Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d'antan

Andrzej Sapija, Gdzie są niegdysiejsze śniegi (Where are Last Year's Snows), (Filmstill), 1984 © WFO

9 October 2019 – 5 January 2020

Exhibition

With the exhibition, «Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d'antan», Museum Tinguely presents one of Poland’s most important theatre and visual artists of the 20th century with one of his expansive works for the stage. Tadeusz Kantor’s (1915-1990) independent underground theatre, devoted to the reality of everyday life and often critically concerned with Poland's suppressed history, is still influential for a young generation of theatre artists today.

Portrait Tadeusz Kantor

Tadeusz Kantor in the Cricot 2 Center in Krakow, 1987, photo: Daniel Simpson

Tadeusz Kantor in the Cricot 2 Center in Krakow, 1987, photo: Daniel Simpson

Theatre and visual artist

Tadeusz Kantor, Untitled (The Trumpet of the Last Judgement), 1979

Tadeusz Kantor, Untitled (The Trumpet of the Last Judgement), 1979 © Maria Kantor & Dorota Krakowska / Tadeusz Kantor Foundation

Virtual Reality-experience

9 to 20 October

The visitors of the museum can experience the Virtual Reality-programme Cricoterie (2019) by Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn exclusively for two weeks from the opening in the large exhibition hall.

Virtual Reality-animation from 9 to 20 October 2019

At Museum Tinguely, from 9 to 20 October, the exhibition is accompanied by the Virtual Reality-simulation Cricoterie (2019), by Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn. Visitors are invited to be the hands directing a virtual stage filled with a cast of uncanny characters and props, inspired by Kantor’s Theater of Death and simultaneously, the audience watches as things get out of hand.

 

 

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Installation view), VR-programm

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Installation view), VR-programme © Courtesy of the artists, music: Gerry De Mol, photo: Karolina Zajączkowska

Part of the ensemble

It is seen as a model of radical, pan-disciplinary theatre experiments, as well as the abolition of the difference between stage and auditorium. Above all, Kantor exploded the boundaries of classical theatre as he stood on stage, as director, in the midst of his actors, giving instructions, intervening, and thus becoming a foreign body in the ensemble. Part of his artistic practice was the reuse of objects. Old and damaged things are his ‹natural› medium and the motif of death is one of the most important themes in his works.

Cricotage

The cricotage (Kantor’s term for this short form of performance is derived from the name of his theatre) Où sont les neiges d’antan is the artist’s first production constructed without a pre-existing text. There is only the literary allusion of the title: it cites the Ballade des dames du temps jadis included in Le Grand Testament (1461) by François Villon, a French medievalv‹poète maudit›.

The Trumpet of the Last Judgement

The current exhibition at Museum Tinguely presents objects and costumes from Où sont les neiges d'antan. They are accompanied by the screening of a rehearsal of the performance, filmed on the eve of its Polish premiere in 1984 at the Stodoła Students’ Club in Warsaw by Andrzej Sapija. Drawings and sketches by Tadeusz Kantor are juxtaposed with photographic documentation and posters.

Playing a Jewish song, The Trumpet of the Last Judgement from Tadeusz Kantor’s performance, opens up a dialogue surrounding the theme of the Dance of Death with Jean Tinguely’s installation Mengele – Dance of Death (1986). The sounds of a past tragedy heard from the next room, where Tinguely’s work is displayed, seem to anticipate the activation of Kantor’s machine – a trumpet announcing the imminent end. Tinguely’s work was made chiefly out of the remains of a burned-down farm.

Tinguely and Kantor

Jean Tinguely and Tadeusz Kantor met around 1960 through Theodor Ahrenberg, a Swedish collector settled in Chexbres. Both artists blended their personal history with the cultural memory in their works. Tinguely and Kantor shared the same interest in process-related art and hybrid media, attempting to break down categories and boundaries between art and real life. Nevertheless, the two artists produced works that were ideologically very remote from each other.

Cricoteka & Culturscapes

The guest-curated show from the Cricoteka in Krakow runs until 5 January 2020 at Museum Tinguely and is Kantor's first solo exhibition in Switzerland in more than ten years. The project is a cooperation with CULTURESCAPES Poland. This is a Swiss cultural festival, through which the cultural landscape of another country or region is presented.

Guest Curators: Małgorzata Paluch-Cybulska, Bogdan Renczyński, Natalia Zarzecka / The Centre for the Documentation of the Art of Tadeusz Kantor CRICOTEKA in Krakow

Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d'antan

Andrzej Sapija, Gdzie są niegdysiejsze śniegi (Where are Last Year's Snows), (Filmstill), 1984 © WFO

9. Oktober 2019 – 5. Januar 2020

Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung «Tadeusz Kantor: Où sont les neiges d’antan» des Museum Tinguely präsentiert einen der wichtigsten Theaterschaffenden und bildenden Künstler Polens des 20. Jahrhunderts mit einem seiner grossen Bühnenwerke. Mit kritischem Blick auf die verdrängte Geschichte Polens widmet sich Tadeusz Kantors (1915-1990) unabhängiges Untergrundtheater der Alltagsrealität und prägt bis heute eine junge Generation in der Welt des Theaters.

