Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

Rebecca Horn
5.6.–22.9.2019

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitised), colour, sound, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn. Body Fantasies
5 June – 22 September 2019

Museum Tinguely in Basel and Centre Pompidou-Metz are presenting parallel exhibitions devoted to the artist Rebecca Horn. In this way, the two institutions offer complementary insights into the work of an artist who is among the most extraordinary of her generation. In the Body Fantasies show in Basel, which combines early performative works and later kinetic sculpture to highlight lines of development within her oeuvre, the focus is on transformation processes of body and machine. The Theatre of Metamorphoses show in Metz explores the diverse theme of transformation from animist, surrealist and mechanistic perspectives, placing special emphasis on the role of film as a matrix within Horn’s oeuvre.

Horn’s work is always inspired by the human body and its movement. In her early performative pieces of the 1960s and ‘70s, this is expressed via the use of objects that serve as both extensions and constrictions of the body. Since the 1980s, her work has consisted primarily of kinetic machines and, increasingly, large-scale installations that ‘come alive’ thanks to movement, the performing body being replaced by a mechanical actor. These processes of transformation between expanded bodies and animated machines in Horn’s oeuvre, which now spans almost five decades, are the focus of the Basel show. The exhibition juxtaposes performative works and later machine sculptures in order to follow the unfolding development of motifs of movement. Divided up into four themes, the Basel show traces the development of her works as «stations in a process of transformation» (Rebecca Horn), emphasizing the continuity in her work.

My performances started out as body sculptures. All the basic movements were centred on movements made by my body and its extremities.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Flapping Wings

A first group of works is derived from the performance White Body Fan (1972) in which Rebecca Horn referred to the old human fascination with winged and feathered beings. Using belts, she fixed a pair of semi-circular wings made of white fabric to her body that unfolded when she raised her arms. A film documents the experiments she performed with this body instrument: opening and closing, controlling the wings in the wind, forms of concealing and revealing, but also the spreading of wings. These movement patterns were further developed by Horn in a series of sculptures, as in the Paradise Widow (1975) that encloses a naked body, the parading Mechanical Peacock Fan (1981), the Hängender Fächer (1982) and the feather wheel Zen der Eule (2010).

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

To talk about love is like a wind that I shield off with a fan. It stubbornly seeks its own course and quite uncontrollably attacks me.

Rebecca Horn, 2004

Rebecca Horn, Overflowing Blood Machine, 1970, Tate Collection, London

Rebecca Horn, Overflowing Blood Machine, 1970, Tate Collection, London 

Rebecca Horn, Untitled (Overflowing Blood Machine), 1970, Drawing, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Untitled (Overflowing Blood Machine), 1970, Drawing, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, installation view, Nationalgalerie, Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, installation view, Nationalgalerie,  Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection 


Circulating

This part of the exhibition addresses various forms of circulation. The central work here is Overflowing Blood Machine (1970) that presents the human individual as a hydromechanical structure. This work is juxtaposed with the installation El Rio de la Luna (1992) whose system of pipes sprawls out into the space, as mercury is moved in its ‘heart chambers’ by pumps. Whereas in the former work, the inner movement of circulating blood is relocated to the exterior, in the second work Horn’s emphasis was on rendering visible emotional energy flows.

The sculptures in an installation encapsulate stories and experience, they are living experience crystallized into a kind of chemical formula.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Inscribing

Drawn lines and coloured markings are always also traces of body movements, constituting another thematic focus within the exhibition. This motif is presented by the Pencil Mask (1972), an instrument worn on the head that turns the body into a rhythmic drawing machine. Horn pursues the topic further with automated painting machines, of which two types are on display. The markings they create are always also understood as expressions of emotions and passion. Finally, drawing as an inscription of body and mind is returned to in the large-format works on paper of the Bodylandscapes series (2004/2005).

Rebecca Horn, Pencil Mask, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitised), color, sound, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Pencil Mask, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitised), color, sound, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installation view, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installation view, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Finger Gloves, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Finger Gloves, 1972, Photography, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Switzerland

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Switzerland

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, installation view, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, installation view, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire


Touching

A final themed group of works looks at extensions of hands and feet. With the finger extensions of Finger Gloves (1972) the artist explored her surroundings as if probing with tentacles. In her kinetic works, she developed this subject further, often using everyday objects like brushes, hammers or women’s high-heeled shoes. With their keyboards, typewriters, too, are instruments that extend our fingers. Horn used them in several works, including La Lune Rebelle (1991), a key work included in the Basel show. The works in this group also offer a sociological view of the machine as an extension of the body, in particular by bringing together objects that are considered female.

For me, these machines have a soul because they act, shake, tremble, faint, almost fall apart, and then come back to life again. They are not perfect machines.

Rebecca Horn, 1993

Rebecca Horn was born in 1944 in Michelstadt in the Odenwald forest. Between 1963 and 1968, she studied philosophy and art at the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. In 1972, she was the youngest artist to take part in documenta 5 in Kassel. The same year, she moved to New York, subsequently splitting her time between the United States and Berlin. Her work of this period is marked by body instruments and performances.
From the late 1970s, she made several feature-length films: The Gigolo (1979) and La Ferdinanda (1981), followed in 1990 by Buster’s Bedroom. The machines that featured in these films lived on in installations, as her oeuvre came to be characterized by kinetically animated objects.
In site-specific installations like Concert in Reverse (Münster, 1987) or Concert for Buchenwald (Weimar, 1999), after long periods living abroad, Horn dealt with Germany’s World War II history. From 1989 to 2009, she was professor for multimedia at the Universität der Künste in Berlin.
Rebecca Horn has been awarded many honours, including the Carnegie Prize from the City of Pittsburgh (1988), the Kaiserring from the City of Goslar (1992), the Praemium Imperiale for sculpture (2010), the Grande Médaille des Arts Plastiques, Académie d’Architecture de Paris (2011), the order Pour le Mérite for science and art (2016), and most recently the Wilhelm Lehmbruck Prize from the City of Duisburg (2017). Since 1989 she has been living in Bad König, Odenwald.
 

The richly illustrated catalogue with essays by Sandra Beate Reimann, Antje von Graeventiz, Stefan Zweifel, et al. is published by Verlag für moderne Kunst:
ISBN (German): 978-3-9524759-6-6;
ISBN (English): 978-3-9524759-7-3.

The exhibition was curated by
Sandra Beate Reimann.

© 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich

Rebecca Horn
5.6.–22.9.2019

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitalisiert), Farbe, Ton, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn. Körperphantasien
5. Juni – 22. September 2019

Das Museum Tinguely in Basel und das Centre Pompidou-Metz präsentieren gleichzeitig zwei der Künstlerin Rebecca Horn gewidmete Ausstellungen. Damit bieten die beiden Institutionen ergänzende Einblicke in das Schaffen einer Künstlerin, die zu den aussergewöhnlichsten ihrer Generation gehört. In der Präsentation Körperphantasien in Basel, die frühe performative Arbeiten und spätere kinetische Skulpturen kombiniert und so Entwicklungen innerhalb ihres Werks betont, stehen die Transformations­prozesse von Körper und Maschine im Mittelpunkt. Die Schau Theater der Metamorphosen in Metz erkundet das vielfältige Thema der Verwandlung unter animistischen, surrealistischen und mechanistischen Gesichtspunkten und hebt insbesondere die Rolle des Films als eigentlich Bühne ihrer Skulpturen und so als Matrix ihres Schaffens hervor.

Inspiration für Rebecca Horns Schaffen bildet stets der Körper und dessen Bewegungen. In ihrem performativen Frühwerk der 1960er und 1970er Jahre äussert sich dies in der Anwendung von Objekten, die als Körpererweiterungen neue Wahrnehmungs­erfahrungen eröffnen und zugleich auch als Begrenzungen wirken. In der Folge schuf die Künstlerin ab den 1980er Jahren primär kinetische Skulpturen und zunehmend raumgreifende Installationen, die mittels Bewegung lebendig werden. Der agierende Körper wurde durch einen mechanischen Akteur ersetzt. Diese Transformationsprozesse zwischen erweiterten Körpern und animierten Maschinen in Rebecca Horns mittlerweile fast fünf Dekaden umspannenden Œuvre stehen in Basel im Zentrum. In der Ausstellung werden performative Arbeiten und spätere Maschinenskulpturen nebeneinander gezeigt, um die Entfaltung von Bewegungsmotiven im Schaffen der Künstlerin nachvollziehen zu können. Gegliedert in mehrere Geschichten zeichnet die Basler Präsentation so die Entwicklung ihrer Werke als «Stationen in einem Transformationsprozess» (Rebecca Horn) anhand von vier Themen beispielhaft nach und betont die Kontinuität ihres Werks.

