Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Filmstill © 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich

Rebecca Horn, White Body Fan, 1972, Filmstill © 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich

Rebecca Horn. Body Fantasies

5 June – 22 September 2019

 

From June 2019, Museum Tinguely and Centre Pompidou-Metz will present two parallel exhibitions devoted to the artist Rebecca Horn. In this way, the two institutions offer complementary insights into the work of an artist who is among the most extraordinary of her generation and some of whose creative output has yet to be discovered. The «Theatre of Metamorphoses» show in Metz explores the diverse theme of transformation from animist, surrealist and mechanistic perspectives, placing special emphasis on the role of film as a matrix within Horn’s work. In the «Body Fantasies» show in Basel, which combines early performative works and later kinetic sculpture to highlight lines of development within her oeuvre, the focus is on transformation processes of body and machine.

>> Learn more

Lois Weinberger, Untitled, 2014, mummified cat, 18th century, photographic work, 60 x 90 cm © Courtesy by the artist, Photo: Paris Tsitsos

Lois Weinberger, Untitled, 2014, mummified cat, 18th century, photographic work, 60 x 90 cm © Courtesy by the artist, Photo: Paris Tsitsos

Lois Weinberger – Debris Field

17 April – 1 September 2019

 

Lois Weinberger’s artistic research pioneered the linking of art, society, and nature. For documenta X in 1997, he planted a disused railway track with neophytes as a metaphor for processes of migration in our time. Debris Field is a poetico-archaeological research project, presenting ordinary and significant relics from several centuries of history found at his parents’ farm, part of Stams Abbey (Tyrol). They include a mummified cat with apotropaic powers (the ability to ward off evil) and single shoes from dead people preserved in an underfloor space.

 

>> Learn more

Cyprien Gaillard
Roots Canal

16 February – 5 May 2019

 

With his films, photographs, and sculptures, Cyprien Gaillard (b. 1980, Paris) describes the imminence of a transformation and evokes the perpetual destruction, preservation, and reconstruction of urban spaces. He films archaeological ruins invaded by nature and exotic birds flying over a mutating European city, or describes the slow erosion of modernist utopias by recording the demolition of major architectural ensembles. Different realities and temporalities interlock in his work, giving rise to a harmonious ensemble of a singular beauty.

 

>> Learn more

Conference on Taste and Food Culture

5 – 6 April 2019

 

In preparation for its forthcoming exhibition «Amuse-bouche. The Taste of Art» (19 February to 17 May 2020), the Museum Tinguely is hosting an interdisciplinary symposium on the subject to be held on 5 and 6 April 2019.
Speakers of international renown from academia and the practice will provide exciting insights into the many different fields impacted by taste. The symposium will offer a veritable smorgasbord of perspectives on taste and food culture, ranging from physiology, biochemistry, food sensory science, psychology, anthropology and linguistics to literature, cultural studies, art history, the art of cooking and the fine arts. In addition to the papers, there will be some highly unusual tastings, including a dessert with iron ore prepared by the Michelin-starred Swiss chef Stefan Wiesner, a new project by the pioneer of Eat Art Daniel Spoerri, and an edible artistic intervention by the young Portuguese artist Marisa Benjamim.

 

>> Programme

>> More information

Cyprien Gaillard, Captain Blood’s Moorhen, 2013  78,7 x 94 x 111,8 cm © Cyprien Gaillard; Courtesy the artist, Sprüth Magers and Gladstone Gallery

Rebecca Horn, Weisser Körperfächer, 1972, Filmstill © 2019: Rebecca Horn/ProLitteris, Zürich

Rebecca Horn. Körperphantasien

5. Juni – 22. September 2019

 

Das Museum Tinguely und das Centre Pompidou-Metz präsentieren ab Juni 2019 gleichzeitig zwei der Künstlerin Rebecca Horn gewidmete Ausstellungen. Damit bieten die beiden Institutionen ergänzende Einblicke in das Schaffen einer Künstlerin, die zu den außergewöhnlichsten ihrer Generation gehört, und deren kreatives Schaffen in Teilen noch zu entdecken ist. Die Schau «Theater der Metamorphosen» in Metz erkundet das vielfältige Thema der Verwandlung unter animistischen, surrealistischen und mechanistischen Gesichtspunkten und hebt insbesondere die Rolle des Films, wahre Bühne ihrer Skulpturen, als Matrix ihres Schaffens hervor. In der Präsentation «Körperphantasien» in Basel, die frühe performative Arbeiten und spätere kinetische Skulpturen kombiniert und so werkimmanente Entwicklungslinien betont, stehen die Transformationsprozesse von Körper und Maschine im Mittelpunkt.

>> Lesen Sie mehr

Lois Weinberger, Ohne Titel, 2014, Katzenmumie, 18. Jahrhundert, Fotoarbeit, 60 x 90 cm © Courtesy by the artist, Foto: Paris Tsitsos

Lois Weinberger, Ohne Titel, 2014, Katzenmumie, 18. Jahrhundert, Fotoarbeit, 60 x 90 cm
© Courtesy by the artist, Foto: Paris Tsitsos

Lois Weinberger – Debris Field

17. April – 1. September 2019

 

Lois Weinbergers künstlerische Recherchen stehen pionierhaft für die Verbindung von Kunst, Gesellschaft und Natur. Zur documenta X bepflanzte er 1997 ein stillgelegtes Bahngeleis mit Neophyten, als Metapher für Migrationsprozesse unserer Zeit. Debris Field ist eine poetisch-archäologische Forschungsarbeit. Sie stellt unscheinbare und bedeutende Relikte aus der mehrere Jahrhunderte zurückreichenden Geschichte des dem Stift Stams (Tirol) verbundenen Bauernhofes seiner Eltern vor. Dazu gehören etwa eine Katzenmumie mit apotropäischer (unheilabwendender) Kraft, oder im Zwischenboden verwahrte Einzelschuhe von Verstorbenen.

 

>> Lesen Sie mehr

Cyprien Gaillard
Roots Canal

16. Februar – 5. Mai 2019

 

Mit seinen Filmen, Fotografien und Skulpturen beleuchtet Cyprien Gaillard (*1980, Paris) unmittelbar bevorstehende Transformationen und verweist auf die fortwährenden Prozesse von Zerstörung, Bewahrung oder Wiederaufbau im urbanen Raum. Er filmt von der Natur zurückeroberte archäologische Ruinen oder den Flug exotischer Vögel über einer europäischen Stadt im Wandel und dokumentiert die schleichende Erosion modernistischer Utopien, insbesondere in Gestalt der Vernichtung grosser Gebäudekomplexe. Sein Schaffen dreht sich um das Aufeinanderprallen von unterschiedlichen Realitäten und Zeitebenen, aus dem letztlich ein harmonisches Ganzes von eigentümlicher Schönheit hervorgeht.

 

>> Lesen Sie mehr

Interdisziplinäres Symposium zu Geschmack und Esskultur

5. – 6. April 2019

 

Im Rahmen der Vorbereitung zur Ausstellung «Amuse-bouche. Der Geschmack der Kunst» (19. Februar bis 17. Mai 2020) findet am 5. und 6. April 2019 im Museum Tinguely ein interdisziplinäres Symposium statt.

International namhafte Referenten aus Wissenschaft und Praxis geben spannende Einblicke in die zahlreichen Wirkungsfelder des Geschmacklichen. Das Symposium wird unterschiedliche Perspektiven aus Physiologie und Biochemie, Psychologie, Ethnologie, Lebensmittelsensorik, Linguistik, Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte, Kochkunst sowie bildender Kunst rund um das Thema «Geschmack und Esskultur» zusammen bringen. Neben Vorträgen wird es aussergewöhnliche Degustationen geben, u.a. ein Dessert mit Eisenerz des Schweizer Sternekochs Stefan Wiesner, ein neues Projekt von Daniel Spoerri, dem Pionier der Eat-Art, sowie eine essbare künstlerische Intervention der jungen Künstlerin Marisa Benjamim.

>> Lesen Sie mehr/Tagesprogramm