Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

Rebecca Horn
5.6.–22.9.2019

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitised), colour, sound, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn. Body Fantasies
5 June – 22 September 2019

Museum Tinguely in Basel and Centre Pompidou-Metz are presenting parallel exhibitions devoted to the artist Rebecca Horn. In this way, the two institutions offer complementary insights into the work of an artist who is among the most extraordinary of her generation. In the Body Fantasies show in Basel, which combines early performative works and later kinetic sculpture to highlight lines of development within her oeuvre, the focus is on transformation processes of body and machine. The Theatre of Metamorphoses show in Metz explores the diverse theme of transformation from animist, surrealist and mechanistic perspectives, placing special emphasis on the role of film as a matrix within Horn’s oeuvre.

Horn’s work is always inspired by the human body and its movement. In her early performative pieces of the 1960s and ‘70s, this is expressed via the use of objects that serve as both extensions and constrictions of the body. Since the 1980s, her work has consisted primarily of kinetic machines and, increasingly, large-scale installations that ‘come alive’ thanks to movement, the performing body being replaced by a mechanical actor. These processes of transformation between expanded bodies and animated machines in Horn’s oeuvre, which now spans almost five decades, are the focus of the Basel show. The exhibition juxtaposes performative works and later machine sculptures in order to follow the unfolding development of motifs of movement. Divided up into four themes, the Basel show traces the development of her works as «stations in a process of transformation» (Rebecca Horn), emphasizing the continuity in her work.

My performances started out as body sculptures. All the basic movements were centred on movements made by my body and its extremities.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Flapping Wings

A first group of works is derived from the performance White Body Fan (1972) in which Rebecca Horn referred to the old human fascination with winged and feathered beings. Using belts, she fixed a pair of semi-circular wings made of white fabric to her body that unfolded when she raised her arms. A film documents the experiments she performed with this body instrument: opening and closing, controlling the wings in the wind, forms of concealing and revealing, but also the spreading of wings. These movement patterns were further developed by Horn in a series of sculptures, as in the Paradise Widow (1975) that encloses a naked body, the parading Mechanical Peacock Fan (1981), the Hängender Fächer (1982) and the feather wheel Zen der Eule (2010).

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

To talk about love is like a wind that I shield off with a fan. It stubbornly seeks its own course and quite uncontrollably attacks me.

Rebecca Horn, 2004

Rebecca Horn, Overflowing Blood Machine, 1970, Tate Collection, London

Rebecca Horn, Overflowing Blood Machine, 1970, Tate Collection, London 

Rebecca Horn, Untitled (Overflowing Blood Machine), 1970, Drawing, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Untitled (Overflowing Blood Machine), 1970, Drawing, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, installation view, Nationalgalerie, Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, installation view, Nationalgalerie,  Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection 


Circulating

This part of the exhibition addresses various forms of circulation. The central work here is Overflowing Blood Machine (1970) that presents the human individual as a hydromechanical structure. This work is juxtaposed with the installation El Rio de la Luna (1992) whose system of pipes sprawls out into the space, as mercury is moved in its ‘heart chambers’ by pumps. Whereas in the former work, the inner movement of circulating blood is relocated to the exterior, in the second work Horn’s emphasis was on rendering visible emotional energy flows.

The sculptures in an installation encapsulate stories and experience, they are living experience crystallized into a kind of chemical formula.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Inscribing

Drawn lines and coloured markings are always also traces of body movements, constituting another thematic focus within the exhibition. This motif is presented by the Pencil Mask (1972), an instrument worn on the head that turns the body into a rhythmic drawing machine. Horn pursues the topic further with automated painting machines, of which two types are on display. The markings they create are always also understood as expressions of emotions and passion. Finally, drawing as an inscription of body and mind is returned to in the large-format works on paper of the Bodylandscapes series (2004/2005).

Rebecca Horn, Pencil Mask, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitised), color, sound, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Pencil Mask, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitised), color, sound, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installation view, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installation view, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Finger Gloves, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Finger Gloves, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Switzerland

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Switzerland

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, installation view, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, installation view, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire


Touching

A final themed group of works looks at extensions of hands and feet. With the finger extensions of Finger Gloves (1972) the artist explored her surroundings as if probing with tentacles. In her kinetic works, she developed this subject further, often using everyday objects like brushes, hammers or women’s high-heeled shoes. With their keyboards, typewriters, too, are instruments that extend our fingers. Horn used them in several works, including La Lune Rebelle (1991), a key work included in the Basel show. The works in this group also offer a sociological view of the machine as an extension of the body, in particular by bringing together objects that are considered female.

For me, these machines have a soul because they act, shake, tremble, faint, almost fall apart, and then come back to life again. They are not perfect machines.

Rebecca Horn, 1993

Rebecca Horn was born in 1944 in Michelstadt in the Odenwald forest. Between 1963 and 1968, she studied philosophy and art at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. In 1972, she was the youngest artist to take part in documenta 5 in Kassel. The same year, she moved to New York, subsequently splitting her time between the United States and Berlin. Her work of this period is marked by body instruments and performances.
From the late 1970s, she made several feature-length films: The Gigolo (1979) and La Ferdinanda (1981), followed in 1990 by Buster’s Bedroom. The machines that featured in these films lived on in installations, as her oeuvre came to be characterized by kinetically animated objects.
In site-specific installations like Concert in Reverse (Münster, 1987) or Concert for Buchenwald (Weimar, 1999), after long periods living abroad, Horn dealt with Germany’s World War II history. From 1989 to 2009, she was professor for multimedia at the Universität der Künste in Berlin.
Rebecca Horn has been awarded many honours, including the Carnegie Prize from the City of Pittsburgh (1988), the Kaiserring from the City of Goslar (1992), the Praemium Imperiale for sculpture (2010), the Grande Médaille des Arts Plastiques, Académie d’Architecture de Paris (2011), the order Pour le Mérite for science and art (2016), and most recently the Wilhelm Lehmbruck Prize from the City of Duisburg (2017). Since 1989 she has been living in Bad König, Odenwald.
 

The richly illustrated catalogue with essays by Sandra Beate Reimann, Antje von Graeventiz, Stefan Zweifel, et al. is published by Verlag für moderne Kunst:
ISBN (German): 978-3-9524759-6-6;
ISBN (English): 978-3-9524759-7-3.

The exhibition was curated by
Sandra Beate Reimann.

© 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich

Nous utilisons des cookies (fournis par des services tiers) afin de collecter et d'analyser les données. Veuillez trouvez ici notre politique de confidentialité.

 

Rebecca Horn
5.6.–22.9.2019

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitalisiert), Farbe, Ton, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn. Fantasmagories corporelles
5 juin – 22 septembre 2019

Le Musée Tinguely de Bâle et le Centre Pompidou-Metz font résonner de façon concomitante deux expositions consacrées à Rebecca Horn. Elles offrent des perspectives complémentaires sur l’œuvre d’une des artistes les plus singulières de sa génération. À Bâle, les Fantasmagories corporelles associent les premières réalisations performatives et les sculptures cinétiques plus tardives, soulignant ainsi les développements au sein de son travail pour mettre l’accent sur les processus d’altération corporelle et de transformation des machines. Théâtre des métamorphoses à Metz explore les processus de métamorphose, tour à tour animiste, surréaliste et machiniste et le rôle de matrice qu’a pu avoir sa pratique cinématographique, véritable mise en scène de ses sculptures.
Le travail de Rebecca Horn s’inspire constamment du corps et des mouvements du corps. Dans ses premières œuvres performatives des années 1960 et 1970, cela se manifeste par le recours à des objets qui, en tant qu’extensions corporelles, ouvrent sur de nouvelles expériences perceptuelles tout en ayant un effet restrictif. À partir des années 1980, l’artiste créé alors surtout des sculptures cinétiques et des installations de plus en plus vastes qui prennent vie grâce au mouvement. Le corps agissant est remplacé par un acteur mécanique. Ces processus de transformation entre corps augmentés et machines animées, qui traversent l’œuvre de Rebecca Horn depuis presque cinq décennies, constituent le cœur de l’exposition à Bâle : des œuvres performatives y jouxtent des sculptures-machines plus tardives pour illustrer le déploiement des motifs du mouvement dans le travail de l’artiste. Cette exposition bâloise, articulée en plusieurs histoires, retrace ainsi une évolution artistique comme « autant d’étapes dans un processus de transformation » (Rebecca Horn) à partir de quatre thèmes et montre la continuité de son travail.

Mes performances ont commencé par des sculptures corporelles. Tous les mouvements de départ étaient les mouvements de mon corps et de ses extensions.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Battre des ailes

Une première série d’œuvres débute avec la performance Weisser Körperfächer (1972), dans laquelle Rebecca Horn reprend la fascination ancestrale des humains pour les créatures ailées ou à plumes. Avec des ceintures, elle a fixé sur son corps une paire d’ailes semi-circulaires en toile blanche qui se déploient en levant les bras. Un film documente les expériences motrices qu’elle a réalisées avec cet instrument corporel : l’ouverture et la fermeture, le contrôle des ailes dans le vent, les formes de dissimulation et de dévoilement. Ces modèles de mouvements, Rebecca Horn les a prolongés dans une série de sculptures, comme la Paradieswitwe (1975) qui enveloppe un corps nu, Die Pfauenmaschine (1981) qui fait la roue, le Hängender Fächer (1982) ou la roue de plumes Zen der Eule (2010).

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Parler d’amour, c’est comme un vent face auquel je tiens un éventail, il cherche une direction à sa guise et m’assaille de manière incontrôlée. 

