Len Lye
motion composer

Performance with petals, around 1970, Len Lye Foundation Archive, photo: Ann Lye

Museum Tinguely, 23 October 2019 - 26 January 2020

Len Lye (1901–1980), born in Christchurch, New Zealand, was one of the most important experimental film-makers of the 1930s to 1950s, and in his later years created a fascinating, multidisciplinary body of work, large parts of which have yet to be fully explored. Being self-taught, he soon developed a highly idiosyncratic approach to art.


After living in Wellington for a while, Lye spent 1923–26 in Sydney, where he studied the art of the indigenous peoples of Samoa, New Guinea and Africa, Aboriginal Australian and the Maori familiar to him from his native New Zealand, recording what he saw in sketchbooks. These not only juxtapose drawings of masks and ornaments from different cultures with works of the Russian Constructivists and Henri Gaudier-Brzeska, but in one of the books in this visual compendium flank them with a transcription of Sigmund Freud’s essay Totem and Taboo (first published in German in 1913, and in Abraham Brill’s English translation in 1918), as well as texts by and about Gaudier-Brzeska (published in an anthology by Ezra Pound in 1916) and by Oskar Pfister (Expressionism in Art, published in English in 1922).

>> Plan visit      >> Tickets

Len Lye, Totem and Taboo Sketchbook, ca. 1925-35

In 1926, after several months on Samoa, Lye went to London, where he lived and worked until 1944. It was there that he painted and began to explore the medium of film. He also became part of the Seven and Five Society, an artists’ group centred on Ben Nicholson, Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth and Frances Hodgkins, and exhibited himself with the British Surrealists, taking part in the International Surrealist Exhibition in London of 1936. His early film Tusalava of 1929 translates the abstract picture worlds of the transcultural studies of his early sketchbooks into radical filmic experiments, while A Colour Box of 1935 pioneered what Lye called the ‘direct film’ (drawn-on-film) animation method.

Filmstills (1929-79)

Len Lye, Tusalava, 1929

Len Lye, A colour Box, 1935

Len Lye, Kaleidoscope, 1935

Len Lye, Rainbow Dance, 1936

Len Lye, The Birth of the Robot, 1936

Len Lye, Trade Tattoo, 1937

Len Lye, Colour Flight, 1938

Len Lye, N or NW, 1938

Len Lye, Swinging the Lambeth Walk, 1939

Len Lye, Musical Poster #1, 1940

Len Lye, Color Cry, 1952

Len Lye, All Souls Carnival, 1957

Len Lye, Rhythm, 1957

Len Lye, Free Radicals, 1958

Len Lye, Fountain of Hope, 1960

Len Lye, Particles in Space, 1979

Lye worked as a film-maker for the British post office and other governmental commercial organisations and made commercial films of great artistic merit. Just as he believed there to be no barriers between cultures, between «Western» and «primitive» art, so, to his mind, there was no distinction to be drawn between «high-brow» and «low-brow» culture.

 

Even early on in his career, Lye was anxious to broaden the reception of his films, which as commercials were to be screened in cinemas, too. The idea of television fascinated him, and he pondered the question of how music might be visualised on colour television in a text written as early as 1939! He also made films to accompany specific pieces of music and always took as much care with his soundtracks as with his films. It is therefore not by chance that the TV channel MTV has hailed Len Lye as the father of the music video.

 

Len Lye lived in New York City from 1944 until his death in 1980. In the late 1950s, finding it increasingly difficult to market his films commercially, he turned to kinetic sculpture and created a series of sculptures that he would continue working on right up to his death, playing through ever new variations in size, material and use. They were intended as much for museums as for amusement parks, cultural barriers being non-existent for Lye.

 

In addition to his sculptures and films, he also produced paintings, photograms, drawings, photographs or audio tapes. Lye, in other words, worked in all the media that he could lay his hands on, always taking a spontaneous and highly idiosyncratic approach. At the same time, he wrote texts for both publications and lectures in which he reflected on what he was doing.

Len Lyes Skulptur Sky snake
Len Lye, Sky Snake, 1965 (2019 reconstruction) stainless steel, electric motor, H: c. 600 cm Courtesy Len Lye Foundation Collection, Govett-Brewster Art Gallery/ Len Lye Centre

Len Lye, Sky Snake, 1965
(2019 reconstruction)
stainless steel, electric motor, H: c. 600 cm
Courtesy Len Lye Foundation Collection,
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery/ Len Lye Centre

The exhibition

The aim of this project is to take the unique status of Lye’s filmic oeuvre as a starting point for an exploration of the full breadth of his output in a range of media and media combinations. Len Lye’s ‘unprejudiced’ view of the cultures of this world will also be subjected to critical scrutiny.

 

For the research and critical inquiry demanded by the project we will be able to draw on the archive of the Len Lye Centre in New Plymouth , which houses many as yet unpublished documents and works of his, and on the collaboration and input of scholars and cultural historians specialised in the relevant fields. Since Lye’s early preoccupation with psychoanalytical texts also warrants critical reading, textual criticism and the cross-fertilisation of both theoretical and practical work will be of immense importance to the project – not least to the catalogue.

Some 18 films (among them some made during the war as well as several commercial films) are to be screened as far as possible in their entirety as digital projections or screenings.

Three original sculptures that are currently housed in various museums in the USA have in some instances been be restored by the Len Lye Foundation. They form another highlight of the show. To demonstrate the kinetic principle, we will at any rate have recourse to more recent «reconstructions» built by the Foundation.

The aesthetic framework will be provided by paintings and photograms, while a large documentary section will showcase Len Lye’s work as a theorist and designer of large installations.

International Symposium on  motion composing
Wednesday to Thursday, 23-24 October 2019

After the opening of the exhibition Len Lye – motion composer at Museum Tinguely (22 October), an international symposium will examine Len Lye's oeuvre, which includes experimental, documentary and advertising films as well as kinetic sculptures and buildings. Speakers from New Zealand, Canada, Australia, Germany and Switzerland will discuss Lye’s impact on 20th century avant-gardes. In cooperation with the Seminar for Media Studies of the University of Basel.

The conference, held in English, is open to the public, admission is free.
Venues: Eikones Forum and Seminar for Media Studies, Basel

>> Read more / Programme

Nous utilisons des cookies (fournis par des services tiers) afin de collecter et d'analyser les données. Veuillez trouvez ici notre politique de confidentialité.

 

Len Lye
motion composer

Performance avec des pétales, vers 1970, Len Lye Foundation Archive, photo: Ann Lye

Museum Tinguely, 23 octobre 2019 - 26 janvier 2020

Né à Christchurch en Nouvelle-Zélande, Len Lye (1901-1980) est une figure majeure du cinéma expérimental des années 1930 à 1950. Dans les dernières années de sa vie, il élabore une œuvre fascinante mêlant toutes les disciplines artistiques qui reste encore largement à découvrir. Autodidacte, il développe rapidement une approche très personnelle de l’art.

 

Après avoir vécu à Wellington, Lye s’installe à Sydney de 1923 à 1926 où il s’intéresse à travers le dessin à l’art des populations des Samoa, de la Nouvelle-Guinée, d’Afrique, mais aussi des aborigènes d’Australie et des Maoris dont il est familier en raison de ses origines. Il compile ses observations dans des carnets de croquis qui associent d’une part des dessins de masques et d’ornements de différentes cultures à des œuvres d’artistes constructivistes russes et d’Henri Gaudier-Brzeska. D’autre part, un de ces carnets met en regard cette collection visuelle avec une transcription de Totem et Tabou de Sigmund Freud (paru en allemand en 1913 et en anglais dans la première traduction d’Abraham Brill en 1918) ainsi qu’avec des textes de et sur Henri Gaudier-Brzeska (parus dans un recueil d’Ezra Pound en 1916) et d’Oskar Pfister (Expressionism in Art, paru en anglais en 1922).

Len Lye, Totem and Taboo Sketchbook, ca. 1925-35

Après un séjour de plusieurs mois dans les Samoa, Lye arrive à Londres en 1926 où il travaillera jusqu’en 1944. Il s’adonne à la peinture et commence à explorer le film comme médium. Il participe à la « 7&5 Society », un groupe d’artistes réunis autour de Ben Nicholson, Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth et Frances Hodgkins. Il se rapproche également des surréalistes britanniques et participe à la « International Surrealist Exhibition » organisée à Londres en 1936. Son premier film Tusalava (1929) traduit les univers visuels abstraits des études transculturelles de ses premiers carnets de croquis en films expérimentaux radicaux, tandis que A Color Box (1935) présente pour la première fois sa technique pionnière du « direct film » ou cinéma direct.

