#1: ALEXANDER CALDER, Mobile, o. J., Aluminium, bemalt, 80 × 90 cm, Fondazione Marguerite Arp, Locarno. #2: JEAN TINGUELY, Sculpture méta-mécanique automobile, 1954, Centre Pompidou, Paris, MNAM. Collection Centre Pompidou, Dist. RMN/Droits résérvés. #3: MAN RAY, Emak Bakia, FR 1926, Filmstill, © Man Ray – Cinédoc 2010. #4: LÁSCLÓ MOHOLY-NAGY, Ein Lichtspiel schwarz-weiss-grau, GER 1930/32, Filmstill, © 2010 The Moholy-Nagy Foundation, Inc.

Le Mouvement. From Cinema to Kinetics

10 February – 16 May 2010


The Museum Tinguely is restaging «Le Mouvement», the landmark exhibition held at the Galerie Denise René in Paris from April 6 to 30, 1955. Le Manifeste jaune, the leaflet produced for the exhibition, postulated «Colour – Light – Motion – Time» as the basic principles for the further development of kinetic sculpture. Motion as a means of expression was also the common element in all the pieces in the show.
That said, the reliefs and sculptures in «Le Mouvement» varied considerably in their treatment of motion: Yaacov Agam, Jesús Rafael Soto and Victor Vasarely exhibited objects that unfolded as the viewer moved around the gallery. Other works by, again Yaacov Agam, but also Pol Bury, Robert Jacobsen and Richard Mortensen could be altered by active intervention on the part of the viewer. The show further included motor-driven, self-propelling works by Jean Tinguely. Finally, Robert Breer edited a flip book to accompany the exhibition.
«Le Mouvement» frameworked not only these new artistic positions – for some artists the show marked the beginning of their international career –, but also included works such as Marcel Duchamp's Rotary Demisphere and Alexander Calder's mobiles, which served as links to the historical kinetic experiments of the early avant-garde.
Besides emphasising movement as an extension of artistic expression in the classical disciplines, the manifesto distributed for the exhibition at the Galerie Denise René focused in particular on cinema. In the 1950s, «Cinéma», cinematography, literally «writing up of motion», was (again) viewed as a field of artistic endeavour that carried the promise of new impulses, possibilities and opportunities. Although films were not part of the actual exhibition, the accompanying programme included screenings of films ranging from the classics of German and French abstract experimental film of the 1920s, such as works by Viking Eggeling and Henri Chomette, to films by Oskar Fischinger, Len Lye and Norman McLaren as well as contemporary productions by Breer, Jacobsen and Mortensen.

The 1955 film programme serves as a bridge to the second part of the exhibition at the Museum Tinguely, which looks at the sources of kinetic art. This approach, unlike most studies on kineticism, takes as its starting point not the development in the field of sculpture, but in the filmic medium.
In the mid-1920s, the abstract experimental film – also called «abstract music for the eye» – was regarded as a new art form with great potential. The screening of «The Absolute Film» at the UFA Theatre in Berlin on May 3, 1925 is held to be the culmination of this development. In addition to works by Chomette, Fernand Léger/Dudley Murphy, Hans Richter and Walther Ruttmann, the screening included Eggeling's pioneering work Symphonie diagonale.
Besides these features, the programme brings together films by Marcel Duchamp, László Moholy-Nagy and Man Ray with preparatory studies and related works from other disciplines. The concentrated presentation of films, dating from the 1920s to the 1950s, underscores the cinematographic aspect of «motion drawing»: It was developed by means of sequences of drawings, photographic lighting (and shading in the case of photograms), time-dependent sculptural dynamism in light and space and a musical/optical connotation of optical/musical events; conversely, it served as an inspiration for the kinetic creations of the 1950s, which often referred explicitly to models of the 1920s.

#1: ALEXANDER CALDER, Mobile, o. J., Aluminium, bemalt, 80 × 90 cm, Fondazione Marguerite Arp, Locarno. #2: JEAN TINGUELY, Sculpture méta-mécanique automobile, 1954, Centre Pompidou, Paris, MNAM. Collection Centre Pompidou, Dist. RMN/Droits résérvés. #3: MAN RAY, Emak Bakia, FR 1926, Filmstill, © Man Ray – Cinédoc 2010. #4: LÁSCLÓ MOHOLY-NAGY, Ein Lichtspiel schwarz-weiss-grau, GER 1930/32, Filmstill, © 2010 The Moholy-Nagy Foundation, Inc.

