Robert Breer

26 October 2011 – 29 January 2012
In cooperation with BALTIC, Centre of Contemporary Art, Gateshead (GB)

With a rare independency of the art scene, Breer developed a diversified and highly original oeuvre from the 1950s on. His High-Speed-films and Super-SloMo sculptures go against the grain of the artistic landscape at the time of their creation. It is through our present-day viewing habits that they develop their full explosive potential. The exhibition will contribute to the re-discovery of this important "Artists’ artist".
>> Further reading

Car fetish. I drive therefore I am.

8 June – 9 October 2011

The exhibition presents a diversified overview of the automobile in its role as most important cultural asset of the 20th century and its depiction in art, starting with the Futurists’ frenzy for speed, its mediatisation in Pop-Art and down to our present-day motorized cultural transfers.
>> Further reading



 

Arman

16 February – 15 May 2011

In collaboration with the Centre Pompidou, Paris


Arman was, with Tinguely, one of the founding members of the „Nouveaux Réalistes“. This exhibition offers a retrospective-like coverage, with a comprehensive survey of Arman’s oeuvre and presents amongst others his major work groups the “Poubelles”, the “Accumulations” and the “Colères”.
>> Further reading

Mauricio Kagel. Two-Man-Orchestra

6 April – 15 May 2011

In cooperation with the Paul Sacher-Foundation and the Music Academy Basel

The third version of the "Zwei-Mann-Orchester für zwei Ein-Mann-Orchester", an orchestra machine, displayed at the Museum Tinguely in its most recent execution, will serve for concert performances during the run of the exhibition. Comprehensive source and performance materials will provide an historical backdrop.
For further information >> Zwei-Mann-Orchester

Robert Breer

26. Oktober 2011 – 29. Januar 2012
Eine Kooperation mit dem BALTIC, Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead (GB)

In seltener Unabhängigkeit vom Kunstbetrieb entwickelte Breer seit den 1950er-Jahren ein vielfältiges und eigenwilliges Oeuvre. Seine High-Speed-Filme und Super-SloMo-Skulpturen standen in ihrer Entstehungszeit quer in der Kunstlandschaft. Erst mit unseren heutigen Sehgewohnheiten entfalten sie ihre volle Brisanz. Die Ausstellung will zur Wiederentdeckung dieses wichtigen "Artists’ artist" beitragen.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Fetisch Auto. Ich fahre, also bin ich.

8. Juni – 9. Oktober 2011

Die Ausstellung zeigt einen facettenreichen Überblick über das Auto als wichtigstes Kulturgut des 20. Jahrhunderts und dessen Darstellung in der Kunst, angefangen beim futuristischen Geschwindigkeitsrausch über die Medialisierung der Pop-Art bis hin zum motorisierten Kulturtransfer der Gegenwart.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

ARMAN

16. Februar – 15. Mai 2011

Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre Pompidou, Paris


Arman gehörte wie Tinguely zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der "Nouveaux Réalistes". Die retrospektiv angelegte Ausstellung bietet einen umfassenden Überblick über Armans Schaffen und stellt unter anderen seine wichtigen Werkgruppen der "Poubelles", "Accumulations" und "Colères" vor.
>> Lesen Sie mehr

Mauricio Kagel. Zwei-Mann-Orchester

6. April – 15. Mai 2011

Eine Kooperation mit der Paul Sacher-Stiftung und der Musikakademie Basel

Die dritte Fassung des "Zwei-Mann-Orchesters für zwei Ein-Mann-Orchester" wird als neu erbaute Orchestermaschine im Museum Tinguely installiert und während der Ausstellungsdauer mit Konzerten bespielt. Begleitend dokumentiert ist sie mit umfangreichem Quellen- und Aufführungsmaterial.
Nähere Infos unter

>> zweimannorchester.net