The Aeppli Donation

19 September 2008 – 1 February 2009

This autumn, the Museum Tinguely presents the largest donation ever made to the museum since its inauguration 12 years ago: the donation by Christoph Aeppli comprises all 43 bronze heads by Eva Aeppli, as well as works by Niki de Saint Phalle and an important early relief by Jean Tinguely.
>> Further reading

Mattomatt – Chess pieces by Jürg Hassler

22 October 2008 – 18 January 2009

Jürg Hassler constructs chessboards and chessmen; he thereby reinvents the old game of chess and gives it back the ludic component that he finds missing in today’s chess game. The basic interest of the game lies in “having no obligation to prove anything to anyone, giving free rein to the pleasure of the game, not in order to win but in order to reinvent ever renewed forms of dialectic contrasts, giving priority to form over colour.”
>> Further reading

p.s. Pavel Schmidt

28 May – 14 September 2008

At once painter, draughtsman and an installation artist, Pavel Schmidt documents in this exhibition his interest in the manner in which our society appropriates for itself masterpieces of western art in order to transform them into misleading copies and objects of consumption. The exhibition presents the artist’s sculptures, paintings, drawings and installation. Some of his monumental works refer directly to the architecture of and to the art within the Museum Tinguely – Niki de Saint Phalle in- as well as outdoors.
>> Further reading

So long Sepp

24 May – 10 August 2008
The exhibition is being prolonged by one week, until Sunday, August 17, 2008.

Josef/Sepp/Sep(p)i Imhof was for many years Jean Tinguely’s assistant and since the inauguration of the Museum Tinguely, in charge, as Chief Conservator, of the upkeep as well as installation and de-installation of the Swiss artist’s machine-sculptures, as well as numerous other duties. In May, Sepp is leaving to enjoy his well-earned retirement.
As a parting present he has “carte blanche” to have a showing of his choice in the Museum.
>> Further reading

Art Machines – Machine Art

5 March – 29 June 2008

In general, we assume that artists make art – but what happens, if machines produce art? Do artists then become engineers? What is the meaning of the apparent withdrawal of artists from the creative act and what consequences does this have for the artwork’s originality and uniqueness? And what is an artwork in the first place: the machine, the product, or the act of its production? What role is granted the viewer in the course of production: interaction or exclusion? Starting with Jean Tinguely’s drawing machines from the 1950s, the exhibition jointly organized by the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt and the Museum Tinguely will present art machines from different ages and contexts through to the present day.
>> Further reading

Hannah Höch – All Beginnings are DADA!

16 January – 4 May 2008

The exhibition on Hannah Höch (1889–1978), developed in cooperation with the Berlinische Galerie, residence of the Hannah Höch-Archives, and for the venue at Basel enriched by important loans from German and Swiss collections, is the first comprehensive showing in Switzerland of the work of the sole female member of the Berlin Dada group: It assembles the early collages and paintings of her Dada-period right after the First World War, the works of the 1930s and 40s, long kept secret because of their encoded criticism of the Nazi dictatorship, and the less known, late works that manifestly anticipated Pop Art by their motifs and bright colours, and were Höch’s reaction to scientific discoveries of the day.
>> Further reading

Aeppli schenkt Aeppli

19. September 2008 – 1. Februar 2009

Das Museum Tinguely präsentiert in diesem Herbst die grösste Schenkung, die seit der Eröffnung des Museums vor 12 Jahren Eingang in die Sammlung finden durfte: Die Schenkung von Christoph Aeppli umfasst sämtliche 43 Bronze-Köpfe von Eva Aeppli, dazu kommen noch Werke von Niki de Saint Phalle und ein bedeutendes frühes Relief von Jean Tinguely.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Mattomatt –
Schachobjekte von Jürg Hassler

22. Oktober 2008 – 18. Januar 2009

Jürg Hassler baut Schachbretter und die dazu gehörenden Figuren; er erfindet damit das alte Spiel neu. Er gibt ihm das Spielerische zurück, das er im heutigen Schach vermisst. Was ihn interessiert, ist «kein Zwang, irgend jemandem etwas beweisen zu müssen, ein rein lustvoller Ausfluss der Spielfreude, nicht um zu gewinnen, sondern um immer neue Formen der Kontrastdialektik zu erfinden, mit einem eindeutigen Vorrang der Form über die Farbe.»
>> Lesen Sie mehr

p.s. Pavel Schmidt

28. Mai – 14. September 2008

Maler, Zeichner und Installationskünstler zugleich, Pavel Schmidt interessiert sich für die Weise, in der sich unsere Gesellschaft die Meisterwerke der abendländischen Kunst aneignet, um sie in verfälschende Kopien und Konsumobjekte zu verwandeln. Die Ausstellung zeigt Skulpturen, Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Installationen des Künstlers. Einige seiner monumentalen Werke beziehen sich direkt auf die Architektur und die Werke des Museum Tinguely – Niki de Saint Phalle im Innen- und Aussenraum.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Tschau Sepp

24. Mai – 17. August 2008

Josef/Sepp/Sep(p)i Imhof, der langjährige Assistent von Jean Tinguely, der seit der Eröffnung des Museum Tinguely neben vielen anderen Aufgaben für den restauratorischen Unterhalt und den fachmännischen Auf- und Abbau der Maschinenplastiken des Schweizer Eisenplastikers zuständig ist, geht im Mai diesen Jahres in seinen wohlverdienten Ruhestand.
Zum Abschied erhält er «carte blanche» und zeigt im Museum, was ihm gefällt.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Kunstmaschinen – Maschinenkunst

5. März – 29. Juni 2008

Allgemein gehen wir davon aus, dass Künstler Kunst machen – was aber passiert, wenn Maschinen Kunst produzieren? Werden aus Künstlern dann Ingenieure? Was bedeutet der scheinbare Rückzug des Künstlers aus dem kreativen Akt und welche Konsequenzen resultieren daraus für Originalität und Einzigartigkeit des Kunstwerks? Was ist dann überhaupt das Kunstwerk: die Maschine, das Produkt oder der Akt seiner Herstellung? Welche Rolle wird dem Betrachter bei der Produktion eingeräumt: Interaktion oder Exklusion? Beginnend mit Jean Tinguelys Zeichenmaschinen aus den 1950er Jahren werden in der von der Kunsthalle Schirn, Frankfurt, und dem Museum Tinguely gemeinsam konzipierten Ausstellung Kunstmaschinen aus verschiedenen Zeitkontexten. Das Museum Tinguely wird zu einer Produktionshalle.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Hannah Höch – Aller Anfang ist DADA!

16. Januar – 4. Mai 2008

Die mit der Berlinischen Galerie, dem Sitz des Hannah Höch-Archivs, konzipierte und für Basel um wichtige Leihgaben aus deutschen und Schweizer Sammlungen bereicherte Schau zu Hannah Höch (1889–1978) zeigt in der Schweiz erstmals umfassend das Werk der einzigen Mitstreiterin von Dada Berlin: Sie reicht von den frühen Collagen und Gemälden aus der Dada-Zeit unmittelbar nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg über die im Geheimen entstandenen Werke der 1930er und 40er Jahre mit ihrer verschlüsselten Kritik an der Herrschaft der Nationalsozialisten bis zu den wenig bekannten späten Arbeiten, die in Motiven und Farbgebung die Pop Art vorwegzunehmen scheinen und in den Höch auf neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse reagiert.
>> Lesen Sie mehr