Porträt Tadeusz Kantor

Tadeusz Kantor im Cricot 2 Zentrum in Krakau, 1987, Foto: Daniel Simpson

Tadeusz Kantor im Cricot 2 Zentrum in Krakau, 1987, Foto: Daniel Simpson

Theaterschaffender und bildender Künstler

Plakat Tadeusz Kantor, Ohne Titel (Die Posaune des jüngsten Gerichts), 1979

Tadeusz Kantor, Ohne Titel (Die Posaune des jüngsten Gerichts), 1979 © Maria Kantor & Dorota Krakowska / Tadeusz Kantor Foundation

Virtual Reality-Erfahrung

9. bis 20. Oktober 2019

Das Museumspublikum kann exklusiv für zwei Wochen ab der Eröffnung das Virtual Reality-Programm Cricoterie (2019) von Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn in der grossen Ausstellungshalle erleben.

Virtual Reality-Animation vom 9. bis 20. Oktober 2019

Im Museum Tinguely wird die Schau mit Objekten, Zeichnung, Film- und Fotodokumentation durch eine Virtual Reality-Animation begleitet, der Cricoterie (2019) von Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn. Die Besucher*innen sind vom 9. bis 20. Oktober eingeladen eine virtuelle Bühne zu bespielen, die inspiriert von Kantors Theater des Todes mit ungewöhnlichen Charakteren und Requisiten ausgestattet ist, während das Publikum zusehen kann, wie die Dinge ausser Kontrolle geraten.

 

 

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, "Cricoterie", 2019 (Installationsansicht)

Auriea Harvey & Michaël Samyn, Cricoterie, 2019 (Installationsansicht), VR-programme © Courtesy of the artists, Musik: Gerry De Mol, Foto: Karolina Zajączkowska

Teil des Ensembles

Sein Werk gilt als Modell für radikale, disziplinübergreifende Theaterexperimente und für die Aufhebung der Differenz zwischen Bühnen- und Zuschauerraum. Als Regisseur, der sich auf der Bühne unter seine Schauspieler*innen mischte, Anweisungen gab, eingriff und so zum Fremdkörper im Ensemble wurde, durchbrach Kantor vor allem mit seiner eigenen Anwesenheit die Grenzen des klassischen Theaters. Zu seiner künstlerischen Praxis gehörte die Wiederverwendung von Objekten. Alte und beschädigte Dinge waren sein ‹natürliches› Medium und das Motiv des Todes ist ein zentrales Thema in seinem Werk.

Cricotage

Die Cricotage (Kantors Begriff für diese Kurzform der Performance leitet sich vom Namen seines Theaters ab) Où sont les neiges d'antan ist die erste Produktion des Künstlers, die ohne einen bereits vorhandenen Text entwickelt wurde. Der literarische Verweis ist lediglich durch den Titel gegeben. Es handelt sich hierbei um ein Zitat aus der Ballade des dames du temps jadis aus Le Grand Testament (1461) von François Villon, einem französischen ‹poète maudit› des Mittelalters.

Die Posaune des Jüngsten Gerichts

Die Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely zeigt Objekte und Kostüme aus Où sont les neiges d'antan. Begleitet werden sie von der Filmvorführung einer Probe, die 1984 am Vorabend der polnischen Premiere im Studentenclub Stodoła in Warschau von Andrzej Sapija aufgenommen wurde. Zeichnungen und Skizzen von Tadeusz Kantor werden der fotografischen Dokumentation und Plakaten gegenübergestellt.

 

Mit einem jüdischen Lied eröffnet die Posaune des Jüngsten Gerichts, das Objekt aus Tadeusz Kantors Performance, einen Dialog um das Motiv des Totentanzes mit Jean Tinguelys Installation Mengele-Totentanz (1986). Aus dem nächsten Raum, in dem Tinguelys Werk ausgestellt ist, erklingen die Geräusche einer vergangenen Tragödie und scheinen die Aktivierung von Kantors Maschine vorwegzunehmen – eine Posaune, die das bevorstehende Ende ankündigt. Tinguelys Werk setzt sich hauptsächlich aus den Überresten eines niedergebrannten Bauernhofes zusammen.

Tinguely und Kantor

Jean Tinguely und Tadeusz Kantor lernten sich um 1960 durch den schwedischen Sammler Theodor Ahrenberg kennen, der sich in Chexbres in der Schweiz niedergelassen hatte. Beide Künstler vermischen in ihren Werken ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen mit der gesellschaftlichen Erinnerungskultur. Ihr gemeinsames Interesse an prozessualer Kunst und hybriden Medien animierte sie dazu, die Grenzen zwischen Kunst und Realität aufzubrechen. Ideologisch sind ihre Werke jedoch weit voneinander entfernt.

Cricoteka & Culturscapes

Die von der Cricoteka in Krakau gastkuratierte Schau läuft bis zum 5. Januar 2020 und ist Kantors erste Einzelausstellung in der Schweiz seit über zehn Jahren. Das Projekt entstand in Kooperation mit CULTURESCAPES Polen, ein Kulturfestival, in dem die Kulturlandschaft eines anderen Landes oder einer Region vorgestellt wird.

 

Gastkurator*innen: Małgorzata Paluch-Cybulska, Bogdan Renczyński, Natalia Zarzecka / Das Zentrum zur Dokumentation der Kunst von Tadeusz Kantor CRICOTEKA in Krakau.