Max Ernst. In the Garden of Nymph Ancolie

12 September 2007 – 27 January 2008

The artist Max Ernst was born in Brühl near Cologne in 1891 and died in Paris in 1976. The exhibition in Basel assembles around 150 of his works, some of which, on loan from international museums and galleries as well as private collectors, have rarely, and in certain cases never before, been shown in public.

This will therefore be the first comprehensive overview of the multifaceted œuvre of this painter, collagist and sculptor to be held in Switzerland since several decades. Throughout his life, Ernst was interested in exploring big issues – from Eros and Thanatos to the unconscious, the origins and metamorphoses of nature to their appropriation and co-option by man.

Ernst’s genius resided in his adaptation and transformation of existing artistic techniques, to which he added completely new ones such as collage, grattage, frottage and decalcomania. By using these as a vehicle, and by referring repeatedly to his own body of work, he not only questioned, but revolutionised the art world with more lasting effect than almost any other twentieth century artist.
>> Further reading

«Blumen für Anita» („Flowers for Anita“)

17 August – 2 December 2007

In honour of Anita Neugebauer and 30 years Gallery ‚photo art basel’.
Book presentation and exhibition vernissage on August 16, 2007, 6:00 p.m.
>> Further reading

The Atelier Alfred Hofkunst

16 May – 5 August 2007

From May 16 through August 5, 2007, the Museum Tinguely is presenting an exhibition dedicated to the Swiss artist Alfred Hofkunst (1942-2004).

The artist/graphic artist Hofkunst did not master his field only but many others as well. Thus, the exhibition is more than a simple «homage» and aims to reveal the multiple talents of an artist that could only be grasped by a visit to his atelier. These astounding works are full of humour and even laughter. Here is an opportunity to re-discover an oeuvre that encompassed hyperrealist drawings of light bulbs and shutters, but included also the artistic production of garbage bags.
>> Further reading

The International Situationist : 1957 – 1972
In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni

4 April – 5 August 2007

The Museum Tinguely presents the most extensive exhibition hitherto on the Situationist International that was founded on July 28, 1957. On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of its foundation, 400 exhibits will illustrate this last important avant-garde movement that counted 72 artists among its members, with sections in Germany, Holland, America, North Africa and elsewhere, rescuing it from oblivion.
>> Further reading

Kurt Wyss – Encounters

14 February – 29 April 2007

After his training as a photographer in Fribourg and Berne and a few years freelancing, the Basel photographer Kurt Wyss (*Basel, 1936) was since the mid-Sixties photographic editor of the National-Zeitung and subsequently, until he retired, editor and photographer of the Basler Zeitung.

As a newspaper reporter, Kurt Wyss photographed ordinary daily occurrences as well as unusual events. But next to his activity as a press photographer, he manifested a great interest for the world of the arts: his photographs of artists eg. Jean Dubuffet and Jean Tinguely and writers are shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions. His photographic chronicles on various subjects, amongst them migration in Switzerland, are published in a quantity of books and anthologies.

The exhibition at the Museum Tinguely presents a survey of Kurt Wyss’s work.
>> Further reading

Max Ernst. Dans le jardin de Nymphe Ancolie

12 septembre 2007 – 27 janvier 2008

L’artiste Max Ernst, né en 1891 à Brühl, près de Cologne, est mort en 1976 à Paris. L’exposition à Bâle rassemble quelque 150 de ses œuvres provenant de musées internationaux, de galeries et de collections privées, et dont certaines jusqu’ici ont été rarement – voire jamais – présentées en public.
Pour la première fois depuis des décennies, cette exposition offre à nouveau en Suisse un vaste panorama de l’œuvre protéiforme de cet artiste – tout à la fois peintre, concepteur de collages et sculpteur. Sa vie durant, Max Ernst a traité des grands thèmes – Eros, Thanatos, l’inconscient ou l’origine et la métamorphose de la nature –, en même temps que de la prise de possession et de l’appropriation de celle-ci par l’homme.
En pratiquant avec génie la transformation de techniques artistiques déjà connues et en recourant à des formes d’expression entièrement nouvelles – comme le collage, le grattage, le frottage et la décalcomanie –, tout en faisant référence à sa propre œuvre, Max Ernst a interrogé et révolutionné durablement le monde de l’art comme pratiquement aucun autre artiste du 20e siècle ne l’a fait.
>> En savoir plus

«Blumen für Anita» (« Des fleurs pour Anita »)

17 août – 2 décembre 2007

Une hommage à Anita Neugebauer et 30 ans de la Galerie ‚photo art basel’.
Présentation du livre et vernissage de l’exposition le 16 août 2007, 18 h
>> En savoir plus

L’atelier Alfred Hofkunst

16 mai – 5 août 2007

Du 16 mai au 5 août 2007, le Musée Tinguely consacre une exposition à l’artiste suisse Alfred Hofkunst (1942-2004).

L’artiste-graphiste Hofkunst n’était pas un maître dans son domaine seulement mais bien dans plusieurs domaines. Ainsi, l’exposition va-t-elle au-delà du cadre habituel d’un «hommage» afin de présenter les divers talents d’un artiste que l’on ne pouvait saisir globalement que par une visite de son atelier. L’humour, voire le rire, habite ces créations époustouflantes. Voilà une occasion de redécouvrir un œuvre qui s’étend des dessins hyperréalistes d’ampoules électriques et de stores jusqu’à la production artistique de sac à poubelles.
>> En savoir plus

L’Internationale Situationniste : 1957 – 1972
In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni

4 avril – 5 août 2007

Le Musée Tinguely présente pour la première fois une exposition extensive consacrée à L’internationale Situationniste qui fut fondée le 28 juillet 1957. Pour célébrer les 50 ans de sa fondation, environ 400 œuvres arracheront à l’oubli et illustreront ce dernier grand mouvement d’avant-garde composé de 72 artistes et avec des sections en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Amérique, en Afrique du Nord et ailleurs.

>> En savoir plus

Kurt Wyss – Rencontres

14 février – 29 avril 2007

Après ses années d’apprentissage à Fribourg et à Berne, suivies de quelques années en tant que photographe indépendant, le photographe bâlois Kurt Wyss (*Bâle, 1936) occupa depuis le milieu des années soixante le poste de chef de la rédaction photographique à la National-Zeitung, et par la suite, jusqu’à sa retraite, celui d’éditeur et photographe de la Basler Zeitung.

Reporter de journal, Kurt Wyss photographia le quotidien mais aussi l’insolite. Et à côté de son activité de photographe de presse il manifesta un grand intérêt pour le monde des arts : ses photos de divers artistes, dont Jean Dubufet et Jean Tinguely, et écrivains sont présentées dans de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives. Ses chroniques photographiques sur des thèmes variées, par exemple la migration en Suisse, sont publiées dans maints livres et recueils.

L’exposition au Musée Tinguely présente une vue d’ensemble sur l’œuvre de Kurt Wyss.
>> En savoir plus