Metamatic Reloaded
New art projects in dialogue with Tinguely's drawing machines

23 October 2013 – 26 January 2014

The exhibition „METAMATIC Reloaded“ is the result of an international call for entries issued by the Dutch Métamatic Research Initiative (MRI) in 2009. Artists were called on to tackle, from today’s perspective, the topic and concept of Jean Tinguely’s drawing machines, called Méta-Matics which are among his most important groups of work and inventions. 10 newly created works by Marina Abramović, Ranjit Bhatnagar, John Bock, Olaf Breuning, Thomas Hirschhorn, Aleksandra Hirszfeld, Jon Kessler, Pors & Rao, João Simões & Brigitte Zieger.
>> Further reading

Zilvinas Kempinas. Slow Motion

5 June – 22 September 2013

The works of the Lithuanian artist Zilvinas Kempinas are not only kinetic but also minimalistic. Now a resident of New York, Kempinas uses the simplest of means to create complex and atmospheric room situations of great beauty. His installations play with air and lightness – the reliefs based on time and chance. In the large single exhibition devoted to Kempinas at the Museum Tinguely, his work will in part be shown in rooms of its own and partly in dialogue with works by Jean Tinguely.
>> Further reading
>> Installation "Kakashi" at Kloster Schoenthal

Jean Tinguely, Study for an End of the World No. 2, (Filmstill), Las Vegas 1962

Tinguely@Tinguely
A new look at Jean Tinguely's work

7 November 2012 – 30 September 2013

When the Museum Tinguely was opened in October 1996, it already possessed the world’s largest collection of Jean Tinguely’s artistic work. In the past sixteen years the collection has grown considerably, making an updated museum catalogue an urgent imperative. The new trilingual catalogue is to provide a comprehensive survey of the artist and his life, and of the museum’s collection and documentary archive. The publication will be accompanied by an exhibition of the Tinguely Collection, the first for a considerable time, spread over the entire display area. 20 years after Tinguely’s death, the new presentation will also reflect a revised view of his oeuvre. This new perspective will be enriched with an extended educational programme, in order to present the Collection in a new light for the upcoming generation.
>> Further reading

Les mille lieux de l'Art. Photographies by Ad Petersen

 27 February – 26 May 2013

Ad Petersen (b. 1931) was from 1960 to 1990 curator at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. During this period he captured on photograph his encounters and collaborations with numerous international artists (including Christo, Duchamp, Fontana, de Saint Phalle, Kienholz, Oldenburg, Raetz, Rauschenberg, Tinguely and many others). His sensitive portraits and other photographs offer extraordinary insights both into the work and also into the private sphere of the artists concerned. This photographic material is complemented by works of art, letters and other documents that provide a record of the often life-long friendships between this fine photographer and exhibition curator and the artists with whom he worked.

Jean Tinguely and Willem Sandberg on the occasion of the opening of a Tinguely retrospective at Palais des Beaux Arts, Brussels, 1982 (c) Foto: Ad Petersen

Kuttlebutzer

23 January – 14 April 2013

Jean Tinguely always had a particular fondness for the Carnival celebrations of the city of Basel, where he spent his youth and childhood, attending the highly animated three-day on several occasions. In 1972 he first participated actively joining the “Kuttlebutzer Clique”. This group in fact had been famous since the 1950s for avant-garde costumes and props created for the parade by artists and graphic designers. By carrying on this tradition, Tinguely and the other members set new artistic standards for the “Basler Fasnacht”. The Museum Tinguely’ is exhibiting designs, props, masks (“Larven”) and associated documents with the “Kuttlebutzer” and thus offering a special picture of the development of this largest of all Switzerland’s popular festivities.
>> Further details

