Tatlin. a new art for a new world

6 June – 14 October 2012

With masterpieces principally from Moscow and St Petersburg, this exhibition focuses on the leading figure in the Russian avant-garde: Vladimir Tatlin (1885-1953). With his counter-reliefs Tatlin burst the borders of painting. With his revolutionary model for a giant tower, he effected a synthesis of architecture, visual arts, and social utopias. Finally, with his flying machine Letatlin, he expressed the dreams of a collectively regulated society.
>> Further reading

Kienholz
The signs of the Times

 22 February – 13 May 2012
An exhibition mounted by the Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt, in cooperation with the Museum Tinguely, Basel

The oeuvre created by the American concept and object artist Edward Kienholz (1927–1994) from the mid-1950s onwards is strongly polarizing and rebellious in character. Central to his work, which from 1972 was executed in collaboration with his wife Nancy Reddin Kienholz, are religion, war, death, sex and the degenerate sides of society. 
>>Further reading

Installation at Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely, 2012 photo: B. Matthiessen
Vera Isler at Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely 2012, photo: B. Matthiessen

Vera Isler
Face to Face II

1 February – 6 May 2012
In co-operation with Museum der Moderne, Salzburg (Austria)

The most notable characteristics of the portraits in Vera Isler’s Face to Face series are their intensity and their naturalness. Described by the artist as “portraits for me alone”, they were created without assistance, without artificial light and thus without distraction. As documents of Vera Isler’s encounters with various artists, they capture very personal feelings and states of mind with “heartfelt and wordless discretion”.
>>Further reading

Tatlin. neue Kunst für eine neue Welt

6. Juni – 14. Oktober 2012

Mit Meisterwerken vorwiegend aus Moskau und St. Petersburg präsentiert die Vladimir Tatlin (1885-1953) gewidmete Einzelschau eine der Leitfiguren der russischen Avantgarde. In seinen Konterreliefs hat Tatlin die Grenzen der Malerei gesprengt. Mit dem revolutionären Modell für einen gigantischen Turm verwirklichte er eine Synthese von Architektur, bildender Kunst und sozialer Utopien. Den individuellen Träumen einer kollektiv normierten Gesellschaft verlieh er schliesslich mit dem Flugapparat Letatlin Ausdruck.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Kienholz
Die Zeichen der Zeit

22. Februar – 13. Mai 2012
Eine Ausstellung der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt in Kooperation mit dem Museum Tinguely Basel

Der amerikanische Konzept- und Objektkünstler Edward Kienholz (1927–1994) schuf seit Mitte der 1950er-Jahre ein rebellisches und polarisierendes Oeuvre. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit, die er ab 1972 gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Nancy Reddin Kienholz realisierte, standen Religion, Krieg, Tod, Sex und die abgründigen Seiten der Gesellschaft. 
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Installationsbild im Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely, 2012 Foto: Bettina Matthiessen
Vera Isler Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely (c) Museum Tinguely 2012, Foto: Bettina Matthiessen

Vera Isler. Face to Face II

 1. Februar – 6. Mai 2012
Eine Kooperation mit dem Museum der Moderne, Salzburg

Vera Islers Porträts der „Face to Face“-Serie zeichnen sich durch Direktheit und Natürlichkeit aus. Es sind, wie die Künstlerin betont, „Porträts für mich allein“, die ohne Assistenz, ohne Kunstlicht und entsprechend ohne Ablenkung entstanden sind. Sie dokumentieren ihre Begegnungen mit Künstlern und Künstlerinnen, die in "herzlicher Schweigsamkeit" stets sehr persönliche Befindlichkeiten festhalten. 
>> Lesen Sie mehr