Le Mouvement. Vom Kino zur Kinetik

10. Februar – 16. Mai 2010

Vom 6. bis 30. April 1955 fand in der Galerie Denise René in Paris die legendäre Ausstellung «Le Mouvement» statt, deren Rekonstruktion nun im Museum Tinguely zu sehen ist. Das die Ausstellung begleitende Faltblatt Le Manifeste jaune postulierte «Farbe - Licht - Bewegung - Zeit» als Grundlagen zur Weiterentwicklung der kinetischen Plastik. Bewegung als Ausdrucksmittel verband denn auch alle gezeigten Werke.

Dennoch unterschieden sich die Reliefs und Skulpturen in «Le Mouvement» deutlich in ihrem Umgang mit Bewegung: Objekte, welche sich erst durch die Bewegung des Betrachters im Raum entfalten, waren von Yaacov Agam, Jesús Rafael Soto und Victor Vasarely zu sehen. Wiederum Yaacov Agam, dann Pol Bury, Robert Jacobsen und Richard Mortensen zeigten Werke, die durch aktiven Eingriff des Betrachters veränderbar sind. Von Jean Tinguely waren Werke ausgestellt, die sich motorgetrieben selbsttätig bewegen. Schliesslich wurde anlässlich der Ausstellung auch ein Daumenkino von Robert Breer ediert.

Neben diesen jungen künstlerischen Positionen - für einige markierte die Ausstellung den Beginn ihrer internationalen Karriere - waren mit Marcel Duchamps Rotary Demisphere von 1925 und mit Mobiles von Alexander Calder Werke vertreten, welche einen Rückbezug zu kinetischen Experimenten der frühen Avantgarde lieferten.

Das anlässlich der Ausstellung der Galerie Denise René verteilte Manifest legte, neben der Betonung von Bewegung als Erweiterung der künstlerischen Sprache in den klassischen Disziplinen, auch ein besonderes Augenmerk auf das Kino: «Cinéma» – die Kinematografie, wörtlich als «Auf-Zeichnung von Bewegung» zu übersetzen, war ein Feld künstlerischer Betätigung, von dem man sich in den 1950er Jahren (wieder) neue Impulse und Möglichkeiten versprach. Zwar enthielt die Ausstellung selbst keine Filmpräsentationen, doch im Rahmenprogramm fand eine Filmvorführung statt, welche ausgehend von Klassikern des abstrakten Experimentalfilms der 1920er Jahre aus Deutschland und Frankreich, wie von Viking Eggeling und Henri Chomette, auch Filme von Oskar Fischinger, Len Lye und Norman McLaren sowie zeitgenössische Produktionen von Breer, Jacobsen und Mortensen zeigte.

Das Filmprogramm von 1955 bildet die Brücke zum zweiten Teil der Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely, in dem nach den Quellen der kinetischen Kunst gefragt wird. Dabei wird nicht, wie in den meisten Abhandlungen zur kinetischen Kunst, zuerst die Entwicklung im skulpturalen Bereich zurückverfolgt, sondern im Medium des Films.

Der abstrakte Experimentalfilm – auch als «gegenstandslose Augenmusik» bezeichnet - wurde Mitte der 1920er-Jahre als neue Gattung mit grossem Zukunftspotenzial angesehen. Die Filmvorführung 1925 im UFA-Theater in Berlin zum «Absoluten Film» gilt als eigentlicher Höhepunkt dieser Entwicklung. Schon dort wurde, neben Werken von Chomette, Fernand Léger, Dudley Murphy, Hans Richter und Walther Ruttmann, Eggelings wegweisende Symphonie diagonale gezeigt.

Neben diesen Positionen werden Filme von Marcel Duchamp, László Moholy-Nagy und Man Ray mit Vorarbeiten und verwandten Werken aus anderen Disziplinen zusammengeführt. Diese konzentrierte Präsentation von Filmen der 1920er bis 1950er Jahre unterstreicht den kinematografischen Aspekt der «Bewegungszeichnung»: Sie wurde mittels zeichnerischer Reihung, fotografischer Belichtung (und Beschattung im Falle der Fotogramme), zeitgebundener skulpturaler Dynamik in Licht und Raum und musikalischer/optischer Konnotation von optischen/musikalischen Ereignissen entwickelt und wirkte umgekehrt als Inspiration für das kinetische Schaffen der 1950er Jahre, das sich oftmals explizit auf Vorbilder aus den 1920er Jahren bezog.

Le Mouvement. Vom Kino zur Kinetik. Hrsg. Museum Tinguely. Mit Beiträgen von Roger Bordier, Robert Breer, Thomas Tode, Roland Wetzel (Broschur Dt/Eng. Ausgabe; 24 x 28 cm; 160 Seiten; ca. 50 Farbabbildungen und 40 S/W-Abbildungen. ISBN 978-3-86828-122-4. Euro 18.– / CHF 32.–)

Virtuelle Tour

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel

Foto Stefan Holenstein, Basel