METAMATIC Reloaded
Neue Kunstprojekte im Dialog mit Tinguelys Zeichenmaschinen

23. Oktober 2013 – 26.Januar 2014

Die Ausstellung «METAMATIC Reloaded» ist das Ergebnis eines internationalen Call for Entries, den die niederländische Métamatic Research Initiative (MRI) 2009 lanciert hat. Künstler waren aufgerufen, sich mit der Idee von Jean Tinguelys Méta-Matics auseinander zu setzen. Diese Zeichenmaschinen sind eine seiner wichtigsten Erfindungen. Präsentiert werden 10 neu geschaffene Arbeiten von Marina Abramović, Ranjit Bhatnagar, John Bock, Olaf Breuning, Thomas Hirschhorn, Aleksandra Hirszfeld, Jon Kessler, Pors & Rao, João Simões & Brigitte Zieger.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Zilvinas Kempinas. Slow Motion

5. Juni – 22. September 2013

Die Werke des in New York lebenden litauischen Künstlers Zilvinas Kempinas sind ebenso minima-listisch wie kinetisch. Er schafft mit einfachsten Mitteln komplexe und atmosphärische Raumsituationen von grosser Schönheit, die Installationen spielen mit Luft und Leichtigkeit, Reliefs mit Zeit und Zufall. Die grosse Einzelausstellung im Museum Tinguely entfaltet sich sowohl in eigenen Räumen als auch im Dialog mit Werken Tinguelys.
>> Lesen Sie mehr
>> Kempinas im Kloster Schoenthal

Jean Tinguely, Study for an End of the World No. 2 (Filmstill), Las Vegas, 1962

Tinguely@Tinguely
Ein neuer Blick auf Jean Tinguelys Werk

 7. November 2012 – 30. September 2013

Vor 16 Jahren, im Oktober 1996, wurde das Museum Tinguely eröffnet. Seither ist die grösste Sammlung von Arbeiten Jean Tinguelys noch weiter gewachsen. Dies ist der Grund, weshalb ein neuer Sammlungskatalog in drei Sprachen erscheint. Er liefert einen umfassenden Überblick über den Künstler, die Sammlung und ihre Dokumentation. Gleichzeitig werden seine Werke erstmals seit langer Zeit wieder die gesamte Ausstellungsfläche einnehmen. 20 Jahre nach dem Tod des Künstlers wird mit einer neuen Präsentation auch eine revidierte Sicht auf seine künstlerische Arbeit vorgestellt. So wird mit einem frischen Blick und einem erweiterten Vermittlungsangebot Tinguelys Oeuvre für eine neue Generation greifbar werden.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Les mille lieux de l'art. Fotografien von Ad Petersen

 27. Februar – 26. Mai 2013

Ad Petersen (geb. 1931) war von 1960 bis 1990 Kurator am Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam. In dieser Zeit hielt er die Begegnungen mit vielen Künstlern mit der Kamera fest (darunter Christo, Duchamp, Fontana, de Saint Phalle, Kienholz, Oldenburg, Raetz, Rauschenberg, Tinguely). Es ent-standen feinfühlige Porträts und Dokumentationen, die einen aussergewöhnlichen Einblick in die Arbeit sowie das private Umfeld der Künstler gewähren. Ergänzt werden die Fotos durch Kunst-werke, Briefe und Dokumente, die von einer oft lebenslangen Freundschaft des Ausstellungsmachers und Fotografen mit den Künstlern zeugen.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Jean Tinguely und Willem Sandberg an der Eröffnung der Tinguely-Retrospektive im Palais des Beaux Arts, Brüssel, 1982 (c) Foto: Ad Petersen, Amsterdam

Kuttlebutzer

23. Januar – 14. April 2013

Jean Tinguely hegte seit seiner Kindheit und Jugend, die er in Basel verbrachte, eine stete Zuneigung zur Basler Fasnacht. Mehrmals nahm er an diesem dreitägigen traditionellen Treiben teil. 1972 schloss er sich der "Kuttlebutzer-Clique“ an, die seit den 1950er Jahren bekannt für ihre avantgardistische Gestaltung durch Künstler und Grafiker war. Zusammen mit seinen Freunden setzte er künstlerisch neue Massstäbe in der Basler Fasnacht. Das Museum Tinguely zeigt Entwürfe, Requisiten, Larven und Kostüme der Kuttlebutzer.
>> Lesen Sie mehr