Rebecca Horn, 2004

Rebecca Horn, Überströmer, 1970, Tate Collection, London

Rebecca Horn, Überströmer, 1970, Tate Collection, London 

Rebecca Horn, Ohne Titel (Überströmer), 1970, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Ohne Titel (Überströmer), 1970, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, Installationsansicht, Nationalgalerie, Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, Installationsansicht, Nationalgalerie, Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection 


Circuler

Différentes formes de circulation sont thématisées dans une deuxième partie de l’exposition. L’œuvre centrale est là Überströmer (1970) qui présente l’être humain comme une structure hydromécanique. Lui fait face l’installation El Rio de la Luna (1992) qui prolifère dans l’espace avec un système de tuyaux et dans les « chambres cardiaques » desquelles le mercure est actionné par des pompes. Tandis que, dans le premier cas, le mouvement interne de la circulation sanguine est déplacé vers l’extérieur, dans le second, la visualisation des flux d’énergie émotionnelle est pour Rebecca Horn au premier plan.

Les sculptures d’une installation conservent, sous une forme enkystée, des histoires et des expériences, et là-dedans se cristallisent du vécu à la manière d’une formule chimique. 

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Inscrire

Des lignes tracées et des marques de couleur sont toujours aussi les traces de mouvements physiques. Elles constituent ainsi un autre ensemble thématique de l’exposition. Ce motif est présenté à partir Bleistiftmaske (1972), un outil porté sur la tête qui transforme le corps en une machine rythmique à dessiner. L’artiste poursuit de façon systématique l’exploration de ce thème dans des machines à peindre automatisées, dont deux types différents sont montrés ici. Les marquages y sont toujours l’expression d’émotions et de passions. Le dessin comme inscription du corps et du psychisme est repris enfin dans les travaux sur papier grand format de la série Bodylandscapes (2004-2005).

Rebecca Horn, Bleistiftmaske, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitalisiert), Farbe, Ton, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Bleistiftmaske, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitalisiert), Farbe, Ton, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installationsansicht, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installationsansicht, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Ich habe darüber nachgedacht, wie man Seelenstrukturen einfangen könnte. Wie man diese auf eine zweidimensionale Ebene bringen könnte.

Rebecca Horn, 2006

Rebecca Horn, Handschuhfinger, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Handschuhfinger, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Schweiz

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Schweiz

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, Installationsansicht, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, Installationsansicht, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire


Tâter

Un dernier champ thématique porte sur l’extension des mains et des pieds. Avec Handschuhfinger (1972), l’artiste explore ainsi son environnement en le palpant avec des tentacules. Elle poursuit l’étude de ce sujet dans ses œuvres cinétiques tout en recourant sans cesse à des objets quotidiens tels que pinceaux, marteaux ou escarpins. Les machines à écrire avec leurs claviers sont elles aussi des instruments qui prolongent nos doigts. Rebecca Horn les utilise d’ailleurs dans plusieurs installations, dont La Lune Rebelle (1991) œuvre majeure exposée à Bâle. Les travaux de cette série donnent également une vision sociologique de la machine comme prothèse en rassemblent notamment des objets considérés comme féminins.

Pour moi, ces machines sont animées, elles agissent, elles tremblent, elles frissonnent, elles s’évanouissent et s’éveillent soudain à une nouvelle vie. Ce ne sont en aucun cas des machines parfaites. 

Rebecca Horn, 1993

Rebecca Horn est née en 1944 à Michelstadt (Odenwald, Allemagne). De 1963 à 1968, elle a étudié la philosophie et l’art à la Hochschule für bildende Künste de Hambourg. En 1972, elle est la plus jeune artiste à participer à la documenta 5 de Kassel. La même année, elle part pour New York et vivra par la suite entre les États-Unis et Berlin. Son œuvre est marquée à cette époque par les instruments corporels et les performances.

À partir de la fin des années 1970, elle réalise plusieurs films : Der Eintänzer en 1979 et La Ferdinanda en 1981. Le film Buster’s Bedroom suivra en 1990. Les machines actrices de ces films continuent de vivre dans ses installations. Les objets cinétiques deviennent caractéristiques de son travail.

Après ses longs séjours à l’étranger, Rebecca Horn se plonge dans le passé de l’Allemagne et les années la guerre avec des installations in situ comme Das gegenläufige Konzert (Münster, 1987) ou Konzert für Buchenwald (Weimar, 1999). De 1989 à 2009, elle est professeur de multimédias à la Universität der Künste de Berlin.

Rebecca Horn a reçu plusieurs prix prestigieux comme le Carnegie Prize, Pittsburgh (1988), le Kaiserring de la Ville de Goslar (1992), le Praemium Imperiale de sculpture (2010), la Grande Médaille des Arts Plastiques, Académie d’Architecture de Paris (2011), l’ordre « Pour le Mérite für Wissenschaften und Künste » (2016) et, récemment, le Wilhelm-Lehmbruck-Preis de la Ville de Duisburg (2017). Elle vit depuis 1989 à Bad König, Odenwald.

Un catalogue richement illustré avec des contributions de Sandra Beate Reimann, Antje von Graeventiz, Stefan Zweifel et al. paraîtra au Verlag für moderne Kunst :
ISBN (allemand) : 978-3-9524759-6-6
ISBN (anglais) : 978-3-9524759-7-3

Commissaire de l’exposition : Sandra Beate Reimann

© 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich