Robert Rauschenberg. Gluts

14 October 2009 – 17 January 2010

To the end of the 1980s dates the exceptional group of works «Gluts», assemblages of painted and varnished pieces of scrap metal. The exhibition presents a selection of 40 works.
>> Further reading

Robert Rauschenberg – Jean Tinguely. Collaborations

14 October 2009 – 17 January 2010

Important loans as well as film and photographic documents illustrate the fascinating and multi-facetted collaboration of the early 1960s.
>> Further reading

Paul Wiedmer – Fire and Iron

16 September 2009 – 24 January 2010

Paul Wiedmer has worked as a sculptor since the Seventies. Fire and iron are his main means of expression since the beginning; he has installed fire-museums, built fire dragons, organized autos -da- fé.
>> Futher reading

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Armour & Evening Dress

13 May – 30 August 2009

In 1991, the exhibition “Dresses like Armour” was shown in the Neue Hofburg in Vienna. The memorable and dazzling presentation of splendid Viennese state armour paired with evening dresses by the couturier Roberto Capucci has prompted the present project to revive within a larger context the glorious profession of the armourer. On the basis of pieces of armour mainly from the armoury in Graz, flanked by contemporary designers’ dresses and ‘war props‘ by Tinguely, Spoerri and Luginbühl, the exhibition is a celebration and parody of military history (from 1315 to 1991) and haute couture that is worn as a “second skin”. From the days of the prestigious profession of the armourer down to the entourage of the declared amateur locksmith Tinguely the development leads to the central issue of the “hinge”: the malleability of iron.
>> Further reading

Chinetik

11 February – 19 April 2009
A collaboration between Museum Tinguely and Littmann Kulturprojekte

Bicycles were still a status symbol in Chinese society in the 1970s. The bicycle enabled its owner to engage in business. Tricycles were common as mobile kitchens, for the transport of coal, as workshops or for garbage removal.
The bicycle is disappearing from today’s Chinese cities and with its disappearance an entire part of street culture is lost. As a symbol of change, bicycles are being relegated to museums.
>> Further reading

Scapa Memories. A Collection

4 February – 19 April 2009

The draughtsman and cartoonist, editor and art educator Ted Scapa is also a passionate collector. He collects works not only of his friend Jean Tinguely but also large-scale prints and drawings from Tapiès to Immendorf, and especially art of non-European peoples. The result is a colourful hotchpotch which is totally in keeping with the untamed creativity and sparkling energy of the artist and man Scapa.
>> Further reading

Robert Rauschenberg. Gluts

14. Oktober 2009 – 17. Januar 2010

Ende der 80er-Jahre entstand die herausragende Werkgruppe der «Gluts», Assemblagen aus farbig lackierten Altmetallteilen. Gezeigt wird eine Auswahl von 40 Werken.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Robert Rauschenberg – Jean Tinguely. Collaborations

14. Oktober 2009 – 17. Januar 2010

Die Ausstellung zeichnet mit wichtigen Leihgaben, Film- und Bilddokumenten die faszinierende und vielfältige Zusammenarbeit Anfang der 60er-Jahre nach.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Paul Wiedmer – Feuer und Eisen

16. September 2009 – 24. Januar 2010

Paul Wiedmer arbeitet seit den Siebzigerjahren als Bildhauer. Feuer und Eisen sind seit Beginn seine eigentlichen Ausdrucksmittel: Er hat Feuermuseen eingerichtet, Feuerdrachen gebaut, Autodafés durchgeführt.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Foto Fabi Alberto Mauro

Rüstung & Robe

13. Mai – 30. August 2009

1991 fand in der Neuen Hofburg in Wien die Ausstellung «Roben wie Rüstungen» statt, mit Wiener Prunkrüstungen und Festgewändern des Couturiers Roberto Capucci. Stark beeindruckt von dieser Präsentation führt unser Projekt die Ehrenrettung des hohen Handwerks der «Plattnerei» in grösserem Rahmen weiter. Ausgehend vom Hauptharst, Harnischen aus dem Grazer Zeughaus, flankiert von zeitgenössischen Roben und ‘Kriegsgerät‘ von Tinguely, Spoerri und Luginbühl, wird Militärgeschichte (ab 1315 bis 1991) und Mode in Form einer «zweiten Haut» zelebriert wie parodiert. Im Umfeld des erklärten Amateurschlossers Tinguely entfaltet sich das grandiose Kunsthandwerk der «Plattnerei» bis hin zu jenem «Scharnier», das den gemeinsamen Angelpunkt bildet: die Beweglichkeit des Eisens.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Chinetik

11. Februar – 19. April 2009

Eine Zusammenarbeit des Museum Tinguely mit Littmann Kulturprojekte
Noch in den 1970er Jahren galten Fahrräder in der chinesischen Gesellschaft als Statussymbole. Wer ein Fahrrad besass, verfügte über die Möglichkeit, am Handel teilzunehmen. Dreirädrige Fahrräder waren mobile Garküche, Kohlentransporter, Werkstatt oder dienten der Kehrrichtabfuhr.
Heute verschwindet das Fahrrad aus den chinesischen Metropolen und mit ihm seine Kultur aus dem Strassenbild. Fahrräder werden zum Symbol der Veränderung, zu musealen Objekten.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Scapa Memories. Eine Sammlung

4. Februar – 19. April 2009

Der Zeichner und Cartoonist, Verleger und Kunstvermittler Ted Scapa ist auch ein leidenschaftlicher Sammler. Nicht allein von Werken seines Freundes Jean Tinguely, sondern grossformatiger Künstlergraphik von Tapiès bis Immendorf und vor allem Kunst der «ausser-europäischen Völker». Ein buntes Sammelsurium also, das ganz der ungebändigten Kreativität des Künstlers und Menschen Scapa entspricht und mit Energie weitersprüht.
>> Lesen Sie mehr