Max Ernst. In the Garden of Nymph Ancolie

12 September 2007 – 27 January 2008

The artist Max Ernst was born in Brühl near Cologne in 1891 and died in Paris in 1976. The exhibition in Basel assembles around 150 of his works, some of which, on loan from international museums and galleries as well as private collectors, have rarely, and in certain cases never before, been shown in public.

This will therefore be the first comprehensive overview of the multifaceted œuvre of this painter, collagist and sculptor to be held in Switzerland since several decades. Throughout his life, Ernst was interested in exploring big issues – from Eros and Thanatos to the unconscious, the origins and metamorphoses of nature to their appropriation and co-option by man.

Ernst’s genius resided in his adaptation and transformation of existing artistic techniques, to which he added completely new ones such as collage, grattage, frottage and decalcomania. By using these as a vehicle, and by referring repeatedly to his own body of work, he not only questioned, but revolutionised the art world with more lasting effect than almost any other twentieth century artist.
>> Further reading

«Blumen für Anita» („Flowers for Anita“)

17 August – 2 December 2007

In honour of Anita Neugebauer and 30 years Gallery ‚photo art basel’.
Book presentation and exhibition vernissage on August 16, 2007, 6:00 p.m.
>> Further reading

The Atelier Alfred Hofkunst

16 May – 5 August 2007

From May 16 through August 5, 2007, the Museum Tinguely is presenting an exhibition dedicated to the Swiss artist Alfred Hofkunst (1942-2004).

The artist/graphic artist Hofkunst did not master his field only but many others as well. Thus, the exhibition is more than a simple «homage» and aims to reveal the multiple talents of an artist that could only be grasped by a visit to his atelier. These astounding works are full of humour and even laughter. Here is an opportunity to re-discover an oeuvre that encompassed hyperrealist drawings of light bulbs and shutters, but included also the artistic production of garbage bags.
>> Further reading

The International Situationist : 1957 – 1972
In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni

4 April – 5 August 2007

The Museum Tinguely presents the most extensive exhibition hitherto on the Situationist International that was founded on July 28, 1957. On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of its foundation, 400 exhibits will illustrate this last important avant-garde movement that counted 72 artists among its members, with sections in Germany, Holland, America, North Africa and elsewhere, rescuing it from oblivion.
>> Further reading

Kurt Wyss – Encounters

14 February – 29 April 2007

After his training as a photographer in Fribourg and Berne and a few years freelancing, the Basel photographer Kurt Wyss (*Basel, 1936) was since the mid-Sixties photographic editor of the National-Zeitung and subsequently, until he retired, editor and photographer of the Basler Zeitung.

As a newspaper reporter, Kurt Wyss photographed ordinary daily occurrences as well as unusual events. But next to his activity as a press photographer, he manifested a great interest for the world of the arts: his photographs of artists eg. Jean Dubuffet and Jean Tinguely and writers are shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions. His photographic chronicles on various subjects, amongst them migration in Switzerland, are published in a quantity of books and anthologies.

The exhibition at the Museum Tinguely presents a survey of Kurt Wyss’s work.
>> Further reading

Max Ernst. Im Garten der Nymphe Ancolie

12. September 2007 – 27. Januar 2008

Die Ausstellung in Basel versammelt rund 150 Werke aus internationalen Museen, Galerien und Privatbesitz, darunter auch bislang sehr selten oder nie gezeigte Arbeiten des 1891 in Brühl bei Köln geborenen und 1976 in Paris verstorbenen Künstlers Max Ernst.
Seit mehreren Jahrzehnten ermöglicht sie in der Schweiz erstmals wieder einen umfangreichen Überblick auf das facettenreiche Werk des Malers, Collagenkünstlers und Bildhauers. Zeitlebens beschäftigte sich Ernst mit den grossen Themen wie Eros, Thanatos, dem Unbewussten sowie mit dem Ursprung und der Metamorphose der Natur und auch der Besetzung und Vereinnahmung derselben durch den Menschen.
Mit genialen Um- und Verwandlungen bereits bekannter künstlerischer Techniken und völlig neuartigen Gestaltungsformen wie beispielsweise der Collage, Grattage, Frottage und Décalcomanies sowie dem Rückbezug auf sein eigenes Werk hinterfragte und revolutionierte Max Ernst wie kaum ein anderer Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts die Kunstwelt nachhaltig.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

«Blumen für Anita»

17. August – 2. Dezember 2007

Eine Hommage an Anita Neugebauer und 30 Jahre Galerie ‚photo art basel’.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Das Atelier Alfred Hofkunst

16. Mai – 5. August 2007

Dem Schweizer Künstler Alfred Hofkunst (1942 - 2004) wird vom 16. Mai bis 5. August 2007 eine Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely gewidmet.

Der Zeichner Hofkunst war nicht ein Meister seines Fachs, sondern sehr vieler Fächer. So sprengt die Ausstellung den Rahmen einer üblichen «Hommage», um die unterschiedlichen Talente eines Künstlers zu zeigen, die in ihrer Gesamtheit wohl nur in seinem Atelier zu erleben waren. Zwischen atemberaubenden Werken blitzt Humor auf oder schallt Lachen. Und es gilt ein Werk wieder zu entdecken, das von hyper-realistischen Zeichnungen von Glühbirnen und Rollläden bis hin zur Produktion von künstlerisch gestalteten Abfallsäcken reicht.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Die Situationistische Internationale : 1957 – 1972
In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni

4. April – 5. August 2007

Das Museum Tinguely zeigt die bislang grösste Ausstellung zur Situationistischen Internationale, die am 28. Juli 1957 gegründet wurde. Pünktlich zu ihrem 50. Geburtstag werden 400 Exponate dieser letzten grossen Avantgarde-Bewegung mit 72 Künstlern und Sektionen in Deutschland, Holland, Amerika, Nordafrika und anderswo dem Vergessen entrissen.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Kurt Wyss – Begegnungen

14. Februar – 29. April 2007

Nach seiner Fotografenlehre in Fribourg und Bern und einigen Jahren als freier Fotograf, war der Basler Fotograf, Kurt Wyss (*Basel, 1936) seit Mitte der Sechziger Jahren Leiter der Bildredaktion der National-Zeitung, und anschliessend bis zu seiner Pensionierung Redaktor und Fotograf der Basler Zeitung.

Als Zeitungsreporter fotografierte Kurt Wyss Alltägliches und Aussergewöhnliches. Aber neben seiner Tätigkeit als Pressefotograf zeigte er ein grosses Interesse für die Welt der Künstler: Zahlreiche Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zeigen seine Fotos von diversen Künstlern, u.a. Jean Dubuffet und Jean Tinguely, und Schriftstellern. In Büchern und Sammelbänden erscheinen seine Fotochroniken zu verschiedenen Themenbereichen, so z.B. die Migration in der Schweiz.

Die Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely präsentiert eine Übersicht über das Schaffen von Kurt Wyss.
>> Lesen Sie mehr