Meine Performances begannen mit Körperskulpturen. Alle Ausgangsbewegungen waren Bewegungen meines Körpers und seiner Extensionen.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Flügel schlagen

Eine erste Gruppe von Werken geht von der Performance Weisser Körperfächer (1972) aus, mit der Rebecca Horn an die alte Faszination der Menschen für geflügelte und gefiederte Wesen anknüpfte. Mit Gurten fixierte sie an ihrem Körper ein Paar halbkreisförmige Flügel aus weissem Stoff, die sich durch Heben der Arme entfalten. Ein Film dokumentiert die von ihr mit diesem Körperinstrument vollführten Bewegungs­experimente: Das Öffnen und Schliessen, die Kontrolle der Flügel im Wind, Formen des Versteckens und Enthüllens, aber auch das Flügelausbreiten. Es sind Bewegungsmuster, die Rebecca Horn in einer Reihe von Skulpturen weiterentwickelte, so etwa in der einen nackten Körper umhüllenden Paradieswitwe (1975), in der balzenden Pfauenmaschine (1981), dem Hängenden Fächer (1982) oder dem Federrad Zen der Eule (2010).

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Zen der Eule, 2010, Rebecca Horn Collection

Über Liebe zu sprechen, ist wie ein Wind, dem ich den Fächer vorhalte, er sucht sich eigenwillig seine Richtung, fällt unkontrolliert über mich her
 

Rebecca Horn, 2004

Rebecca Horn, Überströmer, 1970, Tate Collection, London

Rebecca Horn, Überströmer, 1970, Tate Collection, London 

Rebecca Horn, Ohne Titel (Überströmer), 1970, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Ohne Titel (Überströmer), 1970, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, Installationsansicht, Nationalgalerie, Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992, Installationsansicht, Nationalgalerie, Berlin 1994, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, El Rio de la Luna, 1992 (Detail), Rebecca Horn Collection 


Zirkulieren

Verschiedene Formen von Zirkulation werden in einem zweiten Bereich der Ausstellung thematisiert. Zentral ist hier die Arbeit Überströmer (1970), der den Menschen als ein hydro­mechanisches Gebilde präsentiert. Der Arbeit steht die Installation Rio de la Luna (1992) gegenüber, die mit einem Röhrensystem wuchernd in den Raum ausgreift und in deren «Herzkammern» Quecksilber von Pumpen bewegt wird. Während im ersten Fall die innere Bewegung des Blutkreislaufs nach aussen verlegt wird, stand im zweiten Fall das Sichtbarmachen von emotionalen Energieströmen für Rebecca Horn im Vordergrund.

Die Skulpturen einer Installation bewahren in verkapselter Form geschichten und Erfahrungen, und in ihnen sind Lebenserfahrungen in einer Art chemischer Formel kristallisiert.

Rebecca Horn, 1997


Einschreiben

Gezeichnete Linien und Farbmarkierungen sind immer auch Spuren von Körperbewegungen. Sie bilden einen weiteren Themenkomplex in der Ausstellung. Dieses Motiv wird ausgehend von der Bleistiftmaske (1972), einem Instrument, das auf dem Kopf getragen wird und den Körper in eine rhythmische Zeichenmaschine verwandelt, vorgestellt. Konsequent führt die Künstlerin die Thematik in automatisierten Malmaschinen, von denen zwei verschiedene Typen gezeigt werden, fort. Die gesetzten Markierungen werden dabei immer auch als Ausdruck von Emotionen und Leidenschaft verstanden. Die Zeichnung als Einschreibung von Körper und Psyche wird schliesslich in den grossformatigen Papierarbeiten der Serie Bodylandscapes (2004/2005) erneut aufgegriffen

Rebecca Horn, Bleistiftmaske, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitalisiert), Farbe, Ton, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Bleistiftmaske, 1972 (Filmstill), 16 mm (digitalisiert), Farbe, Ton, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installationsansicht, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Les Amants, 1991, Installationsansicht, Galerie de France, Paris 2003, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Blau im Zwischenzustand, 2004, Zeichnung, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Ich habe darüber nachgedacht, wie man Seelenstrukturen einfangen könnte. Wie man diese auf eine zweidimensionale Ebene bringen könnte.