Filmstills (1929-79)

Len Lye, Tusalava, 1929

Len Lye, A colour Box, 1935

Len Lye, Kaleidoscope, 1935

Len Lye, Rainbow Dance, 1936

Len Lye, The Birth of the Robot, 1936

Len Lye, Trade Tattoo, 1937

Len Lye, Colour Flight, 1938

Len Lye, N or NW, 1938

Len Lye, Swinging the Lambeth Walk, 1939

Len Lye, Musical Poster #1, 1940

Len Lye, Color Cry, 1952

Len Lye, All Souls Carnival, 1957

Len Lye, Rhythm, 1957

Len Lye, Free Radicals, 1958

Len Lye, Fountain of Hope, 1960

Len Lye, Particles in Space, 1979

Lye travaille comme réalisateur pour la Poste britannique et d’autres institutions publiques et commerciales et crée des films publicitaires qui se distinguent par leurs qualités artistiques. Niant l’existence de barrières entre les cultures, entre l’art « occidental » et l’art « primitif », il ne fait aucune distinction entre culture « savante » et culture « populaire ».

Dès le début de sa carrière, Len Lye s’inquiète de la large réception de ses films présentés également comme des spots publicitaires dans les salles de cinéma. La télévision le fascine et, dès 1939, il rédige un texte sur la manière de visualiser la musique à la télévision couleur ! Ainsi, il conçoit des films pour accompagner des morceaux de musique et apporte autant de soin à ses bandes-son qu’à ses films. Il n’est pas étonnant que la chaîne télévisée MTV considère Len Lye comme le père du clip musical.

Len Lye vit à New York de 1944 jusqu’à son décès en 1980. Après avoir rencontré des difficultés croissantes pour commercialiser ses films, il se consacre pleinement à la sculpture cinétique à la fin des années 1950 et crée une série de sculptures auxquelles il ne cessera d’apporter des variations de taille, de matière ou d’utilisation jusqu’à la fin de sa vie. Celles-ci sont autant destinées à un contexte muséal qu’à des parcs de loisirs, Len Lye rejetant l’existence de barrières culturelles.

Aux côtés de sculptures et de films, Len Lye est l’auteur de peintures, photogrammes, dessins, mais aussi de photographies, d’enregistrements sonores, de conférences et de textes – il travaille sur tous les supports figurant à sa disposition en adoptant une approche toujours très singulière et spontanée. Parallèlement, il mène une réflexion sur son travail à travers de nombreux textes destinés à des publications et des conférences.

Len Lyes Skulptur Sky snake
Len Lye, Sky Snake, 1965 (reconstruction de 2019) acier affiné, moteur électrique, H. approx. 600 cm Courtesy Len Lye Foundation Collection, Govett-Brewster Art Gallery/ Len Lye Centre

Len Lye, Sky Snake, 1965
(reconstruction de 2019)
acier affiné, moteur électrique, H. approx. 600 cm
Courtesy Len Lye Foundation Collection,
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery/ Len Lye Centre

L’exposition

Il s’agit de montrer l’étendue de son travail qui associe plusieurs types de médias à partir du statut particulier de son œuvre filmique. Le regard « dépourvu de préjugés » de Len Lye sur les cultures de ce monde sera également soumis à un examen critique.

 

Les recherches et la réflexion critique menées dans le cadre de ce projet bénéficieront de l’appui des archives du Len Lye Centre à New Plymouth qui abritent de nombreux documents et œuvres en partie inédits ainsi que de la collaboration avec des spécialistes de différents domaines de l’histoire de la culture et des sciences de la culture. L’intérêt que Lye a manifesté très tôt pour les écrits psychanalytiques sera également soumis à une lecture critique. La critique de textes et l’enrichissement mutuel de travaux théoriques et pratiques seront particulièrement importants, notamment pour le catalogue.

 

Il s’agira de présenter les 18 films environ (dont ceux réalisés pendant la guerre ainsi que de nombreux films publicitaires) si possible dans leur intégralité sous la forme de projections numérisées.

 

Trois sculptures originales abritées dans différents musées aux États-Unis ont été restaurées par la Len Lye Foundation. Ces pièces marqueront un autre temps fort de l’exposition. Afin d’en expliquer le principe cinétique, nous aurons recours à des « reconstructions » plus récentes provenant des fonds de la Foundation.

 

Des peintures et des photogrammes détermineront le cadre esthétique, tandis qu’une large partie documentaire illustrera le travail de Len Lye comme théoricien et concepteur de grandes installations.