Swiss artists Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger set up a three-part, labyrinthine cabinet of curiosities between nature and artificiality at Museum Tinguely. Visitors are invited to explore more than 25 years of their artistic universe, to partake of their evolving, proliferating and chaotic poetic transformations and to get active themselves.


Since 1997, the year they began their collaboration, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger have been co-creating in situ installations, often immersive ones, in the form of lush worlds where natural elements mix with just as many manufactured objects. Transformation, proliferation and crystallization function as fully fledged components of the work, which metamorphoses according to the chemical reactions that develop within it. Viewers are invited to cross a fantastical universe made up of multi-coloured landscapes, or to participate in experiments that awaken their senses and mind. The artists’ installations, which are as unsettling as they are enchanting, forge links between antagonistic worlds, proposing to observe the strange laboratory of the living with its biodiversity—now no less artificial than natural—and to ponder notions of fertility and growth.
 

Les Envahisseurs, 2004 Container Installation © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Les Envahisseurs, 2004, Container Installation
© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

For this first exhibition encompassing their whole career and revisiting twenty-five years of practice, the artist duo have chosen to shape the exhibition space like a spatiotemporal labyrinth. As soon as visitors enter, they are invited to choose one of three doors, those of the past, present or future. Each door leads to a different chapter of the artists’ universe, which in turn leads to a multitude of potential journeys, divided into different stations. Visitors will be able to cross a forest of branches, stop in a massage parlour, take a turn on a seesaw, shed a tear for aesthetic-scientific purposes, converse with beauty professionals, exercise their physical faculties on fitness machines, or lie down under a suspended meteorite.

 

Visitors venture into the past, journeying into the heart of the duo’s oldest creations. This very ordered universe looks like an exhibition of the most traditional kind; its arrangement of objects, videos, and two-dimensional works conforms to the established rules of museum presentation. After passing through a gardener’s shed filled with a wide variety of tools, the viewer reaches the various collections that the artists have accumulated over the years, including their seed collections (Schlafende Samen, 2002, Samensammlung aus Mali, 2003). The seed, embryo of all things, represents both fertility—that primary energy from which every life form springs—and roots, those linking us to our own past and to the history of humanity. Further along, the video The Logic of Beauty (2010) leads us into a flood of hypnotic images whose colours and patterns radiate a magnetic seduction, as if the artists had captured the essence of beauty.

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Beauty is again to be found in the following rooms, those behind the door of the present. Each space is presented as a mini three-dimensional work of fiction, with its own set, actors, props and atmosphere. The viewer is given the leading role, that of activating the whole, bringing it to life. Each room offers an interactive experiment relating to the notion of beauty, one that combines science, humour and philosophy. Here, all shyness must be left in the cloakroom, so that one is free to be guided by the various protagonists—a secretary, a tear-collector or a personal trainer. In succession, one will observe ocular secretions under a microscope and marvel at their tiny circumvolutions, do an experience that helps to see all the beauty of the world, sing into a shell and relax in the peace and quiet.

Further along, it is the future, with its uncertainties, its chaos, its incompleteness. The final rooms are presided over by a majestic, lush, scrubby forest. An aerial network of blossoming branches intermix the vegetable with the artificial to evoke the swarming of life. Aerial, multi-coloured labyrinths, shapes dancing in space act as catalysts of dreams and imagination. This suspended forest gives onto a fitness room where the machines have been mischievously adapted by the two artists, so that exercise for the body can also gladden the mind.

With Too Early to Panic, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger invite us on a journey. It is a journey that encourages us to look at the world with a renewed sense of wonder.

 

 

#steinerlenzlinger | #tooearlytopanic

Gerda Steiner (Ettiswil LU, 1967)
Jörg Lenzlinger (Uster ZH, 1964)

Steiner & Lenzlinger live and work in Langenbruck, in the canton of Basel-Landschaft. They participated in Expo02 with a gigantic Heimatmaschine generating plants and artificial crystals. During the 2003 Venice Biennale, where they represented Switzerland, they created a hanging installation, crystalline and light, floating in the space inside San Stae church. Their installations have also been shown at Museum Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf, at the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, in the ancient Stiftsbibliothek in St. Gallen, at the Biennial of Contemporary Art in Seville, at the Moscow Biennale, and more recently at the Kunsthaus Bregenz. In 2012, they received the Basel Kulturpreis.