Rebecca Horn, 2006

Rebecca Horn, Handschuhfinger, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection

Rebecca Horn, Handschuhfinger, 1972, Fotografie, Rebecca Horn Collection 

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Schweiz

Rebecca Horn, American Waltz, 1990, Daros Collection, Schweiz

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, Installationsansicht, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire

Rebecca Horn, La Lune Rebelle, 1991, Installationsansicht, Musée de Grenoble, 1995, FRAC des Pays de la Loire


Tasten

Ein letzter Themenbereich nimmt Extensionen von Händen und Füssen in den Blick. Mit den Fingerverlängerungen der Arbeit Handschuhfinger (1972) erkundete die Künstlerin wie mit Fühlern tastend ihre Umgebung. In ihren kinetischen Werken entwickelte sie das Sujet weiter und griff immer wieder auf alltägliche Objekte wie beispielsweise Pinsel, Hammer oder hochhackige Damenschuhe zurück. Auch Schreibmaschinen mit ihren Klaviaturen sind Instrumente, die unsere Finger verlängern. Sie wurden von Rebecca Horn in mehreren Werken verwendet, darunter in dem in Basel ausgestellten Schlüsselwerk La Lune Rebelle (1991). Die Werke dieser Gruppe bieten auch einen soziologischen Blick auf die Maschine als Körperextension, indem insbesondere als weiblich geltende Objekte versammelt sind.

Für mich sind diese Maschinen beseelt, sie agieren, sie beben, sie zittern, sie werden ohnmächtig und erwachen plötzlich wieder zu neuem Leben. Perfekte Maschinen sind es keinesfalls.

Rebecca Horn, 1993

Rebecca Horn wurde 1944 in Michelstadt im Odenwald geboren. Sie studierte von 1963 bis 1968 Philosophie und Kunst an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. An der documenta 5 in Kassel 1972 nahm sie als jüngste Künstlerin teil. Noch im selben Jahr zog sie nach New York und pendelte fortan zwischen den Vereinigten Staaten und Berlin. Körper­instrumente und Performances prägen ihr Schaffen in dieser Zeit.
Ab Ende der 1970er Jahre entstanden mehrere Spielfilme: 1979 Der Eintänzer und 1981 La Ferdinanda. 1990 folgte der Film Buster’s Bedroom. Die in den Filmen als Akteure auftretenden Maschinen leben im Anschluss an ihre Filme in Installationen fort. Kinetisch animierte Objekte werden zum Charakteristikum ihres Werks.
In ortsspezifischen Installationen wie Das gegenläufige Konzert (Münster, 1987) oder Konzert für Buchenwald (Weimar, 1999) setzte sich Rebecca Horn nach ihren langen Aufenthalten im Ausland mit der deutschen Kriegsvergangenheit auseinander. Von 1989 bis 2009 war sie Professorin für Multimedia an der Universität der Künste in Berlin.
Rebecca Horn erhielt zahlreiche Ehrungen u. a. den Carnegie Prize, Pittsburgh (1988), den Kaiserring der Stadt Goslar (1992), den Praemium Imperiale für Skulptur (2010), die Grande Médaille des Arts Plastiques, Académie d’Architecture de Paris (2011), den Orden Pour le Mérite für Wissenschaften und Künste (2016) und zuletzt den Wilhelm-Lehmbruck-Preis der Stadt Duisburg (2017). Seit 1989 lebt sie in Bad König, Odenwald.
 

Der Katalog mit Beiträgen von Sandra Beate Reimann, Antje von Graeventiz, Stefan Zweifel (u. a.) und umfangreichen Abbildungen erscheint im Verlag für moderne Kunst:
ISBN (Deutsch): 978-3-9524759-6-6
ISBN (Englisch): 978-3-9524759-7-3

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von
Sandra Beate Reimann.

 

© 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich