest exhibition space
(30 x 60 m), divisible into five areas as mentioned above, and facing the park.
Source: Museum Jean Tinguely Basel, The Collection, Bern, Benteli 1996, pp. 276.
 


Mario Botta (born 1943)

 

Mario Botta’s architecture is known throughout Europe, the United States and the Far East. Already his early works, such as the library of the Capuchin cloister in Lugano (1976–1979) or the administrative building of the Banque cantonale de Fribourg (1977–1981), attracted widespread attention.
Botta’s buildings respect topographical conditions, regional factors and building materials. His draughts bear the stamp of respect for craftsmanship and are often ruled by an underlying geometric principle.
Through the classical outlines of his buildings from the 1980s, e.g. the circular central building of the cathedral of Evry, France (1988–1995) or the cube-shaped Museum of Modern Art in San Francisco, USA (1988–1995) that is dominated by its central circular staircase, the architect from the Canton of Ticino has attained international acclaim.
Since 1970, Mario Botta has also taken on intensive teaching and research activities, holding conferences, seminars and courses in architecture at numerous schools for architecture. Within the framework of the foundation of the University of Ticino, he developed the curriculum of the new Academy for Architecture in Mendrisio, where he has lectured since its inauguration in 1996.
>> www.botta.ch

Architektur

 

Der Architekt Mario Botta hat mit seinem am Rhein gelegenen Museum einen ungewöhnlichen Spiel-Raum für Tinguelys Werke geschaffen. Allein in der gewaltigen zentralen Halle finden bis zu zwanzig Maschinenskulpturen Platz. Nach dem Museumsbesuch laden der historische Solitude-Park mit seinem alten Baumbestand, die Rheinpromenade und das Bistro «Chez Jeannot» zum Entspannen, Flanieren und Geniessen ein.

«Mit seiner Lage auf der rechten Seite des Flusses, wo der Rhein einen grossen städtischen Bereich abgrenzt, sorgt das Museum für die Neuordnung einer ziemlich fragwürdigen urbanen Gestaltung am Rande der Autobahn. Das rechteckige Museum belegt die gesamte Ostflanke des Solitude-Parks. Die vier Fassaden des Gebäudes stellen eine jeweils andersgeartete räumliche Beziehung zur Umgebung her.»
Mario Botta

>> Zahlen und Fakten zum Gebäude


Aussenansicht der Architektur

 

Die zum Fluss weisende Südseite des Gebäudes stellt eine architektonische Besonderheit dar: ein langgestreckter, erhöhter Bau, der vom Hauptkörper losgelöst ist. Es handelt sich um eine Art «Promenade» über dem Rheinufer, die der Museumsbesucher passieren muss, ein Verteilerweg, auf dem der Blick des Besuchers auf den Flusslauf gelenkt wird.
Die hoch aufragende Fassade an der Autobahnseite im Osten – mit drei Ausstellungsetagen über der Erde der höchste Punkt des Gebäudes – schafft eine Lärmschutzbarriere zur Grünfläche hin.
Die Nordfront verläuft parallel zur Grenzacherstrasse. Hier hat man zwischen der Strasse und dem Museum einen überdachten Raum als Zugang zum Park und zum Museum geschaffen.
Auf der gegenüberliegenden, zum Park hin gerichteten Seite besteht das Museum aus fünf zusammenhängenden Baukörpern, von denen sich drei über einen grossen Eingangsportikus ins Grüne hin öffnen.
 


Innenräume der Architektur

 

Im Innern lässt sich der Museumsraum durch Wände teilen, die hochgezogen und von der Tragkonstruktion aufgenommen werden können. Das statische Tragsystem in diesem Bereich ist auf eine bereits früher angelegte, unterirdische Beckenkonstruktion (über fünf Stockwerke) abgestimmt, die der Aufnahme von Rheinwasser dient.
Die Ausstellungsflächen setzen sich aus vier unterschiedlich gestalteten Bereichen auf vier verschiedenen Ebenen zusammen.
Auf die erste Besucherebene (2,90 m über dem Erdgeschoss) kommt man über die «Rheinpromenade»; sie stellt einen galerieartigen Gang dar, der auf der einen Seite zum Erdgeschoss hin offen ist und auf der anderen Seite Ausstellungsräume aufweist. Vom Ende dieses Gangs aus gelangt der Besucher auf eine weitere Ebene (auf einer Höhe von 7,85 m) mit einer Reihe von «klassischen» Räumen, in die über seitliche Oberlichter Tageslicht einfällt. Von hier aus geht es dann hinunter auf eine Ebene drei Meter unterhalb des Erdgeschosses, in deren Räumen diejenigen Werke untergebracht sind, die kein Tageslicht benötigen.
Der Besucherrundgang endet im Erdgeschoss bei den grossen «Monumentalskulpturen». Sie stehen im grössten Ausstellungsraum des Museums (30 x 60 m), der, wie bereits erwähnt, in fünf Bereiche unterteilt werden kann, die auf den Park ausgerichtet sind.

 


Mario Botta (*1943)

 

Mario Bottas Tätigkeit als Architekt reicht von Europa bis in die Vereinigten Staaten und in den Fernen Osten. Bereits seine frühen Bauten wie die Bibliothek des Kapuzinerklosters in Lugano (1976–1979) oder das Verwaltungsgebäude der Banque cantonale de Fribourg (1977-1981) lösen ein breites Echo aus.
Bottas Bauten nehmen Bezug auf topographische Bedingungen und regionale Gegebenheiten und Baustoffe. Seine Entwürfe sind getragen von Respekt für die Handwerkskunst und unterliegen oft einem geometrischen Grundprinzip.
Mit den auf klassischen Grundrissen beruhenden Gebäuden der 80erJahre wie dem runden Zentralbau der Kathedrale von Evry, Frankreich (1988–1995) oder dem von einem zentralen runden Treppenhaus dominierten Kubus des Museum of Modern Art in San Francisco, USA (1988–1995) erringt der Tessiner Architekt internationale Anerkennung.
Seit 1970 übt Mario Botta auch eine intensive weltweite Lehr- und Forschungstätigkeit aus und hält Vorträge, Seminare und Architekturkurse an zahlreichen Architekturschulen. In Zusammenhang mit der Gründung der Universität der Italienischen Schweiz erarbeitet er das Programm für die neue Architektur-Akademie in Mendrisio, Kanton Tessin, und unterrichtet dort seit der Eröffnung 1996 als Professor.
>> www.botta.ch