Swiss artists Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger set up a three-part, labyrinthine cabinet of curiosities between nature and artificiality at Museum Tinguely. Visitors are invited to explore more than 25 years of their artistic universe, to partake of their evolving, proliferating and chaotic poetic transformations and to get active themselves.


Since 1997, the year they began their collaboration, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger have been co-creating in situ installations, often immersive ones, in the form of lush worlds where natural elements mix with just as many manufactured objects. Transformation, proliferation and crystallization function as fully fledged components of the work, which metamorphoses according to the chemical reactions that develop within it. Viewers are invited to cross a fantastical universe made up of multi-coloured landscapes, or to participate in experiments that awaken their senses and mind. The artists’ installations, which are as unsettling as they are enchanting, forge links between antagonistic worlds, proposing to observe the strange laboratory of the living with its biodiversity—now no less artificial than natural—and to ponder notions of fertility and growth.
 

Les Envahisseurs, 2004 Container Installation © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Les Envahisseurs, 2004, Container Installation
© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

For this first exhibition encompassing their whole career and revisiting twenty-five years of practice, the artist duo have chosen to shape the exhibition space like a spatiotemporal labyrinth. As soon as visitors enter, they are invited to choose one of three doors, those of the past, present or future. Each door leads to a different chapter of the artists’ universe, which in turn leads to a multitude of potential journeys, divided into different stations. Visitors will be able to cross a forest of branches, stop in a massage parlour, take a turn on a seesaw, shed a tear for aesthetic-scientific purposes, converse with beauty professionals, exercise their physical faculties on fitness machines, or lie down under a suspended meteorite.

 

Visitors venture into the past, journeying into the heart of the duo’s oldest creations. This very ordered universe looks like an exhibition of the most traditional kind; its arrangement of objects, videos, and two-dimensional works conforms to the established rules of museum presentation. After passing through a gardener’s shed filled with a wide variety of tools, the viewer reaches the various collections that the artists have accumulated over the years, including their seed collections (Schlafende Samen, 2002, Samensammlung aus Mali, 2003). The seed, embryo of all things, represents both fertility—that primary energy from which every life form springs—and roots, those linking us to our own past and to the history of humanity. Further along, the video The Logic of Beauty (2010) leads us into a flood of hypnotic images whose colours and patterns radiate a magnetic seduction, as if the artists had captured the essence of beauty.

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Beauty is again to be found in the following rooms, those behind the door of the present. Each space is presented as a mini three-dimensional work of fiction, with its own set, actors, props and atmosphere. The viewer is given the leading role, that of activating the whole, bringing it to life. Each room offers an interactive experiment relating to the notion of beauty, one that combines science, humour and philosophy. Here, all shyness must be left in the cloakroom, so that one is free to be guided by the various protagonists—a secretary, a tear-collector or a personal trainer. In succession, one will observe ocular secretions under a microscope and marvel at their tiny circumvolutions, do an experience that helps to see all the beauty of the world, sing into a shell and relax in the peace and quiet.

Further along, it is the future, with its uncertainties, its chaos, its incompleteness. The final rooms are presided over by a majestic, lush, scrubby forest. An aerial network of blossoming branches intermix the vegetable with the artificial to evoke the swarming of life. Aerial, multi-coloured labyrinths, shapes dancing in space act as catalysts of dreams and imagination. This suspended forest gives onto a fitness room where the machines have been mischievously adapted by the two artists, so that exercise for the body can also gladden the mind.

With Too Early to Panic, Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger invite us on a journey. It is a journey that encourages us to look at the world with a renewed sense of wonder.

 

 

#steinerlenzlinger | #tooearlytopanic

Gerda Steiner (Ettiswil LU, 1967)
Jörg Lenzlinger (Uster ZH, 1964)

Steiner & Lenzlinger live and work in Langenbruck, in the canton of Basel-Landschaft. They participated in Expo02 with a gigantic Heimatmaschine generating plants and artificial crystals. During the 2003 Venice Biennale, where they represented Switzerland, they created a hanging installation, crystalline and light, floating in the space inside San Stae church. Their installations have also been shown at Museum Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf, at the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, in the ancient Stiftsbibliothek in St. Gallen, at the Biennial of Contemporary Art in Seville, at the Moscow Biennale, and more recently at the Kunsthaus Bregenz. In 2012, they received the Basel Kulturpreis.

Along the exhibition


«Too early to Panic» is a show that is being set up by the artists in close collaboration with Séverine Fromaigeat, curator at Museum Tinguely.

Opening with Summer Party, Tuesday, 5 June 2018 from 6.30 pm onwards.

9 September 2018: Family Sunday (11.30 am - 5.30 pm) and a tour in sign language (2 pm).

Tour with the artists, Sunday, 23 September 2018, 3pm. 

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Sleeping Seeds, 2002 Installation view at Museum Tinguely, 2018 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger; Photo: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Sleeping Seeds, 2002Installation view at Museum Tinguely, 2018© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger; Photo: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

The Chymical Pleasance, 2014, installation view at Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

The Chymical Pleasance, 2014, installation view at Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picnic, 2016, installation at Museum for Contemporary Art PERMM, Russia, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picnic, 2016, installation at Museum for Contemporary Art PERMM, Russia, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, installation at Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgium, since 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, installation at Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgium, since 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Royal Earthworms, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Royal Earthworms, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Chicken-hopping, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Chicken-hopping, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Teardrop Picture, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Teardrop Picture, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Wir nutzen Cookies (von Drittanbietern) zu Funktions-, Analyse- und Werbezwecken. Hier können AGB und Cookie-Richtlinien eingesehen werden.

 

Die Schweizer Künstler Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger richten diesen Sommer ein dreiteiliges Wunderkammer-Labyrinth ein. Das Publikum hat die einmalige Gelegenheit, in einen Dschungel aus Werdendem, Wucherndem und Chaotischem einzutauchen und selber darin aktiv zu werden.

Seit Beginn ihrer Zusammenarbeit im Jahr 1997 erschaffen Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger gemeinsam (In-situ-)Installationen, üppige und oftmals betörende Universen aus natürlichen Fundstücken und gefertigten Objekten. Wachstum, Transformation und Kristallisation sind Teil ihrer Kunstwerke: Durch chemische Reaktionen erfährt die Installation eine langsame Metamorphose. Der Besucher ist immer wieder eingeladen, in ein fantastisches Universum aus farbenfrohen Landschaften einzutauchen, selbst aktiv zu werden sowie Sinne und Geist anregen zu lassen. Die ebenso zauberhaften wie unheimlichen Installationen des Künstlerduos knüpfen Verbindungen zwischen gegensätzlichen Welten. Sie öffnen den Blick auf das sonderbare Laboratorium des Lebens, auf dessen biologische Vielfalt zwischen Natur und Künstlichkeit und auf die Kräfte von Fruchtbarkeit und Wachstum.

Les Envahisseurs, 2004 Container Installation © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Les Envahisseurs, 2004, Container Installation
© 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

In Form eines Raum-Zeit-Labyrinths präsentieren Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger einen Überblick ihres 25-jährigen Schaffens. Der Zugang zur Ausstellung erfolgt durch eine von drei Türen – diejenige der Vergangenheit, der Gegenwart oder der Zukunft. Hinter jeder Tür verbirgt sich ein anderes Kapitel ihres Kosmos, das sich wiederum aufgliedert in eine Vielzahl potenzieller Erfahrungen an verschiedenen Stationen. So kann der Besucher unter anderem durch einen Wald von Zweigen streifen, einen Halt in einem Massagesalon einlegen, eine Runde schaukeln, eine Träne für ästhetisch-wissenschaftliche Zwecke vergiessen, sich mit Schönheitsexperten unterhalten, Übungen auf Fitnessgeräten absolvieren oder Auge in Auge mit einem Meteoriten seine psychische Belastbarkeit prüfen. 

 

Wer die Tür der Vergangenheit wählt, begibt sich auf eine Zeitreise zu den frühesten Arbeiten des Duos. Diese sehr geordnete Welt weist viele Merkmale einer klassischen Ausstellung auf, mit Objekten, Videos und zweidimensionalen Werken, deren Präsentation etablierten kuratorischen Grundsätzen folgt. Durch ein mit Gerätschaften aller Art vollgestopftes Gartenhäuschen gelangt man zu verschiedenen von den beiden Künstlern über die Jahre angelegten Sammlungen, insbesondere von Samen (Schlafende Samen, 2002, Samensammlung aus Mali, 2003). Das Samenkorn, Keimzelle aller Dinge, steht gleichermassen für die Fruchtbarkeit – diese primäre Energie, die jeder Form von Leben zugrunde liegt – wie für die Wurzeln, die uns sowohl mit unserer eigenen Vergangenheit als auch der Geschichte der Menschheit verbinden. Im weiteren Verlauf folgt das Video Logic of Beauty (2010), ein Strom hypnotischer Bilder, deren Farben und Muster eine magnetische Wirkung ausüben, als ob die Künstler hier die Essenz der Schönheit eingefangen hätten.

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Wachsender Kunstdüngerkristall, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Auf das Thema der Schönheit trifft man auch hinter der Tür der Gegenwart. Jeder Raum präsentiert sich als dreidimensionale Mini-Fiktion, mit eigenen Kulissen, Darstellern und Requisiten. Die Hauptrolle spielt jedoch der Besucher, der die Szenerie zum Leben erweckt. Station für Station beschert ihm eine interaktive, zugleich wissenschaftliche, vergnügliche und philosophische Erfahrung rund um den Begriff der Schönheit. Hier heisst es, seine Schüchternheit an der Garderobe zu deponieren und sich auf die Akteure – eine/n Sekretär/in, eine/n Tränensammler/ in und eine/n Personal Trainer/ in – einzulassen. Auf dem Programm stehen das Bestaunen von Augensekreten und ihrer winzigen Strukturen unter dem Mikroskop, das Liegen unter einem schweren hängenden Stein, Konzentrationsübungen oder auch eine stille Pause.

Im letzten Bereich wartet die Zukunft mit ihren Unsicherheiten, ihrem Chaos und ihrer Unfertigkeit. Dominiert werden die Räumlichkeiten von einem majestätisch wuchernden Wald, einem schwebenden, vielfarbigen Labyrinth voll mit Verästelungen aus pflanzlichen und künstlichen Elementen, das auf das Gewimmel alles Lebendigen anspielt und dessen im Raum tanzende Formen zum Träumen und Fantasieren anregen. Zum Ende geht der hängende Wald in einen Fitnessraum über, dessen Geräte von den beiden Künstlern auf schelmische Weise so umgestaltet wurden, dass sie neben dem Körper auch den Geist stimulieren. Mit Too early to panic laden uns Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger auf eine Reise ein – eine Reise, die uns die Welt um uns herum mit neuen Augen sehen lässt.



#steinerlenzlinger | #tooearlytopanic

Gerda Steiner (Ettiswil LU, 1967)
Jörg Lenzlinger (Uster ZH, 1964)

Steiner & Lenzlinger leben und arbeiten in Langenbruck im Kanton Baselland. Zur Schweizer Landesausstellung Expo.02 steuerten sie die gigantische Heimatmaschine bei, die Pflanzen und Kristalle wuchern liess, und an der Biennale von Venedig 2003 vertraten sie die Schweiz mit einem filigranen, schwebenden Garten in der Kirche San Stae. Zu sehen waren ihre Installationen auch im Museum Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf, im Museum des 21. Jahrhunderts in Kanazawa, in der Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, an den Biennalen von Sevilla und Moskau sowie zuletzt im Kunsthaus Bregenz. 2012 wurden sie mit dem Baselbieter Kulturpreis ausgezeichnet.
 

Zur Ausstellung


Séverine Fromaigeat ist Kuratorin am Museum Tinguely. Gemeinsam mit Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger hat sie die grosse Ausstellung entwickelt, wachsen und wuchern lassen.

Eröffnung mit Sommerfest, Dienstag 5. Juni 2018 ab 18.30 Uhr.

9. September 2018: Familiensonntag (11.30 - 17.30 Uhr) zur Ausstellung und Führung in Gebärdensprache (14 Uhr).

Eine Tour durch die Ausstellung mit den beiden Künstlern findet am 23. September 2018 um 15 Uhr statt.

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Schlafende Samen, 2002 Installationsansicht im Museum Tinguely, 2018  © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger Foto: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger, Schlafende Samen, 2002Installationsansicht im Museum Tinguely, 2018  © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg LenzlingerFoto: Museum Tinguely, Basel/Daniel Spehr

Das Chymische Lustgaertlein, 2014, Installationsansicht im Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Das Chymische Lustgaertlein, 2014, Installationsansicht im Museum Kunstpalast, Düsseldorf, 2014 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Picknick, 2016, Installation im Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst PERMM, Russland, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlingerr

Picknick, 2016, Installation im Museum für Zeitgenössische Kunst PERMM, Russland, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlingerr

Metafloristics, 2016, Installation im Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgien, seit 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Metafloristics, 2016, Installation im Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Gent, Belgien, seit 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Königliche Regenwürmer, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Königliche Regenwürmer, 2017 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Hühnerhüpfen, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Hühnerhüpfen, 2016 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Tränenbild, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger

Tränenbild, 2011 © 2018 Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger