Third-party cookies are used on this website for research, advertising  and statistical purposes. Please have a look at our Cookie and Privacy Policy.

 

rarrk – John Mawurndjul :
Journey through Time in Northern Australia
The Museum der Kulturen Basel guest of the Museum Tinguely

21. September 2005 – 29. January 2006

In a joint project with the Museum der Kulturen Basel, the Museum Tinguely presents the first retrospective exhibition of the Australian bark painter John Mawurndjul in a European art museum.

John Mawurndjul’s artistic development from the beginning of his career in the 1970s until the present day refutes the widespread prejudice in Europe that denies ‘Indigenous’ artists the right to a personified individuality and the capacity to innovate outside the boundaries of the authority of their community. He further demonstrates in his paintings that dealing actively with traditional sources can be a fruitful experience if one is capable of understanding tradition other than as an anonymous and inalterable corset. Our «Journey through Time in Northern Australia» takes us from the rock paintings, some of which hark back 30 000 years and mark the Aborigines’ sacred sites, down to the present day.
>> Further reading

Moving Parts – Forms of the Kinetic

9 March – 26 June 2005

The exhibition jointly conceived and organised by the Kunsthaus Graz and the Museum Tinguely Basel asks questions about the particular nature of machinery and the link between man and machines at the beginning of the 21st century. At the same time, the exhibition will investigate the importance of kinetic art for contemporary artists.
>> Further reading

René Burri
Photographs of Jean Tinguely & Co

21 January – 22 May 2005

The world renowned Magnum photographer René Burri (born in 1933), whose legendary portrait of Che Guevara has been a photographic icon for many years, caught a number of important artists of the 20th century through his lens.
>> Further reading

Wir nutzen Cookies (von Drittanbietern) zu Funktions-, Analyse- und Werbezwecken. Hier können AGB und Cookie-Richtlinien eingesehen werden.

 

rarrk – John Mawurndjul: Zeitreise in Nordaustralien
Das Museum der Kulturen Basel zu Gast im Museum Tinguely

21. September 2005 – 29. Januar 2006

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum der Kulturen Basel präsentiert das Museum Tinguely die erste Retrospektive des australischen Rindenmalers John Mawurndjul in einem europäischen Kunstmuseum.

John Mawurndjuls Werkentwicklung vom Beginn in den 1970er Jahren bis heute widerlegt das in Europa tief verankerte Vorurteil, das ‚indigenen’ Künstlern eine personifizierte Individualität und das Vermögen zur Innovation jenseits einer kollektiven Autorität abspricht. Darüber hinaus zeigt er mit seinem Werk auch, wie befruchtend der aktive Umgang mit der Überlieferung sich auswirken kann, sobald es gelingt, die Tradition nicht als anonymes und unveränderbares Korsett zu verstehen. Unsere «Zeitreise in Nord-Australien» führt von den über 30 000 jährigen Felsbildern, welche die sakralen Stätten der Aborigines bezeichnen, in die Gegenwart.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Bewegliche Teile – Formen des Kinetischen

9. März – 26. Juni 2005

Die vom Kunsthaus Graz und dem Museum Tinguely Basel gemeinsam konzipierte und ausgerichtete Ausstellung stellt die Frage nach der Eigenart der Maschine und der Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Maschine am Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts. Gleicher- massen untersucht die Schau die Aktualität der kinetischen Kunst für zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen und Künstler.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

René Burri
Fotografien von Jean Tinguely & Co

21. Januar – 22. Mai 2005

Der weltbekannte Magnumfotograf René Burri (geb. 1933), dessen legendäres Porträt von Che Guevara längst zur Fotoikone geworden ist, hat viele grosse Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts mit seiner Kamera begleitet.
>> Lesen Sie mehr