RE-SET: Appropriation and Transformation in Music and Art since 1900
28 February – 13 May 2018

A joint exhibition of the Paul Sacher Foundation and the Museum Tinguely.

This interdisciplinary exhibition at the Museum Tinguely will be devoted to the multi-faceted subject of creative adaptation in 20th-century music and contemporary art. From 28 February to 13 May it will present music manuscripts and art works that adopt, recast, paraphrase or even dismantle existing works in their content, structure or conception.

The exhibition comprises two segments. Its main focus on music is divided into four sections on non-authorial arrangements, authorial arrangements, borrowings from folk music, and popular adaptations. This unique show will present 180 music manuscripts, letters, photographs, sound recordings, films and instruments from thirty-two collections preserved at the Paul Sacher Foundation, one of the most renowned research centres for music of the 20th and 21st centuries. The exhibits on display stem from composers such as Igor Stravinsky, Anton Webern, Edgard Varèse, Pierre Boulez, Luciano Berio, György Ligeti, Sofia Gubaidulina, Wolfgang Rihm, Heinz Holliger and Steve Reich. They illustrate the various aspects of creative borrowing, providing characteristic and attractive examples from key figures in the history of music, from Bach to the Beatles, and from Debussy to Disney. The variety of items on display and audio-visual documents available on a tablet convey a vivid picture of artistic adaptations in music since 1900.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bethan Huws, Forest, 2008–2009 88 bottle racks, neon piece, dimensions variable, installation view Courtesy of the artist & Galerie Tschudi, Zuoz © 2018 Bethan Huws, ProLitteris, Zürich; Photo: Stephan Rohner, St. Gallen

 

 

Bethan Huws, Forest, 2008–2009

88 bottle racks, neon piece, dimensions variable, installation view

Courtesy of the artist & Galerie Tschudi, Zuoz

© 2018 Bethan Huws, ProLitteris, Zürich; Photo: Stephan Rohner, St. Gallen

Cover of the LP record From Walt Disney’s Fantasia,  Stravinsky – The Rite of Spring, Leopold Stokowski,  Philadelphia Orchestra, Disneyland 1958 (Record collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) © 2018 Disneyland Records; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

      
 

Cover of the LP record From Walt Disney’s Fantasia,

Stravinsky – The Rite of Spring, Leopold Stokowski,

Philadelphia Orchestra, Disneyland 1958
(Record collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel)

© 2018 Disneyland Records; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

 

The art-historical prologue to the exhibition will turn the spotlight on Marcel Duchamp’s iconic notion of the readymade, which since the 1960s has made waves as never before. At issue here is the question of how Duchamp’s concept has been appropriated as an artistic strategy and how it has served as a catalyst for new works. Alongside pieces by John Baldessari, Marcel Duchamp, Hans Haacke, Sherrie Levine, and Jean Tinguely, the exhibition will also feature positions by the contemporary artists Saâdane Afif, Pierre Bismuth, and Bethan Huws.

 

The exhibition was curated by Annja Müller-Alsbach (art), Heidy Zimmermann and Simon Obert (music) and has been set up in an intensive collaboration with the Paul Sacher Foundation.

 

 

 

Music

‘Strangely different’ – Composers in dialogue with other composers

In music, as in the other arts, the study of historical models has for centuries formed part of the training through which composers learn their craft. In most cases, this involves learning from the ‘ancients’ in order to be able to do things differently, or even to improve on them. In the 20th century, too, composers frequently turned to printed compositions by their predecessors in order to study or rework them, whether they were masterpieces of music history or insider tips awaiting discovery. To quote Mauricio Kagel’s trenchant quip, ‘It may be that not every musician believes in God, but they all believe in Bach.’ RE-SET presents not only tributes, but also critical responses to Bach by Anton Webern, Igor Stravinsky, György Kurtág, Sofia Gubaidulina, and Kagel himself. In their search for new sonic universes, composers sometimes direct their gaze as far back as the Middle Ages: Harrison Birtwistle, Salvatore Sciarrino and Heinz Holliger discovered an inspiring soul-mate in Guillaume de Machaut, for example. Others were stimulated by the notorious wife-killer Carlo Gesualdo and RE-SET will demonstrate how his bold harmonic vocal writing was enlarged upon by Igor Stravinsky, Peter Eötvös, Sciarrino, and Klaus Huber. Orchestral arrangements of Arnold Schoenberg’s piano miniatures reveal how both apprentice and seasoned composers apply instrumental colours. Finally, a splendid example of a friendly turn between composers is Claude Debussy’s orchestration of Erik Satie’s Gymnopédies.
 

Definite scope for development – The potential of self-borrowing

There is a common notion that composers write one work after another, each of which is complete and self-contained; but a closer look at the process of musical creation reveals that this is not always the case, least of all in the 20th century. Composers have frequently returned to their own works, and for a wide variety of reasons. Some want to improve an earlier work in accordance with new ideas, as did Anton Webern and Edgard Varèse. One of the most active self-arrangers was Igor Stravinsky, as can be seen in The Firebird, 1910. First he created several suites for concert performance from the original ballet score; then he extracted sections from it and reworked them into bravura pieces for the violin; and finally, in 1929, he recorded a piano version of the piece so that it could be punched onto paper rolls and played on player pianos. Other composers, such as Bruno Maderna and Mauricio Kagel, took sections from earlier works and inserted them into new ones like building blocks. Finally, an unequivocally modern creative principle has emerged in the notion of the work in progress: sometimes ideas can gnaw at composers over and over again, ‘fermenting’ in their minds and informing a large number of works in different ways. Examples of this can be found in the works of Pierre Boulez, György Ligeti, and Wolfgang Rihm.
 

Primevally modern – Connections with folk music

Folk music has served composers as a source of inspiration for centuries. But in the 20th century, traditional music attained a new and greater importance as it was scrutinised by ethnomusicologists and captured on gramophone recordings. Composers discovered that folk music offered authentic, even fresh material for Modernist compositions. One of the first such composers, Béla Bartók, collected folk melodies in south-eastern Europe, not only out of scholarly interest, but also for use as the basis of his own compositions. Following in his footsteps was Sándor Veress, who emigrated to Switzerland in 1949; he, too, carried out extensive fieldwork and arranged numerous folk songs. Others turned to published collections of folk music, as did the Polish composer Witold Lutosławski in his popular Concerto for Orchestra, and Darius Milhaud and Stefan Wolpe, who discovered their roots in the songs of Eastern European Jews. After the Second World War, and even more so since the 1960s, the range has expanded far beyond Europe. Luciano Berio, in his folk songs, outlined what might be called a musical tour of the world, while Steve Reich studied African percussion in Ghana, an experience that led to his legendary cult composition Drumming. Fictitious folk music, ironically detached from banal ‘Swiss Ländler‘ and intermingled with experimental sonorities, formed the basis of Heinz Holliger’s Alb-Cher, a ‘piece for ghosts and alpinists’ written for the Spillit ensemble from the Haute Valais after a legend from that part of Switzerland.
 

Subliminally élitist – Popularisation and ennoblement

Twentieth-century composers have drawn on jazz and popular music less often than on bygone compositions or folk music. One important reason for this restraint may well be their antithetical structural principles. Whereas much 20th-century classical music dispenses with functional tonality and rhythmic regularity, these two structural features are formative in popular music. And if the musical avant-garde, especially after 1945, espoused an aesthetic of textural discontinuity, popular music clings to the basic strata of melody and accompaniment. Nonetheless, arrangements and adaptations of popular music have cropped up time and again, often producing important and highly surprising examples such as Dmitri Shostakovich’s orchestration of the Tin Pan Alley song Tea for Two, Conlon Nancarrow’s use of boogie-woogie patterns, and Louis Andriessen’s and Luciano Berio’s stylistic parodies of Beatles songs. Nor should it be forgotten that music has often been arranged for use in other media, particularly in film scores. The adaptation of Igor Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps and György Ligeti’s Atmosphères as soundtracks led to their being disseminated and popularised far more widely than they could ever have as ‘mere’ ballet or concert music.

Form left to right: dancer and choreographer George Balanchine, Igor Stravinsky, cartoonist T. Hee and Walt Disney (Igor Stravinsky Collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel

Igor Stravinskys at the Disney Studio, Hollywood, December 1939

(Collection Mauricio Kagel, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) Photo: Gisela Clausen

Mauricio Kagel, Ludwig van, Musikzimmer, 1969

Manuscript fair copy with autograph annotations (Wolfgang Rihm Collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Wolfgang Rihm, Vers une symphonie fleuve I Orchestra composition, 1992–1993/1997–1998

(Record collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) © 2018 MGM Records; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Cover ot the LP record 2001: A Space Odysse, Music from the Motion Picture Sound Track, MGM Records, 1968

Autograph fair copy (Dieter Schnebel Collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Dieter Schnebel, Contrapunctus I for voices, 1972–1973

Bartók forth person (left) next to the phonograph (Bartók Archívum, Budapest) © 2018 Bartók Archívum; Photographer unknown

Béla Bartók collecting folk melodies, 1910s

(Igor Stravinsky Collection, , Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Tamara Karsavina and Adolph Bolm, pcture postcard on the occasion of the Firebird performance, Berlin, 1911

Autograph fair copy (Igor Stravinsky Collection, Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Igor Stravinsky, Ragtime for eleven instruments ,1918

ART

Art history is per se a complex system of borrowings and repetitions of extant motifs and their simultaneous creative reworking and restaging. Art has always been copiable, in principle, yet never before in history has reproducing and reworking the incunabula of art history, to say nothing of everyday images, been as easy as it is today. The art-historical prologue to the exhibition “RE-SET” concentrates on the question of how Marcel Duchamp’s iconic idea of the readymade served as a catalyst for new works. The concept of the readymade as an existing, prefabricated, everyday object that becomes a ‘found readymade sculpture’ solely by virtue of being declared such by the artist, was first formulated by Marcel Duchamp in the early 1910s, initially as no more than a conceptual idea. The concept marked the end of all those traditional parameters that until then had defined what the creation of art actually entails: individual authorship, craftsmanship, uniqueness and with it the notion of the masterpiece, the distinction between original and copy – all these attributes were suddenly up for negotiation. These parameters were especially controversial in the 1960s, when the open work of art was emerging. Numerous artists declared the readymade principle to be the catalyst of their creativity. The concept thus underwent multiple reinterpretations, developed a life of its own, and was eventually equated with the notion of the objet trouvé.
 

The list of those artists who since then have referenced the readymade concept is very long indeed. Intended as a mind opener, our presentation will confine itself to a small but revealing selection. The exhibition begins with Marcel Duchamp himself, specifically his Boîte-en-valise, a portable miniature museum of his oeuvre, seven series of which were issued between 1941 and 1968. Sherrie Levine’s Fountain (Buddha) of 1996 and Baudrichard’s Ecstasy of 1988, like the works of German artist Hans Haacke, function rather like visual melting pots in which multiple references to the motifs and content of the works of other artists are commingled in order to bring forth something new. In a gesture as simple as it is ironic, Pierre Bismuth in Gucci Traveler’s Folding Item of 2012 alters an existing hermeneutic code and so injects an element of uncertainty into our perception and aesthetic judgment of art.
 

John Baldessari for his part homes in on the difference between repetition as act and repetition as object in a piece called Repository of 2002. Meanwhile, the interactive incorporation of different sources of inspiration and media serves Saâdane Afif as a catalyst for projects that are often interdisciplinary in approach and developed through lengthy conceptual processes. His Fountain–1917 (A collection), 2018 is being shown in its entirety here in Basel for the first time.
Alongside Bethan Huws’s installation called Forest of 2008/2009, there will be several other recent works by Welsh artist, all of which vividly attest to her intensive engagement with Marcel Duchamp.

Imitation leather, embossed gold leaf letters, pointed wood 39 x 40 x 30 cm Courtesy of the Artist and Jan Mot, Brussels © 2018 Pierre Bismuth; Photo: Courtesy Jan Mot, Brussels

Pierre Bismuth, Gucci Traveler's Folding Item, 2012

Aluminium, glass, rubber and plastic letters 100 x 75 x 4.5 cm Courtesy of the artist © 2018 Bethan Huws, ProLitteris, Zürich; Photo: Bethan Huws Studio

Bethan Huws, Untitled (The ready-made…), 1999

Antique postcard, Ditone-print (verso) 8,8 x 13,8 cm The artist and Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin © 2018 Saâdane Afif; Photo: Courtesy Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin

Saâdane Afif, Fountain – 1917 (A collection/Fribourg, 23rd July 1917), 2018

Antique postcard, Ditone-print (recto) 8,8 x 13,8 cm The artist and Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin © 2018 Saâdane Afif; Photo: Courtesy Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin

Saâdane Afif, Fountain – 1917 (A collection/Fribourg, 23rd July 1917), 2018

20 antique postcards, Ditone-print, framed 88 x 107 cm The artist and Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin © 2018 Saâdane Afif; Photo: Courtesy Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin

Saâdane Afif, Fountain – 1917 (A collection/September), 2018

Marcel Duchamp & Jean Tinguely

Tinguely had met his favorite among his artist forefathers in person in 1959 at his exhibition "les Méta - Matics de Tinguely: les sculptures qui peignent" at Galerie Iris Clert in Paris, and he met him again in 1960 in New York. An artist who had already integrated mechanics, play, and randomness into his art decades before, Duchamp fascinated Tinguely; a knowledge of his œuvre, as well as his friendship with him, proved to be highly significant for Tinguely's artistic development.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2018 Elektra; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

 

 

Cover der Langspielplatte The Baroque Beatles Book, rediscovered and edited by Joshua Rifkin,Elektra, 1965
(Phonothek Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel)
© 2018 Elektra; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

© Association Marcel Duchamp/2018, ProLitteris, Zürich;  Foto: Courtesy Galerie Ronny van de Velde, Antwerpen

 

 

Marcel Duchamp, De ou par Marcel Duchamp ou Rrose Sélavy/
La Boîte-en-valise,
1966–1971, Serie G
41 x 38.5 x 9.5 cm

© Association Marcel Duchamp/2018, ProLitteris, Zürich;
Foto: Courtesy Galerie Ronny van de Velde, Antwerpen

Concerts

Concerts during the exhibition at Museum Tinguely:


21 March 2018, 7 pm | Uri Caine, Solo on Piano

 

18 April 2018, 7 pm | XASAX Saxophone Quartet, Original & Re-Set
 

29 April 2018, 4:30 pm | Moritz Eggert, Hämmerklavier et al.

 

Cost: Museum admission ticket, no prior booking required

 

Cover of a German edition of the hit song Tea for Two, which Dmitri Schostakowitsch orchestrated, as Tahiti-Trott, in 1927 © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Cover of a German edition of the hit song Tea for Two, which Dmitri Schostakowitsch orchestrated, asTahiti-Trott, in 1927 © 2018 Paul Sacher Foundation; Photo: bildpunkt, Basel

Publications


RE-SET. Rückgriffe und Fortschreibung in der Musik seit 1900
Edited by Simon Obert and Heidy Zimmermann, 328 pages, 120 colour plates., Schott Music ISBN-Nr. 978-3-7957-9885-7 (DE), special exhibition price: CHF 35 (German)
.
>> Online sale

RE-SET: Aneignung und Fortschreibung in Musik und Kunst seit 1900
28. Februar – 13. Mai 2018

Eine Zusammenarbeit der Paul Sacher Stiftung mit dem Museum Tinguely

Die interdisziplinäre Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely widmet sich dem facettenreichen Thema der kreativen Bearbeitung in der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts sowie der Gegenwartskunst. Vom 28. Februar bis 13. Mai 2018 sind Musikhandschriften und Kunstwerke, die inhaltlich, strukturell oder konzeptuell bereits existierende Arbeiten aufgreifen, umformen, paraphrasieren oder auch demontieren, zu sehen.

Inhaltlich und räumlich teilt sich die Ausstellung in zwei Bereiche. Der Hauptfokus liegt auf dem musikalischen Teil, der sich in vier Abteilungen gliedert: Fremdbearbeitungen, Eigenbearbeitungen, Anknüpfungen an Volksmusik sowie populäre Adaptionen. In dieser einmaligen Schau sind rund 180 Musikhandschriften, Briefe, Tonaufnahmen, Instrumente sowie Bild- und Filmdokumente aus der Paul Sacher Stiftung, einem der weltweit renommiertesten Forschungszentren für die Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, zu sehen. Die Exponate stammen von so bekannten Komponisten und Interpreten wie Igor Strawinsky, Anton Webern, Edgard Varèse, Pierre Boulez, Luciano Berio, Sofia Gubaidulina, György Ligeti, Wolfgang Rihm, Heinz Holliger und Steve Reich. Sie verdeutlichen die verschiedenen Aspekte kreativer Bezugnahme in charakteristischen und attraktiven Fallbeispielen, in denen zentrale Figuren der Musikgeschichte auftreten – von Bach bis zu den Beatles, von Debussy bis Disney. Die Vielfalt der Exponate sowie die auf einem Tablet zur Verfügung gestellten Bild- und Tondokumente lassen ein lebendiges Bild der künstlerischen Bearbeitung in der Musik seit 1900 entstehen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bethan Huws, Forest, 2008–2009 88 Flaschentrockner, Neon-Objekt, Masse variabel, Installationsansicht  Courtesy of the artist & Galerie Tschudi, Zuoz © 2018 Bethan Huws, ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Stephan Rohner, St. Gallen

 

 

Bethan Huws, Forest, 2008–2009

88 Flaschentrockner, Neon-Objekt, Masse variabel, Installationsansicht
Courtesy of the artist & Galerie Tschudi, Zuoz

© 2018 Bethan Huws, ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Stephan Rohner, St. Gallen

Cover der Langspielplatte: From Walt Disney’s Fantasia,  Stravinsky – The Rite of Spring, Leopold Stokowski,  Philadelphia Orchestra, Disneyland 1958 (Phonothek Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 Disneyland Records; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

      
 

Cover der Langspielplatte: From Walt Disney’s Fantasia, 
Stravinsky – The Rite of Spring, Leopold Stokowski, 
Philadelphia Orchestra, Disneyland 1958
(Phonothek Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel)
© 2018 Disneyland Records; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel
 

Der kunsthistorische Prolog zur Ausstellung richtet den Fokus auf Marcel Duchamps ikonische Idee des Readymades, die seit den 1960er-Jahren von einer beispiellosen Welle der Rezeption erfasst worden ist. Die Frage wird aufgegriffen, wie Duchamps Konzept als künstlerische Strategie vereinnahmt wird und als Katalysator neuer Werke dient. Neben Arbeiten von John Baldessari, Marcel Duchamp, Hans Haacke, Sherrie Levine und Jean Tinguely zeigen wir aktuelle Positionen von Saâdane Afif, Pierre Bismuth und der walisischen Künstlerin Bethan Huws.
 

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Annja Müller-Alsbach (Kunst) und Heidy Zimmermann und Simon Obert (Musik).

 

 

 

Musik

Eigentümlich fremd – Komponisten im Dialog mit ihren Kollegen
Sich mit historischen Vorbildern zu beschäftigen, gehört in der Musik – wie in den anderen Künsten auch – seit Jahrhunderten zur Ausbildung des eigenen kompositorischen Handwerks. Dabei geht es meistens darum, von den «Alten» zu lernen, um es danach anders oder gar besser zu machen. Komponistinnen und Komponisten nehmen auch im 20. Jahrhundert immer wieder gedruckte Werke ihrer Vorgänger zur Hand, um sie zu studieren oder umzuarbeiten, seien es die Grossen der Musikgeschichte oder Geheimtipps, die es zu entdecken gilt. Mauricio Kagel prägte den markanten Satz: «Es mag sein, dass nicht alle Musiker an Gott glauben; an Bach jedoch alle». «RE-SET» präsentiert Reverenzen, aber auch kritische Reaktionen auf das Monument Bach von Anton Webern, Igor Strawinsky, György Kurtág, Sofia Gubaidulina wie von Kagel selbst. Auf der Suche nach neuen Klangwelten blicken Komponisten mitunter bis ins Mittelalter zurück: Harrison Birtwistle, Salvatore Sciarrino und Heinz Holliger finden in Guillaume de Machaut einen inspirierenden Kollegen. Andere lassen sich von dem als Gatinnenmörder verrufenen Carlo Gesualdo anregen; «RE-SET» zeigt, wie Igor Strawinsky, Peter Eötvos, Sciarrino und Klaus Huber dessen harmonisch kühne Vokalsätze weiterdenken. An Instrumentationen von Klavierminiaturen Arnold Schönbergs lässt sich beobachten, wie Lehrlinge und erfahrene Tonsetzer Klangfarben einsetzen. Ein prächtiges Beispiel für einen kompositorischen Freundschaftsdienst findet sich schliesslich in Claude Debussys Orchestrierung der Gymnopédies von Erik Satie.
 

Definitiv entwicklungsfähig – Das Potential der Eigenbearbeitung
Es ist zwar eine gängige Vorstellung, dass Komponisten ein Werk nach dem anderen schreiben, das jedes für sich abgeschlossen ist. Doch ein tieferer Einblick in die musikalischen Schaffensprozesse zeigt, dass dem gerade im 20. Jahrhundert keineswegs immer so war. Komponisten haben häufig auf ihre eigenen Werke zurückgegriffen, und zwar aus ganz unterschiedlichen Gründen. Mancher will ein früher geschriebenes Werk nach neuen Vorstellungen verbessern, wie es beispielsweise Anton Webern und Edgard Varèse gemacht haben. Einer der aktivsten Selbstbearbeiter ist Igor Strawinsky, was sich anschaulich an seinem Feuervogel, 1910, zeigen lässt: Aus der ursprünglich geschriebenen Ballett-Musik erstellte er mehrere Suiten für den Konzertgebrauch, dann nahm er wieder einzelne Teile heraus und arbeitete sie zu Bravourstücken für Geige um. Und 1929 spielte er selbst eine Klavier-Fassung des Stücks ein, damit es, auf Papierrollen vervielfältigt, für Selbstspielklaviere verwendet werden konnte. Andere Komponisten wie z.B. Bruno Maderna oder Mauricio Kagel greifen nur einzelne Teile aus früheren Werken heraus und setzen sie, wie Bausteine, in ein neues Werk ein. Und schliesslich liegt ein dezidiert modernes Schaffensprinzip beim sogenannten work-in-progress vor: Bestimmte Ideen können Komponisten immer wieder umtreiben, sie «gären» gleichsam innerlich und werden in einer ganzen Reihe von Werken unterschiedlich umgesetzt. Das zeigt sich etwa bei Pierre Boulez, György Ligeti oder Wolfgang Rihm.
 

Urvordenklich modern – Anbindungen an die Volksmusik
Seit Jahrhunderten ist Volksmusik eine Inspirationsquelle für Komponisten. Im
20. Jahrhundert erhält traditionelle Musik aber durch den ethnologischen Blick und durch die technische Aufzeichnungsmöglichkeit des Phonographen ein neues, starkes Gewicht. Komponisten entdecken die Volksmusik als authentisches, um nicht zu sagen frisches Material für Kompositionen im Zeichen der Moderne. Als einer der ersten sammelt Béla Bartók Volksmelodien in Südosteuropa, mit wissenschaftlicher Akribie, aber auch um sie zur Basis seiner eigenen Kompositionen zu machen. In seinen Fussstapfen betreibt auch der 1949 in die Schweiz emigrierte Sándor Veress intensive Feldforschung und arrangiert zahlreiche Volkslieder. Andere greifen indessen auf publizierte Sammlungen von Volksmusik zurück, so der Pole Witold Lutosławski in seinem populären Konzert für Orchester oder Darius Milhaud und Stefan Wolpe, die in den Liedern der Ostjuden ihre Wurzeln entdecken. Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg und erst recht seit den 1960er Jahren öffnet sich der Blick weit über Europa hinaus. Luciano Berio skizziert mit seinen Folk Songs gleichsam eine musikalische Weltreise, und Steve Reich studiert in Ghana afrikanische Trommelkunst, eine Erfahrung, aus der sein legendäres Kultstück Drumming hervorgeht. Einer fiktiven Volksmusik, die sich von trivialisierter Schweizer Ländlermusik ironisch distanziert und sich mit experimentellen Klängen mischt, begegnen wir in Heinz Holligers Alb-Chehr, einer «Geischter- und Älplermüsig» für die Oberwalliser Spillit, die eine Sage aus dem Wallis aufgreift.
 

Unterschwellig elitär – Popularisierung und Nobilitierung
Komponisten des 20. Jahrhunderts haben an Jazz und populäre Musik weniger oft angeknüpft, als sie es mit Stücken aus der Musikgeschichte oder mit Volksmusik taten. Ein gewichtiger Grund für diese Zurückhaltung mag in den gegensätzlichen Strukturprinzipien liegen: Wo die Konzertmusik des 20. Jahrhunderts zu grossen Teilen auf tonale Gebundenheit und regelmässige Rhythmik verzichtet, stellen diese für populäre Musikarten Grundpfeiler der Gestaltung dar; und wo sich in der musikalischen Avantgarde vor allem nach 1945 eine Ästhetik aufgebrochener Klangverläufe durchsetzt, hält die populäre Musik an den grundlegenden Schichten von Melodie und Begleitung fest. Dennoch kam es immer wieder zu Bearbeitungen und Adaptionen populärer Musik, die nicht selten gewichtige und höchst überraschende Beispiele hervorbrachten, so etwa, wenn Dmitri Schostakowitsch den Schlager Tea for Two instrumentiert, wenn Conlon Nancarrow sich Boogie-Woogie-Patterns zunutze macht oder Louis Andriessen und Luciano Berio Stil-Parodien von Beatles-Songs erstellen. Und nicht zu vergessen ist in diesem Zusammenhang die Bearbeitung von Musik zum Zweck ihrer medialen Verwendung, vor allem im Rahmen von Kinofilmen. Dass beispielsweise Igor Strawinskys Sacre du printemps oder György Ligetis Atmosphères für Soundtracks adaptiert wurden, brachte ihnen eine mediale Verbreitung und Popularisierung ein, die sie als Ballett- oder Konzertmusik kaum je erlangt hätten.

V.l.n.r.: Tänzer und Choreograph George Balanchine, Igor Strawinsky, der Karikaturist T. Hee und Walt Disney (Sammlung Igor Strawinsky, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel

Igor Strawinskys Besuch im Disney Studio Hollywood, Dezember 1939

(Sammlung Mauricio Kagel, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) Foto: Gisela Clausen

Mauricio Kagel, Ludwig van, Musikzimmer, 1969

Partiturreinschrift mit handschriftlichen Eintragungen (Sammlung Wolfgang Rihm, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Wolfgang Rihm, Vers une symphonie fleuve IVOrchesterkomposition, 1992–1993/1997–1998

(Phonothek, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 MGM Records; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Cover der Langspielplatte 2001: A Space Odyssey,Music from the Motion Picture Sound Track, MGM Records, 1968

Partiturreinschrift (Sammlung Dieter Schnebel, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Dieter Schnebel, Contrapunctus I für Stimmen, 1972–1973

Bartók vierter von links neben dem Phonographen (Bartók Archívum, Budapest) © 2018 Bartók Archívum; Fotograf unbekannt

Béla Bartók beim Sammeln von Volksmelodien, 1910er Jahre

(Sammlung Igor Strawinsky, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Tamara Karsavina und Adolph Bolm, Ansichtskarte anlässlich der Feuervogel-Aufführung in Berlin, 1911

Partiturreinschrift (Sammlung Igor Strawinsky, Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel) © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Igor Strawinsky, Ragtime für elf Instrumente ,1918

Kunst

Kunstgeschichte ist per se ein komplexes System von Zitaten und Wiederholungen von schon vorhandenen Motiven und deren gleichzeitiger kreativer Umformung und Neuinszenierung. Grundsätzlich war Kunst seit jeher kopierbar, doch nie waren das Reproduzieren und die Neubearbeitung von Inkunabeln der Kunstgeschichte wie auch von alltäglichen Bildwelten so einfach wie heute. Der kunsthistorische Prolog der Ausstellung «RE-SET» konzentriert sich auf die Frage, wie Marcel Duchamps ikonische Idee des Readymades als Katalysator neuer Werke dient. Der Begriff des Readymades als ein schon vorhandener, vorfabrizierter Alltagsgegenstand, der allein durch die Geste seiner Auswahl zur 'fertig vorgefundenen Skulptur' erklärt wird, war von Duchamp Anfang der 1910er-Jahre nur als konzeptuell existierende Idee formuliert worden. Exemplarisch markierte dieses Konzept das Ende aller bis dahin gültigen traditionellen Parameter des künstlerischen Schaffens: individuelle Autorenschaft, handwerkliche Könnerschaft, Einzigartigkeit und damit die Idee des Meisterwerks, die Unterscheidung von Original und Kopie, all diese Begriffe wurden radikal in Frage gestellt. In den 1960er-Jahren waren diese Parameter von höchster Brisanz auf dem Weg hin zum offenen Kunstwerk. Zahlreiche Künstler/Innen erklärten das Readymade-Prinzip zum Katalysator ihres Schaffens. Dabei wurde es mehrfach umgedeutet, verselbständigte sich und wurde schliesslich mit dem Begriff des objet trouvé gleichgesetzt.

Die Liste der Künstler und Künstlerinnen, die sich bis zur Gegenwart darauf beziehen, ist lang. Unsere Präsentation versteht sich deshalb als mind opener und zeigt eine konzentrierte Auswahl. Zu Beginn der Ausstellung steht Marcel Duchamps Boîte-en valise, ein tragbares Minimuseum seines Œuvres, das zwischen 1941 und 1968 in insgesamt sieben Serien aufgelegt wurde. Die Arbeiten von Sherrie Levine Fountain (Buddha), 1996, sowie Baudrichard’s Ecstasy, 1988, des deutschen Künstlers Hans Haacke funktionieren wie visuelle Schmelztiegel, in denen mehrere motivische und inhaltliche Verweise auf Werke anderer Künstler zu einem neuen Kunstwerk zusammenfliessen. Mit einer simplen und ironischen Geste verändert Pierre Bismuth in Gucci Traveler's Folding Item, 2012, bestehende Bedeutungscodes und verunsichert damit unsere Wahrnehmung und ästhetische Beurteilung von Kunst. Auch John Baldessari thematisiert in Repository, 2002, die Differenz von Wiederholung und Wiederholtem. Die wechselseitige Einbeziehung verschiedener Inspirationsquellen und Medien dienen bei Saâdane Afif wiederum als Katalysator seiner oft interdisziplinär angelegten Projekte, die von längeren konzeptuellen Arbeitsprozessen geprägt sind. Seine Arbeit Fontaine-1917, 2017/2018, ist erstmals vollständig in Basel zu sehen. Neben der raumgreifenden Installation Forest, 2008/2009, der walisischen Künstlerin Bethan Huws sind auch andere ihrer Arbeiten aus den letzten Jahren zu sehen, die von ihrer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit Marcel Duchamp zeugen.

 

Kunstleder, geprägte Goldbuchstaben, Holz bemalt 39 x 40 x 30 cm Courtesy of the Artist and Jan Mot, Brussel © 2018 Pierre Bismuth, Foto: Courtesy Jan Mot, Brussel

Pierre Bismuth, Gucci Traveler's Folding Item, 2012

Aluminium, Glas, Gummi und Plastikbuchstaben 100 x 75 x 4,5 cm Courtesy of the artist © 2018 Bethan Huws, ProLitteris, Zürich; Foto: Bethan Huws Studio

Bethan Huws, Untitled (The ready-made…), 1999

Alte Postkarte, Ditone-Print (Rückseite) 8,8 x 13,8 cm The artist and Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin © 2018 Saâdane Afif; Foto: Courtesy Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin

Saâdane Afif, Fountain – 1917 (A collection/Fribourg, 23. Juli 1917), 2018

Alte Postkarte, Ditone-Print (Vorderseite) 8,8 x 13,8 cm The artist and Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin © 2018 Saâdane Afif; Foto: Courtesy Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin

Saâdane Afif, Fountain – 1917 (A collection/Fribourg, 23. Juli 1917), 2018

20 alte Postkarten, Ditone-Print, gerahmt 88 x 107 cm The artist and Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin © 2018 Saâdane Afif; Foto: Courtesy Mehdi Chouakri, Berlin

Saâdane Afif, Fountain – 1917 (A collection/September), 2018

Marcel Duchamp & Jean Tinguely

Tinguely hatte den Favoriten unter seinen Künstlerväter 1959 anlässlich seiner Ausstellung der Méta-Matics in der Pariser Galerie Iris Clert persönlich kennegelernt, 1960 traf er ihn in New York wieder. Duchamp, der Jahrzehnte zuvor auch schon Mechanik, Spiel und Zufall in seine Kunst integriert hatte, faszinierte Tinguely. Die Kenntnis seines Werkes sowie Freundschaft zu ihm erwiesen sich für Tinguelys künsterlische Entwicklung als sehr wesentlich.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2018 Elektra; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

 

 

Cover der Langspielplatte The Baroque Beatles Book, rediscovered and edited by Joshua Rifkin,Elektra, 1965
(Phonothek Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel)
© 2018 Elektra; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

© Association Marcel Duchamp/2018, ProLitteris, Zürich;  Foto: Courtesy Galerie Ronny van de Velde, Antwerpen

 

 

Marcel Duchamp, De ou par Marcel Duchamp ou Rrose Sélavy/
La Boîte-en-valise,
1966–1971, Serie G
41 x 38.5 x 9.5 cm

© Association Marcel Duchamp/2018, ProLitteris, Zürich;
Foto: Courtesy Galerie Ronny van de Velde, Antwerpen

Konzerte

Konzerte während der Ausstellung im Museum Tinguely:


21. März 2018, 19 Uhr | Uri Caine, Solo on Piano

 

18. April 2018, 19 Uhr | XASAX Saxophone Quartet, Original & Re-Set
 

29. April 2018, 16.30 Uhr | Moritz Eggert, Hämmerklavier et al.

 

Kosten: Museumseintritt, kein Vorverkauf

 

Umschlag einer deutschen Ausgabe des Musical-Hits Tea for Two, den Dmitri Schostakowitsch 1927 als Tahiti-Trott orchestrierte © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Umschlag einer deutschen Ausgabe des Musical-Hits Tea for Two, den Dmitri Schostakowitsch 1927 als Tahiti-Trott orchestrierte © 2018 Paul Sacher Stiftung, Basel; Foto: bildpunkt, Basel

Publikation


RE-SET. Rückgriffe und Fortschreibung in der Musik seit 1900
Anlässlich der Ausstellung erscheint eine umfangreiche Publikation «RE-SET. Rückgriffe und Fortschreibungen in der Musik seit 1900» hg. von Simon Obert und Heidy Zimmermann, 328 S., mit 120 Farbabbildungen.

Der Katalog erscheint im Verlag für Schott Music; ISBN (Deutsch): 978-3-79-57-9885-7.
>> Katalog online kaufen