Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

Eva Aeppli. Vive la vie – vive la mort

6 June – 1 November 2015

Museum Tinguely, Basel commemorates the artist Eva Aeppli, who passed away on May 4, 2015, with a presentation of works and photos. Aeppli, who grew up in Basel, created from the 1950s an oeuvre that is characterized by great intensity, and in which she traced the depths of the human psyche. Her creations are charcoal drawings, large-format paintings, fabric figures, and bronze heads, along with joint sculptures with Jean Tinguely, with whom she went to Paris in 1952 and to whom she was married until 1961. Aeppli resided from the 1950s onward in France, ultimately in Honfleur (Normandy), where she passed away shortly after her 90th birthday. Museum Tinguely is showing, from June 6 until November 1, 2015, two large-format paintings, a group of fabric figures, nine bronze heads, and numerous photographs by the artist.
>> Further reading

Mauricio Kagel. Two-Man-Orchestra

9 – 13 September 2015

The premiere concert at Museum Tinguely in 2011 was followed by concerts at Cologne (Kunst-Station Sankt Peter), Buenos Aires (Teatro Colón), Rosario (Centro Cultural) at recently at Gelsenkirchen (MIR, Musiktheater im Revier). The tour will now end at Museum Tinguely and from September 9 until September 13 you can enjoy the last opportunities to experience this unique concert.
>> Further reading

Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.

10 June – 6 September 2015

The sound, light and media installations by Haroon Mirza appeal to our sense of vision as well as our sense of hearing and create unique immersive experiences. His mostly site-specific installations also present a multi-layered dialogue with other artists and between the materials themselves which include audio equipment, LEDs, solar panels, found footage and works by other artists. The largest Mirza exhibition to date will include existing work as well as several new creations, thus showing Mirza's work in all its diversity. As an exploration of the theoretical question: how far a solo exhibition is inherently also always a group exhibition, 'Haroon Mirza/hrm 199 Ltd.' focuses on the collaborative practices of the artist and the various forms of his co-operation.
>> Further reading

Belle Haleine – The Scent of Art

11 February – 17 May 2015

How does art smell? What happens when our nose suddenly plays the principal role in the experiencing of art? For the first time, the exhibition places the sense of smell at the focus of our aesthetic perception. Scents evoke emotions, memories and associations that are subjectively and culturally shaped to varying degrees. A certain scent attracts us or repels us. The use of olfactory stimuli in art often occurs subversively and breaks many taboos. Odors provoke. Internationally renowned artists make use of this circumstance and in doing so deal with the big issues of our present day and society. The exhibition shows works and installations by, among others, M. Duchamp, D. Roth, E. Ruscha, V. Soares, S. Tolaas. A scent cinema and a diverse interdisciplinary supporting program complete the show.
>> Further reading

Wir nutzen Cookies (von Drittanbietern) zu Funktions-, Analyse- und Werbezwecken. Hier können AGB und Cookie-Richtlinien eingesehen werden.

 

Eva Aeppli. Vive la vie – vive la mort

6. Juni – 1. November 2015

Das Museum Tinguely, Basel gedenkt der Künstlerin Eva Aeppli, die am 4. Mai 2015 verstorben ist, mit einer Präsentation von Werken und Fotos. Aeppli, in Basel aufgewachsen, schuf seit den 1950er Jahren ein Werk, das von grosser Intensität geprägt ist und in dem sie den Tiefen der menschlichen Psyche nachspürte. Es entstanden Kohlezeichnungen, grossformatige Gemälde, Stofffiguren und Bronzeköpfe sowie gemeinsame Skulpturen mit Jean Tinguely, mit dem sie 1952 nach Paris ging und bis 1961 verheiratet war. Aeppli wohnte seit den 1950er Jahren in Frankreich, zuletzt in Honfleur (Normandie), wo sie kurz nach ihrem 90. Geburtstag verstorben ist. Das Museum Tinguely zeigt vom 6. Juni bis 1. November 2015 zwei grossformatige Gemälde, eine Gruppe von Stofffiguren, neun Bronzeköpfe und zahlreiche Fotografien der Künstlerin.

>> Lesen Sie mehr

Mauricio Kagel. Zwei-Mann-Orchester

9. September – 13. September 2015

Nach den Premierenaufführungen im Museum Tinguely gastierte das Zwei-Mann-Orchester in Köln (Kunst-Station Sankt Peter), Buenos Aires (Teatro Colón), Rosario (Centro Cultural) und zuletzt in Gelsenkirchen (MIR, Musiktheater im Revier). Anfang September wird das Stück nun im Museum Tinguely zum letzten Mal als Abschluss der Konzerttournee zu erleben sein.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.

10. Juni – 6. September 2015

Haroon Mirzas Sound-, Licht- und Medieninstallationen sprechen den Sehsinn wie das Gehör an und schaffen unvergleichbare, immersive Ausstellungserlebnisse. Seinen meist ortsspezifischen Installationen ist ein vielschichtiger Dialog mit dem verarbeiteten Material eingeschrieben, das von Audiogeräten, LEDs und Solar Panels bis hin zu Found Footage und Arbeiten anderer Künstler reicht. Die bisher grösste Ausstellung präsentiert mit existierenden und mehreren neu konzipierten Werken Mirzas Schaffen in grosser Breite. Ausgehend von der theoretischen Fragestellung, inwiefern eine Einzelausstellung zugleich immer auch eine Gruppenausstellung darstellt, rückt ‚Haroon Mirza/hrm199 Ltd.‘ die kollaborativen Praktiken des Künstlers ins Zentrum und präsentiert unterschiedliche Formen der Zusammenarbeit.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Belle Haleine – Der Duft der Kunst

11. Februar – 17. Mai 2015

Wie riecht Kunst? Was geschieht, wenn unsere Nase plötzlich die Hauptrolle spielt beim Erleben von Kunst? Die Ausstellung stellt zum ersten Mal den Geruchssinn ins Zentrum unserer ästhetischen Wahrnehmung. Düfte evozieren subjektiv und kulturell unterschiedlich geprägte Emotionen, Erinnerungen und Assoziationen. Ein bestimmter Duft zieht uns an oder stösst uns ab. Der Einsatz von olfaktorischen Stimuli in der Kunst geschieht oft subversiv und bricht mit vielen Tabus. Gerüche provozieren. Diesen Umstand machen sich international bekannte Künstler zu Nutze und setzen sich dabei mit den grossen Fragen unserer heutigen Zeit und Gesellschaft auseinander. Die Ausstellung zeigt Werke und Installationen u.a. von M. Duchamp, D. Roth, E. Ruscha, V. Soares, S. Tolaas. Ein Duftkino und ein vielfältiges interdisziplinäres Rahmenprogramm ergänzen die Schau.
>> Lesen Sie mehr