@G

@G is a presentation format with which the Museum Tinguely highlights selected works by specific artists.

@G: Roth Bar
at Tinguely (Basel, 2019)

by Dieter Roth/Björn Roth/Oddur Roth/Einar Roth/Bjarni Grimsson

 

Until December 2019 the Museum Tinguely welcomes you at the Roth Bar!

 

First conceived by Dieter Roth together with his son Björn in the early 1980s, the Bars are dynamic, ever-changing installations that also represent a constant within the Roths’ cross-generational practice. The bar, comprised of scavenged materials, is a central motif in Dieter Roth’s oeuvre. The Roth Bar has been shown and operated in various exhibitions since 2005, most recently in Zurich in 2015 and subsequently at Hotel Les Trois Rois (Basel).

At Museum Tinguely it will be available to museum visitors during the day during the renovation of Bistro «Chez Jeannot», and can be booked privately in the evening.

Courtesy Dieter Roth Estate and Hauser & Wirth.

Reserve an exclusive evening event at the Roth Bar!

Reserve your exclusive event at the Roth Bar!

Drinks, food, guided tours of the museum and the exhibition on request,

for groups from 20 to 40 people.

Contact: T. +41 61 681 93 20 or infos@tinguely.notexisting@nodomain.comch

 

The Roth Bar is run by the team of Bistro «Chez Jeannot»

>>

The sense of taste is traditionally said to be triggered by direct physical contact and sensory stimulation. Experienced directly with mouth and tongue, it literally gives us a ‘taste’ of the sensuousness of the world we inhabit. Many questions relating to the anatomy of taste and how it actually works remain unanswered even today. The truth is we know very little about the specific properties of the various chemical substances that function as codes for different gustatory sensations. What is not in doubt is that our sense
of taste is a highly developed sensory channel. Scientists in recent years have been able to prove that in addition to the five basic tastes – sweet, salty, sour, bitter and savory (umami) – we also possess receptors that react to fat and water.
As vast as the range of flavours that we can differentiate is, our ability to describe them and to put them into words is very limited.
The emotions, memories and associations evoked by taste are both subjective and culturally determined and hence liable to change over time. While one particular taste might delight us, another might equally well disgust us, even conjuring up images of putrefaction. There is far more to taste than culinary experience alone.

«Amuse-bouche
Taste of Art »

3. exhibition in the series on sensory perceptions in art

 

Our exhibition Amuse-bouche. The Taste of Art to be shown from 19 February to 17 May 2020, will explore our sense of taste both as a fascinating aspect of our multisensory experience of the world and as scope for aesthetic perception. It will also break with standard museum practice by stimulating more than just the visitor’s sense of sight.

 

>>Programme

@G: Nevin Aladağ
Traces, 2015

13 June - 17 September 2017

Three-channel HD video installation, color, sound, 6’03’’

Traces, Nevin Aladağ’s video installation of 2015, was created in Stuttgart, the city in which she grew up. It makes use of musical instruments such as those also used by local musicians and buskers to fill the city – its playgrounds, popular sights, and all those central locations where people meet and do business – with music. The orchestra in this piece, however, consists not of human players, but of movables and of the texture and structure of the city, whose movement and interaction, steered in part by chance, generate music and sound. The absent, yet somehow present body conveys not only the solidity of the city’s architecture, but also the ephemerality and the fluidity, as well as the connectedness of sound and music, making for a carefully choreographed, visual and musical composition.

Aladağ (b. 1972) spent her childhood and youth in Stuttgart. She completed her study of sculpture at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts in 2000 and now lives and works in Berlin. She combines her exploration of cultural identities and forms of expression and of the public space as a social and political domain with a special interest in dance and music in order to produce multi-layered works in a wide range of media.

@G

@G est un format de présentation pour des œuvres d’artistes sélectionnées par le Musée Tinguely.

@G: Roth Bar
au Musée Tinguely (Bâle, 2019)

par Dieter Roth/Björn Roth/Oddur Roth/Einar Roth/Bjarni Grimsson

 

Jusqu’en décembre 2019 le Musée Tinguely vous invite à prendre place au Roth Bar

Conçus par Dieter Roth et son fils Björn au début des années 1980, les Bars sont des installations dynamiques et évolutives qui représentent une constante dans la pratique intergénérationnelle des Roth.

Composé de matériaux de récupération, le bar constitue un motif central dans l’œuvre de Dieter Roth. Depuis 2005, le Roth Bar a été présenté et exploité dans divers foires et salons,  la dernière fois à Zurich en 2015 et puis à l’hôtel Les Trois Rois (Bâle).

Au Musée Tinguely, le bar est ouvert pendant à tous les publics pendant la durée des travaux de renovation du bistro  «Chez Jeannot». Par ailleurs, profitez de l'occasion de réserver une soirée en exclusivité.

Courtesy Dieter Roth Estate and Hauser & Wirth.

Réservez une soirée en exclusivité au Roth Bar!

Réservez une soirée en exclusivité au Roth Bar

Boissons, nourriture et, sur demande, visite à travers le musée et l’exposition,
pour des groupes de 20 à 40 personnes.
Contact : T. +41 61 681 93 20 ou infos@tinguely.notexisting@nodomain.comch

Le Roth Bar est géré par l'équipe du Bistro | Restaurant «Chez Jeannot»

>>

On dit traditionnellement que le sens du goût est déclenché par le contact physique direct et la stimulation sensorielle. Expérimenté directement par la bouche et la langue, il nous donne littéralement un goût de la sensualité du monde que nous habitons. De nombreuses questions relatives à l’anatomie du goût et à son fonctionnement restent sans réponse jusqu’à aujourd’hui, en ce début de XXI e siècle. Nous savons en effet peu de choses sur
les propriétés spécifiques des substances chimiques qui définissent les codes de nos différentes sensations gustatives. Une chose est sûre, notre sens du goût est un canal sensoriel très développé. Ces dernières années, les scientifiques ont pu prouver qu’en plus des cinq goûts de base – sucré, salé, aigre, amer et umami –, nous possédons également des récepteurs qui réagissent aux graisses mais aussi à l’eau.
La palette des arômes dont nous avons le goût est immense, mais nos possibilités de les formuler, de les mettre en mots sont très limitées.
Les expériences gustatives évoquent subjectivement et culturellement des souvenirs, émotions et associations très diverses, qui varient en outre avec les changements historiques. Un certain arôme peut plaire ou dégoûter et évoquer des images de répugnance et de decomposition. Le sens du goût ne relève pas que de l’expérience culinaire.

«Amuse-bouche
Le goût de l’art »

3ème exposition de la série sur les perceptions sensorielles dans l'art

 

Notre exposition Amuse-bouche – Le goût de l’art, prévue du 19 février au 17 mai 2020, explorera le sens du goût, à la fois dans le cadre de notre appréhension synesthétique du monde et comme espace de perception esthétique. Elle mettra à l’honneur le sens du goût et son côté fascinant, qui est à la fois partie de notre appréhension synesthétique du monde et possibilité de perception esthétique, et elle bousculera la pratique muséale
habituelle qui sollicite avant tout la vue des visiteurs.

 

>>Le programme

@G: Nevin Aladağ
Traces, 2015

13 juin - 17 septembre 2017

Installation vidéo HD trois canaux, couleur, son, 6 min 3 sec

L’installation vidéo Traces de Nevin Aladağ a vu le jour en 2015 à Stuttgart, la ville où a grandi l’artiste. Celle-ci utilise le même type d’instruments de musique que les musiciens (de rue) locaux, afin de faire résonner l’espace urbain – squares, buts de balades, principaux lieux de rencontres et de commerce. Toutefois, son orchestre ne se compose pas d’individus, mais de mobilier urbain, des textures et structures de la ville qui commandent le mouvement et l’interaction de façon aléatoire pour créer de la musique et des sons. Ce que l’architecture urbaine a de figé dialogue avec ce qui est éphémère et fluide, mais aussi avec ce que le son et la musique ont de liant – corps absent et pourtant présent donnant une composition visuelle et musicale minutieusement chorégraphiée.

Aladağ (née en 1972) a passé son enfance et sa jeunesse à Stuttgart. En 2000, elle achève ses études de sculpture aux Beaux-Arts de Munich. Elle vit et travaille aujourd’hui à Berlin. Son intérêt porte sur les identités culturelles et formes d’expression en rapport avec l’espace urbain, social et politique, mais aussi, plus particulièrement, sur la danse et la musique, qu’elle associe en des œuvres ouvertes puisant dans des médias variés et offrant des lectures multiples.