Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d'antan

Andrzej Sapija, Gdzie są niegdysiejsze śniegi (Where are Last Year's Snows), (Filmstill), 1984 © WFO

9 October 2019 – 5 January 2020

Exhibition

With the exhibition, «Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d'antan», Museum Tinguely presents one of Poland’s most important theatre and visual artists of the 20th century with one of his expansive works for the stage. Tadeusz Kantor’s (1915-1990) independent underground theatre, devoted to the reality of everyday life and often critically concerned with Poland's suppressed history, is still influential for a young generation of theatre artists today.

Portrait Tadeusz Kantor

Tadeusz Kantor in the Cricot 2 Center in Krakow, 1987, photo: Daniel Simpson

Tadeusz Kantor in the Cricot 2 Center in Krakow, 1987, photo: Daniel Simpson

Theatre and visual artist

Tadeusz Kantor, Untitled (The Trumpet of the Last Judgement), 1979

Tadeusz Kantor, Untitled (The Trumpet of the Last Judgement), 1979 © Maria Kantor & Dorota Krakowska / Tadeusz Kantor Foundation

Virtual Reality-experience

9 to 20 October

The visitors of the museum can experience the Virtual Reality-programme Cricoterie (2019) by Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn exclusively for two weeks from the opening in the large exhibition hall.

Virtual Reality-animation from 9 to 20 October 2019

At Museum Tinguely, from 9 to 20 October, the exhibition is accompanied by the Virtual Reality-simulation Cricoterie (2019), by Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn. Visitors are invited to be the hands directing a virtual stage filled with a cast of uncanny characters and props, inspired by Kantor’s Theater of Death and simultaneously, the audience watches as things get out of hand.

 

 

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Installation view), VR-programm

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Installation view), VR-programme © Courtesy of the artists, music: Gerry De Mol, photo: Karolina Zajączkowska

Part of the ensemble

It is seen as a model of radical, pan-disciplinary theatre experiments, as well as the abolition of the difference between stage and auditorium. Above all, Kantor exploded the boundaries of classical theatre as he stood on stage, as director, in the midst of his actors, giving instructions, intervening, and thus becoming a foreign body in the ensemble. Part of his artistic practice was the reuse of objects. Old and damaged things are his ‹natural› medium and the motif of death is one of the most important themes in his works.

Cricotage

The cricotage (Kantor’s term for this short form of performance is derived from the name of his theatre) Où sont les neiges d’antan is the artist’s first production constructed without a pre-existing text. There is only the literary allusion of the title: it cites the Ballade des dames du temps jadis included in Le Grand Testament (1461) by François Villon, a French medievalv‹poète maudit›.

The Trumpet of the Last Judgement

The current exhibition at Museum Tinguely presents objects and costumes from Où sont les neiges d'antan. They are accompanied by the screening of a rehearsal of the performance, filmed on the eve of its Polish premiere in 1984 at the Stodoła Students’ Club in Warsaw by Andrzej Sapija. Drawings and sketches by Tadeusz Kantor are juxtaposed with photographic documentation and posters.

Playing a Jewish song, The Trumpet of the Last Judgement from Tadeusz Kantor’s performance, opens up a dialogue surrounding the theme of the Dance of Death with Jean Tinguely’s installation Mengele – Dance of Death (1986). The sounds of a past tragedy heard from the next room, where Tinguely’s work is displayed, seem to anticipate the activation of Kantor’s machine – a trumpet announcing the imminent end. Tinguely’s work was made chiefly out of the remains of a burned-down farm.

Tinguely and Kantor

Jean Tinguely and Tadeusz Kantor met around 1960 through Theodor Ahrenberg, a Swedish collector settled in Chexbres. Both artists blended their personal history with the cultural memory in their works. Tinguely and Kantor shared the same interest in process-related art and hybrid media, attempting to break down categories and boundaries between art and real life. Nevertheless, the two artists produced works that were ideologically very remote from each other.

Cricoteka & Culturscapes

The guest-curated show from the Cricoteka in Krakow runs until 5 January 2020 at Museum Tinguely and is Kantor's first solo exhibition in Switzerland in more than ten years. The project is a cooperation with CULTURESCAPES Poland. This is a Swiss cultural festival, through which the cultural landscape of another country or region is presented.

Guest Curators: Małgorzata Paluch-Cybulska, Bogdan Renczyński, Natalia Zarzecka / The Centre for the Documentation of the Art of Tadeusz Kantor CRICOTEKA in Krakow

Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d'antan

Andrzej Sapija, Gdzie są niegdysiejsze śniegi (Where are Last Year's Snows), (Filmstill), 1984 © WFO

9 octobre 2019 – 5 janvier 2020

Exposition

L’exposition « Tadeusz Kantor : Où sont les neiges d’antan » du Musée Tinguely présente une figure majeure du théâtre et des arts plastiques de la Pologne du XXe siècle à travers l’une de ses grandes œuvres scéniques. En posant un regard critique sur l’histoire refoulée de la Pologne, le théâtre underground et indépendant de Tadeusz Kantor (1915-1990) se consacre à la réalité quotidienne et marque, jusqu’à aujourd’hui, une jeune génération de gens de théâtre.

Portrait Tadeusz Kantor

Tadeusz Kantor au centre Cricot 2 à Cracovie, 1987, photo: Daniel Simpson

Tadeusz Kantor au centre Cricot 2 à Cracovie, 1987, photo: Daniel Simpson

Une figure majeure du théâtre et des arts plastiques

Tadeusz Kantor, Sans titre (La trompette du Jugement dernier), 1979

Tadeusz Kantor, Sans titre (La trompette du Jugement dernier), 1979 © Maria Kantor & Dorota Krakowska / Tadeusz Kantor Foundation

Expérience de réalité virtuelle

9 au 20 octobre 2019

Le public du musée peut découvrir le programme de réalité virtuelle Cricoterie (2019) de Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn en exclusivité pendant deux semaines à partir de l'ouverture dans la grande salle d'exposition.

 

Animation en réalité virtuelle du 9 au 20 octobre 2019

Au Musée Tinguely, l’exposition sera accompagnée de Cricoterie (2019), une animation en réalité virtuelle conçue par Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn. Du 9 au 20 octobre, les visiteur.euse.s sont invités à jouer sur une scène virtuelle qui, inspirée du Théâtre de la mort de Kantor, est aménagée avec des personnages et des accessoires inhabituels, tandis que le public regarde comment les choses échappent à tout contrôle.

 

 

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Vue d'installation), Programme VR, © Courtesy of the artists, musique: Gerry De Mol, photo: Karolina Zajączkowska

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Vue d'installation), VR-programme © Courtesy of the artists, musique: Gerry De Mol, photo: Karolina Zajączkowska

Tous ensemble !

Son œuvre sert de modèle pour des expériences théâtrales radicales et interdisciplinaires, mais aussi pour l’abolition de la distinction entre espace scénique et public. Metteur en scène se mêlant à ses comédien.ne.s sur les planches, leur donnant des instructions, intervenant et devenant ainsi un corps étranger dans la compagnie, Kantor transgressait les limites du théâtre classique essentiellement à travers sa présence. Sa pratique artistique intégrait le réemploi d’objets. De vieux objets usés constituaient son médium ‹naturel› et le thème de la mort occupe une place centrale dans son œuvre.

Cricotage

Le cricotage (ce terme utilisé par Kantor désigne une forme courte de performance et dérive du nom de son théâtre) Où sont les neiges d'antan constitue la première production de l’artiste développée sans texte existant. La référence littéraire est uniquement contenue dans le titre. Il s’agit ici d’une citation de la Ballade des dames du temps jadis provenant du recueil Le Grand Testament (1461) de François Villon, ‹poète maudit› français du Moyen Âge.

La trompette du Jugement dernier

L’exposition au Musée Tinguely présente des objets et des costumes tous provenant d’Où sont les neiges d'antan. Ils sont accompagnés de la projection du film d’une répétition réalisée en 1984 par Andrzej Sapija la veille de la première polonaise au club étudiant Stodoła de Varsovie. Des dessins et des croquis de Tadeusz Kantor sont mis en regard avec des documents photographiques et des posters.

Au travers d’un chant juif, La trompette du Jugement dernier, objet constitutif de la performance de Tadeusz Kantor, ouvre un dialogue avec l’installation Mengele – Danse macabre (1986) de Jean Tinguely autour du motif de la danse macabre. Dans la salle suivante où l’œuvre de Tinguely est exposée, les bruits d’une tragédie passée retentissent et semblent préfigurer l’activation de la machine de Kantor – une trompette qui annonce la fin imminente. L’œuvre de Tinguely se compose essentiellement des vestiges d’une ferme incendiée.

 

Tinguely et Kantor

Jean Tinguely et Tadeusz Kantor se sont rencontrés vers 1960 grâce au collectionneur suédois Theodor Ahrenberg installé à Chexbres en Suisse. Dans leurs œuvres, ces deux artistes mêlent leurs histoires personnelles à la mémoire culturelle. Leur intérêt commun pour l’art procédural et les médiums hybrides les incite à gommer les frontières entre l’art et la réalité. Sur le plan des idées, leurs œuvres sont néanmoins très éloignées.

Cricoteka & Culturscapes

L’exposition, dont le commissariat est assuré par la Cricoteka à Cracovie, est présentée jusqu’au 5 janvier 2020 et constitue la première exposition individuelle consacrée à Kantor en Suisse depuis plus de dix ans. Ce projet a vu le jour en coopération avec CULTURESCAPES Pologne, un festival culturel qui présente le paysage culturel d’un autre pays ou d’une région.

Commissaires invité.e.s : Małgorzata Paluch-Cybulska, Bogdan Renczyński, Natalia Zarzecka / Le Centre de documentation de l’art de Tadeusz Kantor CRICOTEKA à Cracovie.