Along the exhibition


«Too early to Panic» is a show that is being set up by the artists in close collaboration with Séverine Fromaigeat, curator at Museum Tinguely.

Opening with Summer Party, Tuesday, 5 June 2018 from 6.30 pm onwards.

9 September 2018: Family Sunday (11.30 am - 5.30 pm) and a tour in sign language (2 pm).

Tour with the artists, Sunday, 23 September 2018, 3pm. 

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Sleeping Seeds, 2002 Installation view at Museum Tinguely, 2018 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger; Photo: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Sleeping Seeds, 2002Installation view at Museum Tinguely, 2018© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger; Photo: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

The Chymical Pleasance, 2014, installation view at Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

The Chymical Pleasance, 2014, installation view at Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picnic, 2016, installation at Museum for Contemporary Art PERMM, Russia, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picnic, 2016, installation at Museum for Contemporary Art PERMM, Russia, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, installation at Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgium, since 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, installation at Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgium, since 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Royal Earthworms, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Royal Earthworms, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Chicken-hopping, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Chicken-hopping, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Teardrop Picture, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Teardrop Picture, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Les artistes suisses Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger compose un labyrinthe en trois parties truffé de cabinets de curiosités. Plus de vingt-cinq années de pratique artistique se déploient et tournoient dans l’espace du Musée Tinguely, qui se métamorphose en laboratoire étrange d’une biodiversité aussi naturelle qu’artificielle. Le public est invité à prendre part à toutes ces transformations, et, par endroits, à en devenir un sujet actif.


Depuis 1997, date à laquelle ils commencent leur collaboration, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger créent ensemble des installations in situ, souvent immersives, sous forme d’univers luxuriants où se côtoient autant d’éléments naturels que d’objets manufacturés. Transformation, prolifération et cristallisation fonctionnent comme des composantes à part entière de l’œuvre, qui se métamorphose au fur et à mesure des réactions chimiques ou organiques qui se développent au cœur de leurs créations. Le spectateur est régulièrement invité à traverser un univers fantastique formé de paysages bariolés ou encore à participer à des expériences qui éveillent les sens et l’esprit. Leurs installations, aussi enchanteresses qu’inquiétantes, tissent des liens entre des mondes antagonistes et proposent d’observer l’étrange laboratoire du vivant, sa biodiversité, désormais aussi naturelle qu’artificielle, et de s’interroger sur les notions de fertilité et de croissance.

Les Envahisseurs, 2004 Container Installation © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Les Envahisseurs, 2004, Container Installation
© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Pour cette première exposition revisitant vingt-cinq années de pratique et englobant toute leur carrière, le duo d’artistes a choisi de façonner l’espace d’exposition à la manière d’un labyrinthe spatio-temporel. Dès l’entrée, les visiteurs sont invités à choisir entre trois portes, celles du passé, du présent ou du futur. Chaque porte ouvre sur un chapitre différent de l’univers des artistes, qui, à son tour, s’ouvre sur une multitude de voyages potentiels, répartis en différentes stations. C’est ainsi que le public pourra traverser une forêt de branches, s’arrêter dans un salon de massage, faire un tour en balançoire, verser une larme pour des besoins esthético-scientifiques, converser avec des professionnels de la beauté, exercer ses facultés physiques sur des machines de fitness ou encore mesurer son endurance psychique face à la puissance tellurique d’un météorite.

 

Si le visiteur s’aventure dans le passé, il sera amené à voyager au cœur des créations les plus anciennes du duo. Cet univers très ordonné s’apparente à une exposition des plus classiques, avec une présentation d’objets, de vidéos et d’œuvres bidimensionnelles qui suit les règles établies de la présentation muséale. Après avoir traversé une cabane de jardinier remplie d’outils en tout genre, le spectateur accède aux différentes collections que les artistes ont accumulées au fil des années et notamment leurs collections de graines (Schlafende Samen, 2002, Samensammlung aus Mali, 2003). La graine, embryon de toutes choses, représente aussi bien la fertilité – cette énergie première dont découle toute forme de vie – que les racines, celles qui nous relient à notre propre passé comme à l’histoire de l’humanité. Plus loin, la vidéo The Logic of Beauty (2010) entraîne dans un flux d’images hypnotiques dont les couleurs et dessins dégagent une séduction magnétique, comme si les artistes avaient capturé ici l’essence de la beauté.

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

La beauté est encore au rendez-vous dans les salles suivantes, celles qui s’ouvrent derrière la porte du présent. Chaque espace se présente comme une mini-fiction en trois dimensions, avec son décor, ses acteurs, ses accessoires et son atmosphère. Au spectateur revient le rôle principal, celui d’activer l’ensemble, de lui donner vie. Dans chaque salle, une expérience interactive autour de la notion de beauté est proposée, tout à la fois scientifique, humoristique et philosophique. Ici, il faut laisser sa timidité au vestiaire et se laisser guider par les différents intervenants – un-e secrétaire, un-e laborantin-e, un-e collecteur de larmes et un-e personal trainer. Il s’agira, successivement,  d’observer des sécrétions oculaires au microscope et s’émerveiller devant leurs minuscules circonvolutions, de se coucher sous une lourde pierre suspendue, de faire des exercices de concentration ou encore de se reposer dans le calme.

 

Plus loin, c’est le futur, avec ses incertitudes, son chaos, son inachèvement. Les dernières salles sont présidées par une majestueuse forêt buissonneuse et foisonnante. Un réseau aérien de ramifications fleuries entremêle le végétal et le factice pour évoquer le fourmillement du vivant. Labyrinthes aériens et multicolores, les formes qui dansent dans l’espace agissent comme des déclencheurs de rêves et d’imaginaire. Cette forêt suspendue s’ouvre sur une salle de fitness dont les machines sont malicieusement revisitées par les deux artistes, afin que l’exercice du corps puisse aussi réjouir l’esprit.

Avec Too early to panic, c’est une invitation au voyage que nous lance Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger. Un voyage qui nous enjoint à regarder le monde avec un émerveillement renouvelé.

 

#steinerlenzlinger | #tooearlytopanic

Gerda Steiner (Ettiswil LU, 1967)
Jörg Lenzlinger (Uster ZH, 1964)

Steiner & Lenzlinger vivent et travaillent à Langenbruck, dans le canton de Bâle-Campagne. Ils ont participé à Expo02 avec une gigantesque Heimatmaschine génératrice de plantes et de cristaux artificiels. Lors de la Biennale de Venise en 2003, où ils ont représenté la Suisse, ils créent une installation suspendue, cristalline et légère, flottant dans l’espace de l’église San Stae. Leurs installations ont également été montrées au Museum Kunst Palast de Düsseldorf, au Musée du XXIe siècle à Kanazawa, dans la séculaire Stiftsbibliothek de Saint-Gall ou encore à la Biennale de Séville, à la Biennale de Moscou, et plus récemment au Kunsthaus Bregenz. En 2012, ils reçoivent le Kulturpreis Basel.

De l'exposition


L’exposition «Too early to Panic» a été réalisé par les artistes conjointement avec Séverine Fromaigeat, commissaire d’exposition au Musée Tinguely.

Fête estivale pour l'ouverture de l'exposition, mardi 5 juin 2018, à partir de 18h30.

9 septembre 2018 : sortie en famillie (11h30 - 17h30) et visite en langue des signes (14h00).

Visite avec les artistes, dimanche, 23 septembre 2018, 15h

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Sleeping Seeds, 2002 Installation view at Museum Tinguely, 2018 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger; Photo: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Sleeping Seeds, 2002Installation view at Museum Tinguely, 2018© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger; Photo: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

The Chymical Pleasance, 2014, installation view at Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

The Chymical Pleasance, 2014, installation view at Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picnic, 2016, installation at Museum for Contemporary Art PERMM, Russia, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picnic, 2016, installation at Museum for Contemporary Art PERMM, Russia, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, installation at Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgium, since 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, installation at Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgium, since 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Royal Earthworms, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Royal Earthworms, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Chicken-hopping, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Chicken-hopping, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Teardrop Picture, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Teardrop